Turn on thread page Beta

Criminology then a law coversion course then the bvc, good or bad idea? watch

ReputationRep:
    If i completed a criminology degree, took a law conversion course and finished my bvc, would this limit my career options ? In the sense that :

Would employers only think i'd only be suitable for criminal law because i had done a criminology degree beforehand? So i may not be able to go into commercial law etc.

I wouldnt really think it would cause any problems (because peeople do conversion courses after doing totally law unrelated subjects), just trying to think of any possible benefits/problems in the longrun.

Appreciate any opinions
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    It shouldn't cause any problems in the sense that you're thinking; in theory you could enter the legal profession having studied any subject at degree level providing that you had completed the GDL - which combined with either the LPC/BVC and then a training contract or pupilage provides you with a sufficient foundation from which to practise almost any area of the law. Having said that, there is still a certain degree of snobbery, particularly at the Bar and most graduates from non-legal backgrounds tend to have studied "traditional" subjects such as History, Economics or English. Your route is certainly viable though.

ReputationRep:
    Thanks. I was looking at the course content for criminology and it seems quite interesting. My only worry is that on its own the job prospects available after the degree don't seem very interesting :/ (e.g.prohibation officer etc :l), I would love to study it and do the GDL but just worried that if for some reason I couldnt take the GDL (like the inns of courts not willing to accept many GDL students or other reasons) I would be stuck with this degree which will have little use to me. But again I say it does look interesting :l.
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    (Original post by pk12345)