Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Substituting plain flour for self raising Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm making a cake and at home all we've got is plain flour,(the recipe requires self raising). I have some baking powder and was wondering how much of the raising agent would i need to get the sponge to rise as it would have with self raising flour?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    1tsp of baking powder for every 4oz of plain flour I believe

I'll check this up though! Don't worry if you don't get it perfect, it won't do too much harm!! - A lot of bakers actually use plain flour + baking powder instead of self-raising. What cakes are you making?? I'm fanatical about cooking

Happy baking :bigsmile: Photos on TSR after?

ReputationRep:
    I'd put in a couple of tsps but Im not an expert :P

Im pretty sure you'd need less baking powder than the self raising flour you yould use.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by shorty.loves.angels)
    1tsp of baking powder for every 4oz of plain flour I believe

I'll check this up though! Don't worry if you don't get it perfect, it won't do too much harm!! - A lot of bakers actually use plain flour + baking powder instead of self-raising. What cakes are you making?? I'm fanatical about cooking

Happy baking :bigsmile: Photos on TSR after?
    ohmg.. im fanatical about baking too *hi5* (but mainly baking.. and baking sweet treats ) Well its not exactly a cake.. its a cakish pudding - 'Eve's Pudding' . It has apples as the base, and a light sponge on top.. served with custurd it is :druel:

I'll post up some pics when im done for your enjoyment Hope it turns out okay though

And thanks for the tip about 1tsp per 4oz.. now if therres a big catastrophe in the kitchen with the pudding exploding or something along those lines, I'll know who to give a negative rep to :p:

Now to get baking!

x

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Sahds)