Member reviews of London School of Economics and Political Science

  • williamwuilong's avatar by williamwuilong on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Excellent. You will love it if you like a fast-paced environment.
    University:
    Everyone is quite hardworking. It is what you make out of it.
    Course:
    Interesting content, good teachers, good job prospect, lots of ECA opportunities
    Location:
    In central London. Unrivalled location.
    Accommodation:
    Acceptable
    Settling in:
    London is rather convenient
  • AdamM100's avatar by AdamM100 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I would say that LSE is a very good university if you are confident and willing to make new friends with people of all races and nationalities. Also, you have to be hard-working and determined to do well in order to stay on top of things.
    University:
    There are hundreds of societies specialising in finance, sports, culture, faith and much more. The library is massive and beautiful. So a lot of people really like spending time there and revising in the library.
    Course:
    The timetable is manageable and if you find the timings difficult then it is relatively easy to request a change of class given that you have a valid reason. The course structure in the first year is very rigid and not very flexible.
    Location:
    It is at the hub of London and there are a wide range of attractions. So you are never bored. Also, the biggest financial firms are just a few minutes away, so if you do have an internship then it is convenient.
    Accommodation:
    I live at home and the commute is roughly 40 minutes. As I am in my first year of university and am 18, I qualify for the 16+ oyster card. This saves me quite a lot of money over the course of the year. So I would recommend doing that.
    Settling in:
    Settling in has been fine as you meet a wide range of people. However, given that LSE is a popular university, there are a lot of international students. This in a way creates groups of different nationalities who are reluctant to meet new people.
  • cravingcereal's avatar by cravingcereal on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall pretty nice.
    University:
    Lots of societies to choose from.
    Course:
    Library is really nice and my academic tutor always replies fairly quickly.
    Location:
    It’s close to covent garden and Leicester square.
    Accommodation:
    Staff is nice and location is excellent.
    Settling in:
    Directions were clear.
  • smegsxo's avatar by smegsxo on 3rd November 2017
    Overall:
    It's an amazing opportunity to be in this city at such a highly ranked university and have such amazing lecturers and tutors (since some LSE courses aren't so lucky!) Everything you could need or want is on your doorstep, but beware the workload and price!
    University:
    If you engage in uni life, to whatever extent makes you happiest (though I recommend trying to engage a lot) and find your place in clubs, societies etc. it is amazing. The campus can be very busy and you'll find it easier to find a seat on the tube at rush hour than in the library come exam time, but it really is a good time if you give it a go. The only reason I haven't engaged with 5*s is due to the often high workload that can sometimes prevent you going out or doing stuff a lot
    Course:
    It's an incredibly engaging course, with some boring modules (often the ones that must be done like research methods) and some poor teaching. However, I have only encountered one bad teacher in my 2 years (and 4 modules) so far so I'd say the teaching is for the most part excellent. The timetables can be a bit frustrating and open to change, but are relatively good and easy to understand.
    Location:
    In the centre of london, near covent garden and all things you could ever need and more. It's a gorgeous walk along the river and an amazing (if expensive) city to live in!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation I have stayed at is amazing, has good transport links and is often impeccable. However I know of some people who have had problems that were not dealt with, any I have encountered were dealt with promptly though. The reason for 3 stars is this knowledge of some residences being problematic and also the high cost of accommodation
    Settling in:
    I find it hard to adapt to the amount of work for the first week or so after a long break, but settled into the uni routine easily otherwise. I am not one to go out often (or at all unless it's the holidays) and found it hard to make friends, but I know that's just me and not due to the university
  • tobycook4's avatar by tobycook4 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    So far it has been very good, lots of good people and the course is enjoyable. The location is also fantastic.
    University:
    Many people are here to get their degree and get a good job afterwards, nothing else. So this can impact on the social side of things. However generally it's quite good. The gym is good and the library is good.
    Course:
    The content is always interesting and well structured but in some modules the teaching is not great. Overall though I'm enjoying it.
    Location:
    It's in central London which is genuinely amazing. Despite this the campus is still quite quiet and secluded with nice green space. Location is probably my favourite thing about LSE.
    Accommodation:
    It's cheap (I share a room, which has worked out well) and it functions well. Every night a meal is provided and this is usually tasty and always nutritious.
    Settling in:
    It's relatively small so not too daunting. Everyone is friendly and approachable and by the end of term I had many good friends and a good working routine.
  • BAMBAM98's avatar by BAMBAM98 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    The combination of social experiences as well as a highly stimulating and challenging academic course and climate, as well as the hundreds of opportunities to further your development and career prospects has made my experience so far exceptional.
    University:
    There are so many opportunities, hundreds of societies and sports clubs, the library is fantastic and huge, as well as a very active SU. The only downside is the fact that the school doesn't have many of its own sports facilities, which isn't very surprising given that it's a social science institute, but still would be nice to have our own games hall, etc. However there are facilities available that are shared with the UoL. Further, joining any of the sports clubs allows you to get your activity in. In terms of the social side, LSE is fantastically diverse, so you're sure to find people you like, and who share your passions (pretty much everyone I've met is passionate about what they study, and willing the argue, so I'd say this is a prerequisite for applying). The nightlife in London is great, but expensive. If you're willing to pay, you'll have a fantastic time, but there are still plenty of opportunities to go out even if you aren't loaded. If you're really struggling, there's always Saucy, LSE's Friday club night in the underground club in the SU Saw Swee Hock building (which is an amazing building in itself, and a great place to meet people).
    Course:
    The PPE course at LSE is fantastic because of the depth it allows for each of the subjects, a perk of the four year course, meaning you can do a masters in any of the three. The fact that you are simultaneously developing advanced mathematical skills and a strong understanding of argumentation and two humanities not only stands you in good stead for employment, but also makes for a range of learning opportunities that ensure you are never bored, but very busy. The workload is large, especially as in second year you have an entire extra module dedicated specifically to combining and utilising the combination of the three subjects to its full potential.
    Location:
    It's fantastic having the whole university condensed into just a few streets, meaning you're never late for your classes, and there are always people around. It's also fantastic to be right in the heart of London, you really feel like you're part of the city, especially given that the school is so involved in current affairs, and so many important and influential people choose to come and speak here; it feels like you're at the crossroads of academia and the real world.
    Accommodation:
    Not applicable, I do not stay in university accommodation, but what I have seen of it seems pleasant enough, and the location in central London is very practical.
    Settling in:
    I found it hard to settle in, mostly because I was staying outside of university accomodation (my own fault, I missed the deadline). Later on, however, I have settled in well. Studying in central London is both a gift and a curse, given the huge number of students, as sometimes it feels like you rarely bump into people you know, but on the other hand there are plenty of people to choose friends from.
  • Clara Lat's avatar by Clara Lat on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    LSE is amazing, London life is great and teaching finally gets interesting!
    University:
    There is always something going on, sometimes it's hard to keep track.
    Course:
    The content is really interesting and the lecturers competent. The organization could however use a bit working on.
    Location:
    It's right in the centre of London!
    Accommodation:
    The staff and hall committee are very friendly, it's very cheap for the location and facilities provided.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is really friendly and halls feel like home very fast, the lectures and classes take longer to get used to.
  • Puffin Boffin's avatar by Puffin Boffin on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good both academically and socially.
    University:
    Good support and activities but too career focuses to make it 5 star.
    Course:
    This is because overall the course structure is good with all departments needing 4 misdials and that means you have a lot of outside choice. The lectures are all recorded and feedback is ok. Only downside is that there were slight timers King issues initally
    Location:
    Excellent campus at the heart of London all in one place so little travel between lectures
    Accommodation:
    Good acclamation fairly close, is expensive but worth it when catered food is taken into account
    Settling in:
    I settled in after the first week with the friendly staff and incluvmsive atmosphere.
  • lewinlim's avatar by lewinlim on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    LSE is a great place to be and a very dynamic campus.
    Course:
    The lectures are up to my expectations, the content taught is interesting and the teachers are very approachable.
    Location:
    It is right in the heart of London, where the hustle and bustle is. It is very accessible.
    Accommodation:
    It is clean, comfortable and near the school.
    Settling in:
    I am an international student, and it took me quite a while to settle in as I had to adapt to a whole new environment - living in London, as well as a new school.
  • Lim's avatar by Lim on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The school can still improve
    University:
    The student service centre can be more effective
    Course:
    The lecturers are not that good
    Location:
    Right at the centre of city
    Accommodation:
    There is still some areas of improvement
    Settling in:
    Not really engaging
  • Pakman's avatar by Pakman on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Really good. World class reputation and teaching in a prime location
    University:
    Can't say I experienced much but loads to do in London
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    Right in the centre of London
    Accommodation:
    Only visited halls
    Settling in:
    Small university so easy to fit in and meet people
  • mcube95's avatar by mcube95 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars.
    University:
    I find time to engage in various extracurricular activities and enjoy myself.
    Course:
    Exceptional standards of teaching, high quality and relevant course content and individual attention.
    Location:
    Central London, great access to all sorts of facilities.
    Accommodation:
    Great location (and views), incredible space, great services.
    Settling in:
    I am surrounded by great people who make me feel comfortable and i feel that the environment is very hospitable
  • Dunno's avatar by Dunno on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Dont come here
    University:
    Nothing available
    Course:
    Disgusting
    Location:
    Hate the city
    Accommodation:
    Dirty
    Settling in:
    Unfriendly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Difficult university
    University:
    Central lots of things to do
    Course:
    Little feedback
    Location:
    Very central
    Accommodation:
    Excellent accommodation
    Settling in:
    Friendly environment
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is fantastic with a worldwide reputation, incredible location and a truly rewarding array of degree programmes mean it's definitely worth applying to.
    University:
    Many societies and sports clubs are offered, library is state-of-the-art, student union has a gym, and the provision of student support schemes make it a great place to be.
    Course:
    Timetable doesn't contain many contact hours but the library and quiet study areas are more than satisfactory. Course is well structured and content is interesting, with classes and lectures being taught to a good/high standard.
    Location:
    Situated in central London, 5 minutes from a central line tube station and not to far from the River Thames.
    Accommodation:
    Rent is quite expensive, but this is justified with a comfortable and secure environment in one of the best locations in the world.
    Settling in:
    After one and a half weeks I felt almost completely settled, but it took time due to homesickness, not due to an unwelcoming university as the school is very good.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    The campus was very small and there could've been more societies to choose from, but otherwise I would rate it very good.
    University:
    Just needed some more varied societies.
    Course:
    The teaching was good but the timetable was a bit too much.
    Location:
    Not too easy to commute to from afar because it's not next to any train stations.
    Accommodation:
    It wasn't too expensive.
    Settling in:
    Found friends quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    This is a nice place to be. The people are clever and lecturers are all whip-smart and ready to help. I really like the idea of having classes along with lectures, even if that means you spend a lot of time on campus. Being in central London is a lot of fun too but expensive.
    University:
    Library's fantastic, clubs and societies are pretty fun (sadly lacking Beyonce appreciation society like UCL has), there might be a couple of gyms around (wouldn't know really)
    Course:
    LSE works differently from many others in that they have both classes and lectures. The classes follow up the lectures to make sure you understand everything. Also, they seem to like to talk about the theory behind everything which sure beats memorizing statutes right off the bat.
    Location:
    It's close to everything. Downside is that, being built among office buildings, it's hard to find things the first (or second, or third) time round.
    Accommodation:
    Place was decent and affordable but good luck dealing with a bunch of 18-year-olds who've just been released from parental supervision for the first time. Drunk freshers are an experience.
    Settling in:
    My degree's in two departments: law is competitive, challenging and formal. The anthropology students by contrast are warm, quirky and also very clever.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Best choice possible in the field
    University:
    I have not enough social life time
    Course:
    The course exceeded my expectations
    Location:
    It's located in the heart of London
    Accommodation:
    Sufficient, but it can improved a lot more
    Settling in:
    I fit perfectly here
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very enjoyable, and definitely worthwhile in terms of thinking for the future.
    University:
    Great services, Gym etc. Many societies and clubs available.
    Course:
    Teaching is good, especially feedback.
    Location:
    London is a great city, however walking to and from lectures requires a fair amount of time.
    Accommodation:
    Good quality, slightly less communal than expected.
    Settling in:
    Difficult to settle in accomodation
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is not for everyone
    University:
    Good services offered on campus all day
    Course:
    The timetables are good but not great. The courses/ modules are great. Don't really know about feedback yet but lectures are very nice
    Location:
    It's in the center of LONDON. Everything is near and close to halls. Beautiful surroundings.
    Accommodation:
    Central location and close to bus stops. Walking distance from shool. Great socializing facilities. Food included and rooms are good. Price is fine for London.
    Settling in:
    Still haven't but not long time here yet though I am close
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE