Member reviews of Kingston University London

  • mwilkes.123's avatar by mwilkes.123 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    .
    University:
    I’ve not made any friends yet, although that’s because of my anxiety. But the uni gives you so many options to do so such as the societies and freshers week. I have signed up to the uni gym it’s a great place as it’s not busy and you can always get help.
    Course:
    The course itself is very related to the hazard and environmental side , which many units do not offer.
    Location:
    It is in a great place! I wanted to move away from home but have easy connections to get back there. Being on the outskirts of London is great as it’s not as busy but still had a good atmosphere in the town centre and easy travel
    Accommodation:
    I stay at clayhill halls. The rooms are a decent size with a en-suite.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very well, in the accommodation and the university itself. The welcome week was helpful and allowed me to gain knowledge of my campus. Student ambassadors are great help when finding where you need to go
  • Zazaa_1's avatar by Zazaa_1 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I am liking everything about it so far. The location is beautiful. Students are provided with many useful programs during the first week to help you settle in the most. The uni is very organised and proactive in its services
    University:
    I think the sport and clubs offered need to be improved. Many of them do not take place on campus
    Course:
    All my tutors are very approachable and the course is organised. I know where to go to catch up on missed lectures/seminars.
    Location:
    It is located in the middle of the town with stations that have good connections to the rest of the city. There are plenty of food places and shops around the uni. There is a river closeby which is beautiful
    Accommodation:
    I do not live in student accommodation however I have seen it and I am not impressed with the quality of the facilities being offered for the price paid.
    Settling in:
    I feel like I am adjusting well to university life quite well. Many services were explained to us on the first week however I feel like I have had to find out things on my own such as events taking place and other enquiries
  • Yahyem0's avatar by Yahyem0 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Very friendly environment.
    University:
    Still getting used to it.
    Course:
    My favourite field to study and take part in
    Location:
    Very friendly neighbourhood.
    Accommodation:
    Teachers are very warming and it is in a friendly neighbourhood.
    Settling in:
    Very well.
  • lavenderb's avatar by lavenderb on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall I think it's a great place to study of you want the experience of living in a "real" town rather than a university campus.
    University:
    Good for being at university and doing your course however there is very little emphasis on clubs or extra curricular activities
    Course:
    The timetable is very full on but it really feels like you learn a lot from every project you do. The teachers always give good advice and there is great support among the peer group.
    Location:
    I like that it's close to London but not in the centre. Prices do reflect this though
    Accommodation:
    Good location but I would much prefer if they did a survey before you move in with what sort of person you are eg. If you like going out a lot or not, like some other unis do.
    Settling in:
    The course structure means that you are together with your group a lot and makes it easy to make friends. The halls give you a lot of information on what to do and there are some events to meet other people in your building
  • moti-1_'s avatar by moti-1_ on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Great uni for science
    University:
    It's good better than a levels
    Course:
    Very good lecturers
    Location:
    Kingston is solid
    Accommodation:
    Idk I commute
    Settling in:
    Made a few mates
  • Mimi4471's avatar by Mimi4471 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I am enjoying my course most of my lectures are very good and informative, as I am in first year and in my first term I cannot give an accurate review as I am still starting out.
    University:
    Many facilities offered at uni and many opportunities to join societies
    Course:
    I am enjoying my course most of my lectures are very good and informative, as I am in first year and in my first term I cannot give an accurate review as I am still starting out.
    Location:
    Close to town and train station and very accessible
    Accommodation:
    I have heard that the university accommodation is poor quaulitry in terms of rooms and facilities and very outdated that’s why I had decided to go for private housing, which is so much better
    Settling in:
    Still adjusting
  • midwife101's avatar by midwife101 on 6th July 2018
    Overall:
    Despite what negatives there are, I thoroughly enjoy my time here and can't wait to qualify!
    University:
    Could be more campus wise- but then again it is a huge university teaching hospital so you have to give it that!
    Course:
    Placement is the best part of this course as most of us agree we have been given great opportunities placement wise (which is the most important part after all) I have worked with some incredible, inspiring midwives at Georges and I will never forget some of the experiences I have had in my first year. Academically, the uni needs improving. More lectures could be more relevant and engaging. Saying that I also have a wonderful personal tutor who is extremely supportive :)
    Location:
    I like how it is not in central London as it has it's own feel about the area.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is very practical and all en suite
    Settling in:
    It took some time but I wasn't used to the London life! Now nearly at the end of my first year, I am really beginning to enjoy London.
  • RhysJarvis93's avatar by RhysJarvis93 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Patchy at best as an teaching establishment. If you have the ucas points try for Brunel
    University:
    Summed up on a previous page, lovely people and would do it 10 times over
    Course:
    Teaching feedback can be patchy at times, some lecturers just religiously read off the slides. You'll learn tons of content you won't actually need. Campus equipment is agreeable, technicians are knowledgable and for a low ranking uni I would be happy that they have walls.
    Location:
    Situated around a nice part of Kingston, good transport routes, plenty of pubs and places to get grub. Night life is patchy but you can always get the train into central London easy enough
    Accommodation:
    Affordable, poor quality, poor maintenance, rodents, good location, excellent people
    Settling in:
    Moving to university as a mature student did not make a lot of difference to my personal life being independent for some time. Wherever you come from you will make your own little uni family that you will not forget. For all the negatives of the course and accommodation the people you meet are priceless, worth the 9k a year alone
  • Alba24194's avatar by Alba24194 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great experience: diverse people, great education, great facilites...
    University:
    There is a wide range of societies (sports, politics, religions...), libraries are well equipped and modern facilities
    Course:
    Great teachers, great organization of the module
    Location:
    You can enjoy London without paying a lot
    Accommodation:
    Not enough close to Uni, poor care
    Settling in:
    There are many international students as me, so it's easy to fin people in the same situation
  • Gohmas's avatar by Gohmas on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a good uni that has good lecturers and variety of clubs to join
    University:
    It's better than sixth form
    Course:
    I enjoy the course
    Location:
    Kingston is a nice area
    Accommodation:
    It's decent
    Settling in:
    It has a nice environment
  • Amnanasir 's avatar by Amnanasir on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Kingston university is a great place to study. The environment is lovely and friendly, you will always find someone with common interests and it's very easy to make friends. The Kington town is a huge plus point, it has everything from shopping to food and night life.
    University:
    There are a lot of very active societies and sports clubs.ibrary is 24 hours with a cafe and laptop loan service. The uni is usually busy with people which is good as I like it this way.
    Course:
    The lectures are always put up online well ahead of the lecture. The lecturers are very engaging and always make sure students have understood the topic before moving on in lecture.
    Location:
    Kingston is a great area it's the safest borough in London. There's a massive town centre with everything you will need. I love going there in long breaks between lectures and great place to hang out with friends.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in halls but from what I've seen they look pretty decent. The room numbers in each flat is small and there are 'Halls Connectors' at the uni who make sure people have a good time living in halls. They also organise social events which are good fun and a way of making friends.
    Settling in:
    The environment felt familiar, there's a great vibe to the uni and you can always find someone like you.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would definitely recommend this university. I am in my third week and I absolutely love it. There are so many useful shops in the area and others that may be further are easy to get to. Kingston University also has a free bus service which travels to all the different campuses and halls of residence, as well as the main town centres, and comes very often. The train station is also nearby which will easily get you to central London and other places.
    University:
    my experience of "uni life" so far has been excellent. I feel safe here and everything I need is very close by ranging from restaurants, supermarkets, shopping centre, cinema, the gym and clubs. Also the accomodation is by the river which is lovely and calming.
    Course:
    I love my course because it is everything i wanted to learn about and i got into it right in the first week; even though we have a lot of work assigned, i enjoy it because i am doing what im passionate about. The people on my course as well as the tutors are very friendly and helpful. We are given feedback on our work each week as we progress through the assigned brief and the tutors are always around if you need to ask questions; they also walk around the class to ensure that students understand what they are doing.
    Location:
    The location of the university is a ten minute walk to the main town where most shops can be found and the area is very big. It is also a ten minute walk in the opposite direction to the other campus where there is also a free bus service back to the accomodation halls.
    Accommodation:
    Personally the accommodation is of good quality to me. Even though it isn't a massive room, it still has all the necessities for normal living and the storage space isn't as small as you would imagine. Also there is always someone in reception for help if you need it.
    Settling in:
    As soon as I set up my accomodation the way I wanted it to look, it already felt like home. Different people react differently but personally I felt very cosy and safe in this new surrounding. The same was in my course at university everyone was friendly and smiling which made it easy to get settled in.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The campus, lecturers, facilities and the people
    University:
    It's a good uni
    Course:
    Nothing to fault, it's super inspirational
    Location:
    Kingston has everything you could need
    Accommodation:
    It's not 100% for functionality reasons and it's also not the cheapest
    Settling in:
    I felt settled on day 2
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great. Course is very full on and demanding but I can already tell the work is worth it. The faculty I'm a part of is buzzing with ideas and creativity and it's exciting to be around and involved with it.
    University:
    Uni side, everything is great but the town itself isn't as lively as I hoped. It has some good clubs and pubs but feels like my hometown did.
    Course:
    Radical in its angle of the subject, aims to push and challenge what graphic design is - the right attitude for an ever changing industry
    Location:
    Close enough to central London for quick access but far enough out to miss the stress and busyness it brings
    Accommodation:
    My halls (KBH) have the best location. Close walk to uni, right near the town centre and the rooms themselves are spacious.
    Settling in:
    Didn't take any time to settle in, feels like home already (third week in)
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    A really unique, vibrant and friendly university, where the tutors are very passionate about you doing the best you can.
    University:
    Good, has all the facilities I need perosonally
    Course:
    Generally very enjoyable, but sometimes the projects aren't quite for me - but I appreciate why they set them
    Location:
    Close to London, the commute in is very scenic
    Accommodation:
    From my friends' experiences, they don't seem so good...
    Settling in:
    Considering I commute in everyday I feel like I settled in fairly quickly - the uni has a good atmosphere
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4.5/5 because Kingston is an excellent place to study and live
    University:
    There's plenty to do on campus and off campus
    Course:
    It's only early in the game so can't say 5
    Location:
    I love the city and my surrounding town, there are so many places to go and see
    Accommodation:
    It's a great place to stay
    Settling in:
    I feel like I have gotten to know my surroundings fairly quickly and made friends easily
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's an good university however only if you're at any campus other than roehampton Vale
    University:
    Student union chill out area close to non existent and no fitness centre I know of
    Course:
    The material and structure of the course is great however lectures are sometimes difficult to understand
    Location:
    My campus Roehampton Vale is just off the A3 so not many shops around
    Accommodation:
    Halls are far away and not very modern and also pretty small rooms
    Settling in:
    It was just normal it didn't take too long but in my course there's probably 5 girls to 200 males in the lecture hall
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Ok.
    Course:
    Interesting course.
    Location:
    Would prefer if uni is closer to the station and plus, it's in zone 6 so the travel cost is high.
    Accommodation:
    No, I do not live in student accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Friendly staffs who are willing to show you around the university.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It was uncomfortable at first because the whole independent thing was new and no one chased us up on work like in high school or college. You either did the reading and attended lectures or got left behind. It just took time to be dependent and stand on own two feet, which is what uni is about after all.
    University:
    Adequate services provided, the facilities were easily accessible. Emailing the lecturers and tutors was helpful.
    Course:
    Unsure of future with this degree
    Location:
    I like Kingston very much, university is easily accessible to town and many shops and bus routes.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in student accommodation and there's no option to say so. Im sure it's nice though.
    Settling in:
    College to university is a big leap so it'll always take longer to settle in completely
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4* as I haven't been here long enough to give an accurate rating.
    University:
    Lovely people, lovely surroundings!
    Course:
    Could involve more days instead of just two a week.
    Location:
    It is out of the way of the city but yet so close!
    Accommodation:
    It is a lovely uni !
    Settling in:
    Everyone is so friendly!
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE