Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Didn't really know where to put this, as i doubt any of you are secretaries, but you may know some if you work already.

I was just wondering what sort of pay they get in London? I've just started my Legal Sec diploma.

Also, i have to choose two modules to study out of:

Conveyancing
    Family Law
    Criminal Law
    Company Law
    Wills and Probate
    Civil Litigation

As i didn't study law, i have no idea what the majority of these involve. I've been told that Company Law and Conveyancing have the most jobs in London, so it's best i choose one of those, but no idea what else to choose. Can anyone give me a small break down of what each module concerns please? And how interesting they might be.

ReputationRep:
    I worked as a Personal Injury secretary for a year and had some shortterm temping experience in Probate, Family and Criminal.

You don't need any official qualification to do this...why waste your money? As long as you have a fast typing speed and are reasonably bright so you don't get fired by an overexpectant boss then you'll quickly pick it up.

Go to all the temping agencies and apply for all the legal secretary jobs. I'd argue that Criminal is probably the most exciting (as you have to quickly sort things out for the solicitor as and when people get arrested) but since you're making a career out of it you may as well sample them all. You should expect the bosses to be ***** to you though as a temp, so please don't let them break you.

They get around £16000 in the northwest full time p.a. I think if you work for better companies you can get more. Especially in London you will get more but don't know the figures. I would suggest you train to become a barristers clerk after you get the legal sec experience as they earn FAR more.

ReputationRep: