Member reviews of Buckinghamshire New University

  • absdah's avatar by absdah on 22nd July 2019
    Overall:
    Shit
    University:
    The overall uni life is pleasant, everything you need a 2 min walk away! Cinema, shopping, bowling! The SU at university is fairly good, events on every night of the week including, frat house, live music, comedy nights etc Free societies and entrance to the SU nights out. They do provide free first aid training as well as free trips to the west end , go ape etc
    Course:
    Dance and fitness course is extremely intense however it has many good elements to the course as well as bad. The good elements is that masterclasses is a fab way to meet professionals in the dance/fitness industry to potentially get spotted. Lots of detailed information and tutorials is provided as well as lots of teaching hours. However they sometimes care more about our 'attendance' than our actual grades. To pass the year 80% attendance is needed to progress onto higher years on the course however if you gain 80% attendance that will only count as a 40-45% grade so to gain a 1st your attendance must be 95-100% which is nearly impossible when you become ill and the faculty decline your absence request because they don't believe that you are actually ill. Which means everyone who's ill comes to class (lectures and practical) and pass their illnesses only one another. Overall over the years the course has become progressively better ensuring that the turnover of staff is more professional and understanding and that they are starting to treat us more like adults instead of children.
    Location:
    The location is very good as it's only a 5 minuet walk from the university and is in the centre of town.
    Accommodation:
    University's accommodation in comparison to most university is very bad. First of all the cleaners cant do their job properly and the rooms are never clean when you move in. To then some of the rooms going mouldy with black mould after the first term of living there. The price difference between accommodation is appalling, starting off with £115 a week for the cheapest most basic accommodation of them all near to the uni. The price increasing to £145 for Hughenden which is must nicer with double rooms and own bathroom however the price is ridiculous and most students cant afford to live there to then the most expensive Windsor prices up as £180 a week. Many times in the cheapest accommodation there has been poo in the washing facilities, and people pissing in the elevators. This goes to show the type of people the university is accepting to study at Bucks. Many people in the cheapest accommodation suffer from sever mental health issues which the university fail to address when moving into halls, with some dangerous to not just them-selves but also others. Over many years, there has been dangerous people living in Brook street who has been convicted of crimes and have been to jail previously for many different offenses. However there is 24 hour security who mostly is very good and if there is any problems students can contact security 24 hours in the day and there will be someone with them in minuets.
    Settling in:
    Personally I settled into university very quickly as I had a nice people I was moving into a flat with, however that's not the case for a lot of students who do get depressed.
  • Northolt999's avatar by Northolt999 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Very good.
    University:
    Good set of services provided
    Course:
    Very good course.
    Location:
    Very handy location. Uxbridge campus.
    Accommodation:
    Not applicable
    Settling in:
    Very nice environment
  • ChloeeBamptonn's avatar by ChloeeBamptonn on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I would rate my univeristy as 5 stars because everyone who comes to the univeristy is so lovely and is easy to get in with. The teachers understand the students- and are more like one of you.
    University:
    Everything on campus is so easy to find and everyone on campus is so nice, lovely and easy to get on with and chat with if you have a problem.
    Course:
    I love the course, the lectures are so lovely and are easy to get a hold off, the people on the course are so great and you can talk to any of them.
    Location:
    It's right in the middle of the town and only a train ride away from London.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in accommodation at the uni
    Settling in:
    Settled in straight away, especially because of the course I was going.
  • Stephanie013's avatar by Stephanie013 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Depending on what course students are doing
    University:
    Student union is the only place students can actually go out
    Course:
    All teachers really want you to do well , and they make sure they can do anything to improve any areas you have more difficulty in .
    Location:
    It's not a very nice area
    Accommodation:
    There's 3 main options however they're not all very close to uni
    Settling in:
    Everyone was very helpful and friendly , there was also many second year students trying to make sure everyone had a group of friends to go out with and also make sure everyone living in halls was fine
  • flou_fboco2's avatar by flou_fboco2 on 3rd October 2015
    Overall:
    4*
    University:
    clubs and societies aren't so accessible in my campus (UBX)
    Course:
    I want more guidance and more contact hours
    Location:
    It's near London and all important places
    Accommodation:
    From what I heard it's far from perfect
    Settling in:
    Most students and lecturers are approachable
  • mathsishard's avatar by mathsishard on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Not to bother? It's such a shame as I went into this course with all the best intentions, and even turned up like that most weeks. It was a real struggle and felt like the beign of my life for 2 years. I have my certificate now but feel it's just a waste of paper even though it cost me the best part of 5 grand not to mention working one day less a week. I felt completely let down by all the lecturers, losing assignments, not caring, changing due dates without informing us, non-existent feedback, not turning up and not telling us! - the list literally goes on and on. If I knew how it would be I would not have done it.
    University:
    They seem to encourage all of the above.
    Course:
    Where is the option for 0 stars? Horrendous doesn't even cover it. Lack of any structure at all. 'Teaching' is all over the place with no real planning to it. It feels as though 'home study' becomes 'pay your money, goodbye' in that we are not taught basics that need to be understood fully, and then left to guess or google technical information. Feedback is non-existent to the extent on some occasions we were consistently told 'I'll get it to you next week' which went on for 4+ weeks. Or 'We're having problems with blackboard (student website) so can't leave feedback' - All year long? Okay then.. The occasional lecture was good, but the majority felt like a complete (expensive) waste of time. 85% of the students in maths classes were severely lost including me as it was beyond our capabilities with no time to catch up or understand any of it, with a really bad teaching style to boot.
    Location:
    No parking. (
    Accommodation:
    Average halls and location.
    Settling in:
    Settling in is fine, like anywhere. Lack of student parking though.
  • Hsndkff's avatar by Hsndkff on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great place
    University:
    Many sporting activities and fun things to do
    Course:
    Its suits perfectly
    Location:
    Its very easy to get around
    Accommodation:
    Wide range of housing
    Settling in:
    Everyone was really welcoming
  • polianna's avatar by polianna on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Would recommend to everyone
    University:
    There is always something to do and student union is really reach and interesting
    Course:
    Because everything was clearly explain to me so I know everything about my responsibilities and possibilities
    Location:
    Is in the town centre,10 minutes from rail stayion which is perfect for stydents from london
    Accommodation:
    I'm not using student accomondation, renting by my own
    Settling in:
    Because everyone is really friendly and open
  • I don't know 's avatar by I don't know on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I don't know
    University:
    I don't know
    Course:
    I don't know
    Location:
    I don't know
    Accommodation:
    I didn't know
    Settling in:
    I don't know
  • Cant Remeber Sorry's avatar by Cant Remeber Sorry on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great Uni
    University:
    Its good for indipendence
    Course:
    Good course
    Location:
    It was brilliant
    Accommodation:
    Good
    Settling in:
    Quickly
  • Uzmaak96 's avatar by Uzmaak96 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5,
    University:
    Everything is really good
    Course:
    Because I found everything quickly and easy
    Location:
    Because the campus is in the town where I often go
    Accommodation:
    Its cheap and easy to get there
    Settling in:
    Because I've settled in well
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    amazing
    University:
    Learning and parting
    Course:
    Cause its true
    Location:
    City centre
    Accommodation:
    I live on my own
    Settling in:
    Nice atmosphere
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni
    University:
    N\A
    Course:
    I like it and it's interesting
    Location:
    It's very close to town
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    It's comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Best choice
    University:
    Awesome
    Course:
    Its awesome
    Location:
    Close to everything
    Accommodation:
    Everything u need
    Settling in:
    Everyone was nice
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing! Very friendly university in a great location. Very easy to settle in and meet lots of new people. Offer a wide variety of courses also!
    University:
    The student union is amazing, everyone's always so helpful. You can get advice on anything if you need it. Plus all the facilities are amazing, gym etc.
    Course:
    You get so much support and encouragement. Also it doesn't matter what level you are at they will work are a pace that works for everyone.
    Location:
    Right near the centre of town and very close London which is good for people studying more creative subjects.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is great. All very modern and clean. Only a Hirt walk from the uni and the centre of town.
    Settling in:
    It didn't take me long to settle in once is been out and met lots of new people.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    Good lectures i learnt a lot
    Location:
    Good
    Accommodation:
    Good
    Settling in:
    Good
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far I am really impressed with how well the University has got me settled in and prepared to start learning. I know so many important facts, like who I can talk to, and what's going on in the SU on certain nights, and that's all through the staff and other students. I'm already loving it here, and I genuinely cannot wait for my first year to progress.
    University:
    There are so many activities, sports and societies to sign up to and enjoy, and I know that through first hand experience I'm glad that I got persuaded into joining badminton because I really enjoy it. The Student Union provide us with excellent entertainment in the evenings and throughout the day. I am also swaying to joining the gym at the Uni because it seemed like such a good deal, and the people there seemed so lovely and welcoming. The support that the University provides to the students is amazing. I've not long been here, but I know who to turn to if I have a problem, and I just know that I can talk to my personal tutor about things and she can point me on the right direction anyway.
    Course:
    The amount of time that I spend in University balances out well with the amount of independent study time I'm going to be doing. I like the sound of what I'm going to be learning, as well as the support which my personal tutor and the lecturers and other staff are giving us.
    Location:
    We are located only a short train journey away from Central London, and one of the campuses, the one that I study at anyway is in fact in London which is quite handy.
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation I am living in is really nice, and only a short distance away from the main campus. Not only that, but in the evenings, the University provides a shuttle bus for us to get on to take us to and from the Student Union in the event to stop us walking in the dark which I feel is a good idea. The standard of my room and the kitchen is good.
    Settling in:
    I have been able to settle in surprisingly quickly and easily, as I didn't think I would've been able to settle in this quickly. I feel that I have to thank the staff at the University though for making me feel so welcome from the minute I stepped onto campus, and reassuring me it was going to be ok. Not only were the staff really helpful, but the freshers helpers were too, and one fresher helper went above and beyond to help me out, answering all my first day nerve questions, proving me with reassurance and guidance with my course and the University life.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Social life, and opportunities to spend your free time are awesome
    University:
    Library is new and there are a lot of opportunities to take part in events provided by SU
    Course:
    Tutors are very kind and helpful
    Location:
    Campus is in the heart of the city
    Accommodation:
    It's close to the university but a little bit expensive
    Settling in:
    Everybody is helpful, and atmosphere is very nice
  • by Anonymous on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    It just great everyday as you can go into the city or chill at the campus
    Course:
    Because I love what I do
    Location:
    Very close to the city
    Accommodation:
    Because it's awesome and you meet new people
    Settling in:
    Everybody is very calm and welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    The university experience for me was great and I wouldn't change it
    University:
    Great selection of clubs, opportunities and events in the evening which are all free
    Course:
    Because I had a brilliant 3 years but organisation and feedback could be better
    Location:
    Its really close to town and everything you need
    Accommodation:
    because I had a terrible year, however this has now changed since I left accomodation
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE