Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

obessive over music. playing the same songs repeatly for hours Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm posting to see if any one can relate to this.

I have this problem, where I constantly play the same album/song over and over and over again.

For example, i will play the aqualung album back to back all day, everyday. I would even spend all day sitting in my room doing nothing except listen to the album on repeat.

I've been doing this for 7 years now and its now gotten to the point, where when i get home, I HAVE TO play the album, and it will be on repeat constantly until I past out to sleep.

If I don't play the album, I have difficulty concentration on things, or my brain ends up thinking so complex on several different things that I get a stressed and annoyed.

I tried stopping this reliance on music, but nothing seems to work. I've looked up on ocd, but i don't think I have that since I'm not obsessive with cleaning and germs.

Well this is how i like to listen to music; one band or album at a time, but eventually i just get bored

Maybe try varying your tastes? Forcing a change after 50 playcounts on a song or 10 on an album?

If you can do that eventually try having just all your songs on shuffle. And then try not playing them for an hour. Push your "boundaries" so to speak.

ReputationRep:
    Most songs I love, then get bored by, then love again. Sometimes though I download a song that I really love, listen to it several times on repeat for about 2 days - I can't stop myself - and then after all that I suddenly feel so sick of the song and how I relate it to whatever mood I was feeling at that time that I never really listen to it again, in one case I went 2 years before listening to a certain song again, and even then it was a one-off. I'm just weird like that. :dontknow: I dunno what to suggest.