Member reviews of Lancaster University

  • Closey's avatar by Closey on 22nd July 2019
    Overall:
    It's a fantastic university; you will not be disappointed coming here.
    University:
    The university is fantastically well equipped. The library is superb; there are multiple shops on campus for anything you could need; cafes, and hairdressers. The sports centre is nice, though very expensive. Welfare and support are easily accessible; it's as easy as dropping in to see someone or filling in a form. The SU is very PC and is seen by most as quite incompetent, but they aren't a huge part of the experience. The SU's nightclub, the Sugarhouse, is great if you're into clubbing, but maybe not the best in town. There are something like 200 societies which gives a great variety of things to do.
    Course:
    The course is intellectually challenging in some areas, but in 1st year really seeks to bring everyone up to the same calibre where there might be disparities; for instance, further mathematics is not required for the course, and so the first year is spending time basically teaching that. For those who have done the content before, it's a nice refresher and still provides some challenge. The lecturers are good, and we generally don't have unreasonable lecture times. Feedback is within the week in first year for almost all worksheets, which is excellent.
    Location:
    It's very far from home, but the university has fantastic links to town with buses every ten-minutes; the train station is easy to reach and enables you to get to big cities like Manchester very quickly. Being a campus uni it also feels very secure, and everything is easily accessible. It's also a stone's throw from the Lake District, Peak District, and Forest of Bowland.
    Accommodation:
    Speaking from the perspective of Pendle College standard accommodation, it's very good. For the price you pay it is exceptional value; the facilities are well equipped and maintained; the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Generally good all-round.
    Settling in:
    Freshers reps have the job of introducing you to university life and getting you sorted, which is very helpful. Because it is a large uni, however, it can take a while to feel properly integrated.
  • Laniwroe's avatar by Laniwroe on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I love Lancaster so far. Even though it hasn't been long, I can see myself making life long friends, growing academically as well as just as a person, and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who asks.
    University:
    Uni life is great fun. It's obviously dependent on your course, your friends and your flat but there's always stuff going on in the main square on campus, and plenty of societies to get involved with.
    Course:
    It is a brilliant course that I personally think works well with my strengths and weaknesses. there aren't that many lectures but I find them hard to follow so for me that's a good thing.
    Location:
    It's in a beautiful location with really lovely surrounding countryside. However it is slightly outside of town so the easiest way to get into town is by bus, meaning you could end up spending a fortune on bus fair.
    Accommodation:
    The university accommodation is clean and pretty sophisticated as it's relatively new. I'm in superior ensuite so I have an ensuite bathroom and share a kitchen and small living space with 4 other people.
    Settling in:
    Settling into uni is always going to be difficult because it's a completely new place but I felt as if the college system made it easier to feel settled. My college put on various events.
  • lauren0310's avatar by lauren0310 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I would definitely recommend this university. It’s high up on league boards but there’s so much going on that it doesn’t feel like the focus is solely on academics
    University:
    There is a lot to get involved with on campus. The student union isn’t great but there is a collegiate system and each college has its own exec team which works much better. There are so many clubs and societies to join.
    Course:
    My understanding of the subject and other related subject has definitely improved a lot throughout my first year. I liked the course content and structure. Some of the teachers were more engaging than others
    Location:
    It’s about a 15-20 minute bus ride from the city centre which means that you can’t walk there. The campus itself is really nice but would be better to be closer to the city and train station
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation was very nice- couldn’t have been much nicer. It was a very good location on campus close to my lectures. The price was quite expensive but similar to other universities
    Settling in:
    I settled in extremely quickly. This is partly due to the nice accommodation but also to having nice flatmates
  • pysch's avatar by pysch on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Love it! Couldn’t have picked a greater place to study
    University:
    Gym is very expensive and there aren’t as many society night outs as you’d hope
    Course:
    Great course but the lack of recorded lectures is a little off putting
    Location:
    A little far from the city but bus routes make access much easier
    Accommodation:
    Self catered students given much worse accommodation and kitchens than catered students; catered get brand new kitchens, couches etc
    Settling in:
    Freshers made it much easier to integrate into the uni as well as make bonds with fellow housemates
  • RichardAtherton's avatar by RichardAtherton on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    .
    University:
    The sports centre is excellent, and I can usually spend many hours there. The choice of clubs and societies is very good too, although given lectures are finishing later than ever now, this may change.
    Course:
    The course structure is good for the first year, going over previous material from A-Level and new material which all links together, which is good.
    Location:
    The main reason for living on a campus university is the fact that everything you will ever need (food/drink/shops etc.) is already situated on the campus, so there is theoretically no need to head into the town very often.
    Accommodation:
    My room was impeccable; the initial moving process was very straight-forward and stress free and once I had moved in, there was nothing wrong with my room, plenty of space and the Wi-Fi quality was OK too. Location could be improved....
    Settling in:
    During "Freshers Week" I was made to feel very welcome by all at the university; our flat had been given a "Freshers Rep" to help us settle in during the first week and to answer any questions we had about studying/living in Lancaster.
  • JinxKK's avatar by JinxKK on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Everything is great and I love it
    University:
    The library is open 24/7 and has everything I need as well as laptops. The gym is big and spacious and the union is very helpful
    Course:
    It's very useful and provides a truthful account of what's going on
    Location:
    It's a little rural but the scenery is great
    Accommodation:
    They're close to town and uni and are affordable
    Settling in:
    I settled in later because I commute, but I settled in quickly considering that
  • Abdul Ali 145's avatar by Abdul Ali 145 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Beatiful
    University:
    Sports facilities are excellent aswell as health services
    Course:
    I really love how the staff are always ready to help with any type of issue. The lectures are clear and the structure of the course is well planned. There is early clinical placement and also enough free time to relax and destress.
    Location:
    There is a lot of open space to relax and the campus is not too far from the city centre
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation staff are really helpful and the hygiene is maintained.
    Settling in:
    Great welcome week
  • kireath97's avatar by kireath97 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Quite a good university. Certain lecturers could be better, accomodation could definitely be improved as well as overall infrastructure. Very good though.
    University:
    Uni life is good. A great variety of clubs and related extra curricular activities. Campus has a good number of bars, restaurants and shops. The students Union is decent though their methods aren't always the best
    Course:
    Very engaging and full of quality content. The lecturers are overall very good. Would have some more contact hours if possible.
    Location:
    Quite far from town and the transport links to the rest of the country are often both expensive and quite rubbish.
    Accommodation:
    Quite expensive and can be far away from lecture halls depending on what college you end up in (like Cartmel)
    Settling in:
    Settling in was easy and quick. Very helpful support team and staff. A lot of introduction classes and tours made this even easier
  • Barley_mo's avatar by Barley_mo on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It’s pretty lit
    University:
    It’s pretty lit
    Course:
    It’s pretty lit
    Location:
    It’s pretty lit
    Accommodation:
    It’s pretty lit
    Settling in:
    It’s pretty lit
  • Corna1's avatar by Corna1 on 7th November 2018
    Overall:
    On the whole, the evidence shows that Lancaster University is one of the best Uni you could find in the UK. This 6th ranked Uni will make your dreams come true and will make you feel as if being at home because of its friendly teachers/staffs.:-)
    University:
    Large provision of shops on campus with modern library. Lancaster Uni possesses its own leisure centre with pool included!
    Course:
    Lancaster University despite being humongous is very friendly. Staffs are very approachable with students and always offer you a warm smile. The timetable is the most perfect you could find (I have lectures 2/3 times in the afternoon a week).
    Location:
    A non-industrialised city; more friendly where you can enjoy yourself and be part of the numerous clubs (horse-riding on the beach...). Concerning the sandy beach, you can ride your bike, breath a fresh air and benefit from the sunny sun.
    Accommodation:
    Oh, I was going to forget... LANCASTER UNIVERSITY possesses the BEST ACCOMMODATION in the UK for students, a home from home in a relaxing countryside.
    Settling in:
    As Lancaster Uni is quite huge, at first; I needed a map...no just joking!
  • Ellmorgan18's avatar by Ellmorgan18 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Great university with a huge campus and great accommodation (townhouses). Located in the smaller, more isolated city of Lancaster, the nightlife still holds up. The teaching and lecturing is great with ample student support and services. The employment opportunities that Lancaster gives is among the best in the country. I'd say the student experience is up to the student at any university, at Lancaster, it's definitely easier to have a good one, especially if you choose an accommodation that includes living/meeting with as many students as possible. There's a lot of societies and events that happen on a weekly basis. 27/02/17.
    University:
    No complaints you can find everything on campus.
    Course:
    Module content is great as is the teaching and lectures. Seminars are heavily group based with a lot of presentations and group projects.
    Location:
    Small city, big campus. City is more isolated but nightlife is still good. However, nothing in comparison to bigger cities.
    Accommodation:
    University accommodation is outstanding. I am in a townhouse which is considered the best type of accommodation on campus. Great facilities and very social.
    Settling in:
    Fairly quickly with second and third year undergraduates that help you in the first few weeks.
  • academianuts's avatar by academianuts on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Aside from taking such a stressful course (Social Work), the University really is the best and one of the most beautiful places to be with many hidden gems!
    University:
    Lancaster's collegiate system means that there are 9 different bars on campus which serve food throughout the day, alongside Subway, Costa, Greggs and other fast food. There is a huge new gym (not that I've seen much of it????), a massive library with zones for discussion and complete silence segregates and plenty of resources, and the SU are always advertising new events.
    Course:
    The quality of teaching is great and the course is well thought out and managed. However, I don't feel like the course manages disadvantaged students' capabilities properly - expectations around learning to drive and being able to acquire a car for placement, taking time off work to do so and yet offering no additional support are difficult to manage.
    Location:
    Campus is a 15-20 minute bus journey from town, close to Morecambe which is a beautiful area. The campus itself has everything you could possibly need. And Lancaster is great!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is spacious and fashionable, however it is very expensive and there is no comfortable communal space.
    Settling in:
    Fresher's reps were a huge help in bringing the flat together and there's always something going on for everyone. It didn't take long before going home didn't feel like home anymore
  • aleea03's avatar by aleea03 on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant. Friendly university with great lecturers and facilities
    University:
    I have everything I need and if I needed extra help I know who to contact.
    Course:
    It's a really flexible course tailored around my interests
    Location:
    Campus university so everything is together and you don't have to leave campus if you don't want to, there are convenience stores, fast food, bars, pubs, other shops etc. but there are cheap regular buses into town from campus (only 10 mins) and it's a nice medium sized town with all the main shops together.
    Accommodation:
    Large communal area next to kitchen which you don't get in a lot of other accommodation. Spacious room with large desk, new, modern and clean.
    Settling in:
    I started calling my accommodation 'home' within a couple of days which is pretty fast!
  • Evolveshadow 's avatar by Evolveshadow on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's an amazing university with amazing opportunities definitely look at Lancaster
    University:
    The nightlife is great apart from some of the on campus bars which are a bit boring, mostly county bar
    Course:
    The course is amazing and the lecturers are extremely helpful but there isn't much flexibility
    Location:
    It's a big campus but still quiet and you can go about to town at your own leisure
    Accommodation:
    Small flat sizes of 4 people and not too expensive for ensuite that is close to all my lectures
    Settling in:
    I had no problem settling in
  • PatrickLima's avatar by PatrickLima on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is really good out here, worth studying here, top uni .
    University:
    The sports centre is not free to use, everything else is pretty good.
    Course:
    It is just like I expected it to be, amazing !
    Location:
    The campus is huge, everything is convenient.
    Accommodation:
    The Room for a Superior Ensuite is not that big.
    Settling in:
    I feel a bit homesick at times, i have made friends and pretty alright here but i miss home a bit nonetheless.
  • FernGreen's avatar by FernGreen on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent teaching, campus and accommodation. I would recommend this university to anyone, it's so friendly and you'll feel at home very quickly.
    University:
    Excellent student union and good range of societies. The facilities are excellent but there are very few shops on campus and so they tend to be quite expensive.
    Course:
    Friendly department with excellent teaching
    Location:
    The countryside is beautiful and the campus is lovely but it's quite far from any shops and the buses are expensive.
    Accommodation:
    Very modern, clean and secure. Lovely big rooms and kitchens. They fix any problems extremely quickly and it's very well organised.
    Settling in:
    I felt completely at home within a week.
  • 4liciaa_'s avatar by 4liciaa_ on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good as it has allowed me to increase my confidence and independence. I have made new friends for life and got to experience so many new things and although I do miss home sometimes it is worth it.
    University:
    Lots of clubs and societies to join, excellent facilities (especially bars as there are 9) and brilliant sporting clubs. Lively atmosphere some nights but not all allowing you to have fun but relax when you want to.
    Course:
    Very friendly lecturers who provide lots of information and are always contactable. Good amount of contact hours, not too large or small but personally I'm not a fan of field/practical work and there is a lot in first year for the physical side of the course.
    Location:
    Campus is very easy to access by car, train or bus. Very close to city centre but far enough away to still allow that separate campus feel that allows a community to form.
    Accommodation:
    Very spacious room with good quality furnishing. Ensuite every nice and new fittings. Shared kitchen is also very large with lots of good facilities which also has a regular cleaner.
    Settling in:
    Freshers reps helped us for the first week and kept us busy so it was easy to settle in but I did still get home sick. Have made good friends and now know my way around campus.
  • Adam.p4's avatar by Adam.p4 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The uni campus is a bit small.
    University:
    Easy access to everything because it's in the town center.
    Course:
    It's good with small class size and you can take in a lot also teachers answer and help at your conveinece.
    Location:
    The area is based in town center
    Accommodation:
    Live at home in my home town.
    Settling in:
    Live at home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars. Absolutely magnificent course, people and campus with everything you could hope for.
    University:
    Great facilities with everything you need a few minutes away walking distance. Very enticing for sporty students and bookworms alike.
    Course:
    It is a great Management School and I am very happy with the staff, structure and academic services offered.
    Location:
    It is close to a quaint city but in the north so the weather is not the best.
    Accommodation:
    Great flat with great people in a fantastic and convenient campus.
    Settling in:
    It is only the second week but I feel very welcome and everyone is very nice.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Good experience
    Course:
    Poor organisation, some boring modules
    Location:
    Could be closer to a major city
    Accommodation:
    Good value, clean, spacious, new rooms
    Settling in:
    easy to settle in
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE