Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

The first half of my summer has been relaxing, but I also have some work to do, but I just don't feel like doing it! I'm about to start Year 13 and I got given quite a bit of Chemistry homework to do, as well as finish my Extended Project. I've already self-taught most of FP1 within a week, but I find it hard to motivate myself to do the rest of the work!

Well, since I've been really nervous about the AS results (though I've calmed down a bit), is it a good idea to do the work after results day (i.e. 20th of August)? Does anyone have any good general tips on getting into an optimistic state of mind for academic work?

ReputationRep:
    I think you just have to sit down and do it [which is what I'm trying to do right now]. Try to get rid of distractions [e.g. use Leechblock if you use Firefox and spend too much time on the net] and just do it.

I've got loads of work too - I'm just going to lock my laptop away and get on with it. But, remember to relax - it's still the holidays, we get to relax until sending off UCAS stuff/Jan exams etc.

Good luck for results day and if you think studying will help, then it's up to you.

Have fun!

I personally think the best time to get working again is after results day, as you just get that feel of getting back into it all. Anyway, for the first half of this summer, relax, make sure you get some UCAS-y stuff under your belt, e.g. subject/a good selection of unis (to narrow down later ) and think about the PS. :top:

ReputationRep:
    I have to relocate if I want to actually get something done - move my laptop to the dining room or somewhere where there and no distractions. There is too much around me in my bedroom and I just can't concentrate.

Good luck anyway

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Champagne Supernova)