Member reviews of Leeds Beckett University

  • emilyashley14's avatar by emilyashley14 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Picking this university was the best decision of my life. Yes it could be better organised, however those things are bearable when you have a campus as nice as this one.
    University:
    Despite it being a small campus, Headingley is amazing in how much there is going on. There is a gym, shops and a 24-hour library. You can access the library at any time, almost every day of the year.
    Course:
    The course itself is excellent. It gives you lots of opportunities to get real-life experiences through day trips and placements, even volunteering in the local community.
    Location:
    The Headingley campus is in a prime location.
    Accommodation:
    Unfortunately, as Leeds is a city the house pricing is sky-high for a lot of places (unless you're lucky!). In my first year I moved into a student house which was awful!
    Settling in:
    As I study at the Headingley campus, it is a lot smaller than a traditional university campus.
  • Stale_Milk's avatar by Stale_Milk on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    A real 10/10 experience. I would completely recommend moving away from home to attend university, especially in Leeds. I have gained so much independence and confidence that I would not have got from staying at home.
    University:
    The library being open 24/7 is very helpful as it is a lovely refurbished space which is perfect for concentrating and cracking on with work.
    Course:
    The course is very interactive and involves a really efficient balance of lectures, seminars and laboratory sessions.
    Location:
    The university city campus is very close to the city centre which is ideal for transport and general convenience. Most of the student houses for second and third year students are also only a short walk away which is also very useful.
    Accommodation:
    As the university is based around the city, most of the accommodation tends to be slightly further afield and is unfortunately still quite expensive as it involves other agencies such as Unite Students or Unipol.
    Settling in:
    There are many freshers events to help with settling in, as well as BBQs and social nights at my first year accommodation which helped our flat meet others who we have remained good friends with.
  • UncreativeAme's avatar by UncreativeAme on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It’s not what I had in mind for university (I pictured a beautiful modern campus in the middle of nowhere with a super close-knit community and blah blah blah) but I think I’m going to be happy here. If I can say that, I’m sure you can too haha
    University:
    Again, I can’t be too harsh because I really don’t know yet. There seems to be absolutely loads of things going on but not enough advertisement - you have to seek it out to know there’s a society taster session on.
    Course:
    I’m not too sure at the moment considering I’ve only been here a week, but so far the staff seem friendly and have helped all of my concerns, but emails often go unread.
    Location:
    Pretty big city in a good location, only a 5-10 minute walk from the main centre. Lots and lots of student places nearby
    Accommodation:
    For £94 a week I really can’t complain. Shared bathroom, a slightly grubby shower and a view of a skip but my room is pretty big for the price and it’s only a 25 minute walk from the centre. Not as bad as I expected at all. Could be slightly better (e.
    Settling in:
    I haven’t been too homesick and I managed to get into the swing of things quite quickly but my anxiety has flared up quite a lot since starting, which is the only reason I’m giving 3 stars.
  • Nabzrahman's avatar by Nabzrahman on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    University has been alright, I’ve enjoyed it and I’ve hated it but one thing I have learnt is a lot of life lessons which I can and will take with me to better myself.
    University:
    Uni life has been amazing, met some great people along the way and learnt a lot of valuable lessons which I won’t ever forget.
    Course:
    My financial management teacher leaves class half way to go and put parking on her car, I have video evidence lol don’t get me wrong she’s a lovely lady but her teaching could be improved on
    Location:
    Location is perfect, not to far from town centre.
    Accommodation:
    Absolutely terrible, in my first year I lived at sky plaza which conveniently is a 5 minute walk to city campus however the accommodation itself was horrible. It would flood every other week and we never got compensated in any way. Terrible service.
    Settling in:
    In all honesty it took me some time to find my feet as I have been a mummy’s boy all my life, so living independently was tough but now I’m a master at it!
  • MooRid8's avatar by MooRid8 on 26th September 2018
    Overall:
    Would recommend as it’s such a good uni to attend with the buildings lookjng lovely and the lecture theatres are huge and the tutors are at a certain standard to be able to help with all your needs.
    University:
    Evening is good as there is lots of different events for different types of people and town life is good both day and night with lots of shops and restaurants and bars. Library is big with lots of computers and space.
    Course:
    My tutors are approachable and reply to emails within a reasonable time. They are really helpful when talking through tasks and assignments.
    Location:
    Assesable routes from surround areas by train and bus routes as well as good parking nearby and good student houses and different accommodation
    Accommodation:
    Good quality and has its own bus services which take you into town on a main road. For what you’re paying for you get a lot for the money.
    Settling in:
    They offered different welcome parties/social gatherings to get everyone comfortable with each other and to know different events around the area
  • bee77's avatar by bee77 on 13th February 2018
    Overall:
    The university overall is lovely there is plenty of places to sit and communal spaces that are cared for and looked after. The library is extensive and well stocked. The only thing I have come across which has let it down has been the tutors, as previously stated.
    University:
    The services provided are great. There’s a shop on campus that is affordable and accessible; the cafe is nice and the food is nice; the union bar is comfy and out of the way but accessible.
    Course:
    Leeds Beckett has a library and library staff who are willing to help. The resources are extensive and available easily. However, in the past 3 semesters I’ve had 9 different tutors; I’ve only found 3 of them remotely approachable. The feeback we receive (which is anonymous) is rude and not helpful at all. Some tutors will not answer questions if they are deemed stupid. The tutors I have come across like this do not in any way facilitate a comfortable environment for learning. There are some tutors who clearly have a passion for teaching and they show it - they help you, they are kind and responsive to questions even if they are ‘simple’ or ‘obvious’, and they engage students and treat us like adults. But overwhelmingly I’ve had tutors who are rude and don’t care for politeness or just plain niceness.
    Location:
    Easy to get to as its in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    I’m not in it
    Settling in:
    It was simple to settle in
  • CLukeB's avatar by CLukeB on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    The course in particular is amazing for me and is really well led by friendly tutors. This is helped by the small cohort. The uni is simple but effective, but of a pain to travel out to Headingley campus (or in to the city) but it's kind of nice you aren't stuck to one place in the city.
    University:
    There isn't tonnes to do on city campus but the city itself has tonnes to do and is great for a night out. The sports options in the university is really good and fun to get involved in.
    Course:
    Seems to be getting better and better whilst the tutors continue to try to improve the course through feedback forms. A lot of practical which is exactly what you need for this course and tutors who listen as there is such a small cohort. Sometimes sessions are dragged out longer than needed however and organisation can be a little bad.
    Location:
    City campus is right on the edge of the city centre without being too close and overcrowded. Then Headingley is a much more peaceful and typical university campus. Do the variety in that respect is really good.
    Accommodation:
    Really depends which you choose. But mine is cheap very close to the city campus and the rooms are huge. They also categorise you to how clean and sociable you are etc. However I know some accommodations are expensive.
    Settling in:
    Settled in really well with the course and flat mates. The induction week was good if you make sure you go even though it can drag the first week is really important to get to know your course mates!
  • Aysha27's avatar by Aysha27 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Outstanding university to go to study!!! Found it easy to mix in with the crowd. For many friends who are international students
    University:
    I have been given access to Bradford university library for free as Leeds and Bradford are partner university. So I find that very suitable for me to revise as I don't need to go Leeds every day
    Course:
    There are amazing supervisors and tutors who give you a helping hand when you are stuck. The only bad thing is the library is closed at night unlike many other universities that are open 24/7
    Location:
    A long journey for me as I take a train and bus but if you live near it's a excellent uni to go to.
    Accommodation:
    University library is not opened at night unlike many other uni that are open 24/7
    Settling in:
    Very easy to mix in with the crowd-- many international students who inspire you when you see them working sooo hard!!
  • domz96's avatar by domz96 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    its good
    University:
    lots to do
    Course:
    Its been boring at times
    Location:
    very good
    Accommodation:
    not too good but not too bad either
    Settling in:
    everyone talks to each other
  • Szr's avatar by Szr on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4
    University:
    Lot of work but fun
    Course:
    Timetable is good, labs are excellent, however some lecturers are a bit brief
    Location:
    On the city, very accessible by public transport and city bus!
    Accommodation:
    Good locations at reasonable prices
    Settling in:
    Hard to makes fiends at start, didn't give a tour of uni had to discover for yourself
  • Charlie-Bob's avatar by Charlie-Bob on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    A good experience
    University:
    Haven't gone through societies yet
    Course:
    Just started, so getting used to things
    Location:
    Easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    Live at home
    Settling in:
    Just weeks in, need more time
  • abicowe's avatar by abicowe on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    No bodies perfect, less fire alarms going off
    University:
    Lots of parties and a nice clean area
    Course:
    Enjoy it so far but have had less than a week of lectures so it can't be perfect
    Location:
    Close to the town centre with good and regular buses and really near to where all my lectures are.
    Accommodation:
    Really nice accommodation and fast response when something is wrong but there are a lot of issues with the house
    Settling in:
    Lots on offer and spent lots of time with my house mates and those on my course during freshers meaning I bonded with people well
  • Hlound's avatar by Hlound on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Extremely supportive environment
    University:
    It is financially difficult to be a student, all the facilities and bars/events in the world are irrelevant if you have no money
    Course:
    I am enjoying the start of my course
    Location:
    Headingley campus is beautiful
    Accommodation:
    I do not live in student accommodation because they are all disgusting and many are in a state of disrepair
    Settling in:
    Personal reasons
  • JohnJohn17's avatar by JohnJohn17 on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Very social Uni, Lots of facilities
    Course:
    Forensics is taught very very well, Security is taught teribly
    Location:
    My Campus is on the edge of the city, easy to access the city while have some quiet time!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation I lived in was like a 5* Hotel
    Settling in:
    Made friends easily
  • None 's avatar by None on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    So much better learning about something you want to pursue rather than a-levels just to get grades.
    University:
    Uni is lively and there is a lot of support and a lot of services offered
    Course:
    Good teachers, interesting content, lots of different learning techniques used
    Location:
    Headingley is lively and fun
    Accommodation:
    Too expensive. Bad quality. Took my bond for damage but wouldn't tell me what for
    Settling in:
    Didn't settle in to halls well at all
  • Texturizer's avatar by Texturizer on 3rd October 2015
    Overall:
    Great!
    University:
    Because that's how I feel about university
    Course:
    The majority of the course I am studying is very technical
    Location:
    35 minute walk from campus.
    Accommodation:
    Rooms seem small and the walls feel like I'm in a prison. However the location is close to the town center and the rent is fair.
    Settling in:
    Cannot get used to how small the rooms are in contrast to what I'm used to.
  • MonMon97's avatar by MonMon97 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    Everything is great and resourceful.
    Course:
    The city is lively, fun and full of kind people(at least compared to London). There athletic Union is of a high standard. My course is great!
    Location:
    My accommodation is located halfway between two campuses. And they're 30-45 mins away from it.
    Accommodation:
    The service for some housing companies are inefficient.
    Settling in:
    Went to boarding school so I'm used to it.
  • Don't know 's avatar by Don't know on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    An amazing experience
    University:
    I'm not lacking anything
    Course:
    The timetable, module content and teaching quality and excellent
    Location:
    Leeds never gets boring
    Accommodation:
    It's pricey compared to not being in halls but still a good standard and the whole halls experience is worth it
    Settling in:
    It was pleasantly surprising and unexpected of how well/quickly I felt settled in the environment and around people.
  • Mrs comic's avatar by Mrs comic on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its okay, would gave been better if I had friends.
    University:
    Library id great and student hub informative but not part of any clubs or societies.
    Course:
    My tutors are very good at giving lectures, workshops and practicals while keeping it interesting. I only have to go in 17 hours a week and know once the assignments or exams are coming up, I will definately be spending a LOT of time in the library which also seems like an amazing university library.
    Location:
    Its in city centre so easy to find and get to.
    Accommodation:
    I don't use the accommodation, but upon visiting a friend who does, though small it did look quite cozy.
    Settling in:
    I've been having trouble making friends and a few times gotten lost as some.of the directions to rooms aren't clear enough or cannot be found easily.
  • Unsure's avatar by Unsure on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    1* for the course itself and accommodation (Kirkstall ) 4 star for the university grounds and support and gym facilities
    University:
    They had good gym facilities and plenty of societies to join and support staff
    Course:
    We were in approx 9 hours a week spread out over 4/5 days with 3 hour gaps in between lectures seminars. Some staff wernt helpful and used power points which were outdated and poor quality.
    Location:
    It was a nice old building with lovely grounds out of the way (headingly ) with easy access to the city via bus
    Accommodation:
    It was expensive and everything was outdated the fridge broke and our flat got charged for it even though it was reported at beginning of year. I got charged for damage which occurred after I had left and handed my room over. There was a boiler next to my room which was constantly banging and the mattes had blood and sick on it from the previous user
    Settling in:
    I never did feel at home as I was constantly worrying about a flatmate that was constantly smoking weed and using other substances in the flat and banging everyone else's doors down ( half of our flatmates started commuting or staying at other friends accommodations )
  • i cant remember's avatar by i cant remember on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    The experience is really good, my course is challenging but rewarding and the campus is really nice.
    University:
    I like it, there's a nice atmosphere on the campus and the students are friendly.
    Course:
    Good modules on the course and the tutors and course leader are honest and friendly
    Location:
    The campus is nice and so is the town but commuting on a bus takes quite a while sometimes
    Accommodation:
    I thin the housing is nice and affordable but i still live at home
    Settling in:
    Took me a few months to get used to the transition from college
  • Smarshall1993's avatar by Smarshall1993 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I loved it. I would rate it a 4. I would have joined more societies and embraced student life more but the uni help you settle in and it has allowed me to gain employment within one month of graduating.
    University:
    Brilliant facilities but the societies are lacking. There isn't an incentive to join one and there aren't a lot to choose from. More balls/dances would be good.
    Course:
    The lecturers were supportive and went out of their way to help us in our learning. We were given opportunities to have guest lecturers and other lecturers which were helpful in understanding our career path.
    Location:
    Right next to everything: bars, shops, restaurants.
    Accommodation:
    It's good but the quality is not worth the price.
    Settling in:
    Freshers is amazing but everyone gets a little low after when freshers flu hits and the bank account is empty. Friends, lecturers and the events held help you to settle in and get used to the new routine.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, friendly staff, lots of things going on in the city, bars, food, entertainment, shopping etc. Good modern facilities
    University:
    It consumes lot of time and doesn't allow for much social time when working weekends
    Course:
    Timetable is spread over 5 days, with a large gap Monday, which is bad for me as I commute.
    Location:
    It is a fair distance from the train, about 20 minutes walk, but it is central to the city
    Accommodation:
    I live at home
    Settling in:
    My course group is small and everyone is friendly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Djdj
    University:
    Fhdh
    Course:
    Fjdb
    Location:
    Dhdn
    Accommodation:
    Shdh
    Settling in:
    Then
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    As it wasn't rated as a 'top' university, and isn't a redbrick, the reputation worried me slightly. And yet, I can think of no better university to go to, even as I attend a red brick now as a postgrad (they didn't have my course at this level at Leeds Beckett, unfortunately). What I have noticed compared to other universities that friends have been to etc, there is complete and whole-hearted support from tutors that is the most encouraging and helpful thing for a future in your field.
    University:
    The library being open 24/7 was fantastic, I could think of no better feature for a university, and can not think of attending one without this! It was perfect for late night cramming or essay writing which every student goes through (no matter how much they try to avoid it).
    Course:
    The tutors had such commitment, not just to the course but to us, the students. They were so enthusiastic about what they do and it was the perfect way to be introduced to a higher level of studying. It is because of them and my time on this course that I have gone on to do an MA and would like to go on to do a PHD.
    Location:
    Leeds as a city is great for students, but by my final year I had grown slightly tired of the partying student life and wanted somewhere that offered a little more than just the 'student vibe'. The university was in a very convenient location within the city, but I didn't really do my homework before applying and didn't know the city at all
    Accommodation:
    As with any student halls it had its downfalls, but that was more to do with the people that you are housed with than the accommodation itself, and that is out of the university's hands
    Settling in:
    Moving away from home is a big step at that age but it is the best way to immerse yourself in a new city
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I actually like the university it's brilliay
    University:
    Uni can be exhausting at times
    Course:
    It's a very challenging course and tog learn something new everyday
    Location:
    Leeds is a big city and I'm a big city girl
    Accommodation:
    It's alright
    Settling in:
    Everyone on my course is so friendly including the lectures
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good nightlife. Really welcoming lecturers and fun
    University:
    On a sports campus so lots of sporting activies in the day, loads of clubs to join
    Course:
    Some really brilliant lecturers. A lot of times cancelled
    Location:
    Very close to shops and easy to get into the city
    Accommodation:
    Very clean and safe and great for socialising
    Settling in:
    Made new friends straight away
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars as it is generally a good university but some minor things I didn't expect or enjoy
    University:
    Societies hardly have any meetings but the sports facilities are great and cheap membership
    Course:
    It is well taught and interesting but not what I expected
    Location:
    I like the campus but the city is not as nice as where I am from
    Accommodation:
    Only one of them is under
    Settling in:
    Settled in easily
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Leeds is a great city and depending on your course you'll get some really insightful lecturers
    University:
    It would be better if we had just one campus however the facilities on offer far outweigh what I expected
    Course:
    The facilities available are great, sometimes more feedback would be welcome
    Location:
    For me location was great as I was based on the city campus
    Accommodation:
    Overpriced and basic for what you pay
    Settling in:
    Moving away from home was always going to be a challenge but I didn't really find my feet until my second year
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Would rate it highly. Uni is great, however there's still definitely a stigma around going to met
    University:
    Always something going on, great night life
    Course:
    Course is enjoyable, could do with more contact hours
    Location:
    City centre, close to everything, amazing city to live in as a studeny
    Accommodation:
    Expensive for what it was, saw better accommodation at other unis that was cheaper
    Settling in:
    Didn't take long, welcoming atmosphere
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love it
    University:
    Uni life is good
    Course:
    Because I like it
    Location:
    I like it
    Accommodation:
    It's good
    Settling in:
    I get home sick
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    good modern university, great location, good course
    University:
    everything is really good, everyone helpful
    Course:
    good course structure and modules, confusing timetables
    Location:
    city centre
    Accommodation:
    good location, but grotty furniture and dirty walls, however most has now been sorted
    Settling in:
    feel at home within first week
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Helpful and friendly staff on the uni campus and in the student accomadation. Nothing is to much trouble
    University:
    Everything is within easy access
    Course:
    I've settled in really well and I think this is because of the tutors help
    Location:
    Right in the middle of shops, bars etc
    Accommodation:
    Home from home
    Settling in:
    As above
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    8
    University:
    Love Leeds it has everything
    Course:
    Good tutors lots of support
    Location:
    Right in the city next to shops and bus routes
    Accommodation:
    Good housing good prices
    Settling in:
    Took me a while to settle but when I did it was good
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Friendly staff, lovely environmental and a wide range of activities.
    University:
    Having fully explored these yet, but haven't heard much from other students either.
    Course:
    It's still early in the course, so there's still some adapting and 'getting used to' to do. The '3 stars' rating is as a result of ambivalence- friendly staff and nice environment, however sometimes unorganised which can be quite confusing.
    Location:
    It's a lively city, with a lot of variety and lots of things around.
    Accommodation:
    The university accommodation are really expensive.
    Settling in:
    As above, organisation issues.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant 5*
    University:
    Uni was the best three years of my life. I made life longs friends and memories both in work time and out of it and I managed to gain a degree as well. If I could do it again tomorrow I would.
    Course:
    Lectures were interesting and usful. Objectives for modules were clear, support throughout the module was constantly available and both assessment and feedback were thorough.
    Location:
    Broadcasting place is a great building. All the other art based courses leeds beckett run are also in the building so theirs lots of inspiration. I love leeds as a city, there's always quirky things going on, plenty of music venues, bars and nightclubs.
    Accommodation:
    Lived in opal 1. Wasn't the cleanest of accommodations. Possibly a little bit too big- see someone once and then never again, large groups of people created lots of noise. Overpriced for the facilities. Not all bad though as I was placed with two of my current best friends.
    Settling in:
    I love being independent and straight away being able to decorate my room and go out and I've the way that I wanted to I felt a sense of freedom. I chose a university close to home so I visited regularly meaning I never really felt that home sick.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    For my particular course, considering the fee I'm paying; I find the university pretty nice. You just gotta be active and there are a lot of opportunities available to develop your talent and learn.
    University:
    Library is open 24X7 all year around, even on Christmas! So I can research anytime I want to. Campus shops have a decent variety of stuff to choose from at an economical price.
    Course:
    It's almost what I expected and most of the modules are very interesting.
    Location:
    I'd prefer a larger city like London.
    Accommodation:
    Close to university and feels safe and comfortable.
    Settling in:
    Took longer than I expected because it's hard to find a great variety of vegetarian food in Leeds.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect couldn't ask for anything better
    University:
    Amazing food and nightlife
    Course:
    Tailored to me excellent teachers and great solid content
    Location:
    Extremely central
    Accommodation:
    Amazing facilities amazing people couldn't ask for anything better
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so friendly and make it easy
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    5*. Loving every minute of it great course and extracurricular activities
    University:
    24/7 library. A very diverse nightlife
    Course:
    Amazing course structure, organised, lots of assistance given by lecturer's. Well spread-out timetable. Good amount of time for self directed studying
    Location:
    Great city lots of cultural shopping drinking establishments close by
    Accommodation:
    Moving in was really easy and stress free. Excellent room good size with lots of storage space. Comfortable bed. Overall excellent quality for the price
    Settling in:
    Friendly house mates and people on my course. Accommodation help line always available. Tutors always happy to help.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    lots of clubs and events
    Course:
    Very enjoyable course
    Location:
    in the city centre, lots going on
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is very modern and clean
    Settling in:
    Very easy to get around, everyone is friendly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    so far so good
    University:
    good so far
    Course:
    so far so good
    Location:
    love the campus
    Accommodation:
    clean and affordable
    Settling in:
    took me a while
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's great
    University:
    I like it there
    Course:
    The content is really great and the staff are so friendly
    Location:
    I love Leeds but it's quite a walk from the train station
    Accommodation:
    They're nice, even though I don't live there
    Settling in:
    I feel at home but i'm not fully happy yet
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    cool uni and campus and great people
    University:
    good for sports and drinking
    Course:
    not a very organised course.. seems like they dont think things through in my second year our exam content got changed last minute
    Location:
    pubs pubs pubs
    Accommodation:
    kirkstall brewery was amazing met friends for life there, headingley is great for second year onwards as its round the corner from uni and near loads of pubs
    Settling in:
    had some trouble in second year with teachers and wanted to leave
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoyed it and as long as you're prepared for it to have its difficulties and to be patient when trying to meet people you really get along with, you'll be able to find things you love. I personally loved my course
    University:
    Plenty of societies and clubs to choose from
    Course:
    The tutors were really invested in teaching - not just in their own research
    Location:
    The campus was in the city centre so it was easily accessible
    Accommodation:
    It was very cheap considering its location but still expensive in terms of trying to cover rent with a student loan
    Settling in:
    It took me a long time because I came from Northern Ireland to England which was very different culturally
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Previous comments
    Course:
    It's niche , lovely and something I love .
    Location:
    Easy to travel to, city centre location. Amazing city.
    Accommodation:
    Expensive, yet lovely
    Settling in:
    The best city, loads of diverse places .
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    Students union was rubbish
    Course:
    Good first year, lack of contact time during final years lack of teaching assessment , assessed rather on essay writing ability
    Location:
    Best of both worlds - city life not far
    Accommodation:
    Student Accommodation was basic but had all you need and a bit of a trek from uni, student area was really good though
    Settling in:
    Settled in pretty much straight away, never wanted to go home
  • by Anonymous on 10th September 2015
    Overall:
    .
    University:
    .
    Course:
    . The content was enjoyable and the staff were engaging
    Location:
    I love Leeds. Great balance of modern and traditional
    Accommodation:
    Organised well, decently furnished.
    Settling in:
    Moved up with a mate and found a couple of new mates quickly. Once that core was set I was fine.
  • by Anonymous on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good.
    University:
    Leeds is a great city with plenty to do throughout the day. Facilities at the uni are very impressive.
    Course:
    Everything about this course is perfect.
    Location:
    The campus itself is very lively and bubbly. The location is that far from this city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Friends who live in student accommodation have rated it highly and are happy living there.
    Settling in:
    Everybody at the university is very welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    I love the university
    University:
    The societies centre mostly around sports. However they encourage students to set up their own if there is not one for what you want
    Course:
    It was everything I thought the course would be and more. Details and covers all areas of the career
    Location:
    I love the fact of the city and headingley campus. One in the hustle and bustle and one away from it all in the country dude
    Accommodation:
    Various different halls options ranging in prices. However I did not like how they sorted the students to decide who lives with who
    Settling in:
    Leeds is a friendly city and I settled both into the course and the lifestyle up north very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    The university experience at Leeds Beckett is great. I'm so glad I decided to go. I have made a lot of friends and I love my course. I have completely fell in love with Leeds the town as there is always something to do.
    University:
    The uni life is very good. The university have a lot of services to offer. There are a lot of sport activities going on, you won't to find like minded people in that aspect of things. There are lots of societies which regularly meet and plan activities. The library is 24/7 all year round, it can't get any better.
    Course:
    Everything is well organised, never had any problems with timetable and course structure. The modules are well taught and the lecturers try to make them as interactive as possible. Feedback on work can sometimes be a little vague, but for the most part it's fine.
    Location:
    Leeds is amazing! There is so much to do, the city center is full of places to eat, pubs, bars and lovely sights.
    Accommodation:
    Student housing is very cheap, you are never short of options. There are lots of popular areas to live in, near the city center or away, the further out you get, the cheaper accommodation becomes.
    Settling in:
    I felt settled in really quickly. When I first arrived everyone was really friendly and welcoming. I feel like Leeds is my home now rather than my actual home town.
  • by Anonymous on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    I am enjoying the course so far but I don't spend much time with the SU
    University:
    Welfare is good but there could be a better choice of societies
    Course:
    In general staff are very helpful and enthusiastic, the majority of modules are useful
    Location:
    In the city centre
    Accommodation:
    One place I lived was expensive and poor quality while another was a reasonable price and better quality
    Settling in:
    Students Union could have been better
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    3/5
    University:
    Things to do are mainly going out and shopping, the societies are relatively limited focussing largely on rugby, netball and hockey. There are no Watersports other than surfing.
    Course:
    Some of the syllabus is very basic and didn't seem to advance from first to second year.
    Location:
    Out of the centre with fairly good bus service from the centre and accommodation
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive, poor quality, noisy
    Settling in:
    First year I hated uni due to the lack of opportunities provided to meet people
  • by Anonymous on 26th August 2015
    Overall:
    5 Stars would do again
    University:
    Its mint
    Course:
    its appropriate
    Location:
    City centre
    Accommodation:
    Its appropriate
    Settling in:
    Its appropriate
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall I enjoyed my first year at Leeds Beckett, despite it's (unfairly) poor rankings in the league tables I highly rate the university in terms of academic structure and most of the staff are very knowledge about their subject areas. The university buildings themselves (Including Broadcasting Place, which was voted the World's Best Tall Building in 2010) offer either top class modern facilities at the City Campus, or a historic campus located in a lush suburban setting at Headingey.
    University:
    Far more interesting and enjoyable than having a monotonous full time job at my age.
    Course:
    Lecturers we mostly very good and had excellent knowledge of their subjects. Course organisation was on point and any feedback was often taken into account by staff.
    Location:
    The two campuses are both excellent for different reasons. Headingley Campus is stunning, has excellent facilities and is located near the main student areas of Leeds. The City Campus is right in the centre of Leeds, so is therefore a short walk from all the important parts of the city. The city of Leeds of itself is incredible, in my opinion.
    Accommodation:
    Would be five stars, however some of the top end accommodation is somewhat overpriced. Offers a good variety of halls and the accommodation service provide by the uni is very efficient.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home almost straight away, because my hometown was small & boring, so I'd been looking forward to moving to a big city such as Leeds.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would recomend it greatly as it is in a very lively city and there is always something to do, both at the university and outside of.
    University:
    As I said, there is a lot going on and offered.
    Course:
    I enjoy the university and feel as though the quality of teaching is at a high standard. The lecturers all have useful industry experience, which they relay to us.
    Location:
    The city is great, very lively and there is a lot happening.
    Accommodation:
    I live at home and commute.
    Settling in:
    I entered directly into the second year so it took me some time to settle as friendships and such had already been formed amongst students who were there from the first year of the course.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    For studying music courses 6/10 due to disparation of students over a number of halls of residence For sports 9/10 due to the proximity and the amount of equipment and facilities
    University:
    There was a massive variety of bars and clubs for everyone in Leeds, and Headingley offered great pubs and takeaways
    Course:
    The first semester was well organised and delivered well, but the second was exactly the opposite. Most of the students were unsure of criteria and after asking for s clearer explanation were still unsure on deadline days.
    Location:
    It was a long way from the city centre which hindered networking with other musicians
    Accommodation:
    It was incredibly overpriced at
    Settling in:
    It was nice to have everyone in the same boat
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's really good. Leeds Beckett actually gives a damn about its students and that's really visible.
    University:
    Lots of events, societies and sports opportunities. The uni has 2 campuses, therefore a lot goes on. I think the uni life could be better, in the sense that there could be more socialising events for students. But there's always room for better so for now, I'm happy with what I get.
    Course:
    Great tutors and lecturers, no exams, plus a 3 month placement in the first 2 years of study. Perfect!
    Location:
    It's in the city centre, which is great. And Leeds is quite a busy city with plenty to do. It's also really green!
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in uni accommodation, therefore my rating is neutral.
    Settling in:
    It was practically instantly...
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Leeds Beckett is a friendly and safe environment to learn in, and for the most part is a great university.
    University:
    I don't use most of it, but I can see that it is good.
    Course:
    It's a very good course, as with most things in life it could be better. Most of the staff are incredibly knowledgable and helpful.
    Location:
    Too many idiots smoke in the city.
    Accommodation:
    I didn't us my university housing so can't say either way.
    Settling in:
    I had the support of my partner, the most stressful thing was moving away from home, university was child's play compared to that.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    overall the uni is great and the lecturers supports you during your time there.
    University:
    well my lectures are good and i enjoy them, which the 24/7 library is really helpful
    Course:
    i enjoy the course
    Location:
    its close to shops and the city centre
    Accommodation:
    i went for cheap accomadation which i have say it was not the best compared to my mates. but met goo friends
    Settling in:
    just became close to flat mates quickly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Uni can be very costly, be sure that the course you choose is really what you'll enjoy and want to study
    University:
    Great friends and social life.
    Course:
    Work experience is not included within the 3 years of study- too book based.
    Location:
    Based in city centre, many local attractions and eateries
    Accommodation:
    Don't have much knowledge of this subject
    Settling in:
    Lecturers could have been a lot more understanding and welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Just did
    University:
    Uni is awesome guys
    Course:
    Was great
    Location:
    Centralised
    Accommodation:
    Awesome parties
    Settling in:
    Just did
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing city not too far away for me. Good variartion of campuses and good nightlife
    University:
    Leeds nightlife is amazing. But everything too far apart
    Course:
    majority of tutors very informative and helpful
    Location:
    Next to train station. In middle of city centre
    Accommodation:
    En-Suite toilet!!
    Settling in:
    First time away from home. Outside of comfort zone
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing. 5 star.
    University:
    I love it. So different and fun. Buzzing with students. Nightlife is great. Cheap places to eat and shop. Good uni.
    Course:
    Too much group work. Some lectures didnt turn up on sevral occasions. Some tutors are fab. Times are set out good. I like alone study time and uni to start in the morning not the afternoon.
    Location:
    City is a good spot. Busy and lots of shops surrounding it. Easy to get too walking and with public transport
    Accommodation:
    Opal was too expensive based in the quality. It was very basic and old. The kitchen and appliances where falling to pieces. Loved my flatmates though
    Settling in:
    I loved being away from home. I had lovely house mates. I settled in quick with uni, friends and work
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I have so far enjoyed my time at leeds Beckett! Any discrepancies in my enjoyment has been down to individual needs on my course
    University:
    24hr library is great!
    Course:
    Time tabling is very erratic, not helpful for commuting students. Some lecturers unsure of topic they're teaching.
    Location:
    Great central location
    Accommodation:
    N/a I love in my own rented apartment
    Settling in:
    Great group of friends, vast amount of activities available via uni

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE