Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm an international student from Australia starting my course this October at Trinity College. Since I got my offer last December, I've been planning for this trip for quite some time and have been working like crazy trying to save up enough money. I'm coming over with my mum and owing to jobs, school timetables etc. we decided to book tickets early so applications for annual leave could be lodge etc. Despite so much forward planning, I have landed in a scheduling conflict as my flight leaves on the same day as Freshers week starts. I've contacted the college and all I received was an email saying I'd be missing some very important meetings and I would have a very difficult time functioning without the information I would be missing.
    Although I really don't want to start making any judgments, I can't help but feel a bit annoyed by the lack of information the college sends out international students. I'm guessing more information gets sent out when A-level results come out, but how can someone possibly organise moving to a completely different country in the space of a month? The email I got from the academic administrator sounded more annoyed than helpful and now I feel in a bit of a mess.:eek3:
    I was wondering if there was anybody who could tell me exactly what happens during the first couple of days of Freshers week and how severely not attending the first two days will disadvantage me? Ideally I wouldn't be missing the beginning of uni at all but changing the dates of the plane tickets are an expense I can't afford to pay unless I have a little more information.

ReputationRep: