Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys,

just wondering if anyone else is looking for approved housing as opposed to halls or private cluster flats? I'm a 1st year student who will be driving down with all my stuff (epic 6 hour drive -.-). Having a car means I need parking, which in turn means I need a house.

I've found some really nice houses and I'm coming down this weekend to view 5 or 6. I find it really odd however that some houses are still completely empty (6 rooms, 6 vacancies), which seems odd this close to September. Will these houses fill up before term starts, will I have ANY housemates? What's the deal with housing in Plymouth? It all seems so different from when I went to University in Durham, and I'd just like someone to give me a bit of an explanation!

Also, since having my application confirmed about a month ago, I've received NO information whatsoever from the University. This seems really odd, and rather disorganised to me, Plymouth is not making a good first impression! Anyone else feel the same way?

Thanks,
    --Saul.

ReputationRep:
    might start to full up more after the a-level results on the 20th ?

ReputationRep:
    You had more sense than me Rory Although I was wondering why, as I was in the beneficial position of having an unconditional offer and knowing that I didn't want to live in halls, the University hadn't written to me and said "Quick, run to Plymouth and steal a nice room in a nice house before the Freshers get in!". Which I did, but under my own steam, I've only just Today received some more literature from Plymouth, not saying much about how I should be looking for accommodation early if I know I'm not going to be staying in Halls, or not, heh.

Nice house, off-street parking, amazing kitchen, brand new furnishings, housemates of a similar age, couldn't be happy. Roll on September!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by saulhardman)