Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Whats the best way to get them?

I know you can be limited/helped by your genes, but I still would like to know what I can do to get that extra width.

ReputationRep:
    Gain overall mass

ReputationRep:
    Muscle wise, bigger delts and lats.

Otherwise, longer clavicles and bigger rib cage.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Spacecam)
    Gain overall mass
    Aye

yes side delts, but anyone who has impressive side delts

also has impressive shoulder complex in general, and wide back

ReputationRep:
    Specifically are there any exercises you can recommend?

(I'll eat big for sure now.)

ReputationRep:
    I'm a bit of a novice so my opinion might not hold that much weight.
    However, I think good shoulder exercises are:
    - wide grip upright row (narrow grip is more traps focused)
    - dumbell lateral raises
    - dumbell shoulder press
    Bold Compounds ftw =]

ReputationRep:
    ^I do both lateral raises and shoulder press but progress is slower than I'd like. That said, I have made some progress so I guess I'd better keep plugging away.

I've never done an upright row before though, so I reckon I could add that to my armoury.

ReputationRep:
    Upright rows are sick:
    - Compound exercise
    - You look like a hench **** when you do them

ReputationRep:
    Ok then, I'll make sure I do them. Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    Do hand-stand push-ups, with your legs up a wall, it took me a while to learn them, but now I do them with every work-out session.

The equal to a hand-stand push-up would be the military press. (performed with either dumbbells or a barbell)

Both of these work the posterior and anterior part of the deltoids, so you get nice symmetrical shoulders.

Other than that, benchpressing works out the anterior part of the deltoids, while dips works out the posterior part of the deltoids.

In my opinion, for a complete work-out program I generally recommend:
    * Benchpressing
    * Dips