Member reviews of Keele University

  • nilasss's avatar by nilasss on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Yeahhs
    University:
    Not the best for night outs but everything you want as a student apart from that is there
    Course:
    because the lectures and the lecturers are great
    Location:
    Quiet and warm and very therapeutic.
    Accommodation:
    Pitch perfect
    Settling in:
    This is the best uni ever. I get everything and anything I want. Let it be academic support, let it be mental health support. You get it all. This is all we expect as students right? Such a quiet environment, very therapeutic on its self.
  • calicocat's avatar by calicocat on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I liked the staff and the university.
    University:
    All right.
    Course:
    Great, I had no complaints.
    Location:
    I liked the rural setting.
    Accommodation:
    Basic and expensive.
    Settling in:
    I didn't like the people I was living with.
  • Didymouse's avatar by Didymouse on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Although it may lack a reputation as yet, Keele is an amazing university, the staff are great and everyone is so friendly I would 100% recommend Keele to all students It was not my first choice of uni but now that I'm here, I think it was the best choice
    University:
    Keele has everything! Onsite doctors and pharmacy, library on and off campus, shops, a bank, Costa coffee, the student union is really good and there's numerous bars and cafes at the halls of residence. The sports centre is fab with loads of facilities
    Course:
    I really like my course and the timetable is decent but I expected more lectures, not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing
    Location:
    The campus is beautiful but difficult to get to by bus if you live off campus (it can take up to an hour) But it's pretty close to the town centre and there's shops at the uni so you don't need to go far
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation at Keele is very traditional, up to 30 people sharing a kitchen and up to 20 sharing bathrooms! Very few ensuite rooms available I opted for off campus accommodation instead
    Settling in:
    I settled in really quickly, there's loads of helpful students to answer questions etc They have tea and toast in the chapel at the weekends and loads of events to get to know other students!
  • Ismira's avatar by Ismira on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    I love the freedom and independence.
    Course:
    I enjoy the course
    Location:
    I love where it is situated.
    Accommodation:
    It's alright flatmates can be abit of a pain.
    Settling in:
    Not long. Got along with people alright.
  • PurpleGhost25175's avatar by PurpleGhost25175 on 6th September 2015
    Overall:
    I think it's great. But then I wouldnt biased! Keele is definitely worth a visit!
    University:
    The only problem I would say is that you would have to commute to the swimming pool in town as the sports centre doesn't have its own swimming pool.
    Course:
    The lectures are fun and the lectures are very caring
    Location:
    Keele has the biggest campus in the UK and you can see why. It's got a lot of freedom to wonder around and it's on a top of a hill so it's also good exercise!
    Accommodation:
    It's a bit expensive for the size of the room but you do get a washbasin which is ideal especially for a girl.
    Settling in:
    I felt welcome realy quickly. Also I met my roommates and classmates online so I was already, in a sense, familiar with them.
  • Physflop's avatar by Physflop on 5th September 2015
    Overall:
    If I had the choice, I wouldn't change my university decision. Loved my 3 years, the university is fantastic and beautiful and extremely friendly. the only downside is the city, but this is a bus journey away and there is enough to do on campus to keep you occupied. Big cities are also only a 30 minute train ride away
    University:
    Sport and fitness could be improved, gym is expensive for what you get. Library is excellent as is the students union and nightlife on campus. Shop on campus if you are in need of food.
    Course:
    I didn't enjoy it as much as I expected but that was due to my interests not the course and content
    Location:
    Great university and beautiful campus but the surrounding city is awful and there is nothing to do. No interesting shops, no nice places to eat out, and run down area.
    Accommodation:
    Large range of accommodation and many different prices. All very good quality and within walking distance of all lectures.
    Settling in:
    Very friendly people in my accommodation, Facebook allowed us to see who we would live and study with before we arrived. Interactive lectures and good relationships with lecturers made you feel more at home
  • Herbal bug's avatar by Herbal bug on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Great fun. So many memories.
    University:
    It was great apart from during summer terms everything closed down.
    Course:
    Good balance between theory and practice. Knowledgeable lecturers.
    Location:
    Main campus was beautiful, the nursing school was state of the art.
    Accommodation:
    Very cheap to live with good commutes to the university.
    Settling in:
    Beautiful surroundings.
  • Wainwrightkatie's avatar by Wainwrightkatie on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really is a fantastic choice with great lecturers, a beautiful campus and a brilliant SU that caters to so many needs
    University:
    24/7 library, gym, loads of food venues, so many societies, sports and clubs and opportunities. There's grants for the societies, mindfulness support, a nightline to call if you need a talk, volunteering opportunities, street team to walk you home from the su at night, a bus that travels from accommodation to su to anywhere off campus for free, etc. So much choice. You can do anything you want here.
    Course:
    The dual honours layout is ideal, because I can customise my course according to what I want. My lecturers are mainly good but my personal tutor is basically irrelevant. Feedback is always on time and useful for Neuroscience, but nonexistent for maths.
    Location:
    Beautiful huge campus on a hill with fields and lakes and a woodland.... However being outside of a big city like many Unis can impact on student nightlife - although they make up for it with a massive SU running nightly events, there's not much variety.
    Accommodation:
    I was placed in the least nice accommodation and there was a hole in the ceiling of the cleaner's cupboard that allowed drunk housemates to get onto the roof. There were 4 toilets, 2 showers and 1 kitchen between 35 rooms in the block, which was slightly less than ideal but manageable. However much of the other accommodation is really good!
    Settling in:
    Everyone's friendly, it's a beautiful place that is very easy to fall in love with and there are cute little squirrels everywhere
  • Ntono Sharon's avatar by Ntono Sharon on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    fair
    University:
    just good
    Course:
    I LOVE it
    Location:
    perfect
    Accommodation:
    fair
    Settling in:
    its fair
  • Pxxmela's avatar by Pxxmela on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Location could be better and support for commuting students and raking them into account more in terms of societies and events would be helpful But otherwise pretty good
    University:
    Not very inclusive of minorities when it comes to evening/night events and not very considerate of commuting students when it comes to certain events and their placing in the day
    Course:
    I've only just started it so not much to comment on just yet
    Location:
    It's so far from a train station so not very good for commuting students and has nothing to do that is off campus by close
    Accommodation:
    It is quite expensive for what you get
    Settling in:
    Have only just started so still settling in
  • BioMedTed's avatar by BioMedTed on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Keels is a great place to study. The location and available facilities mean that you have every bring given to you. The staff and students are SO great, everyone gets along with one another. My Keele experience so far has made me realise that coming here was probably the best thing I ever did!
    University:
    Parties. Socials. Nights out. Societies. Facilities. keele is definitely amongst the best, no doubt it was voted number 1 for student satisfaction!
    Course:
    Not had enough feedback to be able to comment on it.
    Location:
    It's got everything you need there - shops, banks, religious places and so you don't really need to venture out much which is always nice. It's a really nice chilled location.
    Accommodation:
    Liberty Court is a long 30-45 minute bus ride and to do this 2 times a day is exhausting. Relatively affordable I think.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was really nice, flat mates are fab and the whole place just made you feel welcomed!
  • Baje's avatar by Baje on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent***** Keele is the best university to learn, grow, make lasting friends and to succeed in life. I have no regrets choosing Keele.
    University:
    Keele is recognised for providing one of the best campus life in the UK. With 24hr library service, support services which help students in all areas of their lives and the energetic and creative programmes designed by students for students through the Student Union, help to make uni life at Keele, one of the most enjoyable.
    Course:
    The teaching quality is exceptional in terms of design and delivery of content. The supportiveness of staff is highly commendable.
    Location:
    Keele is located away from the bustle of city life and I believe this helps student to build a stronger Keele community. Keele is also situated on a beautiful spacious land, which gives students the opportunity to explore nature, find quiet time to study and reflect; it allows for inspiration and bonding with friends.
    Accommodation:
    Great with respect to location and general service and assistance provided by the accommodation unit, but a little pricey, in my opinion.
    Settling in:
    I started as a Foundation Year student and the structure of this course builds strongly on inclusiveness and tutor-student support.
  • bailey432's avatar by bailey432 on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Really good. Keele is a wonderful place and would highly recommend!
    University:
    AMAZING library, good on-campus gym, good student support, good accommodation, could be a bigger food shop on campus/more reasonably priced.
    Course:
    Good course overall - good lecturers, academic support, content etc.
    Location:
    Lovely campus, surrounded by greenery, but also close to a town with big supermarkets etc, and an hours' drive to Manchester and also Birmingham for shopping etc.
    Accommodation:
    Good room, bit expensive and kitchen was too crowded, but it did the job and was warm, safe and cosy!
    Settling in:
    I "felt at home" pretty quickly, but it took me a while to settle into the course itself
  • N/A's avatar by N/A on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    This is a good university, with friendly staff and students, it feels like everyone is close, but also is big enough that it has variety.
    University:
    There could be more things on campus, or within walking distance, but there are a few (expensive) shops, and multiple cafes and bars.
    Course:
    It's perfect
    Location:
    Nice if you like somewhere remote, but it is still close enough to multiple towns that you can go out
    Accommodation:
    Don't live in it, but looks nice enough, especially the newer builds
    Settling in:
    Probably a few weeks, but not too long. Not too bad considering I don't live there...
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has been very enjoyable and I would not hesitate to recommend Keele to anyone who wants a quieter and friendly campus.
    University:
    The social clubs, societies and events here are very good.
    Course:
    It is very good. But the teaching could be better.
    Location:
    It is in pretty country side but the nearby towns aren't very nice.
    Accommodation:
    In my first year, my halls were very good.
    Settling in:
    I was very homesick at first but then I got used to things.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    If you are up for a bit of both worlds, come to keele.
    University:
    Because Keele SU is great and so is the whole uni
    Course:
    because my timetable is flexible and the quality is very good.
    Location:
    It is scenic and beautiful, I wish it was a little closer to a city, but I can't complain, its only a tenner to Manchester.
    Accommodation:
    Scenic and beautiful, I love Keele as a place as well as a university.
    Settling in:
    Took me a while but I think it depends on the person, not the place
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    9.5/10
    University:
    Everything is ran good enough. Nothing has disappointed me as of yet.
    Course:
    Because the university deserves it.
    Location:
    It's about 10 minutes away from town and is away from the city.
    Accommodation:
    Because the university deserves it.
    Settling in:
    Having to get used to people. Otherwise I settled in fine.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great uni with tons of activities to get stuck into. Plus the campus is beautiful, a truly great place to think about coming since you will have to look at it every single day for the next 3 years!
    University:
    Great facilities, especially the library!
    Course:
    The course is very flexible allowing me to learn new things that are really interesting an exciting! But I'm not too keen on seminars.
    Location:
    beautiful/breathtaking campus!!!!!!!
    Accommodation:
    It's good but quite basic
    Settling in:
    still feeling a little homesick
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5*
    University:
    24 hour library, more than enough societies and again, a welcoming and friendly atmosphere.
    Course:
    CLOCK gives a huge advantage for employability, lecturers are experienced and down to earth, course content is interesting, relevant and engrossing, and the support is great.
    Location:
    Stoke is not a great area for students, but it is not essential to go there. Newcastle is quirky and charming, but not brilliant for students either. The proximity to the countryside and transport links (hours away from anywhere in the UK - only takes an hour and 20 minutes to get the train to London, and just under an hour to Birmingham or Manchester) contribute to the rating greatly. Housing is cheap both in Stoke and Newcastle, and the quality of the accommodation is more than desirable.
    Accommodation:
    a great amount of affordable accommodation
    Settling in:
    friendly student atmosphere and welcoming staff
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 4 stars as the university is fabulous but may not provide outgoing students with nightlife they might desire
    University:
    There are lots of socials and activities to attend if you want to but if you just want a quiet night in then the campus environment provides this
    Course:
    The lectures are engaging and the teachers are approachable but I currently have very little contact time
    Location:
    It has very good transport links to larger cities
    Accommodation:
    It is very cheap for the quality of the accomodation
    Settling in:
    There were plenty of 'get to know each other events' which enabled me to settle in very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Felt like home straight away, diverse student backgrounds, great sense of community, enthusiastic teaching.
    University:
    Many facilities, easy to live.
    Course:
    Very steep learning curve for those with no subject background
    Location:
    Beautiful countryside, great for walking. Not easy to get into city though.
    Accommodation:
    Fast repairs, good quality.
    Settling in:
    Involving freshers events
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really great
    University:
    Need more promotion of what's going on
    Course:
    Im enjoying myself
    Location:
    Beautiful, but I do miss the city life
    Accommodation:
    Far from campus, but nice to be away for the centre
    Settling in:
    Slightly homesick but made lots of friends
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great, they are really supportive
    University:
    It's a campus with everything you'd need
    Course:
    Everything is great
    Location:
    It's such a good campus
    Accommodation:
    Everyone I know in halls love it
    Settling in:
    Made to feel very comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars, 100%
    University:
    There isn't much that could be improved, except perhaps prices in the shops
    Course:
    I love it, but some of the lecturers could be more involving
    Location:
    I love the fact that it's isolated but there's everything that is needed closeby
    Accommodation:
    It's a good house but it's a trek to get into uni
    Settling in:
    I settled very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far, brilliant
    University:
    The SU is great
    Course:
    It seems really interesting so far, but s very hard work
    Location:
    I like the feel of the campus, while still being near areas for shopping and going out
    Accommodation:
    Cheap, practical, but hardly outstanding
    Settling in:
    Everyone seems friendly, it's easy to get on with everyone.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    A really good uni with all facilities.
    University:
    Great uni life.
    Course:
    It's a great course.
    Location:
    Really nice scenery
    Accommodation:
    It's a really well living space.
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    the education could be better as well as the ranking
    University:
    activities they had every now and then
    Course:
    its was decent
    Location:
    crime, location
    Accommodation:
    housing was great
    Settling in:
    it was easy to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate is very highly, the whole experience so far has been excellent.
    University:
    Lots of services offered on campus. I can easily see myself not leaving the campus for a while as there is everything you need there.
    Course:
    Very well organised,very interesting lectures and supportive and caring staff.
    Location:
    Very good location,on many bus routes to get into town,near supermarkets.Beautiful location.
    Accommodation:
    Very affordable,clean and easily accessible.
    Settling in:
    I feel that the university was very welcoming, took part in lots of settling in activities to meet new people.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Don't take my word for it, I just moved in.
    University:
    I'm not sure about this either.
    Course:
    I'm only about to start actual lectures and do not really know much about the courses I'm about to learn.
    Location:
    The campus is beautiful, but I'm not sure about the place surrounding it outside
    Accommodation:
    My shower could be bigger, and the costs can be cheaper
    Settling in:
    I'm not really sure, yet.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good, if you live in campus you will love it the night life's good and all the lecturerers are really friendly
    University:
    Haven't been to any SU events
    Course:
    Lots of help provided
    Location:
    Lovely area
    Accommodation:
    I live in off campus accommodation provided by the uni and the bus ride is long
    Settling in:
    Miss home
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Go!
    University:
    I love it
    Course:
    It's so pretty and the lecturers are amazing
    Location:
    It's abit away from me but it's easy to get too
    Accommodation:
    It's central
    Settling in:
    I made friends straight away
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    I am fairly reclusive so not into the UNI life
    Course:
    I really enjoy this course
    Location:
    Not a walkable distance to off campus shops
    Accommodation:
    It was very good
    Settling in:
    Had a bit of home sickness but settled in relatively easily
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    Keele has given me the best uni experience it makes a student feel safe and welcoming there is always stuff to be doing everyone is friendly and helpful it is known as the Keele bubble
    University:
    Student life both day and night is lively and friendly there is always something going on to get involved with. Facilities are good in the libary more table and chairs are need but the uni has improved this this year
    Course:
    The quality is of the lectures are good feedback is of high quality but would prefer more contact time
    Location:
    Keele is in a quite village which is peaceful it close to a town there is not a huge amount around keele but a lot of people hardly ever leave
    Accommodation:
    Location of most of the accommodation is good it is close to all the facilities the price is reasonable but the accomadation needs a lot of improvement
    Settling in:
    Keele makes everyone feel welcome and it always seem like a family
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    The canpus feel is brilliant so it helps in socialising
    University:
    Student union is good
    Course:
    The environmental science seems hit and miss and the geography can at times be reparative
    Location:
    It's Stoke
    Accommodation:
    Poor organisation and quality
    Settling in:
    Freshers
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    The social side has been brilliant yet the course just lets Keele down massively and considering you go to university for the course this is a bit of a problem.
    University:
    Keele has really good social aspects- there are societies for almost everything from sports to baking! The gym offers a great membership for students making it easier to stay fit on campus. Keele also offers a great nightlife at the SU! However, I have known the SU to poorly treat people who are overly drunk by simply kicking them out and leave them to get home alone which is massively ridiculous for an institution which prides itself on student welfare! The library is really well stocked- the only problem being that the library has limited spaces, however, Keele has been working hard to combat this problem in recent years. Finally, the shops on campus (although limited) are great- offering a book shop which stocks books for almost every course and a costa which is great when you want proper coffee during long revision sessions.
    Course:
    Keele are rubbish at producing a good, functioning timetable for students. We never received our timetables in advance and the hours we had a week were so small that tutored learning was essential yet the tutors of Keele (especially the English department) had no trouble cancelling their lessons and not finding time for a replacement class.
    Location:
    Having a campus university is great as you are never to far away from anything- however (as with many campus universities) you can end up in a campus bubble and reslising that you haven't left the immediate area in up to 2 weeks.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation was mostly of good quality and affordable.
    Settling in:
    I instantly found really good friends at Keele and quickly felt at home.
  • by Anonymous on 9th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great, perfect for those who are not too fussed about living in a big city, it's the best of both worlds.
    University:
    Keele has everything you need on campus: a library, various places to eat, woodland walks and lakes, a large SU, launderettes, shops and other bars and pubs. I think you could actually go the year without having to leave campus!
    Course:
    I feel very well prepared for the pre-registration year as well as working life
    Location:
    I like the countryside setting, it is also within reachable distance and good transport links with bigger towns/cities.
    Accommodation:
    Cheap in comparison to others
    Settling in:
    I feel perfectly comfortable in university life
  • by Anonymous on 5th September 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely love it.
    University:
    There is loads to do, if you're bored you're doing it all wrong.
    Course:
    I really like it, most of the lecturers are fantastic and are always happy to help you when you're stuck.
    Location:
    It's a bit in the middle of nowhere. Whilst campus life is fantastic I do sometimes wonder how Keele life compares with city uni life. Although all my friends who have visited have absolutely loved it.
    Accommodation:
    The friends I made in halls were fantastic, and I am living with a group of them this year (my third year). Dropped one star because of poor kitchen maintenance, but I think most universities have cleaners who are always complaining.
    Settling in:
    The people in my block and on my course all banded together really nicely and made integration very easy.
  • by Anonymous on 4th September 2015
    Overall:
    A real experience, with highs and lows. Definitely recommend and would do it again.
    University:
    24/7 library, medium food shop and stationary, gym is great from what I've heard, the student union is cheap and great on nights out, societies are numerous and lots of socials.
    Course:
    The course teaching includes variety: power points, guest speakers, small group tasks, practicals ect. And you know the whole year plan from the start therefore you can plan ahead work and socialising. Also it's 9 to 5 classes 3 days a week so no wasted time between different ones.
    Location:
    Where campus is: picturesque, calm and minimal crime as it's a village. Town near by: bit rough but you still feel safe, very cheap it buy things with lots of shops, easily accessible with public transport including other towns and city.
    Accommodation:
    Could be a lot better, mouldy, damp and falling apart, constant repairs happening . Miles (3) from campus. Over
    Settling in:
    As your all stuck in terrible conditions you band together through it and complain about it when your not sure what to say. Great freshers week with icebreakers and many socials to join like minded people.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    I'm so glad I chose Keele as my first choice university. I've made lifelong friends and met some amazing and inspiring people. Love:Keele
    University:
    The student union is huge and has 2 club rooms and a bar. There's also our own takeaway and the staff that work there are lovely.
    Course:
    All lecturers and tutors are friendly and approachable and will meet with you to discuss anything that you feel you are struggling with.
    Location:
    Keele campus is absolutely beautiful and has everything you need. From lecture halls to a doctors office, a pharmacy and even a small supermarket.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is lovely and worth what you pay. The maintenance team are really efficient, the longest I had to wait for a repair was 24 hours and that was only because I put the claim in late the previous night. Having 24 hour security on campus is really comforting, however Keele campus is one of the safest so there's nothing to worry about!
    Settling in:
    I felt at home right away. As soon as I met my flat mates and got to know campus a bit better, I felt as if I had been at Keele forever instead of just a day.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    9/10 - Has it's ups and downs but would do it all again if I could.
    University:
    Library open 24/7. Cheaper shops only a bus ride away which itself is cheaper for students. Felt safe at night whilst on campus and now whilst i'm off campus in a privately rented house. Keele is also always open to new ideas from students about how they could improve.
    Course:
    The course is great, it teaches almost everything you need to know to begin a career in Social Work. However I wish they would be more strict when it comes to who they allow onto the course.
    Location:
    Safe. Affordable. Friendly. Sociable. Quiet.
    Accommodation:
    My first year of University in halls was fantastic. There were lots of issues with the accommodation I chose but you get what you pay for.
    Settling in:
    Would do it all over again if I could
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    The SU is good
    Course:
    It's very well organised with sufficient hours and the course in general is very interesting and well structured.
    Location:
    Beautiful with access to shops
    Accommodation:
    It's very clean and worth the money but some is slightly outdated.
    Settling in:
    Very quickly with lots of help from Keele, amazing
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Choosing to come to Keele University was honestly the best decision I have ever made. My first year was absolutely amazing, filled with the funniest memories. I've met a great bunch of interesting people, who I'm sure will be friends for a very long time. The university will do its best to give you all that you need to succeed or enjoy yourself - they will support you in whatever you wish to do. Love:Keele
    University:
    Uni life at Keele is like no other. The 'Keele bubble' gives a warm community feel to the university, and everyone is welcomed to be themselves. The library cannot be faulted, with a huge range of literature, open 24/7 - great for when you have deadlines. The fitness centre came to much use when I decided to take up spinning, the prices are also very reasonable. The SU offers a lot of great nights, with various music and hundreds of societies. There really is so much to offer at Keele.
    Course:
    I really enjoyed my first year at Keele University, though I am a little disappointed that one of the modules for second year got removed as I was looking forward to it. Otherwise, the teaching is of very high quality, and will do their best to answer any questions that I have.
    Location:
    I like the way that Keele is very rural, it has beautiful grounds and is perfect for BBQs and walks. The university itself has a great bus service, which can easilly transport to Stoke-on-Trent train station - from where you can get to London in an hour and a half.
    Accommodation:
    I chose to live in the most expensive accomodation on campus, which was overall, a really great experience. The rooms were very big and the en-suite bathroom was a luxury, especially compared to many of my friends. It was a short walk away from all of my classes. Though, I felt that the accomodation team were not as good as they could have been as they didn't follow up on an issue that I had after Easter. Overall, a very enjoyable and comfortable experience.
    Settling in:
    I settled into university very quickly and felt at home within a week of staying. The first week was very nerve-wracking but there were loads of things that were on offer and I was made to feel welcomed instantly.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Keele is a good university if you like being in the countryside, and does have some high standards of teaching.
    University:
    The student union has some good nights, but the night life away from there isn't that great
    Course:
    The modules are hit and miss, and some of the teaching can be improved on.
    Location:
    Beautiful campus but it's in the middle of nowhere
    Accommodation:
    It's overpriced, terrible internet and was not that clean when I was there
    Settling in:
    Keele was welcoming to freshers, and had a lot of events running.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I absolutely loved my first year at Keele.
    University:
    Even though the uni is not in a town, there's plenty to do there.
    Course:
    Just the right amount of content and level of hardNess.
    Location:
    Beautiful views. Not far from the nearest town.
    Accommodation:
    Okay rooms for the money you pay. Not much control over noise volume. But still better than most unis.
    Settling in:
    Made good friends straight away and everyone was friendly.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It is fantastic!
    University:
    student life is the life! sure there's struggles and room for improvement financial wise but it's all part of the appeal and the motivation to do the best you can in your degree.
    Course:
    Because the course is great and widely appealing to obtain a career or training afterwards through lots of different pathways.
    Location:
    The campus is perfect! Beautiful and a mix to suite everyone!
    Accommodation:
    It is basic, comfortable and cosy, some student accommodation buildings do need updating how ever, common rooms and shared facilities could be better.
    Settling in:
    The university community is most welcoming, and easy to settle into, there is lots of support.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I loved Keele. The surroundings were tranquil and beautiful. The facilities were brilliant, not slapping you in the face with modernity, but not out-dated either. The staff were very supportive and friendly and I absolutely loved my course. If I could go back and do it all again I would in a heartbeat!
    University:
    There was a lot to occupy students, and a lot of varied activities were put on. The SU events were a bit 'samey' sometimes, but I didnt go often enough for it to really bother me.
    Course:
    The content was varied, the tutors were fantastic and supportive of free-thinking, and the choice of electives was really flexible, which enabled me to get a taste of subjects I never thought I'd get to study at degree level.
    Location:
    Though some were quite negative, I liked Keele Village and the surrounding towns and city. I liked the fact that there was so much to explore!
    Accommodation:
    It was a bit pricey, but I had a lovely room and was very happy with the communal areas of the accommodation.
    Settling in:
    I was diagnosed with depression, which negatively impacted on my settling in. I don't think I was prepared to move away quite so far, but once I had settled in I was glad I'd taken the plunge and experienced life outside of London.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate a 4/5 as it is everything I hoped it would be. The campus and people are lovely and it's simply a great place to study a subject you're passionate about.
    University:
    The union is great for student nights out and the campus is so welcoming that you settle in right away.
    Course:
    The content is interesting but more direction from tutors on what work is expected would be beneficial.
    Location:
    It seems a little in the middle of nowhere but it's nice in the sense that you're in your own little bubble, but can be frustrating when you have to get the bus to get to the shops. It's a countryside campus with the town a bus ride away.
    Accommodation:
    It isn't luxurious living but it isn't poor either. It's everything you need and within walking distance to your classes
    Settling in:
    I settled quite quickly due to making friends with people I lived with and getting involved in socities. Personal tutors also keep a check on how you are doing.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    All the on campus facilities are perfectly designed for students
    Course:
    Their is a too balance of lab work to lectures just would prefere a few more group activities
    Location:
    Campus has all facilities in beautiful surroundings
    Accommodation:
    I live in an ensuite room with my own individual kitchen that is cheaper that unis own accomadation
    Settling in:
    Great community campus that is easy to fit in to.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars! LOVE Keele!
    University:
    Amazing students union! Also close to big nights out in Birmingham, Stafford and Manchester
    Course:
    Amazing, helpful staff, wide variety of interesting courses, good means of testing (not too many exams!)
    Location:
    East commute to big cities of Birmingham and Manchester (each only 1 hour away), local cities of Stoke, Hanley, Newcastle and Stafford are also good!
    Accommodation:
    Good accommodation, could be improved health and safety wise (a lot of complaints of mould, though personally not from me)
    Settling in:
    Amazing social life and student/staff help
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    For me 6/10. But it really depends on your prior life experiences and expectations.
    University:
    Night life is awful but I learned to make do.
    Course:
    feedback more often would be good, and more lab time
    Location:
    The city of stoke has no culture what so ever.
    Accommodation:
    nice room, poor kitchen
    Settling in:
    It took a whole year to accept how dull uni was
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Really lovely staff and environment
    University:
    Love it
    Course:
    Very enjoyable
    Location:
    Lovely campus
    Accommodation:
    Big room
    Settling in:
    Friendly staff
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Really fun
    University:
    Sports teams are brilliant and so is the society nights out but general nights out were average.
    Course:
    Because it could be better but i enjoy it
    Location:
    Really nice rural location but no nice city atmosphere to enjoy, was expected though.
    Accommodation:
    They were really small and like prison cells but they were cheap
    Settling in:
    I settled in just fine
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good!
    University:
    Can't really fault it!
    Course:
    Course is interesting, staff are enthusiastic and knowledgable on their respective modules.
    Location:
    It's the the middle of nowhere, but it suits me as everything is on campus!
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is hit and miss, the cheaper accommodation is sub-standard, whilst the better rooms are too expensive.
    Settling in:
    Made to feel very welcome from the moment I was accepted on UCAS, current students were very willing to offer friendly advice!
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Very good
    Course:
    Everything is really good
    Location:
    It's a lovely campus but in the middle of nowhere
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive for what it is & some is far away from the main campus
    Settling in:
    Very homely uni
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Love it, excellent facillities, great course, amazing uni
    University:
    It's pretty great
    Course:
    Can't think of a bad thing about it
    Location:
    Stoke isn't great but there are good shops, restaurants and a cinema
    Accommodation:
    Lived in Hawthorns, cheap but kinda run down
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE