Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi
    what i'd really like to know...and i know you'll say its so diverse, i can't get a definitive answer on this, but what does a typical day of work in ot involve?
    i find info on ot can be really vague, is it really just assessing service users for their needs and organising the modifications they require? liaising with therapy providers maybe? but what does an OT actually do for the patient themselves?
    i'm interested mostly in disability and in palliative care, like working closely with the 'patients' themselves, juggling a busy workload, my background is in administration and i loved being rushed off my feet in the office, juggling fifty tasks and getting there in the end but i'm beginning to think i dont want to be stuck in an office at all. Is that what OT would involve? or is it more hands-on?
    info much appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by schmee)
    Hi
    what i'd really like to know...and i know you'll say its so diverse, i can't get a definitive answer on this, but what does a typical day of work in ot involve?
    i find info on ot can be really vague, is it really just assessing service users for their needs and organising the modifications they require? liaising with therapy providers maybe? but what does an OT actually do for the patient themselves?
    i'm interested mostly in disability and in palliative care, like working closely with the 'patients' themselves, juggling a busy workload, my background is in administration and i loved being rushed off my feet in the office, juggling fifty tasks and getting there in the end but i'm beginning to think i dont want to be stuck in an office at all. Is that what OT would involve? or is it more hands-on?
    info much appreciated.