Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am a Mature student hoping to go to med school however I only have 5 GCSE's math english biology chemistry geog all A-A* however most med schools require 6-7 would they accept 5 GCSE's for mature students

ReputationRep:
    Email the ones which you are wanting to go to and ask if not, take an extra couple in the evening to up them. Cant hurt to ask

Where are you wanting to go?

ReputationRep:
    Havent reached that stage yet but aberdeen looks like a good first choice for me followed by leeds nottingham and peninsula

ReputationRep:
    Well give them all an email or take an extra couple, what you taking access or a'levels?

ReputationRep:
    are you a mature student with a degree or hoping to apply via access course or alevels?
    having applied as a graduate myself, the requirements on gcses are less strict, i'm not sure what they are like if you are applying from the other routes though. Best thing to do is to email the unis you have in mind and to ask and find out what they say.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgoger)
    I am a Mature student hoping to go to med school however I only have 5 GCSE's math english biology chemistry geog all A-A* however most med schools require 6-7 would they accept 5 GCSE's for mature students
    Hey - Someone else from North Wales! YAY!! I'm in Cemaes Bay. :woo: (sorry - perhaps I shouldnt get so excited about stuff like that).

Anyway - to answer your questions we need some more info really,
    - how mature are you?
    - have you got a degree already?
    - were there any extenuating circumstances for you only having 5 GCSE's?
    - have you got A Levels?
    - What kind of work experience have you got?
    - What do you do now? (i.e. are you a health professional?)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by dances_with_lamposts)