Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    right, I'm sure this has been well covered, but i can't find exactly what i'm looking for and different people are giving conflicting advice.

I am moving to Scotland later this year, my mum's got a job there and she wants to go back home (she's scottish, dad's scouse, i've lived in liverpool all my life). I'm also taking a gap year so will be applying to uni this year, what's the deal with tuition fees?

I wanted to go to a Scottish uni anyway, and i know that their tuition fees are lower than English uni's but i can't quite work out what the deal is once i'm a resident of Scotland.

So could someone please explain it all to me?

thanks x

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by fliss_pop)
    right, I'm sure this has been well covered, but i can't find exactly what i'm looking for and different people are giving conflicting advice.

I am moving to Scotland later this year, my mum's got a job there and she wants to go back home (she's scottish, dad's scouse, i've lived in liverpool all my life). I'm also taking a gap year so will be applying to uni this year, what's the deal with tuition fees?

I wanted to go to a Scottish uni anyway, and i know that their tuition fees are lower than English uni's but i can't quite work out what the deal is once i'm a resident of Scotland.

thanks x
    I'd imagine that if you have a Scottish address, then you'll be able to apply to SAAS to pay your tuition.

ReputationRep:

thanks x
    You need to have been ordinarily resident in Scotland (so not just here for education, for example) for three years prior to your course starting for SAAS to fund you.

ReputationRep:
    I could be wrong, but I remember being told you need to have been living at a Scottish residence for at least 3 years.

Edit: oh, too late :p:

ReputationRep: