Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello all,

I have been asked to read 'mathematical techniques' in order to prepare for my studies next year.
    I am currently at a chapter about sums to infinity and I have never seen this before (I studied in Belgium)

The 2 pages of explanation are not too hard, but at the end there is a self-test that I just can't solve :woo:

The question is:
    Sum the series 1 + 4x + 7x² + 10x³ + ... + (3N - 2)x^N.
    What is the sum to infinity of the series if |x| < 1?

I am quite clueless... the answer is supposed to be 3/(1-x)² - 2/(1-x)

Any help appreciated, not too complicated though :p:

ReputationRep:
    Rewrite it using sum notation and then split it into two sums. Then do the sum of infinity.

Its hard because what do you know?

\sum_1^{\infty}3nx^{n}+\sum_1^{\  infty}(-2)x^{n}
    Do you know what to do from here?
    • Study Helper

Study Helper
    So you need to get it in the form of a geometric progression.

To do that you're going to need to eliminate the arithemetic progression in the "constant" terms.

There is a standard technique of multiplying the series by the geometric term (in this case x) and subtracting it from the original expression. This will give you something that looks more like a G.P. Have a go.

ReputationRep:
    ghostwalker I was under the impression you just needed to integrate and differentiate 3nx^n by something. Although, I haven't done any problems like this.
    • Study Helper

Study Helper
    (Original post by Simplicity)
    ghostwalker I was under the impression you just needed to integrate and differentiate 3nx^n by something. Although, I haven't done any problems like this.
    Not sure where you're coming from with that. Can you elaborate?
    Or point me at a webpage.

Edit: Yeah. Uni level though? Don't know what level the OP is at; can't tell from their profile.