Member reviews of Imperial College London

  • xoxox!'s avatar by xoxox! on 10th July 2019
    Overall:
    It is great for career prospects and prestige. Also amongst of the "targeted" universities for jobs like consulting.
    University:
    Join societies and your uni experience will be much better. Try to get involved in elections and be on committees, it has helped me out a lot and made me a more social person.
    Course:
    Enjoyable teaching with a range of topics so you're bound to have some that you like. Feedback varies by professor but is usually received timely and allows you to improve. Lectures again depend on the professors delivering them but most are recorded so you can re-watch when you wish to revise. Timetable is decently structured and gets busier in second year. Labs usually once every 2 weeks with a lab report to write after each one.
    Location:
    Location is great but there are LOTS of high school kids/ primary school kids visiting museums so it is busy almost all year round. Also it is quite an exepnsive area unfortunately, but there are many things to do like go to hyde park etc.
    Accommodation:
    Depending on where you are you will have a different experience. I was in Xenia before Imperial re-designed it and it was great- lots of space, warm and tidy as well as fairly modern. LOCATION IS AMAZING DON'T BE FOOLED THAT IT WILL TAKE YOU 30 MINS TO UNI. SO MANY OTHER THINGS TO DO AROUND THE AREA!
    Settling in:
    There were many events to support you in making friends both at university but also in halls. It was an enjoyable time.
  • Hedlejo's avatar by Hedlejo on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Very enjoyable - joining societies will help with the overall experience.
    University:
    I absolutely love the societies I’m in - they’ve given me incredible opportunities, including international tours to Hong Kong and the US. They also don’t detract from work, and I’m able to keep a good work/play/life balance.
    Course:
    I quite like the course structure, the content and the amount of work required to excel in the course. The timetabling works well in my opinion. The only issue is that some courses are very poorly taught.
    Location:
    South Kensington - enough said.
    Accommodation:
    I very much enjoyed my halls in my first year. Being in South Kensington was absolutely lovely. The facilities provided were adequate for both social and work based life. It was a bit on the pricey side, but it was definitely worth it.
    Settling in:
    My course parents were lovely and really did help me get used to the campus. I also joined a bunch of societies and made a lot of good friends in the first few weeks. This definitely helped with settling in to the university.
  • smilezoe.99's avatar by smilezoe.99 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall, Imperial is a great place to study as the teaching is amazing. Not only this, but there are so many things to get involved in outside of your degree.
    University:
    Student Union is very active, lots of things to get involved in. The library is open pretty much all the time and there are extensive resources available.
    Course:
    Really good teaching, easy to get help with revision/topics that are harder to understand.
    Location:
    London has so much to get involved in and lots of opportunities
    Accommodation:
    Really nice, touch expensive though
    Settling in:
    Made friends and joined societies
  • iamDev's avatar by iamDev on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Great uni with a big focus on STEM. I would've liked there to be a larger variety though with people in other fields
    University:
    Uni life is good with lots of societies to take part in but a lot of the social evenings involve drinking
    Course:
    The timetable can be jam packed but is generally ok. The course structure is good and a wide variety of topics is covered with incredible detail. It is a tough course but it's as expected because it is medicine after all.
    Location:
    London so a great city to be in but expensive unfortunately
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is great because it's just across the road for 3 halls of residence. Others are far away but These 3 can house a fair amount of students. Some of them are affordable but being based in South Kensington, the prices are mostly acceptable
    Settling in:
    Settled in pretty quick to be honest. Support was available when required
  • dabtrap's avatar by dabtrap on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I really enjoyed my uni experience so far and woudl recommend imperial
    University:
    Amazing. Good clubs and societies that you can join. Pastoral care is also really helpful ,if needed.
    Course:
    I really like the university, there is very good communication between the tutors,professors and students.the contact hours are quite intense bc it is medicine however the lectures are very useful and beneficial.
    Location:
    Good,in the heart of London.
    Accommodation:
    Great
    Settling in:
    Settled really quickly and made good friends.
  • Suzie98's avatar by Suzie98 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    It's a lovely Uni, feel supported, plenty of research
    University:
    Library is good, plenty of clubs to choose from
    Course:
    Good course, feel supported and find it interesting
    Location:
    Nice area of London
    Accommodation:
    Interesting course and very supported by tutors
    Settling in:
    Was hard being away from home but the students were very welcoming
  • Fischere's avatar by Fischere on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4.5
    University:
    It's very different, so far in a good way!
    Course:
    I am still settling in and don't really know much. It seems to be lovely but I still have to check!
    Location:
    London is great but very expensive for students
    Accommodation:
    30 min walk to campus and expensive but lovely rooms.
    Settling in:
    Freshers was very busy. It was great but sometimes too much when I just wanted a quiet night in.
  • forgot's avatar by forgot on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    nice
    University:
    sociable
    Course:
    good
    Location:
    in london
    Accommodation:
    good
    Settling in:
    good
  • nellyg619's avatar by nellyg619 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall very good, being at Imperial with the incredible people and location really made my experience enjoyable.
    University:
    Very good, wealth of opportunities and clubs to get involved in
    Course:
    Good, very intense and the actual teaching quality varied significantly from course to course
    Location:
    South Kensington is a beautiful place and so is the campus
    Accommodation:
    Great location in Chelsea
    Settling in:
    Partly due to the fact I had already been in London previous
  • Faizamalin's avatar by Faizamalin on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Love everything about it
    University:
    It's what i have always wanted
    Course:
    Love the course I'm doing
    Location:
    Because it's not to far from me
    Accommodation:
    Don't know much about it
    Settling in:
    What i believe personally
  • branding123's avatar by branding123 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    The campus is located next to famous museums, big park, and royal albert hall. We are surrounded by lots of great places. I like the sport center too, very affordable in comparison with that of other universities.
    Course:
    The program is very well organized, the modules are so relevant with my interest, and the guest lecturers are fantastic
    Location:
    It's the center of the town! Easy access with public transport.
    Accommodation:
    I dont live at the university housing, but I have been there. The place is nice and cozy
    Settling in:
    The other students, university staffs, professors are just so warm and helful.
  • Elva's avatar by Elva on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Provides great career help
    University:
    Colourful
    Course:
    Too many group works than I expected
    Location:
    Quite near the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    No student accommodation for postgrad.
    Settling in:
    Very busy at the start of the programm.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Too expensive
    University:
    So many social life
    Course:
    I like my uni
    Location:
    Posh area
    Accommodation:
    Good location
    Settling in:
    People are helpful
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Best time of life.
    University:
    Im hungry
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    South Kensington next to hyde park.
    Accommodation:
    Floor to ceiling panoramic windows in kitchen and en suite for
    Settling in:
    Making dinner with a girl not even on my flat withing a day of meeting her.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    like it
    University:
    convenient position
    Course:
    informative and challenging
    Location:
    central london
    Accommodation:
    perfect facility but too far away
    Settling in:
    different culture, but good support
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I think it has been really well. It can be quite stressful during exam periods but I guess it is the same at every university as well.
    University:
    The community is really well and friendly.
    Course:
    There is room for improvement but it is not that bad either.
    Location:
    The location is very well.
    Accommodation:
    It is highly affordable in my case.
    Settling in:
    I settled pretty quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good uni
    University:
    Good life
    Course:
    Its good
    Location:
    London is a nice area
    Accommodation:
    Expensive but available to all first years.
    Settling in:
    Good schemes for settling in
  • by Anonymous on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    you'll get a formidable education because you have to work really hard here, academic opportunities are awesome, there is a social life but expect to work hard!
    University:
    would never go anywhere else, but we study a lot
    Course:
    it's structured, not smartly structured, but you study so hard it doesn't matter
    Location:
    excellent location; but not many cheap places to eat
    Accommodation:
    can be expensive
    Settling in:
    depends on you, I guess!
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, well structured
    University:
    Lots of clubs
    Course:
    Well structured, but lacks on student satisfaction (e.g. several typos in exams every year).
    Location:
    Perfect location in London.
    Accommodation:
    Perfect, but no wifi in the rooms....
    Settling in:
    Many events, successfull schemes
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    As I've said before, university is the gateway to adulthood if you want to develop a well applicable career. The Imperial University would make your experience very enjoyable and educationally punctual that you would feel like you're able to take on the world once you're done!
    University:
    Uni life is extraordinary and of utmost importance in the lives of most young people who are just transiting into adulthood and the many responsibilities. That being said, the freedom to construct your own schedule (around your course, of course) to fit in the activities you like is not an issue at all. You are basically able to establish a daily schedule that you can live with without any strain or stress.
    Course:
    The profressors were able to rekindle my passion for Computer science and medicine which I had a hard time choosing between. This course was perfect as it combined both. The timetable, in terms of scheduling was kinda hard to keep up with as a lot of the course work happens to be field work. That means that you do a lot more applicable work to be graded than say theory. I prefer it this way though which is why it got 4 stars.
    Location:
    It is in the perfect spot for students like myself (international students) to experience the bustling culture of urban london.
    Accommodation:
    Coming from a less fortunate household, I think it is quite a convenience that the university is conservative in keeping the accommodation simple and centered in the middle of the compound.
    Settling in:
    Being an international student, the cultural differences makes it harder to adjust however, since I'm from the Caribbean, it was easy in terms of communicating with others. We have very strong British backgrounds in the Caribbean.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE