Member reviews of City, University of London

  • Tearex's avatar by Tearex on 10th July 2019
    Overall:
    Placements are unpredictable and vary. SU is not very active. Course is not very well run. Library service is exceptional. Central University support is good and accessible.
    University:
    The library service is excellent and welfare and careers service supportive. City Sport is good value and a lovely facility. SU is not very active and there’s little variety in clubs and societies and not much to do on campus
    Course:
    Placements unpredictable, timetable erratic and expected to attend 3 days a week for few hours which is expensive when commuting, feedback is timely but very negative, some of the lectures don’t have much content and a lot of the assignments are poorly understood. University wider support and opportunities are good.
    Location:
    Central London - pricey but fun
    Accommodation:
    Reasonable price for London but can be problems finding housing other than halls with support
    Settling in:
    Never really settled in - the campus is compact which is nice but there’s little going on socially
  • Sakina54's avatar by Sakina54 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I would recommend this uni to someone who enjoys a social life but also wishes to work hard studying
    University:
    Uni life is quite expensive due to travel costs and the early starts can also be tricky during rush hour .
    Course:
    The lecturers make the content as interesting as possible making the lectures more lively and enjoyable . The teachers respond to emails quickly and reply with detailed information.
    Location:
    I like the location since it’s in the city and in the middle of the market meaning many restaurants are in the area .
    Accommodation:
    I have heard good words about the accommodation at city but I wouldn’t know since I commute.
    Settling in:
    It took me which a long time to settle in since I didn’t know anyone at city. It took me roughly 3months to settle in.
  • alexffffff's avatar by alexffffff on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I love my uni and I love my course
    University:
    Lectures and friends, just like the uni in my mind
    Course:
    It is a fascinating course with variable knowledge.
    Location:
    Next to the city centre and easy to find the place to eat
    Accommodation:
    Provide a lot of choices and price range.
    Settling in:
    Easy to make friends.
  • Inva Dankshi's avatar by Inva Dankshi on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    ????????
    University:
    ????????????????
    Course:
    Good
    Location:
    ????????
    Accommodation:
    ???
    Settling in:
    ????????
  • hhq's avatar by hhq on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I really enjoyed my time at city university, the staff are really welcoming. Everyone is welcomed The lecture theatres are nice as well Library easily found Religious rooms for every religion e.g. prayer room Nice canteen + cafeteria!
    University:
    There are a lot of societies to pick from! Library on every campus Sports centre nearby
    Course:
    Love some of the lecturers, they are always there to help you. Always have access to the library and support team.
    Location:
    Really lovely place!
    Accommodation:
    I live at home with my parents so I can’t really I’ve an opinion this because I don’t live in a university accommodation
    Settling in:
    Induction day Lecturers introduced the modules clearly and informed us of their open hours for support Student ambassadors
  • Widzz's avatar by Widzz on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The University lives up to its name. It's very diverse, more than expected. The lecturers are really kind, everything looks nice. It's bit big and hard to navigate at first but I think I'll get used to it. Overall it's quite nice~
    University:
    .
    Course:
    I haven't really starred yet, it's only week 1 after all. The tutors seem approachable and have extra optional seminars on the side to help.
    Location:
    Right in the heart of London without being stiffling. There isn't a lot of crowd or traffic but it's still busy. It's really close to key areas in London.
    Accommodation:
    I commute so I wouldn't know but my friends live in dorms and it seems neat and nice looking, the sizes of the rooms etc are nice but the shower is really small. The halls are really close to the Uni and it has a good atmosphere
    Settling in:
    Really quick - although I'm still finding my footing, the tutors made lots of time for everyone to interact and communicate well with us too~
  • Jadman1999's avatar by Jadman1999 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall good Few things here and there
    University:
    Wide range of societies Nice library and computer equipment
    Course:
    Most of the lectures are really good and the tutors provide great help with the course
    Location:
    It’s in Central London !!!!
    Accommodation:
    Good accommodation
    Settling in:
    -
  • imogenchloe's avatar by imogenchloe on 26th September 2018
    Overall:
    Up and down experience at the beginning but now starting my third year I am extremely happy and couldn't imagine myself elsewhere. The location is ideal and close to all London attractions or amenities and the lecture support is outstanding.
    University:
    Campus is bright and friendly with lots of activities / entertainment close by for all student needs including gyms and bars.
    Course:
    The quality of teaching is the best part about this university and the course itself, lecturers are readily available for private meetings, the lectures are available on moodle to catch up however the quantity of required reading is large so it is costly.
    Location:
    Easily accessible and it is very easy to get to all areas of London very quickly.
    Accommodation:
    Close to the university and all that you would need out of accomodation however it was very costly but that is because my university is based in London and should be expected - the majority of accommodation places are only a short walk away.
    Settling in:
    I had a tough time settling in, I moved away from home and didn't make friends instantaneously due to a small class size but now I am a lot happier and settled in it just took some time which is to be expected.
  • P.sh's avatar by P.sh on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    I would say that it is a very welcoming university but some people might find it borin and unsocial. So me sure to come in an open day and see it for yourself
    University:
    Services r really good
    Course:
    The university itself is a very good place to be at, as it's very friendly and inviting. However it can sometimes get really boring. The course is good overall but some of the lectures are not the best you can get and you would need to do some work agian by yourself. Also I'm going to say to all law students make sure to check your course structure and how it's assessed as that very important.
    Location:
    I really like the place it's in. It's near good eating places within small distances.
    Accommodation:
    I commute so have nothing to say about the accommodation but university overall is not bad.
    Settling in:
    It kind of takes long to feel part of it.
  • Iqra Mumtaz's avatar by Iqra Mumtaz on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    City University is in a prime location, they offer a range of different courses and the quality of teaching is very good. There are lots of clubs and societies that you can join and lots of events that take place.
    University:
    Lots of clubs and societies at uni.
    Course:
    Timetable is easily accessible and understandable. The modules are hard and you have to read a lot. The quality of lectures and tutorials is quiet good.
    Location:
    Its in central London.
    Accommodation:
    The location is amazing as you are in the center of London. However, it is very expensive and the rooms are quite small.
    Settling in:
    I settled into university life easily. we have time to chill and relax and there are a lot of facilities available around university.
  • Noella 's avatar by Noella on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good area
    University:
    Not much to do
    Course:
    Just started
    Location:
    Closer to popular areas
    Accommodation:
    There's a mice in our kitchen
    Settling in:
    Not a really uni centred city
  • sehraJ's avatar by sehraJ on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Loved it. Would do it all over again.
    University:
    There are loads of groups and societies you can join. I've joined 4.
    Course:
    The teachers are amazing and the practical work really helps bring everything together.
    Location:
    It's in the city so everything I may need is there.
    Accommodation:
    Everything I need is pretty close together.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly so that made it easier to settle in.
  • Thegoodnamesargon's avatar by Thegoodnamesargon on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    They have a lot of support for students and there's a lot of different people of different cultures which is good. Not really a "party" university, most socialising will probably be with the people you live with but good academically
    University:
    There's a lot on offer but nursing students aren't really targeted, mostly cass business school events
    Course:
    Module leaders are friendly and helpful, put all the work on moodle
    Location:
    Central London, close to everything
    Accommodation:
    I live in private halls which are cheaper, the university accommodation is in central London close to uni so is quite expensive
    Settling in:
    I don't get involved in any uni activities, nursing students mostly just mingle within their groups
  • noor_j's avatar by noor_j on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    City has beautiful, modern buildings
    University:
    A lot of activities are offered
    Course:
    VERY organised lectures which provide all the teaching material needed
    Location:
    It is in the middle of London, close to EVERYTHING!!
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in the accommodation but i have heard it is nice but their are hardly any flat parties
    Settling in:
    the people on my course are nice but I haven't made any close friends yet
  • SR007's avatar by SR007 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    I've only just started so this is how I feel so far
    Course:
    The quality of everything is high
    Location:
    There are several services nearby
    Accommodation:
    Although I don't live in a student house/accommodation, the exterior of the building looks attractive and the photos of the interior is good
    Settling in:
    The map provided helped and is easy to follow
  • TheShingster 's avatar by TheShingster on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great if you live just outside of London or what strong business links and reputation of the university is good, it is also joining the University of London intuition from next year so will be even stronger!
    University:
    City lacks societies, campus size though CitySport and Citylibrary are good. But this is mainly due to City's central location.
    Course:
    As the lectures and programming sessions are quite interactive but quite intense.
    Location:
    Great location in the centre of London with incredible industry links and accessibility. Just traffic is the main issue!
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant room, common area, garden and distance to university. Only the constant fire alarms...
    Settling in:
    Pretty quickly but my real home is about 40 minutes away so nothing too major.
  • Ambz.123's avatar by Ambz.123 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Definitely think it's great, but maybe not so much for the student life. Everyone is really friendly
    University:
    Could do with a few more student areas to chill out
    Course:
    Amazing lecturers who always take out time to answer any queries
    Location:
    10 mins away from Oxford street but not in a very busy area which is great
    Accommodation:
    Stayed at a friends house, really nice and amazing wifi connection!
    Settling in:
    Great atmosphere with great people
  • toriaw2's avatar by toriaw2 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars, definitely a great university with a vibrant student life even though it's relatively small.
    University:
    The campus is great, very vibrant, lots of support both academically and every other aspect of university life
    Course:
    It covers lots of interesting topics and will give me a guaranteed career at the end of it
    Location:
    It's central London, and has great links to the whole of the city
    Accommodation:
    It's expensive for what it is but its central London so it's expected
    Settling in:
    I settled in well, there's lots of support at the university
  • sofiloco's avatar by sofiloco on 10th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have now left this university to head to a different one in london as I don't feel city can offer me what I want to take from uni!
    University:
    The uni did't make much effort to offer extra curricular stuff for my discipline
    Course:
    The course isn't well run. Marking takes a long time and tutorials are delivered by post-grad students that don't want to be there
    Location:
    Close to the city and great local amenities!
    Accommodation:
    Expensive but very convenient and great staff
    Settling in:
    I never felt comfortable at the university. however halls quickly became homely!
  • Kalkonben 's avatar by Kalkonben on 5th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great university which is evidential by the recent REF scores, the fact that it is soon to be a member of the University of London group and the high graduate employment rates. The university is in a central area which is dynamic but at the same time very calm. My University experience has been very good and the university feels like a home away from home.
    University:
    Many clubs and societies and a new sport arean. The facilities are being improved as a part of the University's strategic plan and they are really starting to look great.
    Course:
    Great lecturers who are passionate about their courses. Clear structure on each modules and prompt feedback.
    Location:
    The campus is very close to Liverpool street and has good tube/bus connection. It is close to several pubs and restaurants. However the University is still in a calm location.
    Accommodation:
    Live in my own accommodation but had the opportunity to get an accommodation with the help from City University London. I have seen the student accommodations and they are of good standard.
    Settling in:
    Settled in quickly.
  • Rabah_K's avatar by Rabah_K on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    I had a great time. Academically, the LLB is unparalleled, granted the high quality of teachers and teaching on the course. This is mainly because The City Law School is renowned for its LLM and BPTC/ LPC courses, and the resources thereof for the top postgraduate students from around the country are consequently also available to undergraduates.
    University:
    City has the biggest students gym in London, newly built.
    Course:
    Our teachers were professionals with experience in the field, or highly rated academics having taught in Cambridge, Oxford, and the like. All resources were readily available, and course material which was otherwise expensive, was even provided for free! An amazing three years, with so much to learn, in an effective and efficient manner.
    Location:
    Being a law student, I was located less than 10 minutes from the biggest firms and chambers in the country. Also, every major court and tribunal was minutes away. Food and night life were also conveniently closeby.
    Accommodation:
    As a student ambassador, although I did not live on campus accommodation, I gave frequent tours of student accommodation and everyone whom lived there was happy with the conditions. Maybe a little pricey, but it is central London.
    Settling in:
    The university provides mentoring support with other year groups, and has careers services which help you plan your future as soon as you settle in. The part time work is also very helpful to settling in and meeting other students.
  • acnh462's avatar by acnh462 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It really helps other student in study and encourage them.
    University:
    Because university life is totally different from school and college. You just have to focus and work hard this is your last stage where you can get beat education, degree and job.
    Course:
    Because it's really good for the future it will really help for new technology
    Location:
    Because it's not that far from my house and also it's just right next to station. There's too many shops so we can buy our lunch.
    Accommodation:
    Just because I don't think so people can study in accommodation the house is much batter then anyone.
    Settling in:
    My Universitu really helps me to settle down and also telling us a new things everyday.
  • Lofti's avatar by Lofti on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very nice staff and teachers !
    University:
    Enjoying it!
    Course:
    It's suits me, gives me more time to relax but also to work.
    Location:
    20 mons away from my house.
    Accommodation:
    Nice flats and roommates! But i hopesbthat the kitchen would have a TV.
    Settling in:
    Kind and nice classmates!
  • Mike 'the elm' Elms's avatar by Mike 'the elm' Elms on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    This is the same as the question above. We wouldn't make this mistake at hotcourses hq
    University:
    Because everyone stills my ideas
    Course:
    Because I work for WhatUni and I'm not happy that you've stolen my idea
    Location:
    It's too close to your office in Brighton
    Accommodation:
    Our rent in Fulham is pricey
    Settling in:
    I keep getting bullied by the student room stealing my work
  • Bea Baquiran 's avatar by Bea Baquiran on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Its very good as they give you all the information you need in fresher's week and repeat it in lessons. They also provide you with contact information so i doubt anyone will be too confused this year.
    University:
    Its quite hard managing time especially at first. I've had a routine and im having to adjust because of my time schedule and travel.
    Course:
    I have just started and I'm liking it so far. I still have a lot of time to judge the course to be perfect.
    Location:
    Its very efficient having a business course and being in the heart of the city. You get to adapt with how business people dress and move.
    Accommodation:
    It's very convenient. My friends live in accommodation and it's very near by. Im just concerned as to if the prices are suitable for students.
    Settling in:
    I mean i don't exactly live there but the atmosphere and the people are very friendly but it took me a day or two to feel it.
  • Hannahastock's avatar by Hannahastock on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    Having lots of fun
    Course:
    Really interesting and good teaching
    Location:
    Best city in the world
    Accommodation:
    Amazing location good facilities few people to a flat
    Settling in:
    Not nice people in halls
  • Not sure. 's avatar by Not sure. on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is pretty good, but taking into account I commute from home those living on campus have the full experience
    University:
    It's excellent but they could do a better job of getting the word of societies around
    Course:
    It could be better communication with students needs to improve
    Location:
    In the town square well close to it nice location not to far from the station
    Accommodation:
    The ones I've been too are pretty decent
    Settling in:
    Not really any ice breakers to help students get to know one another
  • Mdahd's avatar by Mdahd on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its a great university, soon to become part of The University of London which will make it alongside the very best universities in London.
    University:
    Lots of activities to do and societies.
    Course:
    All the lecturers are extremely helpful and very approachable.
    Location:
    Great transport links and diversity.
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    Made great friends and the campus makes it easy to find my way around.
  • Renveren's avatar by Renveren on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    -
    University:
    So far so great . Got a lot of offers to join large number of societies and language programme
    Course:
    I'm a first year student so not that sure
    Location:
    Nice location since there's places for shopping , Market and seems like a safe environment. However, tbh the tube station is kinda far from the uni (10 mins ).
    Accommodation:
    Nice environment and beautiful scene
    Settling in:
    It took awhile for me as I have to get familiar with the university but overall the city staff has given a lot of helps by sending out the map to the first year student and outside the building
  • Mo.x's avatar by Mo.x on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    City University is very close knit. You never feel apart because everybody is so close to each other even if you're in different courses. It is quite academic orientated so for somebody who is quite the party animal the university itself would not be of much entertainment. Nevertheless the location and the surrounding areas won't let you miss out at all.
    University:
    Campus life is extremely good to be at the student union amazing support and always engaging events going on to keep you entertained. The services City University provides are always to the highest of standards regardless.
    Course:
    Timetable is quite flexible as you have free time but also considerable time to study and carry out social activities. Feedback is also generous.
    Location:
    The location isn't in central London therefore doesn't always feel like an average university. It's in an area where there are quite a lot of residentials, nor is the campus on a main road. However everything is nearby like restaurants the tube station. The campus itself isn't very modern or that exciting. I personally feel that the university is pretty small.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in University accommodation but the location and area is quite expensive.
    Settling in:
    Everybody was extremely welcoming and it was easy to make friends and settle into uni life and lectures.
  • Amirasuper22's avatar by Amirasuper22 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    City university is very diverse. Very busy environment. However, it is very comfortable and there's many activities and facilities that are provided and great support service.
    University:
    Library is open till late. Gym facilities.
    Course:
    Great teaching. Great facilities. Good support system.
    Location:
    Very accessible. Close to central london.
    Accommodation:
    I have no idea. I live with my parents
    Settling in:
    Nice comfortable environment
  • DillonSoni's avatar by DillonSoni on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    good variety of studying and social life london night life is really good
    Course:
    Good lectures Good facilities Location is central
    Location:
    Everything you need to within walking distance
    Accommodation:
    Location is close to were im studying It is clean Cheap
    Settling in:
    Was very easy to settle in
  • Dont know's avatar by Dont know on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    This university in my opinion should be highly recommended as it fun easy to get to and its in the moddle of the city
    University:
    Its nice like a fresh start and easy to settle in
    Course:
    The environment is friendly and nice
    Location:
    The campus is very nice and looks lovely as well the atmospher being calm amd friendly
    Accommodation:
    Cause i live in home
    Settling in:
    Its amazing there and people are amazing even the staff are very friendly
  • humayra_c's avatar by humayra_c on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Loving it so far
    University:
    Haven't had many days to decide yet
    Course:
    timetable is perfect beside Thursday Love the societies
    Location:
    Perfect, shops around
    Accommodation:
    Just missing parks Otherwise awesome location
    Settling in:
    So welcoming and suppotive
  • JackBlackGoestoBollywood's avatar by JackBlackGoestoBollywood on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Don't...
    University:
    People are anti-social
    Course:
    Most of my tutors seem really approachable and they always respond to my emails in a timely way. My contact hours are quite small in comparison to some of my friends but I don't mind that because I like to study independently in the library. There is quite a lot of group work assessments which I've found difficult. I prefer to study alone and to my own time-frames
    Location:
    No response given
    Accommodation:
    I'm loving my parent's place! it has absolutely everything I need... no idea about the university accommodation though - as I have already mentioned, I live with my parents!!!
    Settling in:
    I adapt quickly, and the people were super friendly. Except that one asshole! But nevermind him...
  • DFDG's avatar by DFDG on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    RFDGD
    University:
    NOT VERY SOCIAL
    Course:
    GOOD
    Location:
    NEAR TRAINS AND BUSES
    Accommodation:
    GOOD
    Settling in:
    GOOD
  • ?'s avatar by ? on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    bad location, confusion of role for phd student, am i staff or student? confusion of procedures i.e. dbs check issues. but friendly staff and supportive environment
    University:
    dont really use services
    Course:
    i like my choice of subject - i dont really have structures or timetables as a phd student
    Location:
    terrrible central london location making it un affordable to commute in, or live in.
    Accommodation:
    everything is so expensive, cannot afford anything thats not mould ridden and damp
    Settling in:
    was quick and everyone was nice to me
  • nottellingyou's avatar by nottellingyou on 8th September 2015
    Overall:
    I'm just doing this so I can see the end result
    University:
    lol
    Course:
    Lo elie
    Location:
    love london
    Accommodation:
    lo elie
    Settling in:
    lol eli
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's focuses and worth it
    University:
    Great societies and I love the library
    Course:
    It can be improved..
    Location:
    Near Angel markets and food places
    Accommodation:
    Commuting so not sure
    Settling in:
    Took time and navigate around.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good
    University:
    Couldn't really find anything that appealed to me
    Course:
    Interesting but not loads of help at the beginning
    Location:
    Very busy area with a lot to do
    Accommodation:
    New and clean
    Settling in:
    I love London, felt like home already
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    great time! Great uni! Great course
    University:
    you can entertain yourself with absolutely any society, sport or club
    Course:
    Everything is great and complicated enough, which inspires to study harder
    Location:
    Convenient part of London, not in touristic centre, but still in the 1st zone
    Accommodation:
    high quality accommodations
    Settling in:
    Friendly staff is always ready to help
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I like my course and my lectures
    University:
    The food is okay but expensive and not good for students and the social life is terrible
    Course:
    Socially not that great for back people
    Location:
    It's in a vibrant town
    Accommodation:
    Too expensive but it looks pretty
    Settling in:
    Didn't make any friends
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    good facilities however not really any societies that appeal to me
    Course:
    haven't really gotten a feel of it we have just started
    Location:
    central and easy to commute
    Accommodation:
    I live at home so I wouldn't know
    Settling in:
    again we have just started
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Great events
    Course:
    There is so much support and the university is great
    Location:
    It it in central London
    Accommodation:
    I live at home
    Settling in:
    I found it really easy
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    Student support is excellent
    Course:
    The course is quite full on but I enjoy being taught the content and then being able to apply it in a clinical setting while on placement. The quality of teaching is great and all lectures are put online to make it easier for revision.
    Location:
    Good central London location. Close to tube stations. Expensive in terms of commuting in to zone 1 everyday
    Accommodation:
    N/a
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite quickly. Everyone was really friendly.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Nice university with good campus location
    University:
    I like this uni
    Course:
    I like this course
    Location:
    Near the center, nice location
    Accommodation:
    Nice location
    Settling in:
    I'm in
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    it is really fun :) but you must study hard law is not easy
    University:
    fun filled
    Course:
    There could be some improvements in regards to timetables (exam)
    Location:
    in the heart of the city :)
    Accommodation:
    I didn't like it much
    Settling in:
    the freshers events were ok
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Everybody is friendly, the student service office replies quite fast and there are lots of options available such as a bank and careers service in the campus.
    University:
    There are lots of societies, they offer a gym (with subscription). There is a library available from early in the morning till midnight and online one as well. Everything is quite good.
    Course:
    Timetable is suitable for my lifestyle. Easy change of groups and flexible timetable.
    Location:
    The location is one of the best in London- zone 1.
    Accommodation:
    The location is good and it is the best deal in the area, but it is not good for socializing. I expected more.
    Settling in:
    It was quick because my parents helped. I had to buy many things, but it is the same everywhere.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I'd rate this place excellent because of all the facilities it provides and the openess really makes you feel comfortable and settle in quick
    University:
    Everything is easy to access and they really help you out to get used to the uni life
    Course:
    Great teaching and excellent learning environment to be in
    Location:
    In a open place and public area
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in them but have seen then and they look excellent
    Settling in:
    More if it being personal really like getting to know people and feel comfortable since it was was new environment. The university however did do a good job to help us
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would definitely put this down as my first choice!
    University:
    The Student Union is well organised, active and eventful. Campus life is amazing. Neighbourhood is very friendly and packed with interesting stuff to do.
    Course:
    Because the whole experience surpasses what I had expected to find at any university. I just love every part of it!
    Location:
    It's in CENTRAL LONDON!
    Accommodation:
    They have free tea and coffee at reception! :) + a very convenient lift
    Settling in:
    It took me two days of going to IKEA to decorate my entire room. It took me way less time to meet and befriend my perfect flatmates and organise myself.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good university. It deserves a better ranking.
    University:
    City Bar and city spors are very good for us
    Course:
    From the list about I'm very happy with the exception of timetable , no day off.
    Location:
    My accommodation is 5 min away of university, which is in centre of London. 5+ stars
    Accommodation:
    Liberty hall is amazing ( staff and students )
    Settling in:
    The students ambassadors are doing a great job of guiding us.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good facilities, perfect location, good quality of teaching and good career prospects.
    University:
    All the services offered are good, but the fresher's parties organised by the student union wasn't as good as expected.
    Course:
    Because I am satisfied with the contents of my course, as well with the quality of teaching.
    Location:
    It is City University London, I am in London's centre, everything happens here, city of opportunities, fast pace of living.
    Accommodation:
    Really close location, good facilities.
    Settling in:
    It is not as social as I have expected it to be, but meeting new people and making friends helps you feel more like "home".
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    As I haven't been there too long I do not feel that I can make an overall rating of City. However, I do feel very comfortable there and do enjoy what I've done so far. It really was the best choice for me :)
    University:
    The food on campus is a little over priced and there aren't very many societies to join.
    Course:
    I've enjoyed most of the lectures I've had so far
    Location:
    It's fairly close to the tube station which make it easier to get to. Lots of nice places to go near uni too
    Accommodation:
    I didn't move into halls
    Settling in:
    Although I didn't move out I felt comfortable at the university very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a wonderful place, teachers are great, classroom conditions are good and I was pleasantly surprised with all the facilities we have on campus, from a canteen to Costa cafe to a small Waterstones to the parks surrounding the buildings. It's a beautiful place and I am also satisfied academically with how classes are taking place.
    University:
    Because they have a wide and fun range of activities inside the uni and besides the academic, they focus a lot on having students satisfied with their everyday life at university.
    Course:
    Because it seems to have a perfect balance when it comes how the classes are organised, especially for someone who wants to get a part-time job
    Location:
    Because it is very central and there are lots of activities that can be done during free hours between classes, and it is pretty close to Angel underground station which can easily connect you with various other stations and to exchange lines to any part of the city.
    Accommodation:
    Although I do not live in the halls of residence, from what I saw and heard they offer great housing and they are organised well.
    Settling in:
    Because I feel like I really fit in
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I've only been going for 2 weeks now but it's definitely great
    University:
    Everything is great, except the gym doesn't have a woman's only section
    Course:
    The modules content seems very good so far, and the lecturers are great! However the timetable for this course was quite confusing.
    Location:
    The buildings are very close and easily accessible. As I commute, it's very close to 3 stations and the shops around are great
    Accommodation:
    Although I don't live in student accommodation, I've heard good things
    Settling in:
    Only from what I heard
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Since City Univerty is strongly international, the student can work out a widen vision of the world and life. City gives you the skills to overcome not only the problems in your job but also everyday life difficulties.
    University:
    My timetable is not divided homogeneously through out the week. Concerning the sport/ fitness facility and student unions, I'd say that the uni is well organised.
    Course:
    Although everyone in my course had troubles with the timetable, professors and staff are very helpful.
    Location:
    Although there are no windows in the classroom, the building is new and facities are up to date
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation hall has all the facilities that students need
    Settling in:
    Professors and students of my course are really easy going ands agreeable
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I am enjoying it but it takes a while to settle in
    University:
    The uni has all my needs
    Course:
    The course is interesting and the lecturers are enthusiastic
    Location:
    The city is nice but the buildings are too spread out
    Accommodation:
    I have never seen it
    Settling in:
    The Uni is very confusing
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni and great course
    University:
    Many activities to do throughout the day
    Course:
    Great dynamic course aswell as great links that the university have
    Location:
    Right in the heart of london
    Accommodation:
    Nice but expensive
    Settling in:
    Great schemes to help get started and feel comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Old building, but overall it is good to study there
    University:
    Not a big choice of student clubs, but there are City Sport Centre, good library, IT services, Costa and Santander in main building
    Course:
    Good timetable with a lot of time for self-study; interesting modules and exciting teachers
    Location:
    Central London with a lot of things to do
    Accommodation:
    I am not living in student accommodation
    Settling in:
    University staff replied very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant university and in a great place to experience London
    University:
    Have to travel far for freshers events. university facilities very good
    Course:
    Course leaders and teachers seem to be great. Although induction weeks were poorly organised. Subject course seems well managed and friendly.
    Location:
    Very central and easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    Brilliant location and accommodation, however very difficult for students to afford
    Settling in:
    Have been homesick and struggled with loving in London
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    Uni life is good
    Course:
    It is well deserved
    Location:
    Its in a commutable area
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation is nice
    Settling in:
    The uni makes you feel as if you belong there
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Not many societies
    Course:
    Great timetable
    Location:
    Long walk from train station
    Accommodation:
    Great I've been told
    Settling in:
    Great induction
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Teaching needs vast improvement,
    University:
    shops are not too far away
    Course:
    Not much help is given, very poor feedback
    Location:
    not the most glamorous, situated amongst estates
    Accommodation:
    fairly good, they do the best they can
    Settling in:
    people are good
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 star experience at City, spending more on the estate and seen the campus expand. Great course and teachers, competitive environment, and easy place to make friends.
    University:
    A lot of different clubs, City bar, City sport gym campus easy to navigate. Great student union
    Course:
    Teachers are likeable and friendly meaning you can go to them with any question without hesitation.
    Location:
    In central London, lots of places to visit, and also not far from home.
    Accommodation:
    Good quality, spacious and cheap
    Settling in:
    Very easy to make friends in my course and after a week or so you get settled very easily
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    It's not the best but also not the worst. We had some issues around placements but otherwise it was okay.
    University:
    Didn't do much myself.
    Course:
    Some disorganisation around placements but otherwise okay.
    Location:
    For people who like London it's great. And there are lots of coffee shops nearby
    Accommodation:
    I didn't live in student accommodation
    Settling in:
    I didn't ever feel totally at home.
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's a good university, especially if you're part of the Cass Business School which has a very good reputation to employers. Don't expect this university to be that fun but you will find a good group of friends.
    University:
    Not many clubs or societies, compared to UCL. the library can be a bit depressing in terms of appearance.
    Course:
    There can be some improvements for certain modules
    Location:
    It's London!
    Accommodation:
    I don't personally live the accommodation but it does look nice but is very expensive compared to other universities.
    Settling in:
    It was fairly easy to navigate and find the lecture rooms etc. I had an older student introduce me to the uni and answer any questions as part of a buddy scheme.
  • by Anonymous on 26th August 2015
    Overall:
    #excellente
    University:
    services offered are brilliant, shops are nearby. everything is basically accessible
    Course:
    it is a very hands on course, and I like being more practical than theoretical
    Location:
    perfectly located
    Accommodation:
    it is in a good location close to c.london
    Settling in:
    I get a sense of community
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    Quality of teaching and course structure and discipline is outstanding but the social side as well as student accommodation is lacking.
    University:
    Several societies available and sports and extra curricular activities.
    Course:
    The course layout has been useful. We have learned a broad range of information on the subject of journalism.
    Location:
    Great location - heart of london and beside many shops, restaurants and businesses.
    Accommodation:
    Heard that hygiene levels are lacking a lot.
    Settling in:
    Apart from freshers events, there is not much effort from the university in integrating students.
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    8.5/10
    University:
    There are good facilities including a Law library, a dedicated Costa inside uni and also good food in the refectory. Also a wode range of societies from mountaineering to the Isoc.
    Course:
    He timetable is well laid out as there is enough time for independent study and to do extra curricular activities. The tutors are quick at replying to emails and the lectures are generally very well taught.
    Location:
    It is in the perfect location, right in the City but it's away from the hectic traffic and buzz to have an enjoyable university experience.
    Accommodation:
    It is in an expensive area of London, but as I'm not in accommodation I can't really judge the affordability
    Settling in:
    The whole atmosphere was quite relaxed making it easier to make friends and there was enough help around to get to know the area well.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I am not familiar with the undergraduate courses, but on a postgraduate level, the experience was quite nice. The courses were very market oriented and did not feel "old". Cass Business School has very good connections to the industry. Classes were mostly taught by professors who knew the subject well.
    University:
    library was inadequate for the amount of students who wished to study there.
    Course:
    good quality lectures, lecturers are quite friendly and mostly approachable, uni careers centre helps a lot when trying to find a job. Library quite small for the number of students it tries to accommodate
    Location:
    very central location. Easy to get to and with good transport links
    Accommodation:
    The internet kept dropping, water supply was also not working at some points. Ventilation of rooms was not adequate. Proximity to the university was a major plus
    Settling in:
    small classes tend to make you feel at home faster. The uni also organized a welcome party for people to get to know each other
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    good teachers, activities, area
    University:
    lots of activities
    Course:
    Great uni for all
    Location:
    LONDON!!!
    Accommodation:
    bit expensive
    Settling in:
    great city
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I think I would rate the university a 4 because overall it is an excellent uni however just research the module assessment and how that would be
    University:
    It was good the shopping was really good lol
    Course:
    The university was really, but the course was 100% exam so wasn't really happy about that
    Location:
    It was a good place as it was easy access to shops and food places and underground
    Accommodation:
    Because it was easy accessible for some
    Settling in:
    Took me a year to settle in wasn't as good as I thought at first
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good university experience
    University:
    Lots of societies and activities
    Course:
    We start university early (1st September) and finish late (mid july) compared to other courses
    Location:
    Inner city. Next to st pauls and angel
    Accommodation:
    Expensive
    Settling in:
    Its different from college and a lot bigger. Not living in halls means its harder to make friends
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great university; don't expect a campus uni, but London is literally on your uni doorstep
    University:
    No campus, however good societies and student bar
    Course:
    Some aspects a little lacking, however the passion for my subject drives me through
    Location:
    Right in the centre of London, close to everything
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive but great location and very nice accommodation
    Settling in:
    Found it easy to 'settle in'
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Lame
    University:
    Boring
    Course:
    Mixture of teaching quality
    Location:
    Not great
    Accommodation:
    Too expensive
    Settling in:
    No help
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    10/10 would choose again
    University:
    It's a lot of fun
    Course:
    Teaching is great and everything you need is on moodle
    Location:
    Angel is great with loads of places to eat and drink
    Accommodation:
    It's very close to the university and fairly priced
    Settling in:
    They made us feel at home straight away
  • by Anonymous on 22nd August 2015
    Overall:
    -
    University:
    -
    Course:
    -
    Location:
    -
    Accommodation:
    -
    Settling in:
    -
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Good teaching
    University:
    good time
    Course:
    Too much time taken up
    Location:
    in london
    Accommodation:
    perfect accomodation
    Settling in:
    moving from a long way away

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE