Turn on thread page Beta

Help was wondering how you become a magistrate watch

ReputationRep:
    Currently I am studying law and I am aware it is harder to get training contracts/. So I was wondering I probably would need experience one of those ways is through becomming a magistrates...So was wondering how do I go about it?
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    Anybody can apply to become a magistrate but whether you're actually given the position is another matter altogether. There are a lot of things which you must be able to demonstate and I'm not sure that you would able to do this given that you'd be "fresh-out-of-uni." You can visit this site here: http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/CrimeJus...rate/DG_071395 for further information and to download an application form.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Mr_Deeds)
    Anybody can apply to become a magistrate but whether you're actually given the position is another matter altogether. There are a lot of things which you must be able to demonstate and I'm not sure that you would able to do this given that you'd be "fresh-out-of-uni." You can visit this site here: http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/CrimeJus...rate/DG_071395 for further information and to download an application form.
    I am still in university, and would like to continue with that. I thought the magistrates would be a part time thing...could you explain to me how I can go about that?

ReputationRep:
    It is a part time think, but what Mr Deeds is saying is that you need life experience to be one and it is unlikely you have it.

Furthermore, how do you think being a Magistrate would aid a training contract application - especially when one of the terms of office is that you must not seek to gain personal benefit from it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Ethereal)
    It is a part time think, but what Mr Deeds is saying is that you need life experience to be one and it is unlikely you have it.