Member reviews of Durham University

  • 4Winter's avatar by 4Winter on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It's a great uni with a really welcoming and active student community. The courses are well-taught, there are so many opportunities to get involved and find things you like whatever your preferences are.
    University:
    This is in my opinion one of the best things about Durham. There are so many societies and clubs to join - I've been able to do so many things I wouldn't have expected, like scuba diving, hot chocolate crawls or helping run a society myself.
    Course:
    The lecturers are nice and approachable. The contact hours are reasonable and especially in first year leave a lot of time to study on your own and do other extracurricular activities.
    Location:
    Durham itself is a fairly small city, but pretty and welcoming. I definitely enjoy that a large part of its population is students, as it means there are many student events going on e.g. fairs, book sales, house plant sales, student-friendly deals etc.
    Accommodation:
    The locations are generally good, most colleges are quite central and even the farthest ones are quite close to the departments.
    Settling in:
    As an international student, it was definitely difficult being away from my home and family for the first time, so I had episodes of extreme homesickness in the first few weeks.
  • Yarunika's avatar by Yarunika on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Poor. Don't bother unless you can afford the sky-high cost and the constant overbearing pressure of being a 'top-tier' uni. It isn't worth the illness.
    University:
    Library is fantastic, though a little small. Campus is clean. Not much study space. Never used the union or societies because commuters are made to feel like outsiders. Gym is overpriced, taking advantage of the students.
    Course:
    Teachers are approachable (with the exception of a few), and have an enthusiasm for their subject. Course work is informative and interesting, but the marking system and feedback, as well as attitude towards failing students, is a little harsh.
    Location:
    Nice city, generally pretty safe, in the city centre so its fairly easy to get to. Not much to do there though, you sort of feel like you're in a fish bowl. For our geology course though, the geology is literally just out the door, so that's pretty cool.
    Accommodation:
    I commute, but as far as I've seen the college accomodation is tiny for the amount of money paid, though they are clean and the food is good. Housing in the city is dirty, worn-out and distant, unless you want to pay over £100-150 per week.
    Settling in:
    Poor attitude to commuters and those who don't "live-in", which made attending lectures, workshops and Fresher's activities hard. All societies and workshops run at late times or on a weekend, again making it difficult to fully enjoy what was on offer.
  • natho4's avatar by natho4 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Academic, sporty and a good environment
    University:
    Collegiate is so ncie
    Course:
    Good fun
    Location:
    Close to a big city
    Accommodation:
    Close to everything
    Settling in:
    Friendly environment
  • Amyab11's avatar by Amyab11 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Really love it
    University:
    Good services offered on campus. Welfare is excellent as college as well as uni wide. Lots of clubs and societies.
    Course:
    Busy timetable but good as less independent readings and work required. Course structured well. Enjoyed my modules. Teaching good, fairly fast feedback.
    Location:
    Quite far north which means I have to travel quite far
    Accommodation:
    Divided into colleges which I love. Makes it more personal and easier to meet people I think. Good location. Average in terms of price
    Settling in:
    Found it all quite smooth. Met nice people stafught away which helped
  • Tonett's avatar by Tonett on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Your experience will defer from mine but it will never not get easier. So decide to enjoy it and you will.
    University:
    It is okay overall. You will enjoy it once you make really great friends and get settled in. You will enjoy the lessons too! Sports is great too. Durham is close to Newcastle so great shopping and clubbing.
    Course:
    Module content is really informative. Lots of drops in to help and great resources at the library.
    Location:
    The business school is on a hill, which is really inconvenient especially due to where the bus drops you off. The weather doesn't help either as we are up North.
    Accommodation:
    There are a lot of student accommodations, although not close to the Business school and with poor transport links. The private accommodations are also very pricey with little floor space. The accommodation is really poor for me.
    Settling in:
    There wasn't as much assistance as one would hope but Durham is pretty small so it's not hard to settle in on your own.
  • i_dontreallyknow's avatar by i_dontreallyknow on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I have truly enjoyed my past two years at Durham, it really is an amazing place to study, and its departments are some of the best in the country.
    University:
    Durham is a city uni, so it doesn't really have a set campus, but what there is is alright. Welfare stuff is really good, as well as the uni welfare people there is a dedicated welfare team in every college.
    Course:
    The lecturers and the resources available are truly amazing, and if you get the right module it can be a truly amazing experience. The department are lovely, and most always reply to emails/queries quickly.
    Location:
    Durham is truly an amazing place to be. My only complaint as to location would be the hell that is travelling to Durham on a train. Avoid at all costs.
    Accommodation:
    University accommodation is really hit and miss. My first year room in itself was alright, it had everything I needed and the Wi-Fi was excellent. But the hot water was rather dodgy, and the showers in the flat weren't the nicest.
    Settling in:
    Durham's collegiate system is truly amazing for making friends and settling in. I had an absolutely amazing support network within my college, and I didn't have a problem settling in.
  • cfoster7's avatar by cfoster7 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall I am really enjoying my university experience. My course, friends, the city and the societies I have joined have really made my first year enjoyable and I would definitely recommend Durham University to others, especially for Chemistry.
    University:
    It is not a campus university but there are always services and support available to you from either the university or your college. The gym membership costs are quite high locally.
    Course:
    Most of the lecturers give interesting lectures which aid your understanding of the topic. There are lots of contact hours which suits me as it helps me to focus as there are always lecture notes to catch up on or lab sessions to prepare for.
    Location:
    Located in and around the city so shops, supermarkets and restaurants are always at most about 15 minutes away from where you are, which is very convenient.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in St Cuthbert's Society Parson's Field site and it was generally good and the cleaners generally did a good job - it was useful as they cleaned the kitchen and showers basically every other day.
    Settling in:
    The freshers reps were very friendly and I got on well with the other people living in my corridor.
  • csheary's avatar by csheary on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I love it. I found the thought of moving away from home daunting, however I had the best first year thanks to my lecturers making my course interesting, college staff for their support and my friends for all the wonderful memories we’ve made.
    University:
    There is the opportunity to get involved in a myriad of societies so that you will never get bored.
    Course:
    I’ve found all of my modules in first year really interesting and all the staff were engaging and supportive. The seminars provided great opportunity to consolidate and develop what we had learnt in lectures.
    Location:
    Although it is a long way from home, I love the fact it is in a small city. You can easily walk to and from any point in Durham, but it’s not too small that it suffocates you.
    Accommodation:
    Being a collegiate university, it is quite different from a standard university. I love the college system as it provides a unique sense of community and belonging that you wouldn’t get in a standard halls of residence.
    Settling in:
    The college made it easy to settle in, as the Frep team was incredible in getting everyone involved in activities
  • caitmahoney29's avatar by caitmahoney29 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great experience, met friends for life and had such a laugh, but also got top level education
    University:
    City is beautiful so campus reflects this, and there are all the facilities you could want.
    Course:
    Tutors are really helpful, lectures are interesting though at times hard to follow but that’s all down to learning how to study at undergraduate level! I love the diversity of the course and essay writing is interesting.
    Location:
    I love the fact it’s a city but not too big - and you have Newcastle just around the corner!
    Accommodation:
    The rooms in my college (Hatfield) were somewhat dated compared to other university accomodation. However, the sense of community being in a college gives makes up for this, and I loved living in halls.
    Settling in:
    So easy to make friends and settle in because of the college system
  • Nimdelgirl's avatar by Nimdelgirl on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great, being part of things outside the course was my best way to keep active, making a friend or two in my course so that if I was ever ill I had someone to take notes for me. The college system at Durham is great because you feel more like a community
    University:
    There's so much to do that its possible for everyone to find something they love other than the course to get stuck into. I found plenty people who were as interested in a quiet night in as going out clubbing.
    Course:
    The course is very full on but you're getting so much out of it. a good mix of lectures, seminars and labs so its not all wrote learning. College tutors in the subject are some of the most helpful people to go for for academic advice and help
    Location:
    Small town, not much other than the university - but there's plenty within that. 20 mins train from larger Newcastle, but very North (from someone who lives south
    Accommodation:
    Great living in college for the first year, especially the sociability of eating meals together as catered, but pricey
    Settling in:
    If you throw yourself into things and are willing to put yourself out there its easy to make friends and settle in, cos everyone else is doing the same. lots of friendly people made this easier
  • alana.lammii's avatar by alana.lammii on 26th September 2018
    Overall:
    I have loved studying at Durham university and I don’t regret choosing this location. People are friendly, the course is interesting, and it has a stellar academic reputation.
    University:
    Daytime facilities are decent. Lots of brunch places and cafes. However, the library lacks space and there are few shops. Similarly nightlife is limited by a lack of clubs/bars. There are also no chains like McDonald’s and Burger King.
    Course:
    Most lectures and tutorials are engaging and interesting however there are some where notes are just read from a page for an hour. Also, after studying abroad it is clear that the law courses available are few and very standard.
    Location:
    Only desire is it not be so cold!
    Accommodation:
    Living in Josephine Butler College is great. It is self-catered and almost like living in a flat with everyone having their own en suite. The only issue I have found is it is quite expensive.
    Settling in:
    As a collegiate university and living in a flat-type accommodation there is a lot of support and opportunity to make friends. As a small city, it is easy to find your way around and get used to the area.
  • fw1's avatar by fw1 on 27th June 2017
    Overall:
    Brilliant
    University:
    Something for everyone. A unique experience
    Course:
    Good range of modules. Knowledgeable staff
    Location:
    Durham is amazing
    Accommodation:
    Colleges offer an amazing experience. Everything is a walk away. Pricey, but fully catered.
    Settling in:
    Great freshers reps and college parents
  • EsAnd's avatar by EsAnd on 12th March 2017
    Overall:
    Great reputation and great student life
    University:
    Huge amounts of sports - can play lots at college level so however inexperienced there are matches etc. Library is great, shopping is good with Newcastle not far away, welfare is through college so very supportive. SU is distant -only because of college network.
    Course:
    I have 7-10 contact hours a week, with small tutorial groups for each module which means its easy to approach a tutor regarding an essay etc. In 1st year 2 modules can be from any subject whatsoever alongside 4 compulsory anth modules. Lectures are interesting with powerpoints available before the lecture for printing out etc.
    Location:
    Durham is a small town, but very studenty and very friendly. Clubs are great fun and good variety. Newcastle is short train away (£7) which offers bigger nights out Clubs close at 2am which means you can normally make 9ams after too!
    Accommodation:
    Hatfield College: perfect location - some very modern rooms and others are well looked after with friendly cleaners. Sharing a room is fun - less people than I thought would did anyway. Expensive otherwise would receive 5*
    Settling in:
    Was very worried about leaving home but felt at home immediately. Freshers week was great fun, busy and had a lot of support to meet people etc
  • ameliahai's avatar by ameliahai on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I like durham
    University:
    uni is fun and cool
    Course:
    good lectures but long hours
    Location:
    on campus
    Accommodation:
    nice building
    Settling in:
    easy to settle in
  • adamgatherar's avatar by adamgatherar on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Great course. Great social life. Decent location.
    University:
    Very fortunate to have our JCR reps who organise everything, making fun activities for all people with all interests. Every society you could imagine and plenty on offer
    Course:
    Perfect combination between textbook theory/knowledge, clinical relevance and practical opportunities. As well as plenty of optional societies such as SurgSoc
    Location:
    Stockton campus for medicine. Teeside Park, KU and Spensleys all close (thumbs up). However would rather be in Durham or Newcastle for a better night-life.
    Accommodation:
    Stephenson College. Clean, modern and perfect location. (Slightly expensive but thats it)
    Settling in:
    Maybe lucky to have such a lovely flat but the fresher-reps and JCR execs make it so much easier. Freshers was such a good way to meet everyone!
  • SaxMan97's avatar by SaxMan97 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I'm having a really great time, of course the academic rigour is still there, but you're with a group of like-minded people who can also meet the intellectual challenge, but also enjoy activities out of the academic sphere.
    University:
    There's such a multitude of activities to get involved in and I enjoy DU sport, Music at college and uni level and many other things on offer! Again, you get out what you put in I'd say!
    Course:
    Whilst challenging in places, I am really enjoying the Durham History Course. We get to choose all of our modules (the only requisites being at least one medieval, one early modern and one late modern). You have to learn pretty quickly to be independent in looking for reading materials for essays, so it's a bit of a trial by fire there, but one that is well worth it for building towards dissertations. Whilst we don't have lots and lots of contact hour, we have no fewer than other humanities, but it is understood that we'll go away and do a lot of reading etc. For each seminar we are supposed to do around 4 hours of reading, although not many people quite go to those extremes. Really I think it's a classic case of you get out what you put in! (Essay feedback is very helpful and they are piloting anonymous marking with us).
    Location:
    Durham is very pretty and is a nice place to live, my only comment would be we don't have many large supermarkets etc nearby.
    Accommodation:
    Very good, living in college gives a great community- although my college isn't pretty per se, it's really good fun and I now wouldn't change it! As with anywhere in Durham, still fairly close to classes. Pricing seems slightly steep, although we are fully-catered which certainly has its advantages!
    Settling in:
    I felt I was almost fully settled in by the whole Freshers' Week experience, again, I think the college community really helped for that!
  • phoebeg76's avatar by phoebeg76 on 2nd January 2017
    Overall:
    I've had the time of my life so far, and honestly cannot wait for the rest of my time at Durham!
    University:
    WELFARE. SO GOOD. With the college system, there's so many people to talk to if you ever need advice or just someone to talk to. It's absolutely incredible how easy it is to get help when you need it. The Bill Bryson library is useful, if a little sparse of available seats at times.
    Course:
    There's so many points of contact, if I ever feel like I'm struggling or need extra help to understand a certain topic I know I can contact the lecturer or any of my tutors or advisors. There's a lot of contact hours, which makes the course very structured and means that I don't have to have too much self-discipline to get my work done!
    Location:
    Durham is a very small city, which is perfect for me but understandably not for everyone. My college is one of the furthest from the city centre, but still nothing is more than a 25 minute walk from my room! Despite being a small city, there's plenty to do as a student due to the large student population. There's a variety of choices for nights out, which was surprising to me at first!
    Accommodation:
    The college system at Durham is absolutely incredible - by far my favourite part of university! Everybody - students and staff - is so lovely and approachable. There are no cliques and anyone can talk to anyone which is so nice. The accommodation depends on the college, but overall every college has nice spacious rooms, how modern they are just depends if you're in Castle or JoBo!
    Settling in:
    I felt at home within a couple of hours of arriving at my college! With all the fresher's week events set out for you, you're really just thrown into university life without much time to worry about fitting in Everyone just wants to make friends and have a good time - everyone's in the same boat! Whilst you might not make your friends for life within the first few days of freshers, you'll still meet some amazing people and have the best time!
  • Casper_'s avatar by Casper_ on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Durham is amazingly unqiue- formal matriculation and gowned formals in great halls - like harry potter :)
    University:
    Everything is offered
    Course:
    It's brilliantly taught and organised.
    Location:
    Durham is beautiful
    Accommodation:
    It's mainly ok but old buildings. Also it has castle accomodation
    Settling in:
    Friend immediately
  • Lolipop's avatar by Lolipop on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    Dynamic
    Course:
    Love it
    Location:
    Love it there
    Accommodation:
    Love it
    Settling in:
    Perfect
  • kwanbboy's avatar by kwanbboy on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Quality
    University:
    Meet different friends from a variety of countries
    Course:
    Good quality of teaching, the lecture is nice to students. Good learning environment also.
    Location:
    A nice learning environment located in North East.
    Accommodation:
    A nice environment, I can see a nice view when I open the windows
    Settling in:
    University Staff are helpful, they solve my difficulties.
  • louisjevans's avatar by louisjevans on 24th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very student friendly 'town'. My course is great. There is loads of opportunities to expand your friend circle. Student housing is getting more expensive every year though.
    University:
    Lots of oppurtunities
    Course:
    Love the content, lectureres are great.
    Location:
    Walk 2 mins into farmland. I hate city life.
    Accommodation:
    Great quality but so expensive.
    Settling in:
    I felt just at home from the start
  • Pomtoon's avatar by Pomtoon on 22nd September 2015
    Overall:
    9.5/10, everything has been a dream, however I do believe the accommodation is not value for money at all.
    University:
    Libraries are well stocked and maintained with various locations in every college and department. Sport opportunities are great
    Course:
    Great support, tutors, students
    Location:
    City is fantastic and the university is built around the city, however a large proportion of students are from the south, therefore distance from home is quite difficult if required.
    Accommodation:
    Affordability is not a word I would use at
    Settling in:
    Collegiate system was fantastic for sense of belonging and friends.
  • bemekko's avatar by bemekko on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is amazing if you want a) a college-based university and b) a small town university. I really enjoy the community feel of my college and how easy it is to get around the city. I also think that Durham is quite unique in how flexible it is when letting you combine modules and subjects. If you are thinking of taking a combined course I would recommend it.
    University:
    I think being in a college really boosts the non-academic side of things as the college offers so many opportunities to get involved with social activities, clubs and societies and also has a strong welfare team.
    Course:
    I like the Durham course above all others because it is so flexible - you have an immense freedom to choose and combine modules from across the whole university. I enjoy the mixture of lectures and small group tutorials. The tutorials could perhaps be improved if the groups were a bit smaller (they range between 8 - 15 people) but I am aware this isn't really possible and that this is the case at most unis bar Oxford and Cambridge.
    Location:
    It is a tiny city. Some people find this restrictive in terms of what there is to do, but I like it since it has everything I need and it means that everything is a short walk away.
    Accommodation:
    This greatly depends on college - I am at St. Chad's which has given me great accommodation. It was a shared room but I was happy with this and we had an ensuite as well.
    Settling in:
    There is a really strong community feel in my college (St. Chad's) right from the first day of freshers' week, so it quickly becomes a place where you feel at home.
  • Jag95's avatar by Jag95 on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    I'd definitely recommend it, however I would look into the types of campus and environment you want. The area isn't a problem and has lots of opportunities. Queens campus is basically a giant extended family.
    University:
    I adored uni.
    Course:
    It's very lecture based, which can be slow paced which I'm not a fan of. Anatomy can be good if the teacher is engaging, same with lectures. Clinical skills is my favourite, as you actually feel like you're learning useful skills.
    Location:
    Isn't the main campus so smaller, but still great.
    Accommodation:
    I absolutely loved living in halls and the atmosphere, although they weren't great at settling disputes between housemates for me (although great for others) and was expensive if you don't receive the university grant.
    Settling in:
    Was in a long term relationship, which was dying a death, and held me back. Uni was great.
  • Rrobba's avatar by Rrobba on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic experience, for all the reasons mentioned earlier.
    University:
    Great variety of clubs, societies, etc
    Course:
    Incredible flexibility of module choices offered, taught by leaders in the field.
    Location:
    Historic, cultural, welcoming locals, low crime rate. SMall enough city to feel homey and safe, yet if you want the big-city nightlife and shopping you can get it in Newcastle just 15 minutes away too. Best of both worlds.
    Accommodation:
    Everything seems new, yet are set in historic scenic locations. Fully furnished with inclusive bills wifi everywhere on campus etc and choice of ensuite and catered.
    Settling in:
    Welcoming community
  • pianofluteftw's avatar by pianofluteftw on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    5 star. It has been incredible, and I couldn't imagine being in a better uni. I felt so at home so quickly, it offered me so many experiences and I don't want to leave!
    University:
    Amazing opportunities across the board. Welfare provision and disabilities service especially good, haven't heard of better. Societies are amazing - HUGE range to choose from. All the facilities are excellent.
    Course:
    Brilliant course, would like slightly more flexibility in terms of module choices. However extremely well taught and a very thorough degree.
    Location:
    Beautiful city and surroundings, more than enough facilities and opportunities and large city nearby for anything additional I need/want to do!
    Accommodation:
    The college system is fab. Whilst it is expensive, it offers so much more than normal university accommodation, is of a really high quality and was the best bit of university experience so far.
    Settling in:
    College system is so welcoming I felt at home within a couple of days, and had my firm friendship group within a week (we're still friends). This was a similar situation for everyone I know at Durham.
  • Pchaddha's avatar by Pchaddha on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Research and visit on open days
    University:
    Was good
    Course:
    Because we had many problems with our college managed accommodation
    Location:
    Didn't like the campus
    Accommodation:
    Very affordable
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming
  • Patsy stone's avatar by Patsy stone on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Durham is a fantastic alternative to Oxbridge. Small and friendly. So much support and so much to do. Teaching of highest quality and all the colleges are totally amazing.
    University:
    Something for everyone from rowing to theatre. Great sports and music. Very inclusive university. Very LGBT friendly.
    Course:
    Excellent facilities and teaching staff.
    Location:
    Durham is a beautiful city. My college, st Aidans has a spectacular view of the cathedral
    Accommodation:
    Durham has a collegiate system. My college is family. Lots of support and social side is great. Also excellent sport facilities.
    Settling in:
    Excellent fresher support system. Each student has a college 'husband or wife' and college 'parents' ie you are paired up with other students so will always have someone to talk to. The 'freps', older students, guide freshers in the early days. Lots of bonding sessions.
  • clonedmemories's avatar by clonedmemories on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The whole experience of going to university has had a severe impact on my mental and physical health. I would seriously consider whether the university is right for you and whether you feel ready for university before you apply and attend.
    University:
    There are lots of things on offer, particularly with the wide range of both college and university societies.
    Course:
    The course itself gives lots of opportunities to pursue your own interests, and is very broad in terms of knowledge.
    Location:
    There's very little else to Durham aside from the university. The town is small and provides the bare essentials, but little more.
    Accommodation:
    It is high quality, but very expensive to the point of affecting my quality of life
    Settling in:
    I have yet to feel happy and at home at university
  • Kate 8's avatar by Kate 8 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Weird but nice and friendly. Mcore personal
    University:
    Collegiate system
    Course:
    Busy busy bit boring
    Location:
    Beautiful but small
    Accommodation:
    Shared rooms
    Settling in:
    Difficult to find proper friends
  • N/A's avatar by N/A on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Its good
    University:
    Its good
    Course:
    Its good
    Location:
    Its good
    Accommodation:
    Its good
    Settling in:
    N/A
  • G's avatar by G on 3rd October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    5
    Course:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Accommodation:
    5
    Settling in:
    5
  • I don't know 's avatar by I don't know on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    Awesome atmosphere and facilities
    Course:
    The lectures are clear and taught by amazing lecturers.
    Location:
    Amazing world heritage site, cathedrals etc
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation price, including catered halls was very affordable and accommodating.
    Settling in:
    The college atmosphere is welcoming and friendly
  • 761150412's avatar by 761150412 on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 Stars?
    University:
    Loads of things to do, never a dull moment (except this survey)
    Course:
    Couldn't ask for any more
    Location:
    Durham is lovely
    Accommodation:
    Ideal
    Settling in:
    Just felt natural
  • PinkElephant123's avatar by PinkElephant123 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    A big student body but with many smaller communities which you are a part of in college, your subject and the clubs you join. Feels like home especially with the college and subject tutors to help at any time and a wonderful college family
    University:
    Clubs and societies both in college and university wide so you can compete in sport at any level. Many different libraries.
    Course:
    The timetable gives some very busy days and some with very little. Most of the lecturers are very good although some take a bit too much prior knowledge for granted.
    Location:
    A small city but with everything you need either right there or a short train journey to Newcastle
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive but living in college was great with lots to do and a brilliant location
    Settling in:
    So many friendly people from other years to help you find your way around and a really close knit community in the college.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Loved everything about the city, department, uni services, accommodation and social life.
    University:
    Loads of options for everything, great sport/library/welfare facilities
    Course:
    Overall it's great but could have done with more feedback
    Location:
    Love the city, but it's not as diverse as i would have liked
    Accommodation:
    Collegiate system is great
    Settling in:
    The collegiate system made it easy to meet people and we were given loads of support
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    100% brilliant! Apply to durham!
    University:
    Unique!
    Course:
    It's exactly what id like to be doing!
    Location:
    Beautiful city, everything is close BUT SO MANY HILLS
    Accommodation:
    Near town centre, fairly expensive but nice rooms and very welcoming!
    Settling in:
    Freps are excellent and flat mates are friendly!
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic DU supports students well academically and pastoral care
    University:
    Love DU great social life great students and staff one big happy family
    Course:
    Really freindly and family like environment DU look after you and great academic staff who support your studies
    Location:
    Beautiful location of DU shame queens campus is in Stockton though
    Accommodation:
    Great accomadation clean and fresh a choice if accomadation available and attached to a college making it easier to settle in
    Settling in:
    The collegiate system allows you to get to know fellow students quickly
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Good school and environment
    University:
    Good stuff
    Course:
    Good School
    Location:
    Far away from downtown
    Accommodation:
    Small
    Settling in:
    Inconveniences
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great fun and lots of new friends made thanks to college system
    University:
    Lots to do
    Course:
    Positives and negatives to give
    Location:
    Great location
    Accommodation:
    Veru good but expensive
    Settling in:
    Close to home so settled quickly
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Incredible
    University:
    It has everything you could want and need
    Course:
    It's interesting and on the whole taught well
    Location:
    It's great location in the city, nothing is more than a 30 minute walk away. But city is pretty small
    Accommodation:
    College it's a great atmosphere and there's a good student area but it's slightly expensive
    Settling in:
    Easy to feel at home, everyone was lovely
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great experience
    University:
    Nice having freedom but not as good as expected
    Course:
    Great course and fantastic lecturers
    Location:
    Lovely city and the campus is great
    Accommodation:
    Not very affordable
    Settling in:
    Hard to settle in at first
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic facilities, great quality of teaching and feedback
    University:
    Amazing student experience so far!
    Course:
    Well organised timetable, high quality of teaching and feedback
    Location:
    Lots of beautiful country and grounds but halls are 5 min walk from a city with all shops, restaurants, nightlife you could need
    Accommodation:
    Good size rooms, fully catered, cleaned by staff, only downside is that it is slightly more expensive than other catered halls
    Settling in:
    Pretty quickly made friends but still occasionally homesick
  • by Anonymous on 22nd September 2015
    Overall:
    It's fantastic
    University:
    The library is great but there are few societies in Stockton on tees if you are not interested in sports.
    Course:
    It's a great course but I think the staff should give us more information and support
    Location:
    There is nothing to do in Stockton on tees and it's scary because of all the industry. It's quite far away from Durham and the free bus is not very frequent. However, it's quite close to Leeds , York and Newcastle.
    Accommodation:
    It's great accommodation but it's extremely expensive and there isn't much choice in Stockton on tees.
    Settling in:
    It took me a long time. There wasn't a lot of support for my Asperger's syndrome and I struggled to make friends especially as all my flat mates loved drinking and partying but I do not like drinking or going out.
  • by Anonymous on 19th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really enjoyable just be prepared to get some work done
    University:
    Could do with more central facilities like a big cinema and the shops aren't the best but it's a really nice place and Newcastle has everything you could ever need
    Course:
    It can be very death-by-powerpoint but it's enjoyable. Lots of contact hours but very little outside work
    Location:
    Durham isn't that lively but Newcastle has an epic nightlife
    Accommodation:
    Van mildert college has great facilities and really nice rooms
    Settling in:
    College environment makes it impossible not to get to know people as you live with them 24/7
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    I'm absolutely loving it so far!
    University:
    Honestly can't complain! The library is great, the main gym has had lots of investment within it and so you have top notch facilities for a cheap membership fee (around
    Course:
    The course was challenging, but allowed me to really explore the subject and learn a lot. Plus it doesn't hurt that the timetable allowed for me to have quite a lot of free time
    Location:
    Has everything you'll want/need in order to enjoy uni. The city is not too big so the 'student housing' in second and third year, though privately rented, is still walking distance to lectures, the centre of town and to lectures. Only negative is that if you want a big night out every night then you'll have to make do with only the handful of student bars and small clubs in Durham. However if you're up for the occasional one then Newcastle is only a short'ish cab ride away or 15 mins or so by (express) train
    Accommodation:
    Made some awesome friends. Had an awesome location with being essentially in the middle of town and only a short walk to lectures and the sports facilities
    Settling in:
    The college system really allows you to create a nice group of friends from essentially the first day at uni.
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Overall I am happy at university. Great location, good quality teaching and great people to meet.
    University:
    Collegiate system provides great opportunities to be involved in lots of different things.
    Course:
    Teaching is generally very good. Feel like there would be a benefit from more contact hours for opportunity to discuss topics for some modules.
    Location:
    University is centrally located in the city. Durham is quite small so everything is within walking distance and no need for public transport. Very scenic city also.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation prices have risen sharply over recent years. Although university accommodation is catered quite well is beginning to seem a little overpriced.
    Settling in:
    Took a long time to settle in and start meeting other people and also before I felt comfortable in my ability to study the course.
  • by Anonymous on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    5*
    University:
    No massive clubs but everything else is amazing
    Course:
    Lots of help
    Location:
    Look around it's great and cheap
    Accommodation:
    St. John's is great
    Settling in:
    Very helpful staff and frep coordinators
  • by Anonymous on 16th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars. It is Durham.
    University:
    A plethora of societies. Belonging to extra curricular clubs is really heavily emphasized at Durham. The Bill Bryson Library is basically a second home, but the smaller individual college libraries are often quieter and within trotting distance of your room.
    Course:
    Michael O'Neil's voice.
    Location:
    A castle and cathedral within 100 yards of each other. Everything is within walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    Three course meals in college every night and 1.60 pints, what more do you want?
    Settling in:
    For me I had to go home every weekend which didn't help, otherwise the rating would be higher.
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    10/10 would study here
    University:
    G
    Course:
    H
    Location:
    H
    Accommodation:
    H
    Settling in:
    H
  • by Anonymous on 8th September 2015
    Overall:
    Best time ever
    University:
    Sport is easier as you have social, college and uni level so no reason not to get into one
    Course:
    Fun but hard
    Location:
    5 min from town and lectures
    Accommodation:
    Does the job
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in because of collegiate system
  • by Anonymous on 7th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really good, however I feel that the insular nature of the city/ the 'Durham bubble' is not for everyone.
    University:
    There is a lot to do outside of lectures, facilities such as the library and sports centre are good and they are easy to access. There is little for students to do outside of the university however.
    Course:
    Overall I like the way it's taught in blocks meaning we get a lot of variation in the course. Sometimes feedback is a bit limited but it is always provided in time. Tutorials and practicals are useful, but I would like more of them.
    Location:
    It isn't a very vibrant city and there is very little going on culturally. However it is useful that it is so compact and getting around is easy.
    Accommodation:
    The college system is great, the layout helped make friends really easily and the food was good.
    Settling in:
    Again, the college system helped loads. doing extra curricular activities meant I was busy straight away so no time to be homesick or anything. Freshers week was good as it didn't just focus on drinking but we had daytime activities in both our department and college to help settle in.
  • by Anonymous on 7th September 2015
    Overall:
    I turned down offer from Oxford to come to Durham, which is the best alternative to Cambridge which is too close to home
    University:
    I have no doubt that I'll be enjoying my time at St Mary's college, Durham
    Course:
    It has all modules that I want to read
    Location:
    I love the beautiful city of Durham, which is perfectly for studying, not nightlife which is what I go to uni for.
    Accommodation:
    I love St Mary college and its accommodation the first time I saw it
    Settling in:
    My fresher week in 3 weeks time but from what I've heard about the college, I know I'll be well looked after
  • by Anonymous on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    I have had the time of my life at university so far, and can't wait to go back.
    University:
    I absolutely adore the college system-it brings a sense of belonging and identity. Of course, it means that inter-collegiate rivalries are common in several sports (mainly football and rugby), but it's definitely healthy competition (cup games can get crowds into the hundreds for college a teams). With bars, dining hall, JCRs, SCRs etc. located in your college, it is almost like the capital of your uni (making an SU redundant). Support within the college is also great from the likes of welfare team and senior mentors. Nightlife is also great with quite a few clubs and a lot of bars in the city.
    Course:
    Extremely challenging, but very rewarding in terms of employment prospects and personal achievement.
    Location:
    Durham is so small that everything is within a 20 minute walk. Some colleges and a lot of student houses are 5 minutes from lectures and 5 minutes from town and the nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    Great quality, but expensive if you want the best rooms.
    Settling in:
    Most people went to private school, but it doesn't matter what your background is- everyone is welcome to join in any sport or society.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Okay, good academically but apart from that the university does not cater for my needs
    University:
    Barely any clubs and the ones that are there have no variety and shut far too early
    Course:
    Top in the country
    Location:
    Boring place and have to go to Newcastle for a decent night out regularly
    Accommodation:
    Dated accomodation
    Settling in:
    Made friends easily
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Durham is a very friendly and welcoming uni with the welfare of their students as one of the top priorities.
    University:
    Durham embraces all aspects of uni life making it an extremely enjoyable place for students
    Course:
    Even though I have a small amount of contact hours, the tutors are always available to answer any questions and the lecture notes are always extremely detailed
    Location:
    While Durham is a beautiful city, sometimes it lacks in providing things for students to do that bigger cities would have.
    Accommodation:
    The college system in Durham is an excellent system helping students to settle in and feel part of a community.
    Settling in:
    Even though I found it difficult at first, I soon settled in due to the support I was given at my college
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I absolutely love Durham University; the location, the course, the collegiate system, everything is brilliant.
    University:
    The facilities in Durham are great as not only do I have the facilities on the science site where I spend most of my day, but there are also lots of facilities for work in college too. Living in college is also very social as there is welfare for each college, and always a social place to spend time with friends. The gym in college is also great and equipped with everything that is needed!
    Course:
    The course is very good. I really enjoy the subject content and the lecturers are very good at explaining. My tutors are also excellent and available whenever I need help. Sometimes I find that some of the lectures are difficult to remain engaged in as they use powerpoint slides in a warm, dark room so it is difficult to concentrate.
    Location:
    I love the city of Durham. I really like small cities and Durham is definitely small. Everywhere is within walking distance and so easy to get to and I feel very safe in the city.
    Accommodation:
    The bedroom I had last year was great and had loads of space. The toilets and kitchenette were always kept clean and tidy and the rooms were also cleaned every week so that was great. However, there was no common room facility in my block and the corridors were very narrow so there wasn't much of a social space in the block. Also, there was only one washing machine and dryer for the whole block which occasionally was an issue.
    Settling in:
    The staff and older students at my college were great at helping us get settled in. Freshers week was fantastic for providing opportunities to meet people and make friends and the course was also great at helping me get sorted out.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent quality of the course, outstanding teaching and brilliant environment to learn in.
    University:
    Good atmosphere with students.
    Course:
    Lecturers are amazing. Course itself is my passion.
    Location:
    Within close proximity of all facilities that a student would require/use (i.e. gyms, library etc)
    Accommodation:
    Nice size halls. Security quality good. Cost is acceptable.
    Settling in:
    Flatmates were very friendly and welcoming.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    amazing! durham has a good learning atmosphere
    University:
    there are some interesting societies, I just think j still need time to find which one suits me the most
    Course:
    the two subjects fit in well and are related to each other. I have a clear understanding of my course
    Location:
    it's quite up north in England but it doesn't take too long to travel to new castle and it's only 3 hrs from London by direct train
    Accommodation:
    rooms are clean and bright, beautiful scenery and my college facilities are quite new.
    Settling in:
    town is really small and I have been there before I enter uni, induction week in hk and durham are both fun, I have the sense of belonging.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Exceeded expectations
    University:
    I love the whole university experience. Durham is fun and well structured
    Course:
    The content is really interesting, philosophy stretches your mind but there's too much to learn in physics
    Location:
    Durham is beautiful and everything is in walking distance
    Accommodation:
    I was in college and was very impressed with the quality of the rooms
    Settling in:
    Everyone just wanted to make friends so the atmosphere was great. Freshers was well done.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    very good
    University:
    collegiate atmosphere
    Course:
    quality of teaching
    Location:
    it's in the north
    Accommodation:
    mouldy houses
    Settling in:
    college support
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I love it. You learn so much, so quickly without even realising it and make friends and develop skills for life!
    University:
    Great services on offer!
    Course:
    It's such a small course that you get to know all the lecturers so can ask for help and they are always willing to hold extra sessions or for you to contact them if you need it. Anatomy labs are really good, with small groups and they provide good ways to learn the harder things.
    Location:
    Durham is great and my campus was good, they are just a bit far away from each other.
    Accommodation:
    It's adequate for what you need and has a great social aspect. Really close to campus.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home within a couple of weeks
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Not so great for students from less privileged backgrounds.
    University:
    Student Union is poor.
    Course:
    The timetable was just right and the course was very interesting.
    Location:
    Lovely city but quiet nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    College accommodation (including catering) expensive and not of high quality. Student houses in area very expensive for what they are.
    Settling in:
    Took a long time - didn't feel I fitted in with the stereotypical Durham student.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    8/10 for the life. 5/10 for the course.
    University:
    The union hasn't really done much for the queens campus this past year. Would be nice to see them around.
    Course:
    It's ok, it's not the best and I don't understand how it has been rated outstanding as it is definitely not!
    Location:
    It's not as bad as people think.
    Accommodation:
    It's good, en-suite accommodation, plenty of space.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite quickly,
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing. great if you like to work hard but also have fun at the same time
    University:
    Night life could be better
    Course:
    It's perfect for me
    Location:
    It's beautiful
    Accommodation:
    Needs better gym facilities and it was quite old - shared bathroom etc but food was good and the central bar was good too
    Settling in:
    Because everyone in college was very friendly
  • by Anonymous on 22nd August 2015
    Overall:
    I love Durham and it's a brilliant university. My advice would be to choose your college carefully as this can really determine your experience.
    University:
    We lack a good central student union because of the college system but college events can make up for this. There are so many societies in the colleges and for the university so you should be able to find anything you want to do. Also, you can play sports at a much more relaxed level for the colleges if you don't want to commit to a uni team. The nightlife in the city isn't extensive but still varied and great fun. The library is great and has been refurbished though it is always full during the exam time. The sport centre is a bit out of the way but with excellent facilities. Shopping in Durham is adequate though anyone who truly loves to shop would be wise to visit Newcastle. The big supermarkets are all at driving distance but a Tesco extra in the centre is the hub for most livers-out buying food. The colleges provide extensive welfare provision.
    Course:
    Contact hours for humanities are small and they seem to be especially so at this university which can make you feel like you aren't getting a lot for your money. You have to push to get the support you want but it is available. Depending on your interests the lectures are interesting and the course content is excellent. I wish I had more guidance on essays and sometimes the marking seems to be very subjective and variable depending on the teacher.
    Location:
    The university buildings are spread out around the city but nowhere is that far away. A walk of more than 15 minutes is seen as too long!! Durham itself is a beautiful city and a great place to live. I have my lectures by the cathedral and the history department is in a beautiful old building in the old centre. My only complaint is that it is very hilly!
    Accommodation:
    In terms of quality the atmosphere of college life is brilliant but there is much less choice in facilities. Whilst I had a great room others had to share or have smaller, less modern rooms and pay the same price. The cost of university accommodation is very high and does not vary. Additionally, student housing is part of a huge bubble where we pay a lot more than the locals. It may start to drive out those who are less well-off if it gets worse.
    Settling in:
    The college atmosphere is excellent and the way freshers week is run creates a great community atmosphere on the corridors. I think the college system adds an extra level of support and community to the university and I felt instantly at home.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE