Member reviews of Arts University Bournemouth

  • mokutale's avatar by mokutale on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    There hasn't been too much experience but so far everything's been very interesting but very inspiring, too, considering that this is an Arts university, it's doing its job pretty well
    University:
    Haven't explored everything yet but so far so good
    Course:
    Classes are flexible, you can choose groups depending on your morning/noon classes preference, course leaders are approachable, friendly and helpful, course is interesting so far
    Location:
    The city is amazing, you can reach everything by bus and uni is approximately a 20-40 minute walk depending on your location, it's faster by the bus, everything is pretty near-by
    Accommodation:
    We could've found a better house to rent
    Settling in:
    I am pretty independent so it wasn't too hard, the people are friendly and the university is very modern and welcoming
  • Danny23rock's avatar by Danny23rock on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's pretty good, lots of friendly people around.
    University:
    Because I drink a lot.
    Course:
    It's not as challenging as I was expecting it to be.
    Location:
    It's Bournemouth.
    Accommodation:
    Because they're decent.
    Settling in:
    Because I'm awesome.
  • Eleanor Stevens's avatar by Eleanor Stevens on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    unsure
    University:
    I'm not settling in and I am questioning the course and if I should stay and continue or not.
    Course:
    The course structure and content seems to have change from what I researched into it about previous years.
    Location:
    Its easy to get to and the is close by shops
    Accommodation:
    It's nice and comfortable but not too much space.
    Settling in:
    I am still awfully home sick and its affecting my outlook on everything.
  • Chloeanne 's avatar by Chloeanne on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    My uni experience so far has been great, hopefully it will stay great. I love the uni.
    University:
    There's a really good uni life and atmosphere around uni. Could be more clubs but there's s lot going on.
    Course:
    The course is really great, it seems to have the right mix of theory and practical sessions allowing us to try out events but also learning the theory behind it.
    Location:
    It's quite far from the town centre.
    Accommodation:
    The house is nice but not in the ideal location. It's too expensive for what it is.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home really quickly.
  • TheNomBurger's avatar by TheNomBurger on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall - good. But that's because Animation here is the most fantastic experience of my life. I was also on the film production BA here and it sucked. Totally opposite experience. The uni itself is modern, small and nicely designed - but a little 'cold' in my opinion.
    University:
    Still in its early stages with societies although it is growing. Same with fresher's fair. Campus is a little dead in my opinion, especially as the library is only open until 9pm - not great for those near-deadline rushes! Again, I happily pop over to bournemouth uni next door for all these needs so it's not so bad.
    Course:
    It balances the right amount of contact hours with independent study. On a specialised course such as Animation, a lot of students haven't got past experience so they allow for that and teach you from the ground up. The tutors are incredible, talented and really care about every student's success, development, and happiness.
    Location:
    Too far from town, bus money racks up. HOWEVER being near the sea is fantastic, and always a great night out. Plenty of clubs, shopping and food all in the same area, and right by the beach.
    Accommodation:
    Halls don't even have enough for first year students. In addition the halls they do offer are spaced far from campus which personally would be a turn off for me (although I've never managed to get into halls before, I had to move into a house for first year!)
    Settling in:
    I personally don't find the uni a very comfortable place, however it has a good interpersonal feel to it, and with Bournemouth uni next door I can spend a lot of time there.
  • Sarah Cribdon's avatar by Sarah Cribdon on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing, creative, unique campus for anyone who wants a great social life and a realistic attempt at having a sustainable career in the arts.
    University:
    Perhaps there could be more choice in societies.
    Course:
    The teachers are hugely talented and experienced and really capture my attention and love for the subject. The course could provide more contact hours rather than independent work in groups as I find it easier to work with the motivation of a teacher on hand.
    Location:
    With a beach, great shops, great nightlife, what more could I ask for?
    Accommodation:
    It is clean, safe and cosy but the rooms are slightly small and there could be more ways of getting to meet and choose your housemates before the course begins.
    Settling in:
    The campus, teachers and older students were all very friendly and warm. But it could be slightly more organised as maps and directions were very confusing for the first week.
  • ytrhgf's avatar by ytrhgf on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    hfgdhdfg
    University:
    hr5eytf
    Course:
    gsdfg
    Location:
    bdfghdfg
    Accommodation:
    gsdf
    Settling in:
    bxcvxcbv
  • Hhf's avatar by Hhf on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4/5 I have only just started but it's easy to find your way about, everyone's lovely, it's nice to be with lots of creative artistic people
    University:
    Freshers could've been better, campus is beautiful and modern! Overall amazing
    Course:
    It's hard, with no days off and coming from college that you're only in 3 days to going to uni dancing ALL DAY the working the weekends. It's a new course, but they really work you. If you love a challenge it's perfect. Just be prepared to ache
    Location:
    By the beach, centre of Bournemouth. It's perfect
    Accommodation:
    My friend lives in a house share its close but it's very cold and all rules are very strict. But they are okay. Nothing amazing
    Settling in:
    I suffer with anxiety so it took a while for me to enjoy the course but after contemplating leaving I now really enjoy it
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is the best choice I ever made, AUB is brilliant, and they are constantly making it better for students. I cannot recommend it enough.
    University:
    There is a lot provided at the campus, and we can use the facilities of Bournemouth University next door as well.
    Course:
    Every aspect of the course has been really interesting and a great challenge.
    Location:
    Bournemouth is a beautiful city, and having the beach nearby is a definite bonus!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is great and really close to town, but it is quite expensive and 2.5 miles from the uni.
    Settling in:
    My flatmates really made me feel at home, and it's like having a second family.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The best year and a bit of my life so far!! Amazing as long as you're willing to put the work in
    University:
    Can't speak for nightlife, but there are lots of societies and great short courses and other opportunities
    Course:
    Staff are incredibly friendly and supportive, and can help you out personally
    Location:
    Bournemouth is a perfect blend of forest, city and seaside! :)
    Accommodation:
    Student halls gave me insomnia, but there are some great houses close to campus that are very lovely!
    Settling in:
    It's never going to be immediate, but it's surprising just how fast you can fit into a group of 80!!
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience so far has been incredible
    University:
    Because its been a blast and everyone's been helpful so far
    Course:
    Because it's early days still but so far I'm enjoying it
    Location:
    Bournemouth is beautiful but the uni is just a little far out
    Accommodation:
    Because the halls are nice but some students are difficult
    Settling in:
    Quite quick but still settling in, in ways
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Choose it!
    University:
    People are soo nice
    Course:
    The teacher are all really nice, the campus is amazing aswell as the life at Bournemouth and you can find anything you need at uni.
    Location:
    Bournemouth its a perfect place to live , its really nice and homie
    Accommodation:
    I live just 15 away from uni and the high street what is perfect
    Settling in:
    It took me 2 whole weeks to get all paperwork done
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    b
    University:
    b
    Course:
    a
    Location:
    a
    Accommodation:
    v
    Settling in:
    h
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I think the university is brilliant for art just not my course
    University:
    Canteen was good, never went out but has some great clubs in the centre like halo and cameo
    Course:
    Badly organsised
    Location:
    Close to bournemouth but nicely out of the way, transport was good
    Accommodation:
    Never saw it
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in, only good point
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    I eenjoy it
    Course:
    its a good uni
    Location:
    nest to bars
    Accommodation:
    its average
    Settling in:
    good people
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's what you make it
    University:
    Societies ignored my signup and then the ones that went ahead hardly met up and the SU don't really organise any fun events for the students
    Course:
    It didn't live up to reputation
    Location:
    Okay but quite far from halls
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive and everything broke
    Settling in:
    Settled in quickly
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Unsual and unbelivable
    University:
    Because it is different and intersting
    Course:
    I lovw it but am still getting used to it
    Location:
    Great location
    Accommodation:
    Good and resourcful
    Settling in:
    Very easy to settle in with lovley people
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good - general positive experience whilst at uni, love the location
    University:
    Campus is small, but we can go over to BU to access more facilities
    Course:
    There are a few things that could be worked on (reliability, some teaching/feedback, space issues), but generally the course is very good
    Location:
    Gorgeous town, lovely campus
    Accommodation:
    I didn't stay in uni accommodation, but both houses I stayed in have been generally good
    Settling in:
    I did struggle at first and at a few times through my first year, but I soon felt at home here.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Everything is good
    Course:
    Everything is planned well
    Location:
    Campus is kind of out of town
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is modern and affordable but management within halls isn't good
    Settling in:
    Was homesick
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Def come!
    University:
    Ppl are great!
    Course:
    Teacher are good
    Location:
    I like it.
    Accommodation:
    Reasonable with aid.
    Settling in:
    I love the people and academics.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    3/5.
    University:
    All was kind and welcoming!
    Course:
    Had the occasional tutorial and that was it. Didn't learn anything about the subject.
    Location:
    Bournemouth is really lovely and it's super easy to get around by bus.
    Accommodation:
    On campus halls were very poor.
    Settling in:
    People were kind!
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its an incredible friendly environment. I love it!
    University:
    its just awesome
    Course:
    Because
    Location:
    Out of the centre of town but close to uni housings
    Accommodation:
    The acomodation is AMAZING. But like a prison due to 24hour security
    Settling in:
    I met many people during the amazing freshers events as well as on my course
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, I did have a good experience.
    University:
    The library closed far too early each day! not useful for evening studies!
    Course:
    there were course related issues like no proper timetabling and clashing lectures.
    Location:
    Bournemouth is awesome!
    Accommodation:
    I did not get into halls of residence and had to get private accommodation.
    Settling in:
    I did not settle well as I went into private accommodation with students I did not get on with and it affected my studies.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE