Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm an admin of Freeside, which is a Hull University student run linux and alternative computing services cluster, and we're looking for new people to join our ranks.

Our website is www.freeside.co.uk and we have an IRC server running on irc.freeside.co.uk you can come idle on

So if you're a 1337 linux h4xx0r, or just even a newbie who wants to learn, come pop in and say hi - we're a friendly enough bunch :]
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    JUst out of interest do you have any setup details to allow linux to work at the halls of residence because at present no version of linux is supported by computer services

ReputationRep:
    Normally we just recommend following the Mac instructions, however when I was in the Halls 2 years ago everything 'just worked'. If this isn't the case anymore I'll have to bob into the lawns some point early this year with a laptop and write a new tutorial for everyone :-)
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    Thanks. I'velived on the lawns over 7 years now and use to run linux, mac and windows now due to the cloud program services have brought in my connection has gone on all but my XP machines.

This might change with the new upgrades however it is unlikely

ReputationRep:
    Are you still in Ferens now? If you're free next week or something I could pop through and try and get it all working again - be just like old times, minus Kris. :P

ReputationRep:
    I'm a geek, but im not a smart geek.
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    PS Helper
    Sounds good however i need to re-instal debian on one of my laptops. This has prooved problematic but theres always a solution

ReputationRep:
    This actually sounds really kool. Im not really clued up on computor stuff, but a group promoting open source technology would be great.

Also what do you think of stuff like Pirate Bay and free media?
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep: