Member reviews of De Montfort University

  • Cole260299's avatar by Cole260299 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It’s definitely a great emerging uni. Keeping with the times in relation to diversity among students unlike Russel group Uni’s
    University:
    Lots of society’s on offer, library is great. I enjoy uni life very much
    Course:
    Most lecturers are generally very approachable and solid teachers. Module content is great.
    Location:
    Perfect location in the city
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation was great first year, it was modern and well looked after. My house second year is the same.
    Settling in:
    Settled in straight away, everyone is great
  • SugaSweetyKitty's avatar by SugaSweetyKitty on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Enjoyable so far, and the course is what is says
    University:
    There's a lot of socialising
    Course:
    Its a useful course, we learn a multitude of skills and the lectures, labs are informative. However, not all the lecturerers are great at what they do.
    Location:
    Convenient, it's located very close to the city Centre too
    Accommodation:
    Great, but not the best. If you need WiFi, I suggest getting data
    Settling in:
    The university helped a lot, with welcoming events and allowing students on the same course to communicate before the course started
  • Amsa.h.123's avatar by Amsa.h.123 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I think it’s an alright university, I mean it must be to have a gold TEF award.
    University:
    It’s alright. I havn’t accesses much of the services except the library which is ok.
    Course:
    The teachers seem approachable and reply to my emails really quickly. The timetable is a bit annoying as I commute so sometimes I have one lesson and have to pay for the train for just one hour.
    Location:
    It’s aweosme becuase it’s in the city centre near all the shops and the train station which makes its so easy to go to and from the uni.
    Accommodation:
    I don’t know becuase I didn’t get accomodation. But by what I’ve heard it’s not that good.
    Settling in:
    I don’t know.
  • Gemzik's avatar by Gemzik on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    If you want to choose Leicester as a city- just go to University of Leicester. My boyfriend is going there and comparing that to De Montfort University... it is like comparing husky to chihuahua. And I am serious.
    University:
    I’m giving this rate because I am not a member of active uni life. We have got a lots of people on the campus at any time during the day and night. We have got people in library everyday at 2 and 3 am. They are crazy.
    Course:
    I have small hours during the week. Only one lecture from each module per week. Modules are boring, so are our assessment. I don’t feel like this uni is trying to teach me something and give me any knowledge.
    Location:
    Location of DMU is pretty decent. Really close to almost everything. A few minutes to city centre, two minutes to Tesco, dominos, park, shops. I couldn’t ask for more. Location is just perfect. 10/10. We have got even GP on the campus.
    Accommodation:
    I am giving 5 start because they deserve it. Everything is just right. I have found no minuses. Great quality, location is perfect for me- so close! But price is not the lowest, could be better but still with this money I have more than enough.
    Settling in:
    I am totally not settled after over a month. And I don’t think this is going to change. Uni does not doing anything to find out how we are doing or if we struggling with something or not.
  • Xubayda's avatar by Xubayda on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    .
    University:
    University like isn’t as stressful as I originally planned. Everything has been laid out in a way that gives students enough time to prepare for lecture as well as assignment and exam due dates.
    Course:
    I’ve had the absolute time of my life so far, the year has gone so quickly and I’ve met so many like-minded and amazing people here. I can’t wait to come back for a second year and I never want the experience to end!
    Location:
    The university is at the heart of the city, in close proximity to everything so I’m able to buy a bite to eat on my way to my campus
    Accommodation:
    The student accomudation surprised me, it was bigger than originally imagined a lot of space to move around and get on with some work. The staff are also always on hand to help students with their parcels or general enquiries.
    Settling in:
    There were previous tenants and volunteers that assisting in me moving in, as I could do this alone due to the amount of baggage I brought with me.
  • BlickLightning's avatar by BlickLightning on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It's alright, however spoiled by the new students coming from London and a few lecturers who don't always explain things here and there
    University:
    Lots of local activities, shops and nightlife to engage in. On campus club 'injunction' also.
    Course:
    First year timetable is rather spacious, lectures only on monday, tuesday and thursday. Most lecturers explain things well, module is very broad compared to software engineering.
    Location:
    Close to town
    Accommodation:
    Not living in uni accomodation and never have, stayed in private accomodation. Kept neat and tidy. Do not house share with girls.
    Settling in:
    Wanted to get away from home so settling in was very easy. Others have had it harder however.
  • hollyemma22's avatar by hollyemma22 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great if you're looking for a night out, lots of memories made but better welfare would make such an improvement!!
    University:
    Great for nightlife, not for people that go to uni to learn.
    Course:
    Module quality depended completely on the lecturer running it. Therefore, some were excellent and inspiring modules whilst others made you lose all interest in law!!
    Location:
    Leicester seems to be full of crime and drugs.
    Accommodation:
    Stayed in a uni approved halls. Several police investigations, raids and drug dogs always taking place.
    Settling in:
    As a result of terrible student housing and insufficient university welfare support, my mental health plummeted and it wasn't until half way through second year that I felt I "settled in" to university life.
  • kerberos12's avatar by kerberos12 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Everything
    University:
    Quite easy
    Course:
    Most of the teachers are good in teaching, there are a lot of students to relationate with. The courses are a lot interesting, there are a lot of courses that you can choose. The campus is really big and you literally can find everything there.
    Location:
    It’s near everything
    Accommodation:
    There are a lot of good accomodations but they cost a bit. In the accommodation you can meet a lot of new people
    Settling in:
    Fast
  • leithiandis's avatar by leithiandis on 11th July 2017
    Overall:
    Couldn't fault it for LLB Law at all, I've loved every minute of it . Started off with architecture though, the people were awful and the course was awful.
    University:
    Everything is pretty great, except a few things shut early.
    Course:
    I've enjoyed the majority of my time at DMU, as a whole the campus, course structure and university life is brilliant. There are definitely some lecturers who are awful (criminal law is notorious for bad marks and awful lecturers and tutors)
    Location:
    Leicester is a pretty average city but because it's small everything is within walking distance
    Accommodation:
    Overpriced and shabby.
    Settling in:
    I love being away from home and feeling independent.
  • princechromey's avatar by princechromey on 21st May 2017
    Overall:
    Based on everything I have wrote in this review, including course, location, facilities etc I would happily give this a 5/5 and would definitely recommend this university to anyone.
    University:
    Good facilities all round including a good amount of computers (plus new laptops being brought in), plenty of space in the library and plenty of food places to get a bite to eat.
    Course:
    Good quality course that was very interesting and enjoying to study as well as being intellectually stimulating
    Location:
    Very close to the city center (within 15 minutes) and also very close to rail and bus links, which is convenient.
    Accommodation:
    Location of the university accommodation is good and is only a few minutes away from the city center and the campus. I decided to commute as I was not ready to move out, nor was it cost effective
    Settling in:
    Took a while to settle in but once I'd settled in all was good.
  • bridget123's avatar by bridget123 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    University is amazing,all the support you may need is there for you and the people are friendly. The location of the uni is also great because writhin 5mins you are in the city centre which is great.
    University:
    Library is easy to access and the gym is quiet cheap
    Course:
    It is the best course and the lectures are vvery good
    Location:
    It is near the city centre which is really nice. Loads of shops around and you can explore and see different parts of Leicester
    Accommodation:
    Because the accomodation is alright but they can improve strength of wifi
    Settling in:
    Everyone was nice and friendly ,tutors were very helpful so it was easy for me to settle in quickly
  • Joelster38's avatar by Joelster38 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing atmosphere, facilities and societies for all personalities!
    University:
    So many opportunities
    Course:
    It's very well tutored, it covers interesting modules from a scientific approach.
    Location:
    Very handy location to train station, shops and housing.
    Accommodation:
    Student accommodation always sucks
    Settling in:
    The university is amazing, the students there can't be chosen
  • louise125's avatar by louise125 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall my transition into uni life has been smooth and enjoyable - primarily due to the excellent services provided by DMU
    University:
    Variety of clubs
    Course:
    i enjoy most aspects of the course except the timetable
    Location:
    Very central
    Accommodation:
    A bit expensive
    Settling in:
    Very comfortable
  • ierodorable's avatar by ierodorable on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I really like this university, settled in really fast and had good experiences with staff/students so far.
    University:
    A lot of things to do, a lot of societies, great facilities but could have more
    Course:
    I like the course but I don't love it
    Location:
    I really like the city and the campus is a 10 minute walk from town/15 mins from the station so its very convenient.
    Accommodation:
    Great location, could come with more things like a lift
    Settling in:
    I didn't really feel homesick at all, kept in touch with my friends and family easily.
  • cshenshaw 's avatar by cshenshaw on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Better than average
    University:
    There's always something to do
    Course:
    There isn't anything bad about the course but there also isn't anything special
    Location:
    Leicester is brilliant, everything is accessible
    Accommodation:
    It's cheap and in a good location
    Settling in:
    Met loads of people quickly
  • amberelli's avatar by amberelli on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really great!
    University:
    Great availability
    Course:
    Good contact hours
    Location:
    Everything is in the city and waking distance
    Accommodation:
    Fab accommodation but was promised block refurb over the summer that never happened so things are not as good as new refurbs
    Settling in:
    Settled in so easily with flat mates and neighbours
  • Jspencer0's avatar by Jspencer0 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I feel like I have settled in really well and the information that has been provided to me is more than useful. The course is good, the area is good. I'm really enjoying my time here.
    University:
    The facilities are really good however I am yet to take part in any clubs and societies.
    Course:
    So far I have received a very good impression of the university based in the introduction and the information I have been given.
    Location:
    There are many nice parks around the area, and there is a shop for everything. There is no shortage of places to go I am really enjoying it here.
    Accommodation:
    This is more of a personal opinion, I do not like being in shared accommodation but other people may enjoy it...
    Settling in:
    It is a really friendly place I'm not usually a person to easily accommodate change however so far I Haven't had any real issues with getting everything sorted and settling in.
  • Nemonicx's avatar by Nemonicx on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    This university wants you to feel good, make new friends and its in walking distance from the city centre
    University:
    It's a great university, with fantastic people
    Course:
    The timetable and teachers are good
    Location:
    Near the city centre
    Accommodation:
    It's small and cosy with a great atmosphere
    Settling in:
    People are really friendly, and there are many activities to help you settle in
  • Rahul_Anand's avatar by Rahul_Anand on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    By taking everything into the account. I believe this university deserves full 5-Stars. Looking by category. Location is amazing with all services at near by. University Infrastructure is really beautiful. Fees are really affordable for both UK and international students. Teachers are really helpful and great. Students are beautiful and friendly. and everyone is really helpful here.
    University:
    Services are great a campus such as libraries are awesome, Sports centre, Help centre they are just amazing. and other than that DSU is amazing and really helpful with such a great surprises.
    Course:
    For me the university looks really great as I am new here I don't really know much about the university from inside. Teachers look good, very helpful and well educated staff. fellow students look really friendly and helpful as well. For me its great university and perfect life time experience.
    Location:
    Location of the University is really great, near to market at the centre of city and most of the services are available near by.
    Accommodation:
    I have given 4 stars on basis of many things. for example, Location is really great and near to Uni. Very well affordable for any student specially international. Rooms are big enough for long term stay but the only concern i have with my room is that it has a shared bathrooms which i might have problem as i am not used to of it. But overall its a 4-Star for me.
    Settling in:
    Settling down to university is really easy as campus is well organised and built. There are lots of helping staff which guides you through out the uni which makes it easy for you to find out your class or other buildings. Overall, Great University. I liked it <3
  • Reebaz 's avatar by Reebaz on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    99/100, only downer is fact that main club (republic) is a taxi ride away
    University:
    Something to do at all hours and nightlife is fun
    Course:
    Staff go out of way to make student experience as good as possible
    Location:
    Leicester has a great atmosphere and stuff to do. Pretty place too
    Accommodation:
    Everything I need, reasonably priced and good location
    Settling in:
    Flatmates are class
  • jamiethewynne's avatar by jamiethewynne on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Depending on the course you can have a great time or the worst , but its a great university, make sure you talk to your lecturers
    University:
    The amount of activities you could do was a large variety, you never had to struggle to do something
    Course:
    It was good to start with but I had to do resubmissions when I failed for personal reasons and i was marked so harshly yet I never had any feedback from them about it
    Location:
    It was close to rail stations , close to the city center
    Accommodation:
    It was a nice Accomadation but my room was on the 5th floor so it was a bit of a challenge some times
    Settling in:
    I quickly adapted to university life , that was no problem
  • J3n4kd's avatar by J3n4kd on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Alright
    University:
    Stuff to do
    Course:
    Its avg
    Location:
    Close
    Accommodation:
    Got my own place
    Settling in:
    My bf was there
  • carrotstar's avatar by carrotstar on 22nd September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars; I feel able to ask anything, I know who to contact and how, and although information isn't always available as readily as you'd expect, it's very easy to chase up.
    University:
    There is so much going on. Everything will be fired at your within the first week, but there are so many bars, societies (both sports like Football and Snow Sports and random such as Harry Potter or the Cocktail Society), the QEII Gym which is owned and run by the university but is public, the city centre boasts a modern and impressive shopping centre (Highcross), and everyone in the SU and The Gateway (welfare) is happy to help, providing an abundance of information.
    Course:
    The timetable is not repetitive which makes it challenging to fit in extracurricular activities, although you are provided with all of your timetable at the start of the year. Lecturers are always happy to help out, as you'd expect, and the quality of teaching is high. Contact hours really vary throughout the year, taking up to 30 hours a week just before Christmas!
    Location:
    A short walk to the city centre, a mostly self-contained campus, and everything you need is within 10 mins walk including a 24 hour Tesco and the Highcross shopping centre.
    Accommodation:
    DMU has a great selection of accommodation for all price ranges. Admittedly, you have to get in first if you want the cheaper halls, but there are plenty around, and with a little searching you can find more places which aren't listed on the DMU website but which are still on the edge of the campus. Unfortunately we don't have any catered accommodation.
    Settling in:
    I felt homesick for the first day, and then I soaked up the independence and felt right at home. Admittedly, it is already my home city (I was born at the Leicester Royal Infirmary) but nevertheless it became home very quickly.
  • iheartpurple's avatar by iheartpurple on 22nd September 2015
    Overall:
    4stars. So far it's been very good and enjoyable. Many opportunities and freebies for students. Friendly staff. Although things on campus can be expensive, city centre is only 5mins away!
    University:
    It's very active depending on the individual whether or not you're into social activities or clubs or just enjoy staying home to "netflix & chill." LOL.
    Course:
    I receive very constructive feedback when I turn work in.
    Location:
    It centrally located and walking distance to many amenities like a big Tesco, the city centre etc.
    Accommodation:
    Most are very comfortable and modern although quite expensive.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home pretty quickly because everyone was welcoming
  • Ryanjameshaworth's avatar by Ryanjameshaworth on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Overall I'm glad I chose this University as not only is my course intellectually challenging, but it is well structured, interesting, and covers the appropriate material. When I've compared my course to my friend's studying the same, their courses just seem so complicated. I've made some great friends here. As for location, the university is near the city centre so you're no more than a 10 minute walk from shops and night clubs, and even the train station. Student accommodation is a little rubbish in my opinion, waste of money and would recommend commuting if fairly local, however parking may be difficult.
    University:
    24 hour library. Good night clubs local. Food is overpriced in student union however lots of cheap alternatives near by. Shopping centre is great. Lots of cheap local gyms!
    Course:
    The overall structure of the course and the actual content is great, however some of the lecturers are fairly useless. Expect to be teaching yourself a lot of things before the exam.
    Location:
    Close to the city centre, lots to do. However parking is ridiculously difficult and commuting can be a pain in rush hour. The uni doesn't offer proper parking facilities for its commuting students.
    Accommodation:
    Overpriced, can rent better non-student accommodation for cheaper.
    Settling in:
    Remembering everyone is in the same situation as you helps a lot. People are easy to talk to at this uni, I made friends (that weren't my flat mates) within a week and have been friends with them since! Also, societies are a great way to meet new people, even if you just join them for the social side of things.
  • Spotify95's avatar by Spotify95 on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is a very good university with great facilities and a variety of courses. It is conveniently located so you can pop into the city center; additionally it is very easy to access via the rail network. The staff are friendly and you can settle into the university quite quickly. Overall a great place to study.
    University:
    I haven't visited the student union that often but the facilities that are on offer on campus are very good. The students union is centrally located in the campus and the staff in the advice center are very friendly.
    Course:
    It is a very enjoyable course in a topic that I thoroughly enjoy. The university has all of the right facilities to help me with anything I need to do.
    Location:
    It's very close to the city center and is within a 15 minute walk of the rail network - thus making it very easy and convenient to commute to and from.
    Accommodation:
    I do not live in accommodation - I commute to university
    Settling in:
    It took me a while to get comfortable at first but after a while I was very comfortable and settled in nicely.
  • Thusain1's avatar by Thusain1 on 11th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's just such a friendly university met soo many nice people before starting from other courses too who I feel are really good friends. Easy to settle in the atmosphere is great, mult-cultural and campus is in walking distance to town so many clubs and societies and loads to do at freshers for those who are not really into clubbing and drinking as much too something for all!
    University:
    Freshers is awesome, seems awesome, people are awesome all great!
    Course:
    I love Nursing but would've wanted to get into Midwifery
    Location:
    Best place ever close to uni, town, new walk, home, friends housing etc.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in uni housing, friends do and it looks great however it can be expensive.
    Settling in:
    Sooo friendly
  • Elliewibb's avatar by Elliewibb on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    The uni is quite modern and young. I will never ever regret going to DMU. It was perfect for me.
    University:
    I didn't do any sport, it seemed that if I had I would have had so many more friends and socials and gatherings. The rest of the societies didn't seem to have that and I wasn't interested. The city centre was very alike to my own in Derby so that was familiar. The nightlife was okay, I think it needs more variety in clubs though personally.
    Course:
    I wish we were in uni more instead of the most of criminology being on one day. The library facilities were excellent though. The modules covered a wide breadth of criminology however often a lot of theories and topics were repeated.
    Location:
    Right near the city centre, and the campus itself if beautiful and well set out.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in Grosvenor House for my first year. I thought that the accommodation met all my needs. Only downfall was that it was very expensive.
    Settling in:
    I was extremely lucky. I made friends with the girls across the hall and a friend on my course very quickly. This is mainly due to being friends with them on Facebook beforehand!
  • marpw's avatar by marpw on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great experience, you just need to make sure you balance everything correctly.
    University:
    Modern buildings and facilities, but the student union is not the best.
    Course:
    It gives me everything that I require.
    Location:
    It is rather close to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Did not use university provided accommodation.
    Settling in:
    It's fairly easy, it's like living anywhere else really. You move in, make friends, study and party.
  • kiwie's avatar by kiwie on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    So far my expectations of DMU have been exceeded. Not only are we climbing up the league tables (51th!!) our vice Chancellor actually is making a huge effort to help employability. Now DMU is ranked in the top 25 most employable universities (2015 graduates).
    University:
    There's always something to do or go! Many faces to learn! There's everything from the quiet study place to the more chilled out lounges across the city. The campus directions are easy to follow.
    Course:
    A well established degree programme with international recognition that offers a unique combination to study the underpinning chemistry and formulatory aspects of both the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industry. The Society of Cosmetic Scientists acknowledges this programme one of the only two establishments in the UK to offer such a unique blend of the fundamental theory behind cosmetic design. The programme team boasts world leading research that is integrated into the modules studied throughout your stay. The opportunity to undertake an industrial placement further enhances your competency to work in the R&D sector or regulatory departments within big pharma to SME companies.
    Location:
    There are many restaurants, pubs, shopping centres and comedy clubs within a reasonable walking distance. A sporty person? DMU offers the Queen Elizabeth sports centre!
    Accommodation:
    The student halls offer everything from lively buzzing atmospheres to quiet calming secluded areas that help all students find a place to call home. DMU ambassadors make a striving effort to explore every possible way to make new students feel welcomed and settled. Many halls have free gaming facilities that enables easy meet and greeting with fellow neighbours or quick games with course mates.
    Settling in:
    The University is situated in the heart of Leicester with a lively Student Union always hosting and setting up events.
  • Shantel Shaw 's avatar by Shantel Shaw on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    3/5
    University:
    Good city
    Course:
    Interesting course
    Location:
    Near the city
    Accommodation:
    Too noisy, rude flat mates and a long walk to campus.
    Settling in:
    Home sick
  • Jadeblackrose 's avatar by Jadeblackrose on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Its a good university
    University:
    Its the perfect student life
    Course:
    Because it's interactive challenging and beautiful
    Location:
    Its easy accessibility
    Accommodation:
    I dont live in student accommodation
    Settling in:
    Because it wasnt had to find my place and feel at home
  • manreetkang's avatar by manreetkang on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Its a great university to study at. Don't think twice when choosing. You will have best experience of your life.
    University:
    Daytime is all busy with students- A great library with computers on all facilities. 2 more very big computer zones . Also all faculties has computer facilities. Tesco Express is 2 minutes away from the campus. Spar and One Stop is literally on the campus. Cafes and other eating places in Students Union. Sports facility is newly built Queen Elizabeth Sports Centre- massive place. Students Union is great- Have their own radio station 24/7. So many different societies for people with different interests, or you can set up your own.
    Course:
    Lecturers were great, very helpful and provide full support to make modules enjoyable.
    Location:
    Perfect location, 10 minutes walk from the City Centre. So many places to eat within 5 minutes reach.
    Accommodation:
    Welfare team helps with all contracts. Students Union have their own accommodation facility.
    Settling in:
    Didn't take me long to settle down. Everyone on the campus was helpful.
  • SDGFSDFSD's avatar by SDGFSDFSD on 3rd October 2015
    Overall:
    SFASFAS
    University:
    FASF
    Course:
    DASDASD
    Location:
    ASDASD
    Accommodation:
    SADFASFD
    Settling in:
    ASDASDW
  • Don't know's avatar by Don't know on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    Brilliant facilities, all sports and societies give members the opportunity to attend socials almost every single Wednesday, our students union alway has loads of events running for students to get involved with. Huge choice and variety of sports and societies to join
    Course:
    Wide range of module choices means there's something to suit everyone
    Location:
    Campus is right next to the city centre, all campus buildings are close together meaning you never have to walk all that far. Outstanding students union
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in student accommodation but from visiting friends it all seems really nice and well kept
    Settling in:
    Being such a small course gives it a sense of community, a new place is always scary at first but once you settle in it really feels welcoming
  • Ronai's avatar by Ronai on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a great University, and you won't regret coming here; the societies are amazing, the night life, while annoying for some, is also amazing. A lot of local shops offer good discounts for students.
    University:
    Daytime is fine, the services are all open and available, the student union is really helpful. Night is a nightmare. People outside screaming till 3am, people speeding around, beeping even past 3am.
    Course:
    The timetable started out a bit much, going from summer to 9 till 5 classes, but when the group was split into AM and PM groups it got a lot easier. The course is laid out and easy to follow, you can always ask for help if you need it, and it pushes you to bring out your true potential.
    Location:
    Everything is in walking distance, no buses needed, you have a good choice when it comes to food shopping. The shopping centre is a five minute walk. The University itself is wonderfully laid out so you never have a long walk between buildings.
    Accommodation:
    Staying in halls last year, I wasn't keen on my room. It was very cramped, and the dark blue paint had it constantly feeling dark. Then there was the building work no one mentioned to us when looking around. They started drilling at 8am Monday to Friday and didn't finish till 6pm. I also couldn't open my curtains since being on the second floor it felt like everyone could see in.
    Settling in:
    The University is amazing, but it still took a while to really settle in, being so used to home comforts it was a bit of a culture shock to suddenly be on my own and independent.
  • daved96's avatar by daved96 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent, don't regret coming, not got great rep, but it's improving so much
    University:
    Amazing, but gym isn't 24/7
    Course:
    Just been excellent so far, really well organised, and third best for my course in terms of satisfaction and teaching
    Location:
    Just on the brink of the city, so best place really. Next to loads of potential work places
    Accommodation:
    No idea, as I commute from about twenty minutes away
    Settling in:
    Probably because I am just around the corner from my house, know loads of people already
  • P15195858's avatar by P15195858 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Everything is so straight forward and what ever you need from problem with accommadation and support with financial support this university will give it to you.
    University:
    The Library is nice and quiet which is a very good place to study. The city centre minutes away from Uni this is an advantage because from uni I can go and but what I need.
    Course:
    I love the Uni these so much facilities and support. I have fun but I also have time for my course work and the Tutors are so understanderble. These also different society which you can join in. For example ; these basketball , netball lots of different group and I love it.
    Location:
    I was born in France and came in England when I was 12. The location remind me of Paris so much it's clean and quiet. The polution is clear and a taste of fresh air.
    Accommodation:
    The only reson why I rated 4 was because I thought my room would of been bigger but it's not. Apart from that everything fine. My room en-suit which I love am opposite King Power stadium which give me a real feeling of being a Leicester fan.
    Settling in:
    I am settling but it will take a bit of time because I miss my family but i made new friend. So far everyone nice and respectful which is a key of life.
  • Loisbentley95's avatar by Loisbentley95 on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great course and that's the most important thing. Plus really homely campus
    University:
    Below average nightlife
    Course:
    I really love it and the lecturers
    Location:
    Campus location is great
    Accommodation:
    Too expensive poor quality but prime location
    Settling in:
    Settled quickly
  • N/A's avatar by N/A on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    The uni itself is lovely, some tutors are really helpful but the lack of resources in the library has brought the mark down.
    University:
    Not enough books in the library for the amount of people on the course
    Course:
    Not an overall fan of the modules that were offered for third years
    Location:
    In the city, good for commuters
    Accommodation:
    Generally cheap, but can get noisy
    Settling in:
    Pretty much settled in straight away
  • daisysid's avatar by daisysid on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I enjoy my course. I can't really speak on other people's. The university is great, the nightlife is leicester is pretty good for students and there are a lot of societies if going out is not for you.
    University:
    I have enjoyed my time here. Obviously there are ups and downs but its mostly been ups
    Course:
    I enjoy some of the lectures and the tutors are useful however some of them do just read off slideshows
    Location:
    Perfect location. You do not have to catch a bus to go anywhere. everything is in walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    Being a student I wasn't expecting luxury but majority of accommodations for DMU are quite nice and the location is good too.
    Settling in:
    I made friends with my flatmates and the people of my course were likeable so i did not feel out of place.
  • Barbsa's avatar by Barbsa on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Budgeting is life
    Course:
    It's very interesting
    Location:
    Nice peaceful area
    Accommodation:
    Bathroom was aeroplane bathroom size and was quite a walk from campus
    Settling in:
    I settled in well quick
  • -'s avatar by - on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    love it so much
    University:
    Ok night life- I'm not into societies
    Course:
    It's amazing- perfect amount of lectures to placement time. Lecturers go above and beyond
    Location:
    Right near leicester
    Accommodation:
    Too noisy- bad cleaning ok room
    Settling in:
    I'm quite an easy going person
  • jenocean's avatar by jenocean on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate my overall University experience 4/5 as it has met all my expectations
    University:
    Everything was quite close (walking distance) and even if you had to take the taxi, it was very cheap
    Course:
    Because it has been what I expected and I love my course, the timetable and the way things are run
    Location:
    My University was close to the city, the train station and popular places
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is quite affordable depending on where you choose to live. The Midlands is quite well known for affordable accommodation
    Settling in:
    It didn't take me long but it took quite a while getting used to living with people I did not know
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate my overall university experience as a 4.5 as my second year proved to be very difficult. Dmu provide a excellent freshers week so really enjoy that.
    University:
    It's got everything you could need and more
    Course:
    It is a interesting course, but could do with better staffing
    Location:
    It is very central, everything is a ten minute walk away
    Accommodation:
    My second year house was a disaster, but first and third year accommodation was great
    Settling in:
    Found it very easy to make friends and settle in
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Loving it so far
    University:
    New experiences. Independence
    Course:
    It's an amazing university. Everyone is so nice and helpful. Students and teachers!
    Location:
    Love Leicester. Such a multi cultural city.
    Accommodation:
    n/a
    Settling in:
    Great people
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great univeristy with amazing facilities
    University:
    The society I want to join us none existent but there are many good societies
    Course:
    It's very hard but worth it
    Location:
    Very local
    Accommodation:
    I pay a lot but problems are occuring
    Settling in:
    I have made friends but nothing beats home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Lots of great facilities
    Course:
    Very interesting right from the start. Lecturers are lovely!
    Location:
    I love leicester!
    Accommodation:
    Haven't experienced it
    Settling in:
    After the first day I felt quite comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    okay
    University:
    okay
    Course:
    generally okay
    Location:
    city
    Accommodation:
    n/a
    Settling in:
    okay
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    good for its art and humanities courses especially fashion and design
    University:
    a good range of activities is provided according to students needs
    Course:
    3rd year has just begun. Would see as the year progresses.
    Location:
    leicester is a student city. It's a mini version of London. Campus is not too far from the city centre and transportation is easily accessible.
    Accommodation:
    increasing rent, not considering that we are students. good location all inclusive bills with added content insurance
    Settling in:
    there's no place like home (actual).
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's very student friendly, with the focus being purely on the students as opposed to league tables and results.
    University:
    Lots available, excellent gym, very good nights out.
    Course:
    Very well thought out with experienced lecturers who really care about what you're doing.
    Location:
    Ring next to the city centre, personally wouldn't have chosen to come here if it wasn't for the course.
    Accommodation:
    It's clean etc but it's over priced.
    Settling in:
    It took me quite a while as I was very overwhelmed with all my course information and meeting new people etx
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Just put yourself out there and jump in the deep end. Be loud and be yourself
    University:
    I haven't been out in another town before and the student leaders are such great help. Everything we need is right here
    Course:
    It's been interesting so far
    Location:
    Everything is so close and on the doorstep
    Accommodation:
    Has everything you need basically for a very cheap price.
    Settling in:
    I found it really easy to talk to people and make new friends
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    The tutors are very welcoming, they have just upgraded the computers and they have a great relaxing area
    University:
    There are computers and a library and a seating area with sofas and tables and chairs
    Course:
    It has a lot of industry connections and also has the lessons I want
    Location:
    It is close only a 30 minute train ride away
    Accommodation:
    It isn't far from where I live so I have to do some travelling but not too much
    Settling in:
    I was in the college with the same tutors so I already knew them
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great facilities for my course, and the university is central and has everything I could need and has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.
    University:
    Loads of social events with societies and sports clubs, lots going on generally.
    Course:
    There is a lot of contact time on my course, and help where needed. The facilities and staff are great.
    Location:
    Close to the centre of town, supermarkets and the market. Everything I need is in walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    Location is great, it's fairly low cost. Plenty of storage however lacking kitchen space compared with number of people in the flat.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really freindly, tonnes of events put on at the uni for freshers and the general atmosphere across the uni is great v
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is wonderful. Come to Dmu and live your dream. It's a place where support is great. There's always someone to help, people to meet and fun to have. Highcross is also a big plus. 5 star uni, working its way hope it'll be at the top in a few years.
    University:
    I would give DMU this rating as they stand out in all areas. The night life is amazing with regular events on planned by the su and various others. The bars and clubs offered in and around highcross are also a wonderful addition. Shopping and fitness is something Leicester does well with various gyms including our sports centre which had been improved and is cheaper than most as we're a part of the uni. Also the library and services offered by uni is fantastic. Everyone is treated with respect and is offered the best chance to be wonderful human beings.
    Course:
    Because my university is genuiely amazing. The career department is the reason we have one of the best employment rates in the UK. De Montfort is truly amazing.
    Location:
    I love Leicester personally. The city has a great mix of student and family orientation. Makes the city much more lively than others also the business in an around make way for part time jobs needed by students.
    Accommodation:
    Mansion court provide their students with the best service and on site security. I love it.
    Settling in:
    People are very friendly and approachable in Leicester. The city is vibrant and People are up to help each other. Therefore making it very good to make friends.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great location, course and facilities
    University:
    Being a city centre location we have lots of great services
    Course:
    Interesting Modules
    Location:
    Love being in a city centre campus!!
    Accommodation:
    Great location and prices available!
    Settling in:
    Settled in right away, no troubles.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant.
    University:
    Library has everything I need for my course.
    Course:
    As feedback takes time yet I like the support
    Location:
    City - plenty to see and lots of nice places to eat. Easy to get to the train station
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is nearby and of reasonable cost
    Settling in:
    Freshens fair makes it easier to meet people
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    VERY GOOD
    University:
    All I do is go home and go uni.
    Course:
    Because it is nice
    Location:
    Because it is reachable
    Accommodation:
    Because I do not live in a university accommodation.
    Settling in:
    It was difficult settling in but everyone was nice.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    The gym membership is pretty pricey on a student budget however the rest of the services have been brilliant so far
    Course:
    Friendly atmosphere, brilliant facilities and just an overall nice place to be
    Location:
    Its very close to the city centre and has really good transport links to all of the major cities such as london and nottingham.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap in cost and with decent facilities, however sometimes noisey neighbours can cause problems when trying to sleep
    Settling in:
    Everyone has been really welcoming and warm and all of my flatmates have been really lovely, making it hard for me to miss home
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Just overall a really good university where I have made many great friends for life and done things I am sure I would otherwise never have tried.
    University:
    Excellent variety of places to go and things to do
    Course:
    Very good and friendly lectures and I have benefited greatly from the course
    Location:
    10 min walk from campus to town centre where all the shops and clubs are
    Accommodation:
    Some are far better than others
    Settling in:
    Didn't take long at all
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    overall I have had a great experience so far and am enjoying my independence
    University:
    I am getting the hang of moving around my uni without the help of anyone
    Course:
    because the lecturer is amazing and knows how to explain every concept for you to get a great understanding
    Location:
    its not too far from home so its easier for my family to come and visit and easy for me to go see them
    Accommodation:
    I just love it!!!! everyone is so friendly and I get on well with everyone
    Settling in:
    everything was so quick and I made friends quickly. they helped me unpack very fast and had time to socialise and get to know people
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a really good uni.
    University:
    There is so much to do
    Course:
    Teaching is excellent and good employment links
    Location:
    Nightlife and city is really good
    Accommodation:
    Overall perfect
    Settling in:
    Friendly .
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Good so far
    University:
    Offer a variety
    Course:
    Told me everything i need to know
    Location:
    Convenient
    Accommodation:
    Nice spacious room
    Settling in:
    Studio = less socialisation
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Only if u are going to do design, this Uni still needs more time to develop in order to catch Up
    University:
    Empty
    Course:
    The course content is interesting comparing to other universities and useful as well
    Location:
    Near to center
    Accommodation:
    Visited once, didn't like the sharing kitchen
    Settling in:
    There was a time where did not know what was happening in my course about the dates and books to purchase for the year
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    10. Very happy
    University:
    Very good.
    Course:
    Great
    Location:
    Central location
    Accommodation:
    Great
    Settling in:
    Great
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    The campus is great, and easy to find your way around. There's plenty of events during freshers week, and the course I'm studying is really enjoyable
    University:
    I didn't join many societies last year, and as I work too, I didn't go out on nights out. But I've joined societies this year I'm hoping I'll enjoy it more
    Course:
    I really enjoy the course and I do find it very interesting, but I'm not 100% decided on a future career when I graduate, so I can't say that it's the perfect course for me.
    Location:
    Although I enjoyed the course during the first year, I didn't really enjoy the social side of it.
    Accommodation:
    I commute to university, so I don't stay in accommodation and can't make a judgement on it.
    Settling in:
    Commuting to uni and working full time, I found it difficult to meet people outside of my course because I often couldn't make social events etc.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Balanced out
    Course:
    Very understanding and welcoming
    Location:
    Very near to home and city centre
    Accommodation:
    Comforting place
    Settling in:
    Friendly and welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great experience especially living on campus
    University:
    Good services
    Course:
    3 days of lecture Length of lecture
    Location:
    Everything is local and walking distance
    Accommodation:
    Safety, rooms size etc
    Settling in:
    I have friends from college at the same university
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing. Great university. Wonderful academics. Great support.
    University:
    I love it. Being a student is great!
    Course:
    Because I love the content but organisation could be better.
    Location:
    Difficult to park in city centre but great compact location .
    Accommodation:
    I'm a student ambassador and I've looked around all DMU accommodation and it's great. Security is high. Rooms are spacious. Easily accessible to the town centre and the university.
    Settling in:
    Supported well and easily fitted in.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Ok
    University:
    Meh
    Course:
    It's ok
    Location:
    Near City
    Accommodation:
    Bad
    Settling in:
    Not homely
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good! Everyone is friendly and welcoming :) which is relaxing as I was panicking about coming to university so much!
    University:
    The library is amazing! the shopping centre has a wide range of shops for everyone and is very well set out. The student union is very helpful and everyone has ben really friendly. There is a wide range of societies and clubs so that there is always something for everyone.
    Course:
    I haven't started the course yet as my first lecture is on Monday, but the course structure and the topics covered look amazing.
    Location:
    The university campus is very close together so there is no need for buses or lifts from anyone.
    Accommodation:
    Filbert Village is one of the accommodations that is furthest away from the university, although it isn't a long walk from where ever I want to get to. The cost is one of the best for this area, however they don't not take 2nd or 3rd years which is annoying as I would definitely return next year if I could. as for the quality, the shower doenst work properly, the carpets really need replacing and the wall could do with a paint over. but apart from that the accommodation is safe and very friendly and I feel like I am living at home.
    Settling in:
    I feel really welcome. Everyone is wiling to help out and the accommodation is very nice to live in.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Good societies, accessible students' union, approachable welfare team.
    Course:
    Because module content is good, although some aspects are slightly boring, this is due to the nature of the content and course.
    Location:
    It is a good city-campus, with transport links close by as well as good facilities.
    Accommodation:
    It is in a good location and is reasonably priced, however the kitchen is too small to make it a social place too cook.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home within the first three days, made friends quickly, and managed to cook and survive straight away.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    -
    University:
    -
    Course:
    -
    Location:
    -
    Accommodation:
    -
    Settling in:
    -
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant experience learnt a lot about life
    University:
    Could be more to do
    Course:
    Taught the necessary stuff
    Location:
    Near the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Facilities were great
    Settling in:
    I mix well with people
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    Full of students and a whole lot of fun
    Course:
    Because it has been excellent in every aspect in terms of course structure, teaching, feedback and overall experience
    Location:
    Everything is within in 20-30 minutes walk radius
    Accommodation:
    Depending on the price every star is available
    Settling in:
    It's definitely a great area and easy to adjust in
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a capitalist mecca. Only concerned with bulging course size's and employability after graduation over learning or quality there of (and by employability they don't care if they cart you to Costa Coffee or premier inn. At dmu it's about having an income regardless of whether it's in your chosen subject area and subjects without an obvious career follow on are starved of funding).
    University:
    Because even the drinks are too expensive to make a very non stimulating lifestyle tolerable. It is NOT a center for exploratory learning or free thinking...
    Course:
    Even though I like the subject area and the tutors are lovely and more than qualified, the organisation, timetabling, contact time, efficiency, coherence of information coming from the faculty itself, the quality of the work being covered in class and the continual restructuring of the course and it values is shambolic. A very stressful learning experience.
    Location:
    Short walk from town. Ridiculous question though it's not about how near a topshop or a Starbucks is.
    Accommodation:
    It's an expensive privatised conspiracy offering poor quality housing but close to campus at least.
    Settling in:
    I didn't think much of the settling experience at the time as am used to being away from home
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I think this is a great university. Especially the Art courses. Don't let other people's opinions stop you from coming here just because it's lower down the league tables.
    University:
    Uni life is good if you throw yourself into it. However I didn't so I can't necessarily blame the uni.
    Course:
    Because I find the course enjoyable and I get support easily.
    Location:
    Because everything is Whithorn walking distance
    Accommodation:
    The student accommodation I lived in the first year (the grange) was old and the facilities weren't up to date.
    Settling in:
    my friends made it easy to settle in. Plus the uni was easily accessible
  • by Anonymous on 11th September 2015
    Overall:
    Ok
    University:
    I love uni life, just not my uni, my course runs all summer and it's difficult to get any work done as the library is closed more than open over the summer
    Course:
    It's very disorganised
    Location:
    It's in the middle of the city, easy to get to, easy access to parking
    Accommodation:
    Student housing is a good quality, however there are the usual student accommodation issues
    Settling in:
    The beginning of the course was great.....shame about the following 2 years
  • by Anonymous on 9th September 2015
    Overall:
    It has been terrible it really has ruined my life, I wish I never went
    University:
    Not good for nurses
    Course:
    Because the university offers no support when the lessons they provide are not on the right topics to pass your exams. They are making graduating as a nurse to be really difficult. I would not recommend anyone to go to this university it has ruined my life.
    Location:
    Near town and bus services so can get to placements
    Accommodation:
    It was OK
    Settling in:
    I settled in OK the students were nice and friendly
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Everyone was very helpful all the student union support is amazing. And the teaching staff are very helpful and will always make time for you.
    University:
    I loved every opportunity I was able to take which made my uni experience the best I could have hoped for.
    Course:
    All modules are interesting and contemporary for the new contemporary arts world. They offer experiences other universities don't.
    Location:
    Not far from the city centre and everything is in walking distance
    Accommodation:
    The accomadation I was in was very close to campus and reasonably priced.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was very welcoming and the tour's of campus were very helpful and freshers was a great way to meet new friends.
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoy being a part of DMU, but it isn't just up to the university you have to get yourself involved to be part of everything that is going on.
    University:
    The gym could be cheaper it is rather expensive everything else is great as there is plenty going on and to get involved in.
    Course:
    Timetabling hasn't always been great there have been some errors that have caused tutorials and lectures to be rearranged but the lecturers have been good about feedback and flexible.
    Location:
    Love the location and the city's diversity
    Accommodation:
    affordability isn't the best it could be but I am willing to pay for the quality
    Settling in:
    Took me a year to feel at home but I did live alone so that is why it took me a little longer
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good teaching and excellent up-to-date facilities. The uni puts emphasis a lot on employability, good student advice centres.
    University:
    Enjoyable.
    Course:
    Because I enjoy it, we learn some up-to-date materials, technology. Also there is a good mix of exams, coursework, tests etc.
    Location:
    Near the city centre as well as restaurants, shops, football stadium etc.
    Accommodation:
    I have heard good feedback from friends.
    Settling in:
    I enjoyed it from the beginning, lecturers were approachable.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    In terms of the student life, very good. It's an up and coming university for courses in the architectural and artistic fields but it still has a long way to go for the technologies. Myself and several of my friends studying CompSci based courses found that the standard of lecturing on these courses was exceptionally poor and as a result the attendance to lectures was about 5% by the time we got to Christmas and I actually dropped out in March to join an Apprenticeship scheme being run by Capgemini.
    University:
    Everything that you would expect is provided to a pretty high standard. The library is well equipped with several copies of most books, decent printers, modern computers (including dual-booted Linux machines and iMacs for those that need them) all available free of charge. The campus shop is open most of the day Monday to Friday and the on-campus cafeteria is also very good, supplemented by the neighbouring Starbucks and Costa coffee shops where students can get jobs to help pay for all the activities.
    Course:
    The quality of teaching for the majority of the modules was exceptionally poor. Many of the lecturers were foreign which, in itself, isn't a problem but they barely spoke English well enough to deliver the lectures and when you asked them a question they would simply tell you to start from step one of the process sheets we were given which isn't helpful at all. The best lecturer we had was for the Computational Mathematics module and that was the shortest module of the year.
    Location:
    Leicester's a pretty good city for night-life and everything you need is very close to or on campus. There's a Tesco Express right next to one of the lecture buildings and a bigger Tesco supermarket opposite the DMU Leisure Centre plus it's about a 10 minute walk right into the centre of Leicester so it's in a really good position.
    Accommodation:
    The flat I was in was very comfortable and recently refurbished but it was very cold in the winter and my friends' accommodation that I saw was quite poor. I was in a studio flat by myself which was quite costly but I would argue it was worth it for the extra space and peace and quiet.
    Settling in:
    The campus was very nice and I quickly made friends with people in the societies that I joined.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    The university as a whole is ok. But the management of the university is in the wrong place. They are more concerned with money coming in than the quality of the students they produce.
    University:
    Societies were very crap. People thought a lot of themselves and many were stuck up.
    Course:
    Some of the teachers were top quality. Others were as poor as they come.
    Location:
    Its in a great central location in the middle of the city.
    Accommodation:
    There are some bargins to be found.
    Settling in:
    Easily settled in but the halls were crap.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Staff are friendly everything is close with in campus, if commuting it's only 20 mins from the train station and student services are always there to help.
    University:
    Didn't experience much being a full time mother and commuting. So didn't go on student nights. I did however use the librate a little and only used my student id in one shop for discount as not many places I found used it.
    Course:
    There were good parts of the course, I didn't enjoy the first year as the first year didn't have a lot of project based on graphic design and it seemed more illustration based. For the three years I was there, there were constant problems link computer technical problems which seemed to take a long time to get sorte and the printers were constantly on the blink or not working. Once second and third year hit, the modules were more based o. What is gone to uni for. The tutors were very helpful. However I was always the last to know about everything but I didn't know if this was due to not living on campus, commuting from another city and being a mother. Overall it wa worth it in the end.
    Location:
    Close the city centre of Leicester so as I commuted via both motorcycle and train the campus was easy to get to and find.
    Accommodation:
    I COMMUTED so my rating is not valid
    Settling in:
    Staff were friendly but I didn't understand a lot as I was not informed about anything and had to find out last from fellow student and had to ask tutors.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would give 5 but I haven't fully started yet. Everything that ive previously said everything so far seems amazing.
    University:
    From everything that ive seen so far it all seems brilliant. All the different aspects of the uni and what's close by. I can't wait to get there.
    Course:
    Although I haven't started yet the modules seem brilliant. I've talked to one of the people going into their second year and they've said all the lectures are fantastic and there is always help of you need it.
    Location:
    It's easy to get to and to commute to.
    Accommodation:
    I cannot really comment as I am not staying in the university accommodation
    Settling in:
    I've met and been talking to a few people on Facebook who are taking the same course. So far everyone is very friendly and happy to talk so that's calmed my nerves a bit. Hopefully feel fully settled when I start.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Definatley come to an open day
    University:
    Lots of societies and social events
    Course:
    Lovely uni, brilliant staff and good atmosphere
    Location:
    Love the city of leicester
    Accommodation:
    Catered for everything i need at right price
    Settling in:
    Good induction week
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good. It's not a high ranking univeristy but its services and what you'd expect it very good.
    University:
    Everything is in walking distance.
    Course:
    The course is exactly how I thought it would be but it is very demanding.
    Location:
    Its very close to the city and everything is in walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    The quality exceedes my expectation but it is rather expensive.
    Settling in:
    Students were very helpful and any problems are solved quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    10
    University:
    It can be hard , being away from but it's a different and amazing experience
    Course:
    It's just amazing
    Location:
    Leicester is an amazing place
    Accommodation:
    Was to expensive , with a rubbish service
    Settling in:
    Because my uni did everything to make the first year feel welcome , e.g holding different events to meet new people
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would definitely go here, whilst the accommodation are not great, but the quality of the university compensates in a big way
    University:
    There are some good cheap clubs
    Course:
    The timetable is great and the lectures are always there to help.
    Location:
    Leicester is great
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in Bede Hall and whilst I had fun the rooms arent the best value for money
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really friendly, the staff are great and the campus is beautiful
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    the course and campus I am on is great as they have all up to date software and industry connections
    University:
    there are computers to use and there are sofas and chairs and tables
    Course:
    It is a great course, a lot I already knew, and also communication with tutors went down a bit closer to the end of the year.
    Location:
    It is very close just a half hour train ride away.
    Accommodation:
    I do not use it and do not know what it is like
    Settling in:
    the tutors were very welcoming and made sure you knew what was going to be happening
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The University is fab! The staff are really helpful.
    University:
    Haven't started yet.
    Course:
    The overall experience if DMU is perfect, the staff have been so helpful.
    Location:
    It's down the road from me and from the town.
    Accommodation:
    I do not use the accommodation but have heard great things.
    Settling in:
    I haven't started yet
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Okay
    University:
    Could be better
    Course:
    The course is OK but some of the modules could be more planned out
    Location:
    It's on several bus routes but badly spaced out
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in university accommodation, I live at home with my parents
    Settling in:
    Took me a while to get into the swing of things
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's just a great university to be at!
    University:
    Everything is so easily located and the services that the university offers are really helpful, it's a great uni to go to.
    Course:
    Because I learn something new everyday I'm there , if uni doesn't do that then what's the point?
    Location:
    It's only a 20 minute walk into town so it's great from a commuters perspective
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in student accommodation in my first year and it was awful! It was loud every night and expensive and if something was wrong with the room it would take ages for it to be fixed.
    Settling in:
    It was very easy to make friends on the first day of term, the lecturers and tutors made that possible, freshers not so much but it depends how outgoing you are.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It a good choice amazing with student getting into full time jobs after uni
    University:
    Bangs but could be better
    Course:
    It's not the best but get the job done
    Location:
    Buzzing
    Accommodation:
    See prviouse
    Settling in:
    Friends
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I've had a great experience at university meeting new people and working out of my comfort zones
    University:
    Great uni experience as halls are all close and so is town and clubs. Leicester is also a cheap area to live in
    Course:
    It's not bad and it's not the most fun either
    Location:
    Located right next to town and clubs
    Accommodation:
    Compared to other universities you get a good deal and get what you pay for. Location and affordability is really good as it's close and cheap
    Settling in:
    It is easy to settle in as the freshers groups and halls of residence are very welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5. I love the uni and I love my degree
    University:
    Gym close by, transport links, city centre, great nightlife
    Course:
    The modules are relevant to the career I'm looking at, it's well taught and still interests me.
    Location:
    Close to the city centre, close to the transport links.
    Accommodation:
    It's clean and spacious.
    Settling in:
    After freshers, I felt at home. The people were great as was the city.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Not moved too far away
    Course:
    Not very organised
    Location:
    Right in city centre
    Accommodation:
    High quality
    Settling in:
    Good su
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Nice campus which has a nice modern feel
    University:
    Great choice being in the city centre, modern shopping centres near by etc.
    Course:
    Good resources available for the course
    Location:
    Lovely city centre campus close to everything!
    Accommodation:
    Very good location and price, great size and comfort!
    Settling in:
    Felt normal straight away, was great
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    i think its a great choice to discover life
    University:
    i love being social
    Course:
    because i like the aspect of it
    Location:
    right in city centre
    Accommodation:
    because i seen a few and theyre nice
    Settling in:
    because i already had friends there
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The student support and amount of activities is insane. Always someone to help you with everything
    University:
    There is always something to do whether you like going out drinking or not
    Course:
    Course was enough hours to seem with while, whilst not being overloading. Good amount of interaction with lecturers, who also would always be willing to help and talk to you regarding anything.
    Location:
    Was very central to the city centre and train station but it was also a closed campus to vehicles so it was quiet
    Accommodation:
    Some of the best halls I've seen. After visiting many friends at other uni's it was clear to see that they were some of the best and at a reasonable rate (for student halls)
    Settling in:
    Made friends and kept them within the first fortnight
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni
    University:
    Everything you need is within walking distance
    Course:
    It's okay if you unsure about what career you specifically want to go into, as not much career suggestions are given throughout the course only once a year or so.
    Location:
    The city is very lively reminds me of London.
    Accommodation:
    Majority of accommodation is close to campus and of a reasonable price depending on what you are looking for.
    Settling in:
    A friendly university with loads to do you meet new people every day.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE