Member reviews of Keele University

  • nilasss's avatar by nilasss on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Yeahhs
    University:
    Not the best for night outs but everything you want as a student apart from that is there
    Course:
    because the lectures and the lecturers are great
    Location:
    Quiet and warm and very therapeutic.
    Accommodation:
    Pitch perfect
    Settling in:
    This is the best uni ever. I get everything and anything I want. Let it be academic support, let it be mental health support. You get it all. This is all we expect as students right? Such a quiet environment, very therapeutic on its self.
  • calicocat's avatar by calicocat on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I liked the staff and the university.
    University:
    All right.
    Course:
    Great, I had no complaints.
    Location:
    I liked the rural setting.
    Accommodation:
    Basic and expensive.
    Settling in:
    I didn't like the people I was living with.
  • Didymouse's avatar by Didymouse on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Although it may lack a reputation as yet, Keele is an amazing university, the staff are great and everyone is so friendly I would 100% recommend Keele to all students It was not my first choice of uni but now that I'm here, I think it was the best choice
    University:
    Keele has everything! Onsite doctors and pharmacy, library on and off campus, shops, a bank, Costa coffee, the student union is really good and there's numerous bars and cafes at the halls of residence. The sports centre is fab with loads of facilities
    Course:
    I really like my course and the timetable is decent but I expected more lectures, not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing
    Location:
    The campus is beautiful but difficult to get to by bus if you live off campus (it can take up to an hour) But it's pretty close to the town centre and there's shops at the uni so you don't need to go far
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation at Keele is very traditional, up to 30 people sharing a kitchen and up to 20 sharing bathrooms! Very few ensuite rooms available I opted for off campus accommodation instead
    Settling in:
    I settled in really quickly, there's loads of helpful students to answer questions etc They have tea and toast in the chapel at the weekends and loads of events to get to know other students!
  • Ismira's avatar by Ismira on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    I love the freedom and independence.
    Course:
    I enjoy the course
    Location:
    I love where it is situated.
    Accommodation:
    It's alright flatmates can be abit of a pain.
    Settling in:
    Not long. Got along with people alright.
  • Wainwrightkatie's avatar by Wainwrightkatie on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really is a fantastic choice with great lecturers, a beautiful campus and a brilliant SU that caters to so many needs
    University:
    24/7 library, gym, loads of food venues, so many societies, sports and clubs and opportunities. There's grants for the societies, mindfulness support, a nightline to call if you need a talk, volunteering opportunities, street team to walk you home from the su at night, a bus that travels from accommodation to su to anywhere off campus for free, etc. So much choice. You can do anything you want here.
    Course:
    The dual honours layout is ideal, because I can customise my course according to what I want. My lecturers are mainly good but my personal tutor is basically irrelevant. Feedback is always on time and useful for Neuroscience, but nonexistent for maths.
    Location:
    Beautiful huge campus on a hill with fields and lakes and a woodland.... However being outside of a big city like many Unis can impact on student nightlife - although they make up for it with a massive SU running nightly events, there's not much variety.
    Accommodation:
    I was placed in the least nice accommodation and there was a hole in the ceiling of the cleaner's cupboard that allowed drunk housemates to get onto the roof. There were 4 toilets, 2 showers and 1 kitchen between 35 rooms in the block, which was slightly less than ideal but manageable. However much of the other accommodation is really good!
    Settling in:
    Everyone's friendly, it's a beautiful place that is very easy to fall in love with and there are cute little squirrels everywhere
  • Ntono Sharon's avatar by Ntono Sharon on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    fair
    University:
    just good
    Course:
    I LOVE it
    Location:
    perfect
    Accommodation:
    fair
    Settling in:
    its fair
  • Pxxmela's avatar by Pxxmela on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Location could be better and support for commuting students and raking them into account more in terms of societies and events would be helpful But otherwise pretty good
    University:
    Not very inclusive of minorities when it comes to evening/night events and not very considerate of commuting students when it comes to certain events and their placing in the day
    Course:
    I've only just started it so not much to comment on just yet
    Location:
    It's so far from a train station so not very good for commuting students and has nothing to do that is off campus by close
    Accommodation:
    It is quite expensive for what you get
    Settling in:
    Have only just started so still settling in
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has been very enjoyable and I would not hesitate to recommend Keele to anyone who wants a quieter and friendly campus.
    University:
    The social clubs, societies and events here are very good.
    Course:
    It is very good. But the teaching could be better.
    Location:
    It is in pretty country side but the nearby towns aren't very nice.
    Accommodation:
    In my first year, my halls were very good.
    Settling in:
    I was very homesick at first but then I got used to things.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    If you are up for a bit of both worlds, come to keele.
    University:
    Because Keele SU is great and so is the whole uni
    Course:
    because my timetable is flexible and the quality is very good.
    Location:
    It is scenic and beautiful, I wish it was a little closer to a city, but I can't complain, its only a tenner to Manchester.
    Accommodation:
    Scenic and beautiful, I love Keele as a place as well as a university.
    Settling in:
    Took me a while but I think it depends on the person, not the place
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    9.5/10
    University:
    Everything is ran good enough. Nothing has disappointed me as of yet.
    Course:
    Because the university deserves it.
    Location:
    It's about 10 minutes away from town and is away from the city.
    Accommodation:
    Because the university deserves it.
    Settling in:
    Having to get used to people. Otherwise I settled in fine.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great uni with tons of activities to get stuck into. Plus the campus is beautiful, a truly great place to think about coming since you will have to look at it every single day for the next 3 years!
    University:
    Great facilities, especially the library!
    Course:
    The course is very flexible allowing me to learn new things that are really interesting an exciting! But I'm not too keen on seminars.
    Location:
    beautiful/breathtaking campus!!!!!!!
    Accommodation:
    It's good but quite basic
    Settling in:
    still feeling a little homesick
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5*
    University:
    24 hour library, more than enough societies and again, a welcoming and friendly atmosphere.
    Course:
    CLOCK gives a huge advantage for employability, lecturers are experienced and down to earth, course content is interesting, relevant and engrossing, and the support is great.
    Location:
    Stoke is not a great area for students, but it is not essential to go there. Newcastle is quirky and charming, but not brilliant for students either. The proximity to the countryside and transport links (hours away from anywhere in the UK - only takes an hour and 20 minutes to get the train to London, and just under an hour to Birmingham or Manchester) contribute to the rating greatly. Housing is cheap both in Stoke and Newcastle, and the quality of the accommodation is more than desirable.
    Accommodation:
    a great amount of affordable accommodation
    Settling in:
    friendly student atmosphere and welcoming staff
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 4 stars as the university is fabulous but may not provide outgoing students with nightlife they might desire
    University:
    There are lots of socials and activities to attend if you want to but if you just want a quiet night in then the campus environment provides this
    Course:
    The lectures are engaging and the teachers are approachable but I currently have very little contact time
    Location:
    It has very good transport links to larger cities
    Accommodation:
    It is very cheap for the quality of the accomodation
    Settling in:
    There were plenty of 'get to know each other events' which enabled me to settle in very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Felt like home straight away, diverse student backgrounds, great sense of community, enthusiastic teaching.
    University:
    Many facilities, easy to live.
    Course:
    Very steep learning curve for those with no subject background
    Location:
    Beautiful countryside, great for walking. Not easy to get into city though.
    Accommodation:
    Fast repairs, good quality.
    Settling in:
    Involving freshers events
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really great
    University:
    Need more promotion of what's going on
    Course:
    Im enjoying myself
    Location:
    Beautiful, but I do miss the city life
    Accommodation:
    Far from campus, but nice to be away for the centre
    Settling in:
    Slightly homesick but made lots of friends
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great, they are really supportive
    University:
    It's a campus with everything you'd need
    Course:
    Everything is great
    Location:
    It's such a good campus
    Accommodation:
    Everyone I know in halls love it
    Settling in:
    Made to feel very comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars, 100%
    University:
    There isn't much that could be improved, except perhaps prices in the shops
    Course:
    I love it, but some of the lecturers could be more involving
    Location:
    I love the fact that it's isolated but there's everything that is needed closeby
    Accommodation:
    It's a good house but it's a trek to get into uni
    Settling in:
    I settled very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far, brilliant
    University:
    The SU is great
    Course:
    It seems really interesting so far, but s very hard work
    Location:
    I like the feel of the campus, while still being near areas for shopping and going out
    Accommodation:
    Cheap, practical, but hardly outstanding
    Settling in:
    Everyone seems friendly, it's easy to get on with everyone.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    A really good uni with all facilities.
    University:
    Great uni life.
    Course:
    It's a great course.
    Location:
    Really nice scenery
    Accommodation:
    It's a really well living space.
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    the education could be better as well as the ranking
    University:
    activities they had every now and then
    Course:
    its was decent
    Location:
    crime, location
    Accommodation:
    housing was great
    Settling in:
    it was easy to settle in
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE