Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,
    I am starting college next month taking Biology, Chemistry, Psychology and English language (AS then A2). I'm going for a career in medicine, and I have just a few things I need answering that I'm struggling to find relevant posts for on the site.

Firstly I know Bio/Chem pretty much necessities for medicine, just wondering if you think the other 2 are good choices. Starting work experience very soon been ringing round doctors surgeries, hospices etc and think I have a couple of long-term placements lined up.
    I really enjoy both English and Psychology and think Psych will be quite helpful in the medical profession, right?

Secondly, I have been working for the past 3 years since leaving school (I'm now 19), and on leaving school I achieved these results. I've noticed some controversy about whether GCSE's are important/completely disregarded when it comes to Universities, and that A-Levels override them, just after a little confirmation, as it all seems a bit blurry.

(Poor GCSE results due to messing around at school - predicted A's throughout first 3 years of high school and have always been in Gifted/Talented classes and fasttrack at school before I arsed around - Putting my mind entirely to this and find sciences very interesting - recapping science GCSE as we speak to prep for college next month - I can and will achieve the AAAa/AABb sort of grades required, I just don't want the GCSE's stopping my entries)
    English Language (B)
    English Literature (B)
    Mathematics (B)
    Music (B)
    Double Award Science (C,C)
    Geography (C)
    Statistics (C)
    I.C.T (C)

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance for your help, and keep up the good work [this forums been reet helpful ]

Cheers,
    Jamie

ReputationRep: