Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello, I'm a mature student I guess (age 21) and I want to complete both AS/A2 in Maths/Biology/Chemistry in a Year.

From what I understand I can enter as a Private Candidate at a center supported by whichever Examining Board or go to a private 6th form college, have an interview there so they are confident I can cope with the work and pass the Exams.

I would prefer entering as a Private Candidate, but I know for some subjects such as Biology where practicals and coursework are involved that it would be difficult to do as you need experience with practical equipment.

What I'm asking for is if anyone has any advice for someone looking to do Intensive A levels in a year?

ReputationRep:
    Where do you live??

The Abbey Colleges are awesome - not too sure where they all are, know that there is one in Birmingham, Cambridge, Manchester and i think 2 in London.

ReputationRep:
    If you want to do biology and chemistry, it's not quite so simple as doing most other subjects ...
    You know the practical bits, which you've identified as a potential difficulty ... they actually have to be marked by someone ... a teacher at the centre, probably ...

I guess that my advice would be to choose your centre carefully, and to be very polite to them too!!

ReputationRep:
    I live in London, does anyone know how I go about finding centers that allow you to enter as a private candidate?

ReputationRep:

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by inflameftw)
    I live in London, does anyone know how I go about finding centers that allow you to enter as a private candidate?
    To do the sciences you will have to be registered at a college/school because you will need to taught for the coursework aspects etc.

As i say, the Abbey Colleges are definitely worth a look at - i think their main speciality is science because they are renowned for getting people into the medical/dentistry professions.