Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm 19 years old, I'm STILL in college about to start my second year of A Levels, having failed AS twice due to ill health, and I really need to get a job. But I'm trying in every high street store, and I'm never getting accepted as they probably seem me as some dumb, uncapable person, who hasn't even finished college. I really need the money to help pay rent, bills etc, and I have no idea where the hell to look for work, and most importantly WHERE to work. I have NO expperience in working, except the crappy Year 10 work experience thing, that only lasted 4 days. It's just confusing as they say they can't employ me as I have no experience, but how can I gain experience when no one ever employs me?

Also, I can't claim Jobseeker's Allowance as I'm still in full time education, and the Job Centre jobs all ask for experience or something. Plus, I live by Heathrow Airport, and as though that may sound like I should be in a hotspot for jobs, it's extremely hard as many people from abroad are quickly grabbing them.

I don't know what to do, please help me!

ReputationRep:
    Firstly, you can't claim JSA if you're in full time education.

Secondly, just look everywhere. Drop your CV in every store/pub/restaurant you can find and ask them to keep it on file. Although you haven't got any work experience, don't give up hope - we all have to start somewhere! Even if it is the crappiest job ever, take it and build up your experience. Don't worry about people thinking of you as stupid, because in the work place such as a store or restaurant nobody cares how many GCSEs you have or how academic you are.

ReputationRep: