Member reviews of Birmingham City University

  • RebekahKendall's avatar by RebekahKendall on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Birmingham is a great city with a lot of things to do, day and night, so those who enjoy city life will absolutely love it here.
    University:
    I love uni life here, I feel very safe in my classes and at my accommodation.
    Course:
    So far, my course has been covering general modules which all LLB law students must learn, so I haven't learned the specifics of American law yet however the course has been good so far.
    Location:
    It's right in the city centre which is so convenient as everything is nearby and its easy to walk everywhere or get Ubers.
    Accommodation:
    I absolutely love my accommodation, University Locks, as it is a two minute walk away from the building in which my classes are held and is very spacious, clean and secure.
    Settling in:
    I settled into my accommodation extremely quickly and felt at home after a couple of days, it is now at the point that when I go home, I can't wait to get back to my room at Uni.
  • GrapeCrocodile's avatar by GrapeCrocodile on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    There's a service for everything- coffee, library books, help finding your way around, computers, security, mental health etc.
    University:
    Facilities are top notch
    Course:
    The lectures mainly comprise of seminars where lecturers work through the content with the group. The slides and notes are always on Moodle before the seminars (although the odd one here and there is uploaded afterwards).
    Location:
    Edgbaston is slightly out of the way compared to the city centre campus but the view and the area are nice.
    Accommodation:
    I commute.
    Settling in:
    There was an induction week.
  • Bismahanwar97's avatar by Bismahanwar97 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I LOVE THIS UNI
    University:
    Very good
    Course:
    This course is very informative
    Location:
    Near town so easier to go shopping
    Accommodation:
    Really good
    Settling in:
    Lecturers help
  • Anonymous's avatar by Anonymous on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    Most of my tutors seem really approachable and they always respond to my emails in a timely way
    Location:
    Near the city centre which would be ideal for anyone
    Accommodation:
    Very quite and easy access to uni.
    Settling in:
    Met a lot of new friends which made it easier
  • Flint Waves's avatar by Flint Waves on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The course is great, everything I need to access is within 3 buildings on the campus. Overall teaching and lecture quality is really good, a few minor hiccups, but it's always going to be expected at the start of the academic year.
    University:
    The library is great, with private study rooms that can be booked, either for groups or individually. Prices in the university cafe are crazy high, £4.75 I paid the other day for a BLT and bottle of coke.
    Course:
    Most of the tutors/lecturers are approachable and knowledgeable, there has been a couple that see it as only a job, and they aren't actually bothered by what students think.
    Location:
    Lots of things to do around the campus, 15 min walk into the city centre and Bull Ring, easily accessible when driving to/from home, 20 min walk to New Street station.
    Accommodation:
    Main downside to living in Birmingham is cost, for what I paid £130 per week for in first year, friends at other unis have it for as low as £90 per week with the same provider, and same room style/layout.
    Settling in:
    First week was great, felt like I had settled in straight away, but by second week the novelty had gone, so felt a bit homesick, other than that I've loved living at university.
  • hannahdlaura's avatar by hannahdlaura on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    So far I'm definitely enjoying it
    University:
    Enjoyable but a struggle for money
    Course:
    The content is good and interesting
    Location:
    Perfect distance from campus and social places
    Accommodation:
    Very nice accommodation but very pricey especially facilities such as laundry
    Settling in:
    I'm familiar with the city and my roommates are all lovely
  • RosieMacca's avatar by RosieMacca on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I am enjoying all aspects of my university lifestyle
    University:
    I love everything about being a student
    Course:
    I think the course is well run and I believe that the facilities and resources at the faculty specific campus are excellent.
    Location:
    It is a bit out of the way, but still en route to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    I do not live in university accommodation, I am in private student accommodation. It is excellent, It's never far to find what you need in such a big city
    Settling in:
    Felt at home straight away
  • Lavender_rose's avatar by Lavender_rose on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I really like it hear, it is a lovely new building, great facilities and teachers. Very happy.
    University:
    I have been so busy with the course, I haven't had much time for extra curricular activities but I think I will be able to start looking when it calms down.
    Course:
    Very well run modules and great teachers. Fast paced learning style and intense modules, but it's up to me to do the self directed study. : )
    Location:
    I really like the fact that it's close to the city center but not in it. As a health student it's very important to me that this campus/accommodation is quieter.
    Accommodation:
    Small but well formed, my own kitchenette and bathroom. Could probably do with a bigger common area to get more people to mingle.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home the minute I moved in, it's the first time I've had my own place and I am really enjoying it.
  • Breaded's avatar by Breaded on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    My experience was 9/10 because I made it 9/10. If you don't try and have a good time, you won't have a good time!
    University:
    I love the freedom!
    Course:
    Very well organised.
    Location:
    In the middle of town, but the area can be quite rough at night.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and cheerful.
    Settling in:
    Every was very friendly!
  • thestars's avatar by thestars on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    3 stars because I live at home and do not have the full experience of uni
    University:
    The library is well stocked, there are brand new facilities such as computers.
    Course:
    because the lectures are very approachable, and are committed to ensuring the teaching is up to a high standard.
    Location:
    It's in the city center, therefore there is access to transport, shops and the necessities. The uni is located in a easy to get to place.
    Accommodation:
    Average, I do not live in accommodation
    Settling in:
    I haven't yet settled in properly
  • CharliiW's avatar by CharliiW on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    3 stars
    University:
    Birmingham is a great place for shopping, lots of night life and events always happening.
    Course:
    Due to personal opinion, I am not really enjoying the course as much as I did in my first year.
    Location:
    It's a short walk from the city centre, great location.
    Accommodation:
    Great location and nice rooms, however it is way overpriced.
    Settling in:
    I'm just not a very sociable person so it took me a while.
  • alicetulips's avatar by alicetulips on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic resources, teachers and support. Lots of good friends made in acommodation also. Only downside could be quality of acommodation compared to other BCU campuses.
    University:
    A wide range of societies can make it easy to find things to do and the SU bar is good but there's not always a wide variety to do, sometimes you do have to do things yourself rather than search for things provided by BCU.
    Course:
    Tutors are friendly and approachable as well as knowledgeable. Opportunities here are good also.
    Location:
    Nice area, near Broad street for the evening and there are places such as nandos, morrisons, Starbucks etc. City centre is a short bus ride or walk away. However, to get to other places in Birmingham can be quite far such as to get to the north campus.
    Accommodation:
    Close to campus which is good and in a nice area. However, everything is shared and rooms are pretty small.
    Settling in:
    Support is good which makes you feel comfortable and location makes it easy to reach home if you need to as it's so central.
  • Anonymous 's avatar by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience has been great! I've thoroughly enjoyed myself socially and academically. Although I think BCU should spend some more money on lecturers! Not to mention any names but there are a few who are pompous and arrogant, which is suprising but no one likes everything after all and others may have a different opinion.
    University:
    There are now student pubs in mullenium point which is disappointing but there are many in perry bar campus. Which is soon to be moved to the city centre were hopefully there will be new bars as well.
    Course:
    The course has given me great insight into the business industry. By providing a mixture of I.T and business student like me can gain great deal of knowledge on how a business is run. I.T plays an important part in an organisation by analysing, Organising and managing therefore by combining the two subjects valuable knowledge and experience can be then used in the workplace.
    Location:
    The center of Britain's 2nd city!?
    Accommodation:
    There are surprisingly good deals on rent considering most of the accommodation are in the heart of Birmingham City center!
    Settling in:
    Whilst you might not make friends with the people on your course/in your accommodation, there are many universities and colleges in the area!
  • JeremyBorn's avatar by JeremyBorn on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great experience. Good teaching
    University:
    Good facilities
    Course:
    Not enough contact time
    Location:
    Much better we are now in the city
    Accommodation:
    Overpriced
    Settling in:
    Lovely coty
  • Bubble87's avatar by Bubble87 on 9th September 2015
    Overall:
    Let down by car parking availability and quality of university owned accommodation. Health campus itself very good with excellent library and practical facilities. Staff all welcoming with good lecturing styles and online resources.
    University:
    Campus facilities all very good however clubs and societies mainly take place at a different campus. Car parking provision poor.
    Course:
    Lots of time on placement, small class size, good range of assessment strategies with results back quickly, however written feedback usually brief. Lecturers all good with open door policies.
    Location:
    Easy location to commute too, close to city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Excellent location but could do with a refurb!
    Settling in:
    Welcoming atmosphere on campus and by staff however there were no ice breaker or introductory activities when I started, this has now been changed and there is a welcome party for new students to meet other students and staff in the department.
  • kaykayM's avatar by kaykayM on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Very patronising. However, if you regularly converse with the lecturers and use the resources, i.e. student/ASK services, you get the support you need.
    University:
    It was okay, but I did not go to a lot of things.
    Course:
    Not enough information or support. Very patronising.
    Location:
    Main campus, where I was located, was very far and no one lived near there.
    Accommodation:
    3 because it is in the middle. I did not stay or visit accommodation or housing, so I do not know what they were like.
    Settling in:
    Already knew the place before I started.
  • beckylfc's avatar by beckylfc on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Iffy
    University:
    Great!
    Course:
    My opinion.
    Location:
    Very great!
    Accommodation:
    Half way.
    Settling in:
    Just do.
  • Busayoxo's avatar by Busayoxo on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's been okay, make the most of it whilst you're there
    University:
    It's been an experience
    Course:
    It's interesting and interactive
    Location:
    My uni was in a very run down area but is moving to city centre which is nicer
    Accommodation:
    Uni halls are extremely old and outdated
    Settling in:
    I'm quite sociable
  • Moniqueadelexo's avatar by Moniqueadelexo on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    9/5
    University:
    Everything is very accessible
    Course:
    Because they staff are ever so lovely
    Location:
    Very diverse
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation should be slightly cheaper
    Settling in:
    Just due to be in a different city
  • Keeran01's avatar by Keeran01 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Would recommend
    University:
    Enjoy the experience and things I learnt
    Course:
    Great facilities
    Location:
    City near shops
    Accommodation:
    Great people
    Settling in:
    People from different backgrounds friendly
  • stefan_kudev's avatar by stefan_kudev on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5 souncs a bit harsh, but 9/10 is spot on. Personally for my course (Media and Communication) I find the university to provide the perfect opportunities and a wonderful studying environment as a whole. If you're doing media or anything related - go for it!
    University:
    A bit too much partying going on, but hey - "a little party never killed nobody"!
    Course:
    The tutors are really helpful and have a great way of explaining both theoretical and practical material. The only reason I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 is that some of the equipment is a bit outdated and could be improved.
    Location:
    Central and close to everything. What could be better?
    Accommodation:
    The beds are a bit uncomfortable and the showers are too small. Affordability is decent, yet somehow I feel like I will be moving on to private accommodation from next year since it will be closer to the center and not much more expensive.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really friendly and helpful. The weather here also isn't as bad as people say it is.
  • maniba's avatar by maniba on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    poor acadmeically but good wiith opportunities
    University:
    /
    Course:
    poor academically
    Location:
    perry barr birmiingham not very nice
    Accommodation:
    horrible staff not worth the price
    Settling in:
    friendly atmosphere good suoport staff
  • Shuttereye97's avatar by Shuttereye97 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great. Really appreciate the support I have received for my disabily and the way everything is online so it's accessible when needed.
    University:
    24/7 library is very helpful
    Course:
    I only have one long day a week so it gives me time to do my work.
    Location:
    Next to the city center so I can do shopping on my way home.
    Accommodation:
    It's good but it is a bit small
    Settling in:
    It was easy to settle in
  • techyaccountant's avatar by techyaccountant on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    They could improve communication and maybe make the housing a BIT more affordable.
    University:
    Lots and lots of events. But maybe take student input regarding what they would want.
    Course:
    Lack of communication with students.
    Location:
    Britain's second city, plus the city center. Whats not to love?
    Accommodation:
    Excellent quality. Missed a star because it could be made more affordable.
    Settling in:
    Friendliest people on the planet
  • Shazina Shaukat 's avatar by Shazina Shaukat on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Different, it's more modern and up to speed with years of change. When you walk in you can tell they've changed it to fit your course and I definitely feel that when I walk into the computing section.
    University:
    I'm still getting used to the uni life, and settling in but overall it's going great
    Course:
    It's only the 2nd teaching week, though I have a great first impression it can always change during the year
    Location:
    Great location, city centre is right next door if you need to pop in on your breaks or if you have a part time job
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    N/A
  • Ekatrinapw's avatar by Ekatrinapw on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Uni is what you make it .
    University:
    Because uni life is good I am happy and managing okay
    Course:
    Because it's just a diverse subject which covers every aspect in life when it comes to criminal minds
    Location:
    Because Birmingham is like london
    Accommodation:
    Because it's decent
    Settling in:
    Because I did a lot of socials
  • FeedMePizza's avatar by FeedMePizza on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I'd rate my experience quite highly. Fantastic facilities for media based courses, wonderful people, friendly approachable teachers, easy to use website features which offer an abundance of resources.
    University:
    Uni life is very good on the City Centre BCU campus, the facilities are fantastic and I can use them pretty much as and when I need them. The library is very big and offers all of the material that I could need. There's a pub on the campus itself run by the student union as well as hundreds of bars/clubs and music venues all around, a short walk to the Bullring shopping centre which houses lots of shops and food courts. Clubs and societies are very frequent and well run, currently around 300 to choose from from sports (ice hockey, dodgeball) to board games (DnD, MTG and more), FIlm and TV production societies so theres definitely something for everybody
    Course:
    The facilities are fantastic, fitted with enormous green screen studios, MILO cameras, huge amounts of film, TV and radio and a simple hiring system which students can use from Year 1. The course structure is divided into seperate modules each taught by a different lecturer and a mixture of lectures, practices and tutorials are used to teach the different aspects of the course. My timetable means I am in the university 3 days a week, with sufficient time in-between for practical work and practice. The teaching feels very professional and lecturers are friendly and supportive and offer help and contact details. The website, Moodle and iCity are convenient and host all of the information, lecture notes and resources that you could need for the course in a quick and functional way.
    Location:
    City Centre Birmingham, lots to do, places to go, things to see, food/drink/club nights, entertainment is thriving. The travel is very frequent, sometimes with buses every 2-3 minutes, literally a couple minutes walk from the Bullring shopping centre and 10 minutes walk from Digbeth where there's a large choice of hundreds of club/bar/music venues to choose from.
    Accommodation:
    I'm staying the BCU North Campus accommodation - The Coppice - and the overall campus is nice, very clean, and there's a free gym access and a sports hall, a quick walk to the north campus and is very close to a One Stop Shopping centre for all shopping needs. Bus and Train access are also very close so location wise these are great. Affordability, the location is
    Settling in:
    I think this really boils down to the people, both in my flat and lecturers as they have made the experience a friendly one and a safe one. Nobody from the university on my move in day apart from handing me my keys really spoke to me, im still yet to meet anyone other than my housemates actually in my flat. The staff at the uni city centre campuses are great and really friendly and approachable, I really felt like part of the university right from the beginning. The Student Union is very active and the multiple societies and clubs really give the experience a quick homely feel. I feel like i've been here for a long time even though its only been about 2 and a half weeks.
  • bottomramen's avatar by bottomramen on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    This is a great university if you want to meen new people
    University:
    Has alot of services
    Course:
    I enjoy the course
    Location:
    Nice location
    Accommodation:
    The housing is very nice
    Settling in:
    Settled in fast
  • What is that?'s avatar by What is that? on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I've heard that some courses are not that good, I hope this will improve with time.
    University:
    As far as I know it's good, but because of classes I am not able to try them.
    Course:
    I just started it and so far it's good
    Location:
    Definitely the perfect location
    Accommodation:
    The location is great, but the prices are way too high. I expected that they would want to help us and understand our financial difficulties as students, but instead they seem to try to make money from us.
    Settling in:
    I don't feel ''at home'' yet, but I like it and I think I will get used to it soon.
  • Not sure's avatar by Not sure on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Pleasemt
    University:
    Very good life
    Course:
    I feel its right
    Location:
    Centre of Birmingham
    Accommodation:
    I like it
    Settling in:
    Every first year is hard
  • Nelss 's avatar by Nelss on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni, everyone is super friendly
    University:
    Everything is easily accessible
    Course:
    It's only been two weeks since I've started, but I'm impressed so far.
    Location:
    Campus is 10 minutes away from Birmingham City centre.
    Accommodation:
    Have not seen accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Friendly environment and staff!
  • Lovestarfaith's avatar by Lovestarfaith on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 4/5 because it is a friendly environment with plenty of stimulation activities
    University:
    There isn't many clubs on the campus, uoeevt the library and student union is good
    Course:
    It's perfect for the job role I'm look to go into
    Location:
    It's a prime location with buses going to and from the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Everyone seems pretty happy with it
    Settling in:
    It's a friendly environment where everyone supports one another
  • Samedisx I think's avatar by Samedisx I think on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Good uni
    University:
    A lot to do in Birmingham
    Course:
    Seems good
    Location:
    Many shops/job options
    Accommodation:
    Very clean, tidy, spacious
    Settling in:
    Much faster than I'd imagine, especially as I moved from the middle on nowhere to a very large city centre
  • dunno's avatar by dunno on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    excellent
    University:
    good for me
    Course:
    great course
    Location:
    exciting city
    Accommodation:
    good facilities, bit expensive
    Settling in:
    found it easy to make friends
  • GuestS8's avatar by GuestS8 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far the student life has been amazing and the lectures good
    University:
    Because it's great
    Course:
    Cus of the course content and the quality of the lectures
    Location:
    The city is nice but the area of it I live in isn't great
    Accommodation:
    Because the quality isn't great but the location is okay and the affordability is good
    Settling in:
    I settled in well, met nice people and got used to the routine quickly
  • LOL no's avatar by LOL no on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    horrible university
    University:
    wasn't really invited anywhere
    Course:
    lack of organisation
    Location:
    in the city
    Accommodation:
    -
    Settling in:
    didn't feel at home at all, everything seemed weird and dysfunctional
  • maniba's avatar by maniba on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    great uni for opportunities and know alot of businesses but weak academically for my course
    University:
    Birmingham is great
    Course:
    academically weak
    Location:
    perry barr bad area, crime rate
    Accommodation:
    good basic things and good for price but nothing special
    Settling in:
    good support
  • Aivaras.v's avatar by Aivaras.v on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Why jump into life straight away? Explore more while being at university and fully find out who you are, with many different experiences and societies to have fun at
    University:
    Uni if life uni is love
    Course:
    Because I wish I have chosen something IT related such as computer science
    Location:
    It's the second biggest city 'birmingham'
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is a place to get to know everyone make friends it's what makes uni fun
    Settling in:
    I'm easy going easy to talk to
  • Nope sorry.'s avatar by Nope sorry. on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Positive. Grew up a lot. The course is bearable. Student loan is nice. International students dont have grants though.
    University:
    Students should have a free gym or free fitness classes... But no. Pay some more. Uni life for students without cash is sad. No money no party. Just part time works.
    Course:
    The teachers are good. There's not much of a guidance as to how should I do things in real life. We touch too many things without specializing into anything in particular.
    Location:
    London would be better. Birmingham is more affordable.
    Accommodation:
    Too expensive. I can't afford +100 pounds a week. City north campus is useless and depressing. City centre campus is good. But in general, they are expensive.
    Settling in:
    I am from Portugal. None of this is "like home". Sorry.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    University experience is amazing, something you never imagine! The staff at this university are so kind and helpful and it's a great place to go to! Id definitely recommend
    University:
    Location is excellent I enjoy most of my lectures and I've made some amazing friends
    Course:
    I enjoy what we do overall and the timetable is good however some of the lectures aren't useful
    Location:
    Fantastic location
    Accommodation:
    Excellent location, on the expensive side and not impressed with the grouping of flats and the cleanliness
    Settling in:
    I started to get very home sick at first
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Going very well so far
    University:
    Brilliant vibe and atmosphere
    Course:
    I can't fault anything the facilities are brilliant the community spirit is vibrant everyone gets along and the lecturers have professional connections which always come in handy
    Location:
    Great city always lots of things to do and potter around
    Accommodation:
    I've heard there sound I'm personally staying home
    Settling in:
    Very friendly and welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Up to now my three week experience in the university if ok
    University:
    I like this uni
    Course:
    Because I enjoy studying economics
    Location:
    It is near the city centre
    Accommodation:
    There are lot of power cuts and the clothes dryers do not work
    Settling in:
    Everybody is helpful and all of us try and help each other we are a team
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Lots of different activities
    Course:
    Good support nice people
    Location:
    Very nice area
    Accommodation:
    My house is very safe and warm
    Settling in:
    Very easy to speak to people
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Birmingham City is s really good university do far I've experienced people being helpful and welcoming, and the people I live with!
    University:
    Meeting new people I felt nervous but yet it's been really enjoyable and everyone is great!
    Course:
    Because it's only been a week but I know for surely I'm going to love the course!
    Location:
    5 minute walk from the city centre and so much to do!
    Accommodation:
    The uni is set out amazing so much facilities
    Settling in:
    Because I have settled in really quickly everyone is so friendly!
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I suffer from anxiety and mentioned this on my application so I have received support throughout the process even before my place was unconditional.
    University:
    Plenty of resources relevant to the courses offered at the campus
    Course:
    Not had any issues so far, the lecturers are spot on.
    Location:
    In a quiet area but still has shops nearby
    Accommodation:
    I thought it would be nearer to the city south campus. But it's not too far away.
    Settling in:
    I'm not used to living in a city yet but the university I'm settled in with
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Disappointed. However I was an international student and I was not used to the education system and UK. But I could feel comfortable or at home there.
    University:
    Good services
    Course:
    Because its not as good as I imagined
    Location:
    Very well located
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation was perfect in all aspects.
    Settling in:
    I have never felt at home there
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good campus, good careers advice
    University:
    Good societies, good study areas
    Course:
    Helpful teaching, good content, good careers advice/prospects
    Location:
    Easy access by public transport and care
    Accommodation:
    Good quality, but expensive
    Settling in:
    I made friends quickly and easily settled into the routine
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Is a great place to study
    University:
    Because the uni is open 24 hours
    Course:
    Because the uni have all the facilities needed for the course
    Location:
    Because is located in a good area in the Birmingham city Center
    Accommodation:
    Is very cheap
    Settling in:
    Because I lean fast
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a really good university overall, prime location and amazing tutors
    University:
    There's a lot of extra-curricular options.
    Course:
    The course is made interesting and is the right fit for me
    Location:
    It's in a city location and easy enough to get to, but the walk from the train station is a little too long to make it comfortable, especially after a commute, a 20 minute walk is a bit annoying.
    Accommodation:
    It's nice accommodation, and value for money.
    Settling in:
    The tutors really made it easy to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a good uni as you are strongly supported throughout the course and the facilities are generally good.
    University:
    Plenty to do but the library at north campus is not 24 hours
    Course:
    You know that you can get support from a several people whatever the reason and the content is quite detailed. However, we get a lot of information at once and don't know what to do with it.
    Location:
    Birmingham is a good city but where the campus is located in a not so nice area.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation itself is standard and as expected but the location is not. Bad reputation and generally not a good area.
    Settling in:
    Very comfortable with everything.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    For my course, this uni has suited me wonderfully. The tutors have masses of time for you and each lesson pieces together the actor training to create a well rounded, disciplined product.
    University:
    The events have been cheap, well organised and accessible but my timetable doesn't leave much opportunity for participation.
    Course:
    Having only studied for one week, I can already tell that the school fits my needs perfectly.
    Location:
    7 minutes away from my studios. A wonderfully diverse and engaging city.
    Accommodation:
    Brand new, good customer service.
    Settling in:
    Most this first week has been spent team building which is essential for my course.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I think the university has everything to offer for everyone wanted to any course that the university offers.
    University:
    It's great apart from having to budget money and not being able to go to all the events that I wanted to go to.
    Course:
    I'm only in my first couple of weeks and I'm already loving the course without even getting a real taste of it yet.
    Location:
    You have everything you need right next to the university and even in it.
    Accommodation:
    I fell in love with the university the first time I walked in to it two years ago.
    Settling in:
    I've settled in extremely well, better than I thought I would, but there's still a lot to know.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good to average
    University:
    Now with investment facilities lot better
    Course:
    Rather impersonal but good content
    Location:
    Great now moved to city centre
    Accommodation:
    Pretty average for uni accomadation.
    Settling in:
    SU is rather lacking
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fun
    University:
    Loads to do
    Course:
    Excellent uni
    Location:
    Perfect
    Accommodation:
    Love it
    Settling in:
    Amazing
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Wonderful, helps you to move on, but very comfortable
    University:
    Amazing!
    Course:
    Very interesting, leading onto other opportunities
    Location:
    Great area, and very friendly environment
    Accommodation:
    Convenient, and easy to access
    Settling in:
    Good people to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 as it is very good
    University:
    great amount of things todo
    Course:
    The course is only three days a week and it gets hard to get there at times.
    Location:
    I live far away
    Accommodation:
    brilliant university
    Settling in:
    settled in quick
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university and course is good but be prepared to work extra hard in order to get good grades
    University:
    Campus is small and there is not much on offer
    Course:
    Teaching quality is good but course structure needs work
    Location:
    Location is 20 minutes from Birmingham city centre
    Accommodation:
    Only shared accomodation available
    Settling in:
    Classes are large and it can be hard to make friends
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I love my uni and feel part of a huge extended family. Organisation isn't always the Best But the staff always get there in the end. 9/10
    University:
    Can't always get a seat in the library
    Course:
    My timetable is spread out over 4 days, for around 1-2 hours each day.
    Location:
    Easy access to town and transport
    Accommodation:
    Poor quality. Was a good location when I lived in first yea halls but the campus has since moved.
    Settling in:
    Joining societies made me feel part of the uni
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's worth studying in here. I reccomend it!
    University:
    I'm pleased with everything here.
    Course:
    There are some gaps between the modules. Although, the lecturers are awesome. They seem highly professional and motivated.
    Location:
    It is in the centre!
    Accommodation:
    It is a nice and new building, but the showers are awful.
    Settling in:
    I'm coming from really far away without knowig almost anybody so i need some more time to get used to it.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Uni Life - * * * * * Uni Course - * * * * Over all experience taking into account the stress and headaches caused from uni - ****'
    University:
    The "Uni life" offered at Birminghham City University is one of the best to an imagine, not only do they host and create events all year they also have a student union bar located in the city centre campus (this is great for cheap drinks before a night out. There is a incredible range of societies to choose from whether you want to do extreme sport all the way too Doctor Who appreciation society! To top it of the support given by all there staff there are more that admiral, they are constantly pleasant and understanding.
    Course:
    Birmingham City university offer more then education, it offers professional practice within it's modules which allows you to become ready for the working world.
    Location:
    Birmingham City University is located walking distance to City Centre which gives people the freedom to live in student accommodations or live in houses with their friends and have plenty of public transport to take them to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Birmingham City University's accommodations are located ideally to the city centre campus but the cost is a considerable expensive in comparison to the student housing available throughout the city.
    Settling in:
    The best thing I find when coming to university is living in an accommodation during first year. It allows you to be care free and wild with absolute strangers, then before you know it, become you best friends.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome
    University:
    Bv
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    It's near the bullring
    Accommodation:
    It is clean
    Settling in:
    I went to boarding school, I adjusted well
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far my experience has been enjoyable, I have met many new people who have all been lovely to speak to and all the tutors I have met so far have been a joy to meet.
    University:
    The services offered on campus are very good, there are a few different places to get food and snacks from. I love the costa :). The library has a good selection of books. The uni overall has many different societies that you can join for people with many different interests.
    Course:
    I really like my timetable and the course is structured well. The teaching has been good and there is a lot of support on and off campus with all staff and students being very approachable.
    Location:
    It is not to far to travel to from home and is in a nice area.
    Accommodation:
    I don't stay in accommodation
    Settling in:
    I have not long started the uni so haven't got used to the building and the learning just yet.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good because the people are very nice
    University:
    Its fun
    Course:
    Its fun and easy
    Location:
    Far from home
    Accommodation:
    Affordable
    Settling in:
    Have a lot of friends
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    An excellent university choice.
    University:
    Excellent facilities
    Course:
    Structure
    Location:
    Slightly removed from city centre
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable
    Settling in:
    Many events
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's the best
    University:
    The university makes me feel like I belong
    Course:
    The professors are amazing
    Location:
    It's near the important locations
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is really good
    Settling in:
    The students are generous and open
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I've had my ups and downs, but the university and all the tutors have provided a great amount of help, understanding and guidance through all situations. Creativity and exploring new fields are always encouraged.
    University:
    Fun but stressful.
    Course:
    It is well structured and organised. The course programme is interesting,whilst challenging and really pushes students to explore their skills and creativity.
    Location:
    campus is situated within walking distance of city centre and main areas, and at the same time gives the feel of students only zone.
    Accommodation:
    Set in a very good location. 2mins walk from the campus. Great for socialising.
    Settling in:
    All tutors have always been very helpful and encouraging.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really good, felt at home really quickly
    University:
    Bcusu organise events which are really good
    Course:
    Timetable is good and the course is just right for me
    Location:
    The campus where my course is is right in the city centre so it's near a lot of things eg shopping and food places
    Accommodation:
    Too far from the uni, have had quite a few problems with things in the flat and it smells
    Settling in:
    People are friendly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Friendly, studious, fun
    University:
    many societies, good nights out
    Course:
    I have enjoyed every lesson so far and the tutors are supportive
    Location:
    It's in the centre of Bham
    Accommodation:
    I live at home
    Settling in:
    Because I live at home
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent I absolutely adore it.
    University:
    There are so many activities! The library is open 24/7 and there is even an on campus pub! As well as this my campus is in the city centre where all the pubs and clubs are.
    Course:
    I absolutely love the course so far!! All of the lecturers are amazing and all of the students are so nice and willing to help you. All of the information is delivered in an interesting and enthusiastic way. I am so excited about spending the next three years, possibly longer, here.
    Location:
    It is right in the city centre only 15/20 minutes away from the main train station and it is surrounded by many bus stops. I cannot speak for the other two campuses.
    Accommodation:
    It looks excellent. Cannot really say as I commute b
    Settling in:
    Because of everyone being so polite and helpful I settled in immediately and felt as if I belonged there.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    good uni always spending money to improve it
    University:
    good range of social and sports activities
    Course:
    some lecturers aren't the best and the course itself isn't as great as it makes out.
    Location:
    city centre of brimingham 10 minute walk to bullring
    Accommodation:
    n/a
    Settling in:
    n/a
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    There are plenty of courses to choose from that I would've taken as an alternative, including a variety of arts and sciences. Staff are approachable and many are quite encouraging, however some of the student accommodation locations are somewhat dismal, and are either too commercialised or old feeling. The uni itself is amazing, just try and rent accommodation outside of what's provided by the university.
    University:
    While I didn't use a lot of the facilities offered to me at uni, there appeared to be a helpful student union, however there was nothing worth noting in terms of shopping on campus.
    Course:
    The staff were all friendly and approachable, one especially being very enthusiastic and making it a joy to attend their classes, however the content of the course seemed very basic for my first year, I covered many topics I already had in year 13 so not much effort was required on my half.
    Location:
    The campus is literally a few minutes walk away from the bullring and its surrounding shops, there are plenty of places to do food shopping, or going out to eat/drink.
    Accommodation:
    Upon arrival, the oven was broken, lights failed to work every so often during the year, and the condition of some of the bedroom furniture was definitely quite "used", however there was large kitchen space and away from traffic so it was often peaceful (excluding loud flatmates...)
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly, I got used to turning up to classes as expected, I joined a few societies without a problem, and I got comfortable in my accommodation within the first week.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing! If you are worried about university being scary, dont fret. You will fit right in, theres groups, events, societies for everybody.
    University:
    The integration of studying and extra societies is done well. It is easy to adapt to and enjoy while studying.
    Course:
    My timetable is suited perfectly for my course and other activities such as a job. My lecturers are extremely helpful yet they give enough information to become an independant and read for the degree yourself.
    Location:
    Perry Bar campus is not ideal as it is a rough area and doesnt allow much comfort outside of university. However moving in to the city centre campus this year is great.
    Accommodation:
    I commute to university, but my friends mention they enjoy living at their houses despite the price being slightly high.
    Settling in:
    Walking in to university and being welcomed by staff and other studentss makes the first day feel less daunting. I had settled in perfectly.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Average
    University:
    Nothing social is good enough
    Course:
    Quality of course isn't good enough
    Location:
    Close to city but not in it
    Accommodation:
    Closest accommodation isn't nice
    Settling in:
    Welcomed well
  • by Anonymous on 5th September 2015
    Overall:
    !
    University:
    /
    Course:
    /
    Location:
    /
    Accommodation:
    /
    Settling in:
    /
  • by Anonymous on 4th September 2015
    Overall:
    Not very organised, boring, rubbish SU.
    University:
    See the answer 16(?). It's hard when you've got a rubbish SU everything's at the other campuses (we literally have one building and a cafe). It's been hard to make friends there.
    Course:
    I like the content but it's not teaching you what to teach and it's really unorganised and lessons frequently get cancelled.
    Location:
    Perry Barr is absolutely horrible and pretty dangerous but at least you've got a shopping centre a 5 minute walk away from campus.
    Accommodation:
    Not great like you'd expect from uni accommodation. But repairs and replacements were always sorted very quickly.
    Settling in:
    It's been a full year and I still don't feel comfortable or settled there. There's too many cliques and people are mean. The Student Union is rubbish and doesn't do anything, there are no good societies and they're all at a far away campus. People aren't very friendly.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Dont come here. Tutors just want your money and dont care about anything else.
    University:
    Boring
    Course:
    Worst University ever. Tutors are vile and cant teach.
    Location:
    They have moved.
    Accommodation:
    N/a
    Settling in:
    Neved settled in even after the course had finished.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty mediocre for a University.
    University:
    Nothing of great interest available.
    Course:
    A greater emphasis on economic history would have been far more interesting.
    Location:
    Old campus (Perry Barr) a little out of town.
    Accommodation:
    Pretty basic, by no means the worst accommodation I've seen at other universities though.
    Settling in:
    Already knew area + people.
  • by Anonymous on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    Academically, I feel supported and there are great resources available. Socially, I feel like there should be more events in the city south campus - however, Uni is what you make of it!
    University:
    I found a lot of the social events were in the City Centre or at the City North campus, which was too far away to get back from late at night. Shopping in Birmingham is amazing, and there is always something to do. The library has great resources and everything I needed for Uni work.
    Course:
    It's really enjoyable and rewarding - just a big workload!
    Location:
    I am at the City South campus in Edgbaston, which is very green and feels safe. It's a quick 10/15 minute bus ride from the city centre too!
    Accommodation:
    I was in Westmount Hall for first year which, although good value and close to the University, it was was in need of updating! My student house is very good value and spacious.
    Settling in:
    I was ready to leave home and be independently, most of the other students on the course and in the accommodation were friendly and fun.
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    It has been great. Although people say "bcu isn't great. bla bla", I was worried at first but it has been amazing and I will miss it very much!!
    University:
    There are many things going on and the union are on the lookout to make it free and interesting for all.
    Course:
    I don't feel like I've learnt much. Only basic as I haven't actually been pushed to try on my own. However the lecturers are fantastic in the support they provide
    Location:
    it is in the city centre. many students can commute from and to the university easily but also foreign students can experience the city
    Accommodation:
    They are very supportive and helpful. Very easy to talk with!
    Settling in:
    Very quickly. The students, the advisors, the union and senior staff were nice and welcoming.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It has been brilliant, I have loved it all!!
    University:
    With multiple unis in the city, it's is the perfect location.
    Course:
    It's really the best uni!
    Location:
    Great location for learning having fun and chilling.
    Accommodation:
    It's what is deserved
    Settling in:
    I settled in very well
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Racist, biased, judgmental, dont want to help dyslexic students (think their stupid). Tell you to your face if they think your going to fail even before you have finished the year. Rude and pathetic and i hope the uni goes bankrupt or the staff get sacked
    University:
    Like i mentioned before about the staff and their unacceptable behaviour and lack of care for my education this has ruined my university experience.
    Course:
    Biased, racist, judgemental staff who dont want to support dyslexic students
    Location:
    No problem with location, good social sctivities available
    Accommodation:
    Accomodation staff were extremely friendly and looked after me.
    Settling in:
    Refer to first rating
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I can't complain with the university it has everything j need and more and the staff and lecturers are amazing and always supportive when you need help
    University:
    It is the best thing I have ever done and chose to do
    Course:
    Like every course it has it's ups and downs about it but the structure of the course and the lectures are quite alright
    Location:
    Central to everything and an easy walking distance to everywhere
    Accommodation:
    I get an en-suite bathroom, it's close to my campus and has everything I ask for
    Settling in:
    With a good group of friends and getting into the habit of lectures i settled in fast
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would recommend the university itself as the tutors are amazing and a lot of money has been invested into the new buildings to locate them together. It definitely became better when the new buildings opened
    University:
    You had to travel to different campuses to feel involved which was a pain
    Course:
    I really did not enjoy my first year of university as the course content was very broad. Going into second year was so much better aaa we began to specialise on topics we chose and then third year was even better.
    Location:
    It is outside the city centre. Other universities seem to be altogether in one place and BCU was spread across the city in 7 buildings
    Accommodation:
    I used a company not direct university accommodation. They tried to charge for damage that was caused before I lived in the flat. But it was very close to the university
    Settling in:
    My first year was awful. The course I didn't enjoy and the people I lived with were not pleasent to be around
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The help and information I received from the university was great. You also get a great deal of help from Student Union.
    University:
    University has prepared me to go on to study further therefore I owe my course and lectures for helping me succeed at university.
    Course:
    I received a great deal of help when completing assignments.
    Location:
    There are shops for food nearby.
    Accommodation:
    It was great.
    Settling in:
    Made great friends instantly and got on well with the lecturers.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Five stars. It is clean, welcoming and is everything you could want from uni.
    University:
    It has everything you need and it is easy to access.
    Course:
    The lecturers are always enthusiastic and everything is always made interesting.
    Location:
    Good positioning in regards to travel, and accessibility to food places and shops is very good.
    Accommodation:
    My friends speak highly of the accommodation.
    Settling in:
    You are made to feel so welcome it is as though you have always been there.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I absolutely love the course and the university as a whole. Now I'm here and have spent a year studying at the university, I wouldn't want to be anywhere else for studies.
    University:
    The campus feels safe, with friendly and helpful security staff on site and patrolling regularly, and entertainment is put on regularly to enable students to be involved in different events and activities. There are also numerous societies to cater to everyone's interests.
    Course:
    The course is brilliant; it's incredibly well taught and incredibly interesting.
    Location:
    Not quite in the city center to be too much, but close enough the city center to receive the benefits of living in the city.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is clean and spacious and the staff and security on site are all incredibly friendly
    Settling in:
    I loved and enjoyed the course and the accommodation, and was ready for a new challenge, thus leading me to feel settled rather quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Not bad, but not worth the money I'm paying
    University:
    the gym and library is good. everything else isnt that good plus we have a UKIP society. what a great sign...
    Course:
    Lecturers aren't competent and lectures are boring and sometimes pointless
    Location:
    I was in Perry Barr. It;s disgusting and an ugly, broing campus with a terrible students union
    Accommodation:
    Dirty, old, outdated, unsocial, beds extremely uncomfortable, horrible location with nothing to do and basically a filthy and dead area
    Settling in:
    I naturally settle in easily and it wasnt too far from my home town
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    University is good, easy to make friends and a good experience.
    University:
    Facilities are good and plenty to do
    Course:
    A lot of improvement could be made, a lot of back to back lectures & seminars.
    Location:
    Close to transportation links.
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive
    Settling in:
    Student union made every effort to help settling in
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    10/10. I couldn't recommend BCU enough!
    University:
    Bring in the city centre campus life is very good with lots to do.
    Course:
    Course takes everything into account and staff are very helpful.
    Location:
    Perfect city centre location with lots to do.
    Accommodation:
    Clean accommodation with everything you need for a good price.
    Settling in:
    Took me longer than usual because I am very suspectable to being homesick but the university helped me out and made things ok.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good but bcu can be pricey when on a creative course
    University:
    Social life is really good and being a student is fun
    Course:
    Not enough timetabled sessions Printing and facilities cost too much
    Location:
    Love the city
    Accommodation:
    It's really good has a good location
    Settling in:
    Settled in well
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great - everyone's there to help
    University:
    Experience
    Course:
    Tutors good
    Location:
    Local to everything
    Accommodation:
    Friendly - homely
    Settling in:
    Great people
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It could have been better, and cheaper! But it was a lot better than other university's I looked at.
    University:
    All the club activities are not even at the city centre campus so it seems a bit pointless. Plus it is expensive!
    Course:
    It is a 50/50 course, 50% theory with 50% practical. However, I think the balance should be more like 30% theory and 70% practical. I wish they would allow us to request what we want to learn, most of the stuff I actually want to learn about for my specialism (TV) they class as 'boring' so they don't teach us certain aspects. As for theory we usually get our grades back late. However we do get good feedback in the form of tutorials. The facilities at the Uni are great though.
    Location:
    In Birmingham City Centre, lots of good shops a stone's throw away. Easy to get to.
    Accommodation:
    It is so expensive, and the cost of it is only getting higher. I am struggling to pay for it in my final year. I seriously question if I will even have enough money for food without asking my family for help.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was strangers for a while, and I still don't talk to many people at Uni. Some people already seemed to know one another or settled in quite quickly, I went to Uni knowing one person already which helped.
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, but some staff were difficult to deal with around mental health issues (and some physical health issues!)
    University:
    Our uni life was mainly based around the course (concerts etc) but this suited me
    Course:
    There were a few modules that I don't feel we're particularly useful, but most of it was great!
    Location:
    Middle of the city, and I love Birmingham
    Accommodation:
    The SU have an agency, and that was fantastic, but the halls are really overpriced
    Settling in:
    I was still very homesick

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE