Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi! I am a postgraduate student in the MMU. My classes are at the Didsbury Campus, but I want a hall closer to the city centre. I would like to rent a studio and I noticed that Sir Charles Groves Hall has studios. How is this place? Anyone lived there? Satisfied?
    Does the rent include other bills?
    Is there a problem if there are people who stay over the night in my room?
    Also, if you know any other hall with studios, please inform me!

ReputationRep:
    Hello. I live in a Sir Charles Groves Hall studio. It's great. Fairly expensive for what is essentially just a bedroom with a mini kitchen in it, but the rent does include all bills except for internet connection which is an extra one off fee (but very fast and reliable)! The place is very secure, very clean, very quiet and staff are super helpful and sort out maintenance issues very quickly. They have no problems with people staying over... there's a book for visitors to sign in reception. The only thing the rooms lack is an oven, but the hob and microwave suffice if you're creative. Oh, and the bathroom is tiny!

ReputationRep:
    Thanks - just managed to squeeze in at the last minute but only studios left. Any advice appreciated - this is my first year and will be coming from abroad. What do I need to bring etc. Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Hey,
    I want to know about this as well. Is anyone staying there atm? or otherwise had the chance to check the rooms?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Weber)
    Hey,
    I want to know about this as well. Is anyone staying there atm? or otherwise had the chance to check the rooms?
    Hey, I'll be staying here (for the third year) this year!
    Do you have any specific questions?
    They're really nice halls! Not had any major problems at all. Nice staff, nice atmosphere, not too noisy (if you don't mind the sound of people practicing all at once...)
    xxx