Member reviews of Aston University

  • ridazeinab's avatar by ridazeinab on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It’s a nice university in terms of location and area and it has some nice facilities. For example, we have recently had our dispensing suite refurbished and had two more lecture rooms refurbished.
    University:
    The daytime atmosphere is great it’s usually full of students out and about and there are close amenities i.e. Costa coffe, Tesco, Greggs, Ryman etc.
    Course:
    First year timetable is really packed and you have lots of contact hours. However, in second year it really changes and you end up with half or less than half the contact hours you had during first year.
    Location:
    The location is amazing. It is a straight walk down from the train station which takes roughly 7-8 minutes depending on your speed of walking you are able to get to the university in 5 minutes also.
    Accommodation:
    I did not move out so I cannot answer in the category.
    Settling in:
    The jump from sixth form to university is massive and hits you really hard as you are expected to do a lot more and catch up quickly. During first term we had weekly biology tests and dispensing booklets to complete.
  • lucymarieclayton's avatar by lucymarieclayton on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Although it’s not the top university in the city, it’s very well accredited and is known for top student satisfaction. The clubs/union offers something for everyone, as well as a busy nightlife and shopping facilities being just around the corner.
    University:
    There’s so much to do in free time, such as societies, team sports, running, the gym, the nightlife, shopping, etc. The library is amazing and offers everything you could need.
    Course:
    The course itself seems very interesting and relevant to the real world. There are a few lecturers that go off subject a lot, but that may only be because it’s still the start of term. All lecturers seem approachable and friendly.
    Location:
    Birmingham is a wonderful city and is right on the doorstep of campus. I don’t feel as safe as I would in other towns, but that’s just the downside to living in a major city. There are so many shops too.
    Accommodation:
    Unite Student living is wonderful. It’s all organised on an app, where you can report maintenance issues and noise complaints. The campus is gorgeous too and is very close to the city centre.
    Settling in:
    I’m still getting used to how everything is ran and where to find things, but the Uni has been very supportive and helpful with this. They’ve organised taster sessions for all societies and there was a walk into town to get to know the area.
  • allytwat's avatar by allytwat on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    As I said, the main issue with Aston is the lack of support, at least for ABS students, maybe this is due to the volume of us? At Aston you also have to learn 11 modules per year, therefore having 11/12 exams and coursework projects (mainly exams).
    University:
    I don’t attend much but I do see a lot of promotions for Student Union events, sports, etc
    Course:
    I gave it this rating as I felt that Aston Business courses really do provide broad business courses which some might find appealing.
    Location:
    Close to city centre, easy access to public transport
    Accommodation:
    I’m currently privately renting a house near City Centre and it has been decent :)
    Settling in:
    Aston Uni is in a city I’ve grown up in so it wasn’t that much of a new environmental shock.
  • zabayliss's avatar by zabayliss on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I think Aston is a great place to study.
    University:
    The campus is always buzzing, day or night. The SU provides a wide range of activities and the gym is affordable but high quality.
    Course:
    My timetable is quite empty compared to my friends on other courses, meaning we have very little contact hours with the lecturers.
    Location:
    A city centre location is great for public transport links and shopping, but there is very little parking available!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is all within a 5-10 minute walk from the teaching buildings. However, it is all privately owned, so the university doesn't actually have anything to do with any accommodation issues.
    Settling in:
    The staff at the university were great at helping us to settle in with introductory lectures.
  • Neely12's avatar by Neely12 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    A brilliant university to choose!
    University:
    Awesome
    Course:
    There could be a lot of improvement but usually it runs smoothly
    Location:
    It’s a little far but I don’t mind the distance
    Accommodation:
    I don’t use accommodation but my friends do and they are happy with it.
    Settling in:
    Everyone on campus was really friendly
  • Abb97's avatar by Abb97 on 18th May 2018
    Overall:
    pretty satisfied to be honest
    University:
    everything is closely connected, you can do anything pretty easily but some activities start at a late time
    Course:
    The teaching is good, some lecturers are enthusiastic about their module whilst others can be pretty boring. Most of the lecturers are really experienced so you can ask them anything. You must download the aston app: My aston portal to be able to see the timetable which was kinda confusing when I first joined, timetables are fairly decent sometimes you can finish lectures at 6pm but there will be a couple hours of free time inbetween, most ive done is 3hrs without a break. Module content is the basics in the first semester and the second semester picks up the pace it can be overwhelming compared to the first but its nothing too much.
    Location:
    In the city centre so you can pretty much get to anywhere
    Accommodation:
    I've not stayed in the universities accommodation as it was too expensive
    Settling in:
    it wasn't immediate but I got use to it very quickly
  • I dunno's avatar by I dunno on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Everything is close by so easy to get to and the facilities and people are helpful.
    Course:
    It covers everything that I will need for when I get a job. Helps me be more prepared for any potential position.
    Location:
    Easy to travel to and its next to a shopping centre.
    Accommodation:
    Its on the campus and the rooms look nice. I dont live in student accomation but ive seen them.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is lovely and its so welcoming
  • Wasia's avatar by Wasia on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Its good
    University:
    It's good
    Course:
    Its worth it
    Location:
    Its in central Birmingham
    Accommodation:
    It's worth it
    Settling in:
    Its worth it
  • Mek03p's avatar by Mek03p on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    good,i like it
    University:
    good,i like it
    Course:
    Its ok.
    Location:
    good,i like it
    Accommodation:
    3 stars.
    Settling in:
    2 stars,hmm sounds good.
  • angelofhope's avatar by angelofhope on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    It's different and something which has made me more mature
    Course:
    Doing this degree will lead me to the future I want to experience
    Location:
    It's a gorgeous city, with many activities e.g. Bullring. The campus itself has a lovely sports centre and the uni is just surrounded with really good places to eat etc. etc.
    Accommodation:
    Double bed, quiet place to study, nice ensuite, good self-catering with other people
    Settling in:
    Nervous at first, uni is a big place compared to school but I felt comfortable once I started socialising and getting to meet new people
  • Danve's avatar by Danve on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    I love it
    Course:
    It's nice and fun!
    Location:
    Good location, easy access
    Accommodation:
    Low quality housing, not a fan
    Settling in:
    About 3 months
  • Febeiism's avatar by Febeiism on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a really good uni, it's just very big so it's hard to make friends, especially if the "aston auntie" has not included you in inviting you to get to know other people.. making it eveb harder
    University:
    I feel like friends is a big thing and for someone who's finding it hard to make friends it's awful
    Course:
    I've only been here a week and a few classes are boring
    Location:
    It's in the centre of town so there's public transport everywhere and lots of shops, no supermarkets though and town can be scary
    Accommodation:
    I've been put with girls who have similar backgrounds and religious beliefs and they disinclude me and I feel the uni should have put in a variety
    Settling in:
    I've not made many friends and I've cried almost every day
  • moha153eer's avatar by moha153eer on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Me personally would advise young students to enter the uni and have a nice time
    University:
    The uni life is in general very good and beneficial for the rest of your life but can sometimes be a struggling
    Course:
    Because this course helps me to be able to help and communicate with others in life.
    Location:
    Very nice area and easy to get along with everyone.
    Accommodation:
    The student housing is very okay because of the friends i share rooms with and the good accommodation.
    Settling in:
    This is a very nice and quiet uni which helps me develop the ability to be independent
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall my university experienc is going great and I really like it here, it's comfortable and there's lots of help and support with friendly students and teachers
    University:
    There's lots of entertainment available through society's with a wide range, and the library has amazing resources and laptops to use
    Course:
    The course is very demanding but well structures and we Are provided with a lot of opportunity and help It requires a lot of revision outside of lectures
    Location:
    The uni campus it around under 10 minutes from the main city centre and town so it's easy access to the shops and food attractions
    Accommodation:
    The location is perfect as its right on campus 2 mins from a tescos and the library . However the accommodation staff are not always very responsive
    Settling in:
    The atmosphere of The university is very chilled and it's a small uni so it doesn't feel too overwhelming and I managed to make a great group of friends quickly
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Good and concise at explaining all the facilities and what there is to offer.
    Course:
    It has good facilities and the teaching is exceptional.
    Location:
    Its near the bullring in birmingham.
    Accommodation:
    Its in the heart of Birmingham, a vibrant and diverse city with the town centre 10 minutes away.
    Settling in:
    Its very welcoming and has a sociable feel to it. Also the Welcome Week informs you clearly on what the uni is all about.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 Stars!!
    University:
    Nice!
    Course:
    It's just perfect!
    Location:
    It's nice!
    Accommodation:
    It's great.
    Settling in:
    I love it!
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good university! Best ever!
    University:
    All services are great!
    Course:
    Because everything in my course is perfect.
    Location:
    Its awesome! I like the city very much! ;-)
    Accommodation:
    Its very good.
    Settling in:
    Its very nice.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    the uni is in the city centre which I think is what made my experience much better as I was able to do retail therapy whenever I felt like it.
    University:
    there could be more to offer but what is on offer is fine.
    Course:
    The lectures are interesting however we spend hardly any time at uni - only 3 days. I would also prefer more choice in the modules I do, I hear people get to choose cinema and teaching English modules yet I didn't get that choice despite us being on the same course.
    Location:
    City centre location is excellent.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation on campus is far too expensive.
    Settling in:
    I didn't have very nice flatmates as they were all doing the same course and I was not and they were all rich snobby people who didn't want to talk to me.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    AWESOME
    University:
    Its not bad, i dont have much time for myself but its ok
    Course:
    Because i feel okay with it
    Location:
    I already like the place now
    Accommodation:
    Really good atmosphere
    Settling in:
    There were many friends so i had no problem
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's been a new experience but it will be quite some time before I can fully judge the university. The members are professional and friendly.
    University:
    Haven't fully settled
    Course:
    Because ive only just started it
    Location:
    Close to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    It's clean and newly build
    Settling in:
    Because I have the experience of living alone
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE