Turn on thread page Beta

If your parents paid for everything for you at uni - would you still get a job? watch

I've been working in a part-time job that I HATE for the past 2 months. My mum pulled strings with her boss to get me the job after failing to get any of the 50+ jobs I applied for this summer. I didn't apply for the money, I just wanted to improve my social skills and get some experience to put on my CV.

Unexpectedly, as soon as I got my first paycheck, my parents cut me off. Usually if I went out or wanted something they would give me money. Now I am expected to pay for it myself.

I have a brother, 1 year younger than me, also at uni, but he doesn't work. My parents still happily give him money. He has made it clear that he doesn't plan on getting a job whilst at uni.

I am starting to think my bro has the right attitude. I have spoken to my parents and they agreed that if I don't like my job I should quit as they do not want to see me unhappy but that I should not quit because of the money situation, because 'the experience is worth more than the money.'

I am honestly really unhappy in my job, but the idea that I can get money from my parents without working is obviously a contributing factor. I know it will be almost impossible for me to get a another job too. I don't know what to do??!

ReputationRep:
    I did. It's completely selfish to expect them to work to pay for your eduction and social life and for you to just say "nah hate the job, the rents can cover it."

Great attitude.

ReputationRep:
    I think you have got completely the wrong attitude. Parents arn't there to support you financially, you should be trying to make your own way yourself.
    Its not easy, but you will have the satisfaction knowing that you have earnt it for yourself and sorted it.

This is only a summer job, and as its not in term time shouldn't affect your studies.

ReputationRep: