Member reviews of Aberystwyth University

  • CYSCS's avatar by CYSCS on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It’s a great university
    University:
    Excellent foods and bus service
    Course:
    I enjoyed it very much during my time here in Aber, great town
    Location:
    It has beach, nuff said
    Accommodation:
    Reasonable price and excellent service
    Settling in:
    The university provided many activities during fresher week to help student settle in
  • OliverBurgwin's avatar by OliverBurgwin on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Brilliant lecturers, assurance, quality of life, nightlife, affordability, club choice, pub choice and overall comfort
    University:
    Everything is ‘walkable’ and the scenery is Brilliant. Several libraries and decent sport/union facilities
    Course:
    Great lecturers, always people available to help
    Location:
    Welsh coastal town with direct route to Birmingham International. Lots of pubs and cheap pints
    Accommodation:
    Great price/quality ratio. Very affordable to live.
    Settling in:
    It’s a comfortable little town with easy train routes to Birmingham, etc
  • thebumblebee123's avatar by thebumblebee123 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Once again, know your preference. If a community based university is what you're looking for, Aber is the right choice. It will leaves you with the most wonderful University life that will last eternal.
    University:
    The services and facilities offered by the University is well maintained and great. They have over 200+ clubs and societies to keep your uni life a memorable and developing one.
    Course:
    Aber is safest and friendliest town in the UK. The staff, tutors or even a stranger on the road would always be glad to lend a helping hand to you. The student support is definitely something to be proud of.
    Location:
    Depending on one's preference, if nature, peace, beautiful scenery and historical buildings whilst having a friendly and safe town is your cup of tea, Aberystwyth is the best place.
    Accommodation:
    The location is great, affordable but they have increased it over the years. They offer a wide variety of accommodation, do your research earlier so you could book the desired one. Early birds win.
    Settling in:
    Student support is looked highly in Aber, when you arrive they have the accommodation services which work 24/7 to assist you as well as the Residence Assistants which are students to voluntarily help you find your way.
  • M_G_F's avatar by M_G_F on 7th November 2018
    Overall:
    This is a really nice, small university. It is perfect for the people that want a campus university that is relatively small. Everyone knows each other which is really nice, and makes it easier to feel at home.
    University:
    The university as a whole is really nice, and when I've had issues, they have endeavoured to fix them. There are some things that have been unfair and unjust in some issues, like with marking etc. but as a whole it is very good.
    Course:
    The course is really interesting, the lecturers are very good, and there is a very wide selection of modules.
    Location:
    The town is a little bit out of the way, and I'd definitely recommend bringing a car if you have one because it makes life a lot easier, but there is everything you need here so its not like being so rural that you miss out on things.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is really nice, and you can choose to stay in student accommodation with your friends for second and third year, which is really good because it is a lot closer to uni than the private accommodation in town.
    Settling in:
    It was really easy to make friends, and the set up of the whole university makes it very easy to settle in. The university is just really friendly so it makes it a lot easier to settle faster.
  • Kiralee97's avatar by Kiralee97 on 26th September 2018
    Overall:
    If you're used to big cities and expect that kind of vibe you wont get it here. For me coming from a small town in Cornwall it was the perfect place to start my adult life.
    University:
    There's lots of services on campus: libraries, restaurants/cafes, a gym and sports cage, a book shop and gift shop. Most of it is reasonably priced and if you live on campus the gym and all the fitness classes are free to use.
    Course:
    Some lecturers have been great, others not so much, but all reply to emails promptly. Timetabling was an issue as a joint honours student as I often have three to four hours of lectures back to back, with no time to think between.
    Location:
    Lovely place, pain in the bum to get to! Takes me up to 13 hours on public transport! Love the scenery and everything though.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in student halls for first and second year, and most of the time loved it!
    Settling in:
    It took me about two weeks to come out of my shell and start talking to people; and about a month to feel at home at uni.
  • sls13's avatar by sls13 on 16th August 2016
    Overall:
    Aberystwyth is a great town for anyone to live in - it's safe, friendly and affordable. The university has such a wide variety of courses and I absolutely love mine. There is plenty of resources and facilities at the university and all the teaching staff are always happy to help. I have taken part in a work placement scheme through the university's careers office - which has been great work experience and will help with my employability when I graduate. I would definitely recommend Aberystwyth University.
    University:
    Town has everything you need - cheap food shops (Lidl, Iceland), decent clothes shops and plenty of takeaways and restaurants. The nightlife is perfect for me as I prefer pubs to clubs but there are a couple of clubs which are really cheap and great for a night out. The gym on campus is really good. It has great equipment and is reasonably priced for students. I use my department library - which is well stocked and a nice area to work. But the main library Hugh Owen, is also great.
    Course:
    Timetabling and course structure are great. The content is all really interesting and challenging (but in a good way). The only issue I sometimes have is the style of some lectures isn't suited to the way I learn.
    Location:
    I love the location. It's especially nice in the summer (being by the sea). The on downside is the hill up to the uni, but it is good exercise and once you get used to it, it's not too bad. Plus you can get a really cheap bus pass for the year, so you don't HAVE to walk up the hill.
    Accommodation:
    I have not yet lived in University Accommodation but I know from friends that it's really good. The private halls I stayed in so far have been really great. Clean, fair pricing and all bills included.
    Settling in:
    I was very ready to move out and have some independence, so I settled in straight away. Everyone in Aberystwyth is very friendly and it's a safe place to live, so nights out are great as you don't feel intimidated.
  • Aberaberaber's avatar by Aberaberaber on 15th August 2016
    Overall:
    A great town and a really positive experience
    University:
    24/7 University library is helpful over exam periods
    Course:
    Approachable staff and quick feedback
    Location:
    Everything is in walkable distance!
    Accommodation:
    Good value for money and good facilities
    Settling in:
    Everyone in town is very friendly and there is a great community of both students and local residents
  • BBrotherwood's avatar by BBrotherwood on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Aberystwyth is a unique and amazing area to go to university. Its not for people after a super busy urban university though.
    University:
    Many of the facilities such as the library are 24/7. The student union is a little bit disappointing though but the 60 pubs in town make up for this. You can find a copy of any book in Aber courtesy of the copy-write library situated slightly further down the hill from Penglais Campus. My biggest annoyance is the extortionate rate for laundry cleaning.
    Course:
    You quickly realize that the staff have a massive amount of experience in interpol. I have had no timetable issues and the department seems to be trying out new ways of making things easier for people to be able to attend such as starting lectures 10 minutes past the hour.
    Location:
    Aber is a very friendly town in a beautiful location on the west coast of Wales. Just be warned though, it is miles from anywhere else and the train link to it is quite poor.
    Accommodation:
    My own personal accommodation is nice with a very nice room. However we have had some issues in the communal area. On the whole I would give Pentre Jane Morgan a 4. I have seen some of the other accommodation including the budget option and speaking to people who are staying their, it would seem the University has had some issues this year with quality control.
    Settling in:
    Everyone in both the university and the town are very welcoming. You also quickly bond after shared experiences walking up Penglais hill which the campus is located on.
  • Asipofmoriartea's avatar by Asipofmoriartea on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's been brilliant. I.wouldn't change my decision for the world.
    University:
    It's really nice. There is everything I need on campus.
    Course:
    The course and tutors are brilliant but the timetable is planned a bit badly.
    Location:
    It's in a lovely town. But it's on a massive hill.
    Accommodation:
    It's really nice.
    Settling in:
    The flat world well.as a group so it quicklyfelt like home.
  • ericcartman's avatar by ericcartman on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    excellent life
    Course:
    great school
    Location:
    great location
    Accommodation:
    great housing
    Settling in:
    easy to settle in
  • Malimaniac's avatar by Malimaniac on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Meh
    University:
    Just felt like it
    Course:
    Because
    Location:
    Well isn't obvious
    Accommodation:
    Just cause
    Settling in:
    Hmm you know
  • Bethan123's avatar by Bethan123 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely fantastic!
    University:
    Loads of pubs! Wide range of clubs and societies to join.
    Course:
    It was really well organised.
    Location:
    Beautiful part of the UK, really friendly town.
    Accommodation:
    Housing is very cheap and really nice.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly. I did get homesick but everyone is so friendly and it's just a lovely university town.
  • Azurerathalos or AzureRathalos97 probably's avatar by Azurerathalos or AzureRathalos97 probably on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing.
    University:
    It workso
    Course:
    Really enjoying it except gentics because the lecturer wizzess through it so fast theres no point taking notesi
    Location:
    So much to do and seeo
    Accommodation:
    For thebprice it is fab
    Settling in:
    Fab new friends and getting away from helicopter parents ftw
  • clshort18's avatar by clshort18 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's friendly lots of pubs for girls you can wear trainers with a dress and it is acceptable
    University:
    University services on campus are good its the surrounding area that let's it down a bit
    Course:
    At the start of each year there was always some timetable difficulties
    Location:
    It's a bit isolated
    Accommodation:
    In the area housing is expensive so it reflects on the university
    Settling in:
    I stayed local so I had my family and friends here already so the people I meet at university were a bonus
  • jordanlp96's avatar by jordanlp96 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good overall, no major complaints
    University:
    Student Union try their best to put on good events, but the size of the Union building itself isn't big enough to host all the students if many turn up to one event
    Course:
    It's everything I thought the course would be
    Location:
    Smallish town, no high rise buildings, so everything is within walking distance yet it has everything here, and a lot of shops have student discounts which is helpful
    Accommodation:
    Not as good as it looks on the uni website but still cosy and good enough to live in
    Settling in:
    After 2 weeks I feel at home, but can feel quite cut off from family which can make you feel lonely/homesick at times
  • l's avatar by l on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    l
    University:
    see above
    Course:
    enjoyable.
    Location:
    convenient
    Accommodation:
    good but not luxurious
    Settling in:
    l
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars so far, most flat mates okay while some are not, club members try to make everyone fit in
    University:
    Not enough money to live a proper life
    Course:
    Course seems well detailed to date and very enjoyable
    Location:
    Uni on side of hill making it difficult for students with injuries
    Accommodation:
    Lots of broken communal appliances and poor quality of rooms
    Settling in:
    Flat mates nice and societies/ sports clubs great
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    gfdghdf
    University:
    hfhfgh
    Course:
    Dunoo
    Location:
    hghg
    Accommodation:
    dsfdg
    Settling in:
    dgdgd
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent, I almost didn't come here because I thought it was too far from my home in Devon, what I quickly realised was that unless you plan on going home every week the distance from home doesn't matter.
    University:
    Library is very good there is also the national library, sports centre is good and so is the astro although the running track needs updating, and the union could do with a little improvement in its nightlife
    Course:
    No issues at all, taught by experienced staff in a really nice place.
    Location:
    Perfect sized place, by the beach but also has shops and a good nightlife,
    Accommodation:
    It was cheap, newly refurbished and about 100 metres from lecture halls
    Settling in:
    Because i managed to settle in really quickly, I think this is something that comes down to chance though
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Next to the beach which is lovely
    University:
    only two clubs and one of them plays spongebob!!!!! but facilities are great
    Course:
    Could be better
    Location:
    there's a huge hill I have to walk up and I can't drive so it's hard when I have shopping
    Accommodation:
    spiders in my room
    Settling in:
    ended up in a crack house my first night
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE