Member reviews of Liverpool John Moores University

  • haworth14's avatar by haworth14 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It is a good university and tries hard to satisfy students but is not quite a Russell group uni
    University:
    It's great to live with friends but classed as 'independent'.
    Course:
    They are patronising and do not give enough contact hours. The teachers are friendly though
    Location:
    It is in the middle of a vibrant city
    Accommodation:
    Much cheaper than Uni of and is closer to town.
    Settling in:
    I love Liverpool and it's a friendly city
  • ZoeLT's avatar by ZoeLT on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I am so glad I picked this university to go to. If you pick the right accommodation, it is cheap but modern (Ablett House for 2nd and 3rd year or Glassworks for first year).
    University:
    There’s a lot of bars, clubs and shops around Liverpool that are within walking distance. There’s 3 different libraries that are all accessible.
    Course:
    The staff on my course are extremely helpful and friendly. Because there is a lot of people on the course, we mainly have lectures but also have seminars now and then. We do quite a few practicals and lab based practicals which is really interesting.
    Location:
    It is split up into 3 different campus’ so it can be a struggle if you’re at different campus’. However because it is so close to the centre of Liverpool it is convenient as you don’t have to get the bus, it is only a walk away.
    Accommodation:
    The student accommodation I live in right now - Ablett House - it is affordable and I feel so comfortable living here. They do social events often such as quizzes, pre drinks, free pizza, movie nights etc.
    Settling in:
    I found it quite difficult moving into university in my first year as I was home sick quite a bit and found it hard making friends because it was such a big course.
  • Elliebaker's avatar by Elliebaker on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    It’s one of the best of the non-Russel group unis I think but if I could do it again I’d pick a uni with more of an active student union, the lack of at LJMU really bothers me
    University:
    Our student union isn’t great, we haven’t got a student bar or anything like that but there’s a good range of societies and everything’s right in Liverpool city centre which is great
    Course:
    The timetable is pretty good and the course structure works really well but the lecturers seem unapproachable and treat you like Highschool students rather than adults.
    Location:
    My part of the campus is right in the city centre, I’ve never had to walk longer than 15 minutes from my accommodation
    Accommodation:
    There’s a wide range of accommodation to choose from depending on what you want and how much you’re willing to pay etc so you can get a pretty good flat/house for a lot lower than other university students pay.
    Settling in:
    I was really ill in my first term and so I couldn’t socialise as much and I was really homesick so it took me a long time to settle in
  • Ddbot's avatar by Ddbot on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Very good place
    University:
    Great nightlife and many societies
    Course:
    Good teaching, good facilities
    Location:
    City centre
    Accommodation:
    Clean, great location, friendly people
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming people
  • ErinBrien199's avatar by ErinBrien199 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Tutors are great. Lectures are always made engaging. Uni life is great theres always activities going on for you to get involved with
    University:
    Its great. There are lots of accessbile ammenities provided
    Course:
    Tutors are approachable and make sure that they help in whatever way they regardless of whether the situation is academic or personal. The content of lectures is engaging.
    Location:
    Easy to reach. Close to the city centre for when you are on long breaks
    Accommodation:
    I have not lived in student accommodation or housing
    Settling in:
    I settled quite quickly as the environment was comfortable
  • jadder1224's avatar by jadder1224 on 17th August 2017
    Overall:
    Overall, an incredible University, I know I am going to enjoy the rest of my time here.
    University:
    Uni life is awesome! Very relaxed atmosphere I really enjoy studying there. Libraries are located around the city, and provide a wide range of textbooks and journals.
    Course:
    Just finished my first year. Lovely unniversity, the staff are so helpful and friendly. My tutor always answers my emails when they have the chance. First year was actually okay, with a 9 til 5 day only occuring occasionally. The course mainly consisted of lectures, there were also workshops once a week, which gave me a chance to interact and discuss work with my group. I always found the modules very interesting, especially learning about how drugs work and their interactions with the body. Teaching was good, lecturers were always clear and we were often given verbal feedback during our workshops. Lectures were most of the time good, with the occasional boring lecture. But overall, I love this Uni!
    Location:
    Very good location, about ten minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street Station. Liverpool is a very vibrant city, perfect for students.
    Accommodation:
    Unable to rate this aspect as I lived at home.
    Settling in:
    Settled very quickly and soon formed a close friendship circle. Workshops helped a lot as it enabled us to discuss work and interact with new people.
  • Deutschisttoll's avatar by Deutschisttoll on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    University is great, social isn't as good but I'm just conscientious
    University:
    The societies I have joined are welcoming and have made me feel at home.
    Course:
    My lecturers are lovely and supportive of us all. The hours are very manageable and more than others I know.
    Location:
    Liverpool is a friendly city and always welcoming.
    Accommodation:
    Security is good and the accommodation is kept clean.
    Settling in:
    I live close and have been homesick. I am introverted and haven't made as many friends in my accommodation
  • gretalawlerx's avatar by gretalawlerx on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Really love this uni
    University:
    There is always lots to do
    Course:
    I really enjoy the course
    Location:
    It's very central, near where I live and near shops
    Accommodation:
    It is a very nice, clean and safe place to live
    Settling in:
    I felt settled straight away
  • SalfordUniApp's avatar by SalfordUniApp on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Hmmm
    University:
    It's got access to everything on site
    Course:
    Find it boring in lectures sometimes but others its engaging
    Location:
    Convenient
    Accommodation:
    Waste
    Settling in:
    Settled but nor fullt
  • Stephie2227's avatar by Stephie2227 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I cannot fault it
    University:
    Because I love my uni life so far
    Course:
    I'm confident that i made the right decision about my course it's fun and interesting, the technology we use as part of our learning is top notch I have the worlds leaving experts and researchersin the feild giving my lectures and mostly the content is fascinating
    Location:
    I love the city the night life is amazing but it's a cultural hub there is so much to see and do Everything is on your door step when unlike right in thievery of the city
    Accommodation:
    It's clean modern spacious and of a high standard All of my friends from other accommodations are jealous
    Settling in:
    Because I feel I settled relatively quickly
  • hannahdbarrett's avatar by hannahdbarrett on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The city is brill and if your at an in town campus it will be loads better than being at marsh
    University:
    Liverpool is fab
    Course:
    Feels like a lot of the things we learn are irrelevant and we could learn a lot more practical things which would be helpful in our future careers
    Location:
    My campus (I.m marsh) is too far out of town
    Accommodation:
    Liked my accommodation a lot but it was expensive
    Settling in:
    Got on with my housemates very well which helped loads
  • Beckez's avatar by Beckez on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love John Moores, everyone is so friendly and kind, there are many reps to help you about there are plenty of guidance when it comes to work in university and outside. It's just brilliant
    University:
    I love my university and everything with it, the library, the shops, the cafe and the people
    Course:
    It's everything I wanted and more, all the modules are amazing and the getting us ready for work is perfect
    Location:
    I love Liverpool, I think the campus is really easy access for my bus route, all the ones I've been to are 10 minute walk from the bus stop at most
    Accommodation:
    I've been in a few times and they seem pretty decent, most have en suites and are fairly decent sizes
    Settling in:
    I feel like I made friends quickly but sometimes found it hard to find places and that made it a bit difficult at first
  • Rachierain's avatar by Rachierain on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Friendly staff and students. One of the best (and cheapest) cities to study in. Everything is on your doorstep
    University:
    There's a great selection of things to do if you don't want to go out and get drunk every night
    Course:
    The timetable is weighted perfectly between contact hours and time to complete assignments. The lecturers are friendly and approachable and they make every lecture worth attending and paying attention in
    Location:
    Up a big hill from my accommodation but other than that it's perfect
    Accommodation:
    City centre location, cheapest accommodation recommend by the university and huge rooms!
    Settling in:
    Settled in very easily and quickly
  • SophieSmall's avatar by SophieSmall on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5 stars. Good city, cheap to live in. Friendly staff and much support is offered.
    University:
    I am overall happy at this university and am glad to be here.
    Course:
    I just don't feel that engaged or enjoy it as much as I had hoped.
    Location:
    It's right in the city centre, everything you need is within reach. Also a lively and cheap city to live in.
    Accommodation:
    Poor sound proofing. Barely got any sleep, very loud.
    Settling in:
    I did pretty well settling into the city and made friends
  • Emmmmmmaxx's avatar by Emmmmmmaxx on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great university, accommodation is okay, but problematic if you need disabled access
    University:
    Library always open, good opportunities
    Course:
    Lectures are all enthusiastic and there if you need them, working out your own timetable is a pain though
    Location:
    Close to city centre
    Accommodation:
    Good area, access could be much better
    Settling in:
    Not really settled yet
  • BigF101's avatar by BigF101 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    A very good university, loads of places to eat. Staff are great.
    University:
    Most of it isn't in my campus, clubs tend to be out of reach.
    Course:
    Only just started so not too sort what it would be like throughout the year.
    Location:
    Not too bad, bit of a hike.
    Accommodation:
    Not in accommodation
    Settling in:
    Very quickly, everyone is nice.
  • Jessberesford_'s avatar by Jessberesford_ on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Everyone is so supportive and helps you to achieve your ambitions. There's so many and they help you every step of the way.
    University:
    Everything is local, there's everythin you need within 5 minutes.
    Course:
    My tutors are all approachable and give me lots of support. There are also so many opportunities for placements and developing your own character to reach your aspirations.
    Location:
    I'm located in the city centre so everything I need is there, there's also lots of sightseeing including the amazing Albert docks! My campus is just outside the city centre but gives me a sense of belonging to another family on campus as its much quieter and has lovely surroundings for a working environment.
    Accommodation:
    Very spacious, includes everything you need and more. There's also a social area which includes a pool table and table tennis as well as a gym on site. The staff are also very helpful.
    Settling in:
    All staff from both accomodation and course helped me settle in very quickly, after the first week it had felt like home. There's always someone to talk to if you have any problems
  • 08tlegg's avatar by 08tlegg on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's amazing
    University:
    Lots of activities and events and clubs, I spend little time at my flat as there is so much to do
    Course:
    Tutors are amazing and I love the course
    Location:
    It's in the heart of Liverpool, location is amazing
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation and value for money in this area of Liverpool is affordable for a student
    Settling in:
    Lots of different events being held by the union and various other events companies
  • GraceNatalie's avatar by GraceNatalie on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great they have a great way of welcoming new students
    University:
    Have not got started with everything yet
    Course:
    Perfect for my chosen career path
    Location:
    Very close to the city centre so very convenient
    Accommodation:
    I commute
    Settling in:
    It has been very easy settling in
  • crparso123's avatar by crparso123 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So many perks such as free things! The course is accredited and we have the opportunity to get a world of work certificate. The city is great and very welcoming.
    University:
    Accommodation and university are great. I feel safe and have settled in quickly
    Course:
    Because I love the course and the content!
    Location:
    Liverpool City is just amazing!!! Everything is local, everyone is friendly and it's just an all round great city
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is really nice and very close to my uni buildings
    Settling in:
    Uni, accommodation and liverpool SU are very welcoming and my flat mates are amazing
  • Shaun.ash's avatar by Shaun.ash on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Na
    Course:
    Na
    Location:
    Na
    Accommodation:
    Na
    Settling in:
    Na
  • IxI_Rhys_IxI's avatar by IxI_Rhys_IxI on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    N/A
    University:
    N/A
    Course:
    With a small cohort of students, professors can provide sufficient support for everyone to succeed on a well balanced course.
    Location:
    N/A
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    N/A
  • dk21 's avatar by dk21 on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Uni itself here is awful, the location is the only good factor. lecturers are uninterested and unhelpful; will take days to reply to your email or even just not reply at all.
    University:
    No extra campus activities offered, dull.
    Course:
    Dull content and unengaging
    Location:
    Liverpool is a great friendly city with low crime, fun people and great atmosphere with brilliant shopping and nightlife
    Accommodation:
    poor quality and value for money but really close to everything
    Settling in:
    settled in quickly
  • harrym96's avatar by harrym96 on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    ABSOLUTLEY amazing.
    University:
    Good variety of societies and well stocked libraries. However, catering on campus is a huge problem.
    Course:
    Mostly high quality lectures and good organisation. However, some staff are not very helpful.
    Location:
    The city campus is in the city centre, 5 mins walk from main shopping centres.
    Accommodation:
    Whilst not all the highest quality, the halls for first years are reasonably cheap for city centre prices.
    Settling in:
    I felt very homesick for a long time, however Liverpool is now classed as home and I wouldn't change it for the world.
  • mophysartin's avatar by mophysartin on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Such a great city based university
    University:
    Perfection
    Course:
    It's ok
    Location:
    In the city and its close to all accomodation
    Accommodation:
    So modern
    Settling in:
    No response given
  • danimeatsix's avatar by danimeatsix on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant - would recomend
    University:
    Lots to offer
    Course:
    Good variety course, a lot of contact time
    Location:
    Great city
    Accommodation:
    Affordable and decent living
    Settling in:
    Great city
  • DodieC's avatar by DodieC on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I personally do not like the university but do know students who love it, I find the scattered campuses and resources very frustrating as you can't easily access things and lack of sign posts around campus makes navigating tricky. Having no dedicated accommodation means you can end up with a mixed bag of people from multiple year groups and universities which can cause tensions to be very high in the flats. The IT support team are useless and can be rude
    University:
    The drug use within the student group is excessive and too many people can't have a good time without pills. LiverpoolSU wants to be good but fails because it isn't advertised very well and doesn't have a site and so can't host events. The libraries are very good but the staff working in them aren't. You get free gym membership but they don't really tell you where the gyms are and the nightlife is good albeit riddled with drug users and dealers which leads to clubs being shut down regularly over the past academic year. The student welfare team are amazing but small and therefore over subscribed, also based in a central location so not easily accessible to all students.
    Course:
    the course is only having its 4th intake this year so is still a new course, some of the modules do not seem well planned and are not delivered well. The time table was okay but occasionally there would be a 3 hour gap between sessions which when at small campus with very little to do and not many computers accessible you couldn't really work in your down time or anything. Feedback was often only accompanied by markers initials which can make getting further feedback very hard as you do not know who they are.
    Location:
    Liverpool isn't a very nice city to live in as its is very dirty and loud, the student districts are both very run down and drug use is viewed as acceptable and normal. LJMU has three campuses across the city, two very central with a third out in the sticks which requires students to pay for travel out of their own pocket as accommodation isn't available near the site.
    Accommodation:
    University doesn't own any accommodation and it's all private so varies greatly in quality and cost. I couldn't afford even the basic accommodation from my student loan payments. I M Marsh campus where I am based is about 4 miles away from the city centre and the halls, there used to be some uni run ones on site but they were shut down. I think that was a poor choice.
    Settling in:
    I settled in okay but I had previously been a fresher elsewhere so it wasn't a new experiences, the SU's fresher events weren't great as the uni has multiple sites and so they weren't held in LJMU buildings and instead in others across the city which led to confusion when navigating.
  • Hayleybopppers97's avatar by Hayleybopppers97 on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fabulous so far
    University:
    Fab location and always busy
    Course:
    They read stuff off the blackboard
    Location:
    Near city centre
    Accommodation:
    Very noisy
    Settling in:
    Made so many friends and so greatfuk
  • ABrowne10's avatar by ABrowne10 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would definitely recommend it to anyone in sixth form, to come away with a degree after is a real bonus too
    University:
    Has its hard times but mostly such a good experience
    Course:
    Fun and easy to engage in
    Location:
    Accommodation is about 100 yards down the road
    Accommodation:
    All needs are catered for and really fun to live with other students
    Settling in:
    Settled in in a matter if hours
  • Whats TSR? 's avatar by Whats TSR? on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Friendly, helpful, all the things you want to settle in to a good university.
    University:
    Need to experience it abit more
    Course:
    The quality of the course
    Location:
    Centre of town, close to everything :)
    Accommodation:
    My CLV accommodation is rather bad.
    Settling in:
    Really friendly and streamlined
  • Sanger123's avatar by Sanger123 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    I'm studying at the Byrom Steet campus. So far, my experience has been a blast. Liverpool is a great city (once you understand the accent). The lectures have been somewhat interactive and very interesting.
    University:
    I've been waiting for change from my usual boring life so just a little bit of fresh scenery did it for me. It's great meeting new people. There's plenty of libraries with a lot of computers on hand. There's also endless benefits such as discounts for being a student.
    Course:
    All in all it covers a wide range of computing. It's also very interesting, as multimedia contributes huge towards the Web. I haven't gives 5 stars because of the 9am lectures.
    Location:
    It's a bit out from the other campuses. I've been provided accommodation closest to the university which is just 5 minutes away. This can be annoying if I need to go into the city centre, or on a night out as its a 15 minute walk to the clubs.
    Accommodation:
    We have security checks every night which is annoying. Makes it feel as though we're living at a prison. The wifi is terrible, I've had to switch to my mobile data to just complete this survey it's that bad. The price is also quite steep, but I must admit the kitchen and living area is fancy compared to other locations.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly. I made friends straight away and got a couple of good flat mates. I've knocked the starts to 4 because I have to now fend for myself, I've never ironed before so it's proving to be a challenge
  • JetsetterSam 's avatar by JetsetterSam on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4
    University:
    The university does not have one central campus, but us rather spread around 3,so there is no "core" student life
    Course:
    Everything is made simple, hence you are able to be more organised and create more time for individual study.
    Location:
    It's in the city centre, very easy to reach
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is nice, but It is pricey in my opinion. As I find its cheaper to live in a private flat
    Settling in:
    It took me about 3 weeks to settle in.
  • Donohu3's avatar by Donohu3 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    I don't really like going out
    Course:
    Seems fun
    Location:
    Close to home
    Accommodation:
    Good choice of places to live
    Settling in:
    Miss my family a bit
  • Hollwhiteheadx 's avatar by Hollwhiteheadx on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Overall I would rate it 10/10 as they offer great support throughout the courses,an try to make the university experience great for all students
    University:
    I enjoy the facilities available I never really got in to the society's but campus life was great first year prefer to live on house now tho
    Course:
    Offers so much support throughout my course and really down to earth
    Location:
    Great location city centre close to all shops and restaurants to grab bite to eat thoughout the day
    Accommodation:
    It's great halls but there not amazing they need to be refurbished and more modern but it's what you make of it.
    Settling in:
    I settled in great got to know loads of people and made friends for life
  • Brain_co's avatar by Brain_co on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's good location people clubs
    University:
    People here are really friendly, met lot of new people good parties not too expensive .joined interesting clubs
    Course:
    So far we haven't done much. Lectures are long not informative
    Location:
    Close to shops
    Accommodation:
    Quality good apart from sharing the toilet . Location is good shopping centre and gp close by , also very close to my uni campus .
    Settling in:
    Facilities were not fully functioning , my room was double booked so I had to be placed in another room. Somethings weren't in the flat
  • rdevlin's avatar by rdevlin on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's an amazing university, and even though it was my insurance I wouldn't go to another uni if offered a place now.
    University:
    I haven't found much else to do because I don't like clubs, at the moment just living here is a novelty though
    Course:
    I can't fault the course, I love the structure, the content and the tutors are amazing.
    Location:
    Liverpool is such a wonderful city with so much to do, easy to navigate and remember routes with plenty of landmarks!
    Accommodation:
    It's so lovely and modern however noise is an issue, as to be expected with students.
    Settling in:
    I'm still not fully okay, I still worry every day and get homesick, the support is there I'm just worried about making friends and settling down.
  • vrachel42's avatar by vrachel42 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Wonderful.
    University:
    Really enjoying everything so far and all of the opportunities there are.
    Course:
    I feel the support from staff is excellent and the resources provided are really good. The course gets us to explore the subject matter without spoon feeding it. I'm really enjoying it.
    Location:
    Love the city, really central campus.
    Accommodation:
    I'm living in private halls, (student housing company) they are really nice but very expensive.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home very quickly, the city is great and I found learning my way around really easy, there is a lot going on in Liverpool but it isn't too big
  • .'s avatar by . on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    .
    University:
    .
    Course:
    .
    Location:
    .
    Accommodation:
    .
    Settling in:
    .
  • liz94's avatar by liz94 on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing. Couldn't recommend it more. Amazing city and supportive university.
    University:
    Libraries are great
    Course:
    I just enjoy the course
    Location:
    Right in the center
    Accommodation:
    All university-accredited accommodation is fab, close to amenities and well-staffed
    Settling in:
    Just made friends and settled in super quick
  • ?'s avatar by ? on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect for students who want to persue a career in architecture who won't get the academic requirements to attend leading universitoes.
    University:
    Plenty of university teams and activities and free gym membership!
    Course:
    For a low entry requirement course for a competitive subject it has allowed me to persue and excell in the subject, where the academic entry requirements elsewhere would have not allowed me even to study architecture.
    Location:
    All resources are within close proximity of each other and the city is great for architectural learning.
    Accommodation:
    Unite students recommended by the university for housing was of poor quality and high cost. The location was excellent for its proximity to the city centre and univerisy buildings.
    Settling in:
    The people are lovely and welcoming!
  • JackTM53Synopsis's avatar by JackTM53Synopsis on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Lots of stuff to do
    Course:
    Because everything is spot on
    Location:
    Right in the heart of the city
    Accommodation:
    Not sure
    Settling in:
    Made lots of friends, feel like I belong here
  • sophies92's avatar by sophies92 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The best I could have hoped for! LJMU is a perfect match - its a brilliant course in an amazing and vibrant city!
    University:
    Loads of great (and relatively inexpensive) shops, many of them giving student discounts. Lots of places to eat, free gym membership and lots of places to go!
    Course:
    All staff members are approachable and happy to answer any queries. There's a lot in terms of financial and emotional support (which is particularly useful in first year) and there are a lot of contact hours. Much of the work is done in smaller groups
    Location:
    There's so many different things to do! The campus is in the city centre so everything is only a short walk away and there's loads of affordable public transport :)
    Accommodation:
    From what I can tell the rooms are good sizes and Liverpool isn't too expensive.
    Settling in:
    As someone who was particularly nervous within a couple of weeks I was happily settled - upper year students were lively and supportive.
  • Asteriae (possibly, I can't remember)'s avatar by Asteriae (possibly, I can't remember) on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    My experience was great, I made loads of friends, learned lots of new stuff and had a brilliant time
    University:
    There are loads of things to get onto, lots of 'nights' that are fun and have good music and atmosphere
    Course:
    because the tutors were helpful, they gave useful and relevant feedback
    Location:
    Liverpool is vibrant and has great facilities for expanding my knowledge - it was great for creative writing because there are loads of open nice and different events that I could get involved in
    Accommodation:
    Because it was close to my uni, had good facilities but cost more than it was worth
    Settling in:
    Because we had a residential trip in the first month. It got everyone bonding and friendly with each other
  • Afbaz's avatar by Afbaz on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, Liverpool is great and the location of the Byrom Street campus is brilliant. All the halls are close by to the uni and still pretty central to Liverpool town
    University:
    Everything is easy to get to, clubs are great, resources and library was very good. Would say the student union isn't good for JM as it only really covers Uni of Liverpool. Would be nice to have more campus bars or along those lines. Freshers fair really didn't highlight very many associations. I don't know much about the university in terms of supporting students who do volunteer work and stuff, I know Leeds and Manchester are active in supporting and encouraging students and making them aware of all their schemes
    Course:
    Minority of lecturers I would consider not very good, generally very good and well organised. Very intense course
    Location:
    Close to the city, everything is walking distance
    Accommodation:
    Good uni website in terms of finding housing appropriate to you and your course. Easy to navigate
    Settling in:
    Took me a while to fully settle down but immediately felt comfortable and welcome
  • Amandahartley 's avatar by Amandahartley on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing r
    University:
    N/a
    Course:
    I loved my course. It offered different things to what I expected
    Location:
    Very central
    Accommodation:
    Because of who I lived with
    Settling in:
    It was easy to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Uni overall is the best experience, especially for people like me who struggle to socialise properly. It's built up my confidence and I've met some of the best people. Everyone is nice and always willing to go out of their way for you
    University:
    Accommodation life isn't the best, otherwise the society's and clubs are the best places to be
    Course:
    Lectures and feedback off the lecturers really help as they expand on their points and to into as much detail as possible
    Location:
    Right in the middle of town and a 5min walk from the accommodation
    Accommodation:
    Quality is just above average for accommodation
    Settling in:
    It's easy to feel right at home almost instantly, as everyone's really nice and welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    University seems to have a keen interest in student welfare. Very good support systems in place and a focus on making sure students are coping, not just about grades. Amazing social life, best, local and cheap nightlife. Interesting modules with great lecturers.
    University:
    Loved student life. Loved where i lived and accomodation. Nightlife fun, nearby and cheap. Free gym membership included very nearby. Helpful students union. Library across the road from all accomodation. John Moores is known to be very sociable and the best for nightlife!
    Course:
    Overall course was really good. Great timetable innovative lessons i loved the modules i did and teachers were great. Not perfect as some lecturers not as good as others and would have apreciated more one to ones.
    Location:
    Love the city, campus and accomodation both very central. Nights out very close everything was within walking distance. Nice community feel, everyone was very friendly.
    Accommodation:
    My accomodation was central and cheap. It was comfortable and had a great atmosphere which i found was most important.
    Settling in:
    Within the couple of hours i got on well with the people i lived with. First night we socialised with lots of others at the halls and had a great night. Lectures were only downstairs so felt i fitted in very quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    While I enjoy my course I feel the over-beuracratic pressure from the higher ups has managed to stifle a lot of spontenaiety for others on my course. However on a day to day basis this isnt too noticable and pales in comparison to the positive factors
    University:
    Libraries are fantastic, free gym membership, great support network and resources if needed
    Course:
    From second year onwards the new head of fine art has maanged to keep the entire course motivated and focused ans excited about their own practices while also giving practical guidance on survivng as an artist after the university experience
    Location:
    Right by town, nice studenty area, nice buzz and no trouble
    Accommodation:
    The house I am in is more expensive but given that it's a 15 minute walk to uni and the house is in great condition and so feels like a home it's definitely worth spending the extra money
    Settling in:
    really good community feel both in the course and with my flatmates
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    University experience is very good
    University:
    Sufficient amounts of clubs and societies to join, good night life, good courses and staff members who are friendly and ease you in nicely to university life
    Course:
    Organised, clear but so far too much introduction to admin and not enough get-go towards the course
    Location:
    In a good place close the the city centre but not too far into it, however the area surrounding Marybone has seen a few incidents at night time and this makes me uncomfortbale
    Accommodation:
    Very good refurbished accomodation with a 3/4 bed and good kitchen however the personality questionnaires matched me with someone extremely different to myself and others in the flat
    Settling in:
    Settled in very well with the support of staff and knowledge of the area helped me feel comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good uni but not very organised with placements.
    University:
    Exciting and fun and great for independence.
    Course:
    Not enough experience time in school but good quality seminars.
    Location:
    Love life in Liverpool, great city and great night life.
    Accommodation:
    Expensive but good for first year for the social aspects.
    Settling in:
    Settled in very quickly and made friends straight away.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far I have enjoyed my time at university but have only been here for 2 weeks so have yet to fully experience university life. However what I have experienced so far has been excellent and I would definitely recommend the university to anybody thinking of coming here.
    University:
    I have had excellent service at the libraries where they helped me find the book I needed for my course and all the staff are very friendly as when I have been a bit lost they will help me find my way, so will many of the older students.
    Course:
    The course is excellent in helping me ease into university life. I like the structure of the course and the way we are given assessments. The blackboard app we use is an excellent way for me to get the information I need before I get to my lectures.
    Location:
    I get the bus everyday from home and as the university is right in the city centre it takes me no more than 15 minutes to get there.
    Accommodation:
    I am staying at home so have not experienced the accommodation myself but have heard it is very nice.
    Settling in:
    I have struggled with talking to a lot of new people at once.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Very good
    Course:
    The course is good just not how the timetabled rooms in different buildings
    Location:
    Very close to campus
    Accommodation:
    Location is good but very basic and abit dated
    Settling in:
    Not properly settled in yet takes time
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great university with a range of activities and studies, with great tutors and staff and a fun environment.
    University:
    I love uni life. Being so close to the city and the shops, the nightlife, varitey of people and the clubs and activities that go on! I feel it is so much different to where I live and I love the fast paced and exciting side of living and studying in the city. The work is challenging but so rewarding and enjoyable!
    Course:
    It is a great course and every tutor is helpful and friendly. My hours are small (3 hours) but with no days off which I feel a bit unfair, as I have to cram everything around these times etc.. Whereas other dual honours students have 2 or more days off! I enjoy working both towards English and Drama and this pushes and challenges me in exciting ways.
    Location:
    My campus building is in a quite awkward position right out of the centre of town, which at first was very difficult to find- no one really helped.
    Accommodation:
    Lovely accomodation! much better than most i have seen. Comfortable furnishings and in a great location.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite quickly, mainly because my flat mates are lovely and we gelled well. I have felt homesick but my classes and outside activities have enabled me to feel more at home.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really enjoying it so far, have deadlines and assignments already but really helped by classmates and tutors. SU is very helpful too.
    University:
    Free gym membership, library and computer equipment all really useful. Loads of society's to join and lots of socialising however I haven't socialised as much as I have different circumstances (family and house) than other students.
    Course:
    I only a week in and although I like the course I don't love it, yet.
    Location:
    It's a 10min walk from the station but not in city centre. On a Friday we have a lecture in the city.
    Accommodation:
    Can't comment as don't live in student housing
    Settling in:
    Friendly staff and members on course, all getting on well and socialising
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Ljmu is a great place to study
    University:
    Was unimpressed by societies on offer at freshers fair, I myself am interested more in photography, fashion and literature. However the vast majority of societies on offer were sports or religion.
    Course:
    Majority of course content I enjoy in particular American classics, timetable is quite excessive in comparison to some of my friends as there is a lot of early starts and I am at university everyday.
    Location:
    Grand central is an excellent accommodation as it is in the centre of the city. In walking distance to shops, places to eat and go out. The night life is very good and my campus is only a 5/10 minutes walk. Lime street station is also next to the accommodation meaning it is highly convenient for travelling home or away. The city has a lot to offer culture wise in relevance to my English course also with a library near by and access to the Tate.
    Accommodation:
    The location for grand central accommodation is very good it is also a very sociable and busy environment to live in. However it is quite expensive and the system for reporting things that are broken or not working in the flat is not well organised at all. Me and my flat mates have experienced many problems such as a faulty hob that cannot be turned off, a plug hanging off the wall, fridge turning itself off, broken shelf and faulty lights, this was all within a few days of arrival.
    Settling in:
    Liverpool is an amazing city to live in and my campus is only a short walk away from my accommodation, I was also very lucky with my flat mates as we get along very well. I have only just started my course and everyone's seems very friendly and approachable. However i feel the university system 'black board' could be improved.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fab Uni
    University:
    I like it
    Course:
    Because contact hours are reasonable, yet not too much. Lots of self study but also open available from staff.
    Location:
    Bit far from the city centre, but Liverpools a lovely city.
    Accommodation:
    Nice room, reasonably well positioned.
    Settling in:
    Lovely flat mates and friendly staff at accommodation & at uni.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Nice city, nice people, plenty of help available if you don't settle in instantly.
    University:
    Lack of student union (pub) and with the buildings being so far away it seperates the arts from the sciences.
    Course:
    I enjoy my modules and appreciate the fact that we get a choice.
    Location:
    Close to the city and accommodation.
    Accommodation:
    Student accommodation was full of bugs and breakages that staff were reluctant to sort. Student house was in a good location at a reasonable price but it is almost impossible to get in touch with the landlord and when we do we have to wait days (even weeks) to get anything fixed.
    Settling in:
    Didn't get on with my flat mates in halls, to the extent that I had to move out of the flat. Feel more at home in second year now that I'm living with friends.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Its a good university
    University:
    Overrated
    Course:
    We havent started anything new
    Location:
    Its on outskirts of town and close to train station
    Accommodation:
    Its close and comfortable but my roomates are annoying
    Settling in:
    Because
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    A very up and coming uni
    University:
    Long hours but enough time to socialize
    Course:
    Perfect for my standards of life and education
    Location:
    Liverpool is amazing
    Accommodation:
    Very good quality, cheap but out of town
    Settling in:
    Quickly got into a good social group
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    It was hard but manageable
    Course:
    I enjoyed my time at university
    Location:
    It was local to me
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was nice
    Settling in:
    I took my time to settle into student life
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Everything is free and easily accessible
    Course:
    It's interesting
    Location:
    Too many locations spread across the city
    Accommodation:
    Modern good location
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming staff
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Very welcoming, friendly and make it easy for you to settle in - there is no other university I would rather be at
    University:
    Good facilities
    Course:
    everything is good
    Location:
    Close to centre
    Accommodation:
    Good
    Settling in:
    I settled in easily
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great atmosphere, really friendly
    University:
    Very independent but can't hav space to breathe because of accommodation and noise
    Course:
    It's flexible to suit me, staff are great. Not experienced long enough to give 5 yet
    Location:
    City centre, everything to do
    Accommodation:
    Great site, lots of security
    Settling in:
    Everyone friendly
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Really great staff who fit the uni well. They make everything easy with loads of support and some great societies
    University:
    All of the above I would class and great but not prefecf
    Course:
    It's pretty good.
    Location:
    Great location expect being up the hill. One campus is a train ride away
    Accommodation:
    Great location Fair price but quality is slightly low
    Settling in:
    Joined 2 societies and got on with people on my course quickly but it still took 2 (ish) weeks to get fully settled
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great and friendly uni
    University:
    Good library facilities, large range of clubs and societies, friendly student union
    Course:
    Enjoyed what has happened so far but am not far enough into the course to give a better judgement.
    Location:
    Generally easily accessible, around 10 minute walk from main city centre and from my bus stop
    Accommodation:
    From what I have seen from my friends' flats, the quality and location has been great.
    Settling in:
    Still not fully adjusted, only been at uni for 2 weeks
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's the location and the people you meet that make your uni experience!!
    University:
    Everything anyone ever needs
    Course:
    Poorly organised at times
    Location:
    Best place to do an art course outside of London
    Accommodation:
    I live at home
    Settling in:
    It's my home city so didn't have to take time to settle into a new place
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its a great university
    University:
    Its overrated
    Course:
    Its very interesting, but a very slow start
    Location:
    Its just outside of town and clise to my accommodation
    Accommodation:
    Its spacious, modern, and very close to my campus
    Settling in:
    It took time to get to know my flatmates and get used to other people
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    This uni is really good, recommended as accommodation is good and a quick walk from campus' (unless your at IM Marsh). The courses are really good, assessment and feedback are good! Also have world of work which is very useful
    University:
    Student union is really good and always there to help, there are also several societies I've been to and enjoyed social life is really good!
    Course:
    I do like the course I just think certain aspects of it could be improved for example tutors
    Location:
    It's my home city that I came back to and never want to leave again I love it and everything is in walking distance e.g. Town, campus', accommodation etc
    Accommodation:
    It was good however again it could still be improved, the staff are extremely helpful but the buildings themselves were sometimes not good and also should in this day and age have washing machines
    Settling in:
    I moved back to my home city so I knew the area but I settled in quick making friends from halls and my course!
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I really enjoy coming to university, all the staff are extremely friendly, there are a lot of great facilities and I would highly recommend LJMU to anyone.
    University:
    The library services are excellent and the welfare team and support from some of the services provided are the university are good.
    Course:
    I like the course and the module content, the quality of teaching could be better and I think the lecturers could use a better range of resources for completing work outside the class.
    Location:
    I think the location is excellent it is easy to get to and there is plenty to do for students living out.
    Accommodation:
    The location and quality of the student accommodation is very good, the atmosphere is good however it is not ideal for students who want to do well at university. The cost of the student accommodation is expensive especially for students, in which for most students the student loan does not even cover the cost of the accommodation alone.
    Settling in:
    I think this is because it is situated in a town location, there is a lot to do outside of university and you don't feel restricted to the campus.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate LJMU a 10 out of 10. The nightlife is brilliant and even if you do not like that sort that thing, the university puts on different events that you can attend. Not to mention all of the societies that you can join which allows you to make friends that have the same interests as you do.
    University:
    Just as crazy as all my friends said it would be but have loved every second of it.
    Course:
    It's a good course but I'm not sure if it is what I want to do anymore.
    Location:
    A little bit out of the way, would of preferred to be in the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Good flat but was a little bit worse for wear in some places
    Settling in:
    I get on with my course mates and have found some of the best friends I could of hoped to have. Also tutors do their utmost best to make sure you are okay.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good uni in a good location, with well placed support and facilities
    University:
    Good quality services offered
    Course:
    Still getting to know lecturers/timetable
    Location:
    Liverpool is a very diverse city
    Accommodation:
    Good location and accommodation is of a reasonable quality
    Settling in:
    Took me a while to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a really friendly uni
    University:
    Liverpool is really good for student life
    Course:
    All the staff are friendly and ready to help with anything that I need and my course is really interesting
    Location:
    It's in my home city
    Accommodation:
    It looked really good when I had a tour and friends really like the accommodation they are in
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really friendly and we also had introductions on everything before we started
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Lecturers are all really welcoming and considerate. Nightlife ie fantastic
    University:
    Haven't really explored all of these yet
    Course:
    Haven't really started the course fully, but really enjoying it so far
    Location:
    Really central to the city centre. Love it
    Accommodation:
    Quality is not great for the price but really convenient location for lectures and town centre
    Settling in:
    Felt mostly at home very quickly. Just occasional pangs of homesickness
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I love my lectures, and everyone in my flat is really cool.
    University:
    Not really anything uni planned.
    Course:
    Because I like it
    Location:
    I really like the city.
    Accommodation:
    Its expensive, but the rooms are nice.
    Settling in:
    Still don't feel settled in yet.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really awesome city. Tutors on the course are all helpful.
    University:
    The student union has many sport societies to choose from. And Liverpool is s very vibrant city to live in.
    Course:
    It's still early days. But things seem to be going well
    Location:
    Fantastic location in a city full of culture
    Accommodation:
    Staying a prospect point. A little pricy but nice flats and good security.
    Settling in:
    Still a lot to learn and get used to
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    Its so much fun
    Course:
    I both the lecturers and modules
    Location:
    Its great
    Accommodation:
    It feels like home
    Settling in:
    I fell in love straight awat
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    very good
    University:
    liverpool night life is awesome
    Course:
    because its ok
    Location:
    close to city centre which is good
    Accommodation:
    accommodation was nice
    Settling in:
    because i didnt miss home
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    If I could go back and choose again I'd choose JMU again definitely.
    University:
    Loads of facilities/things to do all round the city.
    Course:
    Tutors were overall brilliant, facilities were top of the range
    Location:
    Liverpool is a great city, especially for students.
    Accommodation:
    Halls in first year weren't great but 2nd and 3rd year I had nice accommodation
    Settling in:
    It did take a bit of time but the uni helped by encouraging us socially
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a good uni, great people and an amazing city! Also voted better than the local russell group university this year!!
    University:
    It's good
    Course:
    Because overall it's good but there's room for improvement.
    Location:
    The city is great
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable and clean but I've seen better
    Settling in:
    Because I couldn't wait to go and enjoyed it from the start.
  • by Anonymous on 10th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent Uni
    University:
    There is loads to do and loads to see. never a dull moment
    Course:
    Lectures are very student oriented. Lecturers are all willing to meet at anytime to provide assistance on course related and non-course related issues
    Location:
    In the heart of the city, no need for busses as its all 5-10 minutes walk
    Accommodation:
    Expensive and small rooms
    Settling in:
    The city has a great vibe, night life and theres always people to make friends with
  • by Anonymous on 29th August 2015
    Overall:
    I can honestly say that I love it here ! Having come from a small town the vibrancy of the city has become a much loved site for me. I love that everything I could possibly need is in walking distance of each other and that the people heee are so Accommodating
    University:
    Staff at all sites around the university are both helpful and polite they are always willing to be of use to you and make there position on site known to you before you need them in order to minimise the time it can take for you to find them .
    Course:
    I enjoy the wide array of options the course gives, it provides you with guidance for the choices you are making then and there as well as future ones both within the university course itself and with employment opportunities .
    Location:
    Liverpool is such a vibrant and cultural city! There is something there for everyone -whether that be sports, shopping or clubs and bars or even a cosy alcove to enjoy a good book.
    Accommodation:
    A range of accommodation to suit all budgets and all are in walking to academic buildings
    Settling in:
    I felt there was always someone to talk to should I need it and therefore didn't feel like I needed to withdraw myself from daunting social situations, making it easier to get comfortable within my new surroundings
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    Best years of my life!
    Course:
    Great teachers and good material
    Location:
    City location
    Accommodation:
    I stayed at home and don't know the student accommodation gave it 3 for ease
    Settling in:
    Friendly welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Great balance of work life and social life
    Course:
    It's exactly what I expected with a high standard of teaching and research
    Location:
    Lovely city campus
    Accommodation:
    Clean modern and on sight staff were welcoming and helpful
    Settling in:
    Felt at home straight away
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would definitely recommend John Moore's and Liverpool as a city. There is excellent night life with barely any distance to travel between important facilities or shops.
    University:
    Everything is great. However, being a mature student, sometimes the loudness on a night and inconsiderate actions of some students can ruin the experience.
    Course:
    It's enjoyable and well taught. Though some modules have questionable reading choices.
    Location:
    Liverpool is the only city I could see myself living in as it isn't overly busy all of the time and is quite pedestrianised. My uni is spread throughout the city though, which could be a pain to some people.
    Accommodation:
    I didn't go into university accommodation or housing. I instead opted to live via a private landlord and therefore cannot really give an opinion. From what I have heard the affordability of the accommodation is extortionate though.
    Settling in:
    I felt welcome from the day I began.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Love uni life
    Course:
    Love the course and the people in it
    Location:
    Everything is within walking distance
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is near the uni and a fair price
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    I can not speak highly enough of LJMU, nothing is ever too much trouble.
    University:
    A truly balanced life Is offered between work and play. The uni has an excellent SU.
    Course:
    All tutors are happy to help in all aspects of like. Students are well looked after. Tutors are passionate about their subjects and teach them well, nothing is ever too much trouble. Assignments are explained in depth and challenge students but are not impossible.
    Location:
    Close to amenities and many transport routes.
    Accommodation:
    Excellent locations and very good room standards.
    Settling in:
    University staff made this an easy transition.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    ,
    University:
    Cause it's great
    Course:
    Teaching at this university is terrible.
    Location:
    Good city centre location so your able to find your way around the city
    Accommodation:
    It's a great way to meet new people
    Settling in:
    ,
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic
    University:
    Drinking isn't that fun haha
    Course:
    It's a fantastic university! The tutors are great and Liverpool is a fantastic city! What more could you want?
    Location:
    Centre of liverpool
    Accommodation:
    Because I paid extra to be in a studio flat
    Settling in:
    I enjoy being at home so it was hard for me
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Everything at university, i feel at home. Tutors are always welcome to help and other university staffs are friendly
    University:
    Our student union has lots of social activities. Everyone can join it.
    Course:
    All first year students are have trouble, but all tutors are helping to solve it.
    Location:
    Place of the university is close to coty centre and close other accommodation
    Accommodation:
    I like the accommodation place. Its close to university and city centre.
    Settling in:
    Of course I am a international student, so it's hard to feeling i am at home. However, i did not take long time that I feel at home. Everything at university is comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The location is great, the city is lively yet affordable
    University:
    There is always something to do
    Course:
    I enjoy the course, it's in depth, and there is a lot of support
    Location:
    My campus is in the city centre
    Accommodation:
    It's affordable
    Settling in:
    It wa easy to make friends and that helped a lot
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Its perfect for students who are away from home fir the first time. Its all really accessible and it has the best nightlife ever!
    University:
    Its a great student city and theres always something new to do at affordable prices
    Course:
    So much fun but needs more organisation
    Location:
    Right in the city center and easy to get to
    Accommodation:
    Good locations... Standard is average
    Settling in:
    Made to feel very welcome
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    My first year of university has been amazing, I couldn't have thought of a better place to start a law course and I have received the right amount of support I've needed
    University:
    The university is so friendly in the staff and students! The library is amazing, I spent most of my first year in the library
    Course:
    Because it has been very beneficial towards my studies
    Location:
    It is very close to the train station which is great
    Accommodation:
    I live at home
    Settling in:
    On my induction I made new friends and the first week encouraged us to make friends, as I knew no one on my course this made me settle in quicker
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's friendly, fun and vibrant, in a city that will never leave you bored. I've grown up so much in the last few years, and thanks to uni I'll get the career I really want.
    University:
    There are loads of gyms around as well as being able to get a student discount basically everywhere you shop and eat. The nightlife is amazing and really cheap, and there's plenty to do for free!
    Course:
    It's a fun course, but I feel the tutor to student contact and communication could be improved.
    Location:
    It's in the middle of everything, close to accommodation, the library and lots of bars, restaurants and anything else you might need.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is close to the uni, whichever halls you choose. Some aren't amazing, but they're improving every year and are becoming better value for money.
    Settling in:
    The city is incredible, and the people I met at uni made it feel a lot more like home!
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    4*, good but nothing outstanding
    University:
    Societies could be better but everything else good
    Course:
    Overall it is a great course
    Location:
    Relatively good and central location but buildings could be closer to each other
    Accommodation:
    I haven't been
    Settling in:
    Really friendly people
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    As expected
    University:
    Fitness and shopping were excellent
    Course:
    Course could have included a more practical element
    Location:
    Some building could do with being more central
    Accommodation:
    N/a as lived at home
    Settling in:
    Liverpool is a friendly city
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5 there is a lot of help on hand for everything
    University:
    Student life is amazing
    Course:
    I enjoy almost all of the modules
    Location:
    Can walk easily to everywhere
    Accommodation:
    There okay, but to get good accommodation you have to spend a lot!
    Settling in:
    I settled in straight away
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Id give it a 3.5 or 4 theres always room for improvement but with everything it has to offer theres no where I rather of gone
    University:
    Great facilities could do more events but a great place to be
    Course:
    The staff were all friendly and helpful most lectures are interactive
    Location:
    Very close to town so very easy for shopping with accommodation a five minute walk away and the fact its on a main road is weird as you barely notice or hear any of the traffic when your inside
    Accommodation:
    As good as many other accommodations I've seen if not better allows your own space while also having a communal area
    Settling in:
    Confusing at first but once you know where your going your on your way
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty cool. Nice people, nice food. Get the metro to St. Michaels and go to lark lane. Most amazing food and a world beer pub.
    University:
    No response given
    Course:
    Some teaching methods and organizational skills could be better
    Location:
    My campus was in the very centre. Brilliant.
    Accommodation:
    Marybone wasn't great. Best bet is one of the new ones.
    Settling in:
    Didn't really have a problem but missed free food
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate as a 3/5.
    University:
    The university offer a range of Union which you can join and also the library services is brilliant. Other than there aren't sufficient places for you to study in the library during busy times
    Course:
    There is nothing special about it
    Location:
    It's about 10 min walk from all restaurants and fast food chain
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in student accommodation
    Settling in:
    The teacher was quite helpful when you are in need
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Top notch! Great city, great students!
    University:
    More positive memories of my first year opposed to negative
    Course:
    Tutors were all great, made me feel very welcome.
    Location:
    City campus, and city life go hand in hand!
    Accommodation:
    Compared to my friends located in other cities, the price of living in Liverpool seems to be reciprocal of the cost, you pay for what you get.
    Settling in:
    Freshers though..
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's all great
    University:
    Love it
    Course:
    It's been great
    Location:
    Amazinf
    Accommodation:
    N/a
    Settling in:
    Was helped out loads

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE