Turn on thread page Beta

Just a few IB chemistry exam questions... watch

ReputationRep:
    So im in my first year of IB and am generally getting chemistry but theres a few types of questions im having trouble with... could someone help me out? Im doing a past paper so there should be a few...

2. Which sample has the greatest mass?
    A. 6.02 x 10^23 molecules of hydrogen
    B. 5.0 mol of neon atoms
    C. 1.2 x 10^24 atoms of silver
    D. 1.7 x 10^2 g of iron

4. Which sample of nitrogen gas, N2, contains the greatest number of nitrogen molecules?
    A. 1.4 g N2
    B. 1.4 dm^3 of N2 at 1.01 x 10^5 Pa and 273 K
    C. 1.4 x 10^23 N2 molecules
    D. 1.4 mol N2

5. What is the atomic number of a neutral atom which has 91 neutrons and 40 electrons...
    The answer is 40, as its neutral so electrons must = protons correct?
    The other options are: 51, 91, 131

That should be it for now. I really need to know the correct answers because im trying to make a markscheme for future use... but if you feel like explaining it quickly i would be thankful!

Hi there

For the first question you should convert each option to mass using: (number of entities/avagadros number) x Mr of each individual entity, so for the first one 6.02 x 1023/6.02 x 1023 x 2 = 2g

For the second question: its the reverse process of above, for B you will need the ideal gas equation too.

Your answer to the last question is correct

ReputationRep:
    Oh darn but sorry that doesnt help >.<. We haven't done this chapter so I really have no clue... do you think you could calculate each one so I can see? plzzzzz

I'm not inclined to do your homework for you :p:

I've given you an example calculation for the question 2. Have a go yourself, I'll check your working