Member reviews of King's College London

  • Radup's avatar by Radup on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    A friendly place with high academic expectations
    University:
    Prices a little high, and lectures too far one from another in the same day, regarding time. overall, great experience
    Course:
    Because logistically, the programe is well constructed, and the information is well delievered. A better communication with students would be a plus.
    Location:
    Because is central, and close to all objectives that can provide a help for documentation.
    Accommodation:
    The quality is excellent, unfortunatelly, the price is quite high for the location, which is not close to the University
    Settling in:
    The professors, tutors and the staff from the accomodation were really helpful, and provide all the information needed.
  • ivan.ivanov's avatar by ivan.ivanov on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    In general KCL is a very good university to choose, it is top 10 in the UK and one of the best in the world. It is very well recognised across the UK and all over the world.
    University:
    The university life is very good, everyone is very friendly, this includes staff and students. We have one of the biggest student libraries in the UK and have lots of other good libraries with lots of resources.
    Course:
    I find my course one of the best in the UK. The department of Informatics in KCL is very strong and we have one of the most experienced people in this sector as our professors. The timetable is very well made, with not a lot of gaps and well distributed.
    Location:
    The location of KCL is very good, it is in central London and is very well connected to the public transport in London. It depends in what campus you are but usually there is a underground station so you can easily go to university.
    Accommodation:
    I live in a private accommodation but as far as I know and have seen on the internet the uni accommodations are very good. Most of them are brand new or renovated one or two years ago.
    Settling in:
    The welcome week and all the events really helped me to settle in to the university. Everything was very well explained in terms of teaching, examinations, and other academic related information.
  • Amro98's avatar by Amro98 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Very well organized. Amazing tutors. Very nice student portal. Very well structured courses. Friendly staff
    University:
    A change in campuses is nice. The different environments of different campuses is a nice way of changing moods. Some things such as the museum adds to this nice feeling of a scientific place.
    Course:
    A very well organized course and clever way of both saving teaching clusters and tutors as well as bringing people from all over the university together to make friends and interact within different departments.
    Location:
    Easy to access from many different locations in London. In central which makes it in a modest and modern place. It is an open space as opposed to a big closed gate building.
    Accommodation:
    I have not lived in any student accommodations however, of what I hear, it is very accessible to the campus and is very friendly.
    Settling in:
    The tutors make you feel at ease. You are free as a student not too many regulations as in school. Their are introductions and inductions that answer all questions.
  • masonjpn123's avatar by masonjpn123 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great university for balancing both work and play
    University:
    Plenty of societies, amazing looking campuses giving a real community feel
    Course:
    Great lecturers, great content and variety of learning opportunities. Contact hours are very high in first year. Support network is great
    Location:
    Very easy
    Accommodation:
    Perfect location but very expensive considering the size and facilities of the rooms
    Settling in:
    Very easy
  • nanika's avatar by nanika on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It’s a good uni overall. But mayb more suitable for social science students.
    University:
    There’s lots of clubs/societies so basically you can find anything you interested in there. The Morghan library is cool, old London style, many books there.
    Course:
    I was expecting to see some advanced maths stuff but actually there’s only computer science courses. The teaching is fine, but some are really making me sleepy. There’s always some problems with the timetable, like clashes between tutorials and seminars.
    Location:
    Central London, got nothing to say. Just too expensive if you want to live somewhere near the uni.
    Accommodation:
    The residence I’m living is in Stratford so it’s kinda far from the campus. But it’s really convenient to live here, got 2 shopping centres there. The price is high but acceptable comparing with other accommodations.
    Settling in:
    Like 1 or 2 weeks?
  • AlicePadfield17's avatar by AlicePadfield17 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    A fabulous university to attend in the capital city.
    University:
    There is a wonderful array of societies and things to get involved in, the libraries provide a wonderful service on all campuses and we have the unique opportunity of being able to go to Maughan Library.
    Course:
    I have felt so well supported and looked after in my first couple of weeks at university. Every piece of information I could possibly wanted has been explained to me in a wide variety of ways including lectures, emails and in app explanations.
    Location:
    London, is a wonderful city to have the opportunity to study in. It is filled with constant things to do and an amazing culture and vibe. It is a fantastic place to be.
    Accommodation:
    .
    Settling in:
    I already feel so settled and apart of the university and I have only been there two weeks.
  • Hsin-Fang's avatar by Hsin-Fang on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great courses, great welcome week and nice staff. You will definitely enjoy the life in king's!
    University:
    Overall it's great.
    Course:
    The course so far is really nice and interactive. Definitely we do a lot of studying, but since I love what I major in, I enjoy the reading.
    Location:
    It's in the centre London, which is very convenient. But there are some buildings that are a bit far from the subway, so sometimes I need to walk for minutes. But just see it as exercise and everything is alright.
    Accommodation:
    The living area is really nice and spacious to me. It is convenient since there are gym, tesco and other stores that can serve our daily life near to this place.
    Settling in:
    So far so good. It did take some time at the beginning to adapt to the new environment and get all necessities ready, but after that, everything is going well.
  • ed_stacey's avatar by ed_stacey on 14th May 2018
    Overall:
    I wouldn't want to be anywhere else or studying anything else.
    University:
    King's offers loads of societies and most courses have ample socials and stuff to get involved in. There are plenty of services, as it is London you have everything you could need, libraries especially because you can get passes for all UoL libraries (so can work with you UCL or SOAS friends at their places for example).
    Course:
    The timetable is quite relaxed in first year and although they expect you to do a lot of reading it is quite easy to get by without doing all of it. The modules are all very interesting and taught well (some better than others) and there is A LOT of choice for second year. I have been lucky with my seminar leaders this year (two of them are the lecturers which is very rare) but I have heard mixed opinions from others as their standard in teaching varies quite a bit. Feedback is generally quite helpful and lecturers/seminar leaders are responsive if you need clarification.
    Location:
    Most of my classes are at the Strand with the rest at Waterloo, both are very central and accessible. London generally is a great place to live in first year and uni generally. All things considered it is decent value considering you're living in central London, probably something you will struggle to be able to afford in the future.
    Accommodation:
    I live in intercollegiate halls so it is not ran by Kings but by the UoL. The location is perfect (Bloomsbury) but it is quite expensive at £205 pw. I'm catered but the food is pretty poor. I live in International Hall and we have nowhere to cook (you only get a pantry with a fridge, microwave and kettle) which is annoying. Also as the name suggests there are a lot of international students which might not be what you want.
    Settling in:
    I knew quite a lot of people in London so this wasn't too difficult.
  • Jalouise's avatar by Jalouise on 25th November 2017
    Overall:
    If you want the best of both worlds: great social life and great teaching this is the university for you but keep in mind the social life not be sustainable beyond freshers week as you will come to sadly realise London is just far too expensive!
    University:
    There is always something to do in terms of events going on and there are fantastic support links.
    Course:
    There are really good vibes here, everyone is so friendly and King's take your mental health and well being as a top priority.
    Location:
    It's in London which is great in terms of night life and meeting people from various backgrounds. Despite this being a major pro, it's just really really really expensive!
    Accommodation:
    I'm at Moonraker Point, it's great but really expensive
    Settling in:
    It took awhile to wrap my head around the idea that you have to be the one to look and get information and the information in no way will be just handed to you and that you decide what your university experience is like through your participation in various societies, your commitment to your studies and so on.
  • Bobjim12's avatar by Bobjim12 on 27th May 2017
    Overall:
    It's been quite disappointing in some aspects but there have been a handful of highlights which have made the first year somewhat enjoyable.
    University:
    Lots of sports teams to join, libraries are sufficient for student needs. In London so shopping is great.
    Course:
    The course content is okay, it's not liberating as many would expect. There are a couple of decent lecturers but most are lazy and either take ages to respond to questions or don't bother at all. Timetable is not too bad, fair amount of free time during the week, most lectures in fist year start a 3pm. Feedback can be very slow although model solutions are released quickly which means you can compare your solution.
    Location:
    London is great, the Strand and Waterloo campuses on either side of the Thames.
    Accommodation:
    Expensive. Great location, but you will be paying a fortune for it.
    Settling in:
    Can feel very isolating and difficult to make friends when course mates are spread across London.
  • Meghan De La Rue's avatar by Meghan De La Rue on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I think its an amazing university if you are looking for city life, its so central and its so easy to get everywhere you may wish to go, especially with both tube lines near my accommodation running all night on Fridays and Saturdays. It is not the best university if you are looking for a very student centred community, with everyone living very close and a huge night life. Night life is amazing because there are so many incredible events around the city, but it is not a university centred around going out, as it can get very expensive. The teaching, and the teaching style is incredible and very diverse.
    University:
    The campus in the day time is very good; there are affordable cafes to visit and lovely outside areas. At night time the services such as the 24 hour library are very good, and there is a gym open late not too far away which is a university gym, but the nightlife provided by the student union is not amazing. It is quite small and doesn't ever have any well known acts to play in the student union bar, as many other universities have. I feel safe on campus as there is always security.
    Course:
    Overall the course is interesting, and the contact hours aren't too heavy which I was expecting, however it is slightly disorganised due to this being the first year of this course structure. Some of the modules feel slightly irrelevant. The teaching quality is excellent, so many of the lecturers are extremely engaging, and having things such as dissections and practicals really reinforces learning.
    Location:
    I think London is the most amazing city, and my university is so central it's incredible. I love living in London as I feel like it presents so many more opportunities that other places would.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation is amazing, the location is just off of campus and I have it for a decent price due to a reduction in price due to inconvenience. Unfortunately the halls I am staying in are post graduate halls, because of a mix up before starting which meant that the halls I was meant to be staying in were over subscribed. Being in post graduate halls made settling in quite difficult and upsetting.
    Settling in:
    I found it quite difficult to make friends at the beginning due to being in post graduate halls which meant I wasn't around a lot of people my own age and with the same outlook on starting university. Also the university being so large, and the course being so large, meant that it was difficult to find like minded people.
  • jfgratitude's avatar by jfgratitude on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Incredible experience. I would lead back to my answer in the first question for this question also.
    University:
    Once again because it is located in London which is my favorite city in the world.
    Course:
    I loved the individuality and diversity of this course. It in corporated so many areas on a macro and micro level. I was able to accomplish research in an area I am extremely passionate about and achieve my dreams and goals thanks to this program. It is absolutely something I will never forget and will always cherish! The program accepts students with degrees from various scientific backgrounds and from all over the world which is extremely beneficial. I met friends that I will have forever. Would highly recommend it to those interested in pursuing careers related to Neuroimaging.
    Location:
    It is in London which is a priceless location! Absolutely beautiful and incredible anywhere you go in London or anywhere in England.. but maybe I am biased since I am a dual citizen of the U.K. And USA. :)
    Accommodation:
    It was good but of course exspensive for how small it was but that is just how London is.
    Settling in:
    I made friends very easily and all of the staff and faculty at King's are great!
  • Shecky Shabaz's avatar by Shecky Shabaz on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Overall I recommend King's. It's a high ranking uni that doesn't feel like it misses out on any of the social aspects. The way the subjects are taught also feels high quality.
    University:
    Uni life is fun and more enjoyable than A-levels for the most part. However, it's ultimately what you make of it. If you're not signing up to society events or enjoying the nightlife then it can become boring very quickly if your course isn't particularly interesting.
    Course:
    Overall there is a high quality of study with enough assignments and revision materials to keep students working in between exams. Lecture capture allows students to re-watch lectures they might've missed and lecturers are usually available during their office hours to provide extra assistance as well. However due to the popularity of the course, lectures might become slightly noisy. Also, the size means that you might be stuck studying in the same (unfavourable) lecture theatre for certain modules as no other theatres can fit all the students.
    Location:
    Central London is a nice area to be in everyday..... but the food prices.......
    Accommodation:
    I live at home and haven't heard anything about it.
    Settling in:
    The university welcomes you and makes it easy to adjust. It didn't take long to get used to it.
  • Hanaelrefai's avatar by Hanaelrefai on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I am really enjoying this university as well as the way the course is being taught and the content that I am learning.
    University:
    There isn't a very strong "uni life". The services offered on campus are rather limited as it is not a very big campus
    Course:
    The professors are very good at getting the topics across. They always answer emails promptly. We are assessed in different ways including exams and group work.
    Location:
    The campus' location is very central. There are very close transportation links all around the university making commuting around London very easy.
    Accommodation:
    The campus is rather small and always very busy. Classes are spread across numerous campuses from Strand to Waterloo
    Settling in:
    It was very easy to settle in to the university as the personal tutors were always there to guide and support us with any issues concerning the university.
  • MackenzieNation's avatar by MackenzieNation on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I feel like if you're confident in yourself and willing to throw yourself into London and kings life you'll thrive but if you're slightly more timid and shy it's a struggle to settle in
    University:
    Library good but not very big on campus so can be difficult to find a place. Sports facilities good if you can afford to join them but can be quite out of the way. Felt it hard to join societies as all at guys campus and I don't live near
    Course:
    My timetable is quite easy to follow and 9ams can make it structured. Module content is comprehensive and in depth. Use of tutorials and seminars gives good contact hours. Quality of lectures varies on the lecturer giving it. Some very good and some not. Some do very good slides to revise from and some barely at all
    Location:
    Being in London is incredible
    Accommodation:
    Definitely not the most affordable but being in central London is a bonus
    Settling in:
    Due to it not being a famous university there's less of a sense of community so it can be isolating
  • Jaddee_xx's avatar by Jaddee_xx on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    My experience has been amazing! I'm proud to wear my kings university hoodie!!
    University:
    Although I commute, I love the social facilities we have at kings including the canteens and student bar
    Course:
    The course is very broad, we range from 400 AD up to 1945 in the first year and whilst this is very interesting it can be quite intense!
    Location:
    I'm in the heart of central London so it's always buzzing!
    Accommodation:
    I live at home!
    Settling in:
    It took me a while to adjust but I wouldn't change that for the world! Uni is also about growing as a person which I certainly have!
  • Saraa144's avatar by Saraa144 on 9th May 2016
    Overall:
    London is a great place to live.
    University:
    24 hour library in exam season. London is easy for shopping.
    Course:
    Lots of choice for modules. Timetabling in first year is a bit weird (due to common year one) but is more regular in following years.
    Location:
    Guy's campus is really pretty and in a really good location. (Waterloo and Strand are less attractive but also in great locations)
    Accommodation:
    Expensive.
    Settling in:
    Lots of societies, lots of opportunities to meet people in your course as well as on other courses.
  • milashevich's avatar by milashevich on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    it's a great uni, would definitely recommend
    University:
    there's a wide range of activities available on the campus
    Course:
    Everything suits me
    Location:
    it's in the city centre, close to most places i'm interested in
    Accommodation:
    the location is great, it's affordable
    Settling in:
    it took me a bit of time, but the friendly atmosphere made it much easier
  • Sophiedew's avatar by Sophiedew on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    Good facilities but expensive
    Course:
    Some modules seemed irrelevant, and the marking was unfair. Overall I enjoyed it though
    Location:
    Central London is lovely
    Accommodation:
    Far too expensive, student loan unable to cover it
    Settling in:
    Everyone was welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Kings is friendly, and will show you a great time. It's really interesting in terms of the course but also the people you'll come into contact with. Kings students are prepared to do things differently and enjoy a wide range of interest above and beyond their course. We set high standards and thus kings probably won't do well in this survey. But that's because we forget that compared to somewhere else, we're doing far better. But we don't settle for things perhaps like others do, we just won't let kings stop trying to improve and satisfy our high standards.
    University:
    Kings does have everything and talking to friends I think most students don't know what they're missing out on until they hear about what we take for granted and realise they're missing out.
    Course:
    My course is well rounded and makes sure that everyone has an opportunity to study areas they're interested in. Be that more culture or politics
    Location:
    Kings is in the centre of London with anything and everything on the doorstep. You can't ask for more
    Accommodation:
    It's nice but far to expensive. All of London is now treating students as cash cows.
    Settling in:
    I've always wanted to move back to london so settling in was almost second nature. I was also very lucky to move into a flat where we've all become very good friends - that made home seem boring compared to surrounded by 6 great friends whom even now I still see.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE