Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Research masters scholarships - how hard is it to get one? how to improve chances Watch

ReputationRep:
    hi folks,

i have a first class degree, plus hopefully at the end of this year, a chartered tax qualification. it is my dream to do my MRes in a specific area of philosophy, and i know a college offering scolarships. how can i improve my chances to get one? is it mainly on CV, or originality of proposal? or quality or detail of proposal? what sorts of things should i do to get one? and how hard/competitive is it generally? will i be competing with eg 40 year old business men with published papers, or just normal students?

has anyone ever got one?how?

ReputationRep:
    Funding in Philosophy is pretty rare, and funding for a masters only is rarer still. Most funding will be in the form of Research Council 1+3 so you are committed to doing a taught masters then the three year PhD.

However, if you know of a college offering masters only scholarships then apply there, although it is likely to be very, very competitive. Having a first class degree is almost essential in order to get funding in humanities subjects, all of the things you mentioned in your post are important as well. Having publications would also help - even just a book review or something like that.

ReputationRep:
    no it is a Mres leading to Phd which is my absolute dream! however, how on earth can anyone ever afford to do one?

even with scholarship to cover tuition fees, what do you live off of for four years??

i will take the advice and get some work published, though dont most journals need you to be postgrad first?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ShinyToy)
    hi folks,