Member reviews of Loughborough University

  • kirstycustardd's avatar by kirstycustardd on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I love it
    University:
    Love
    Course:
    My course is well timetabled with a balance of time. Most lecturers are really engaging, and I enjoy the variety of content. Think there could be slightly more guidance/feedback
    Location:
    40 minutes from home, in the midlands, not far from Leicester, Nottingham
    Accommodation:
    Generally very good, I love my student house this year! Halls were ok, nothing really wrong with them
    Settling in:
    Fairly quickly
  • Tarik98 -'s avatar by Tarik98 - on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    overall is great
    University:
    all good
    Course:
    Love everything here. Lecturers are great, uni life is fantastic
    Location:
    Easy to get around
    Accommodation:
    Its great its my 2nd year living at uni accomodations
    Settling in:
    Everyone very friendly. Staff very helpful
  • chunkychinky's avatar by chunkychinky on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Loughborough has moved up to 4th in the UK university ranking in a number of league tables. As it is not a traditional/red-brisk/Russell group etc. uni, this is mainly down to having the best student experience in the country.
    University:
    The campus has a great vibe with sport going on everywhere, all the time. The SU has events on every night including 3 main nights out in Loughborough a week.
    Course:
    The timetable is busy but manageable with a mix of lectures, tutorials and labs. Modules are assessed by a mix of coursework and exams. Content starts at an introductory and getting everyone up to the same level and gets harder over the years.
    Location:
    The uni is located in the middle of the country so not too far away from anywhere. A 10 minute bus goes straight from the train station to the uni. The town is easy to get around by bike.
    Accommodation:
    Lots of variety of accommodation to choose from. Self-catered en-suite is in high demand but managed to get it 2 out of 3 years. Costs seem high but probably less than other unis, there are some very cheap uni halls without en-suite.
    Settling in:
    From day one, the hall gets you involved in freshers with a free meal on your first day and activities every day and night for the first two weeks.
  • ShaheerMahmood's avatar by ShaheerMahmood on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    .
    University:
    Countless opportunities to get involved in so many different things. This is where Loughborough excels. Could not have imagined to be doing all the things I am in uni at the moment. It's a great platform to kickstart your extracurricular side.
    Course:
    Unique course in the sense that it effectively manages to combine the fields of IT and Business together
    Location:
    Heart of the UK, albeit far from Manchester, and London. Proximity to Leicester and Nottingham would be the biggest perk.
    Accommodation:
    Plenty of options to choose from. 16 Halls, as well as an active social life leads to a great first year experience for university accommodation
    Settling in:
    Friendly, welcoming atmosphere that helps you get into this Loughborough University Family bubble.
  • MargaridaL's avatar by MargaridaL on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Come to Loughborough University if you're ready to engage in a challenging, but kind academic adventure. You'll have help in every step of the way, and the best teaching out there.
    University:
    I cannot talk well enough about the library.
    Course:
    Very updated and modern course. You'll find teachers incredibly passionate about their work, willing to help you personally (long visit times, respond to e-mails quickly) and take feedback.
    Location:
    Ah! I love, love, Loughborough. It's a small town where everything is walking/cycling distance (and cheap!
    Accommodation:
    I am in private accommodation, but one that's approved by LBU's student housing. I wish I had stayed in halls, because my current student halls are much to be desired. Full of faults and unsolved problems, very lax and uncaring staff.
    Settling in:
    Honestly, your department will lead you nice and smoothly throughout your academic journey. You will never be afraid of asking questions, directions or advice.
  • Hiling99's avatar by Hiling99 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I cannot think of any reason why students shouldn't come here. We have every society from Harry Potter to YouTube. There is a healthy competition between halls which makes freshers' week extra interesting.
    University:
    The town is flooded with students during term town but things go a bit quiet during the holidays and if you're staying during that time you get a little bit lonely and homesick.
    Course:
    Lectures are fairly spread out leaving you plenty of time fit some studying in between or run some errands. The course covers all the basics you need to become an expert as well as letting you choose modules based on what you want to specialise in.
    Location:
    The university is 20 minute walk away from town (depending on where you live on campus) but there are shops and cafes on campus catering to your everyday needs so you don't need to go into town. Also, there is a bus that takes you into town.
    Accommodation:
    My student housing was in excellent location for my course, was very clean, reception were very reliable and had excellent facilities.
    Settling in:
    I settled into university fairly quickly once lectures started and met people from my course but I had trouble connecting with my flatmates and therefore freshers week wasn't as good as it could have been.
  • BKYL's avatar by BKYL on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Great uni for sports and they have loads of different sports to choose from whether beginner or pro Friendly people Decent location Amazing campus
    University:
    Most halls are great but catered food is terrible Very convenient student union with cafes restaurants restaurants etc Night life’s great and affordable Lots and lots of sports
    Course:
    Most modules feel quite mundane and either knowledge form A-levels or just common or irrelevant knowledge. Overall the main module DP1 is really fun though and really interesting and definitely a busy one.
    Location:
    A bit far from London
    Accommodation:
    Don’t feel like it’s worth the money Great facilities and location Friendly
    Settling in:
    Very nice staff
  • gproudfoot98's avatar by gproudfoot98 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I have absolutely loved my time at Loughborough. People refer to it as a "bubble" because everything you would ever need is right there. The whole community is a massive family and are so welcoming.
    University:
    There is always plenty of things going on. During the day time there are sporting events to partake in or go and watch, the library, gyms, coffee shops, cafes and restaurants to socialise in.
    Course:
    My course is structured well although there is more psychology than criminology. The modules are all interesting and the lecturers are extremely engaging.
    Location:
    It is in the middle of the country, 10 mins from Leicester and Nottingham and has great and quick transport links to London
    Accommodation:
    I lived in Royce Hall in first year which was a great experience. The halls were cleaned every week by our lovely cleaner and the food was also great. In second and third year i lived in student housing.
    Settling in:
    In halls we were encouraged to socialise at both drinking and non-drinking events meaning we all made friends very quickly. The hall had a family atmosphere and it was a very welcoming place.
  • kateee_d's avatar by kateee_d on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    Its been good so far, staying in halls hoping to be in a bigger more mixed flat to get an even better experience next year
    University:
    Live near library which is brilliant for late night working, open until 2am and 24 hours in exam period. Shopping, there are shops for groceries on campus but its best to do a weekly shop in the Tesco superstore or Sainsburys which are both a half hour walk or ten minute bus journey away
    Course:
    All of the lecturers are extremely kind, if you have any troubles or need any help be that with work, coursework, exam trouble and even personal matters they are very helpful and can always point you in the right direction. The lecturers are good and even though outside reading can be boring its really helpful and you'll regret not doing it when it gets to exams, believe me. The work is serious and they treat it as real coursework giving constructive feedback to prepare you for the next two years. If you aren't into sport it can be difficult but there are always opportunities with 'my lifestyle' to use the amazing facilities for beginners sport and a laugh and make friends. FND, Stuesday and Hey Ewe at the union are a must and town is only a bus ride away.
    Location:
    Campus is great, town is ok, got most high street shops you would expect in a ton, all the super markets. If you want more, Leicester and Notts are only 20 minutes on the train.
    Accommodation:
    I live in Bakewell which is really great accommodation, kitchens are nice and bedrooms are cosy with lots of room for belongings and plenty of cork boards, huge one next to the bed to fill with photos and posters. Kind of expensive though.
    Settling in:
    Didn't settle in great, still haven't really as I'm not totally sporty and not very loud, its definitely a uni for loud, out going and confident people, which I was I was but I'm not particularly.
  • 08ravea's avatar by 08ravea on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    It's a great social uni, with lots to get involved in and do, and great if you want that campus atmosphere, you could go all year without leaving campus
    University:
    So many societies and sports, library is right by accommodation and there's always something to do
    Course:
    Not all of the modules feel like they have been thoroughly thought through by staff as to whether they will be of benefit to the students in our future professions.
    Location:
    Not that interesting a town, is literally dead when students aren't there and there's not that much variety compared to a big city university
    Accommodation:
    All good student accommodation, but the halls are sometimes slow to repair faulty things (had 4 days without hot water in 1st year)
    Settling in:
    Massive friendly social atmosphere on campus, impossible to not make friends
  • zackpollard's avatar by zackpollard on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    The Loughborough University Experience is excellent, I couldn't be happier having chosen this university.
    University:
    The sport/fitness facilities are amazing at the university, the library is huge and offers a vast range of study spaces that students can use for single or group study. The students union caters for most peoples tastes as it has 3 different clubs in the union, the prices of the drinks are fairly expensive compared to other unis however.
    Course:
    I had some previous experience in the fields that are being covered, therefore some aspects were not challenging for me in the first year.
    Location:
    The campus is lovely but it can be quite a long walk to shops if you live on the campus, and the on-campus co-operative is fairly expensive and limited in it's selection
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was clean, spacious and I could not say anything bad about it if I tried
    Settling in:
    I settled in fairly rapidly with the halls organising events so that everyone would socialise and go out, this did vary based on the halls though and it would have been better if the university had more than just the one event for all freshers to attend
  • izalackowska's avatar by izalackowska on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a large university with high level education at every type of degree you want to pursue, and once you get used to it, it becomes a very welcoming and friendly environment which promotes diversity, education, innovation and student voice to be heard.
    University:
    There are lots of opportunities and very good facilities (library, student union, 3 major gyms, loads of sports facilities, a few diners and a couple of shops). The big campus allows for a closed university community which provides a very exciting uni life.
    Course:
    It's still a bit early on to say whether it's a good course or not, but I'm already having concerns whether all my lectures will be clearly conducted and whether I'll be able to seek proper help in time for the exams.
    Location:
    It is a nice, small town, but in itself isn't as eventful or exciting as a bigger city, like Nottingham, Leeds, or specially London. However, it is a safe and friendly area which is good for focusing on studies.
    Accommodation:
    There is a lot of student halls options in and out of campus, and all of them provide a decent place for students to live during their first year, but I personally prefer living in a private/rented flat/house with my friends.
    Settling in:
    For me, it was a bit long because I moved away from home and adjusting to a small town like Loughborough from living previously in big cities was very difficult for me.
  • KimCrow's avatar by KimCrow on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good for most, especially if you like sport. Very friendly and a lovely environment to learn in.
    University:
    Union is great, library is large and close to most accommodation and there is a fitness option for everyone.
    Course:
    So far modules are not to my liking completely, but later there are more interesting modules scheduled, which I am looking forward to and why I took the course in the first place
    Location:
    Twenty minute walk away from town and tesco, lovely green area and not too busy.
    Accommodation:
    There have been problems with the accommodation but they are being resolved as quickly as we are finding them. Location is nice, just outside of uni (although most other buildings are inside the campus) and therefore quite.
    Settling in:
    I don't make friends very easily and have felt lonely at night, especially when everyone else is going out. By the end of freshers I was tired of clubbing but that is what everyone does every evening here in freshers fortnight. Furthermore, parents have not been keeping in contact. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly here though, and fresher helpers have been a godsend. Cannot fault them.
  • Aafaruque's avatar by Aafaruque on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Loughborough has become my home. I have great friends. I love my course and campus life is unique
    Course:
    It's a brilliantly designed course that develops a school of thought that is engineering. It does this through pefect balanced contact times in lectures tutorials and labs. But some aspects that count towards the degree are unfair, such as group projects that leave you disadvantaged. However that's life
    Location:
    Loughborough is a dead town when the students leave. It feels like a retirement home in the holiday season
    Accommodation:
    For the price I was paying it was great hall (Faraday Hall). I also developed great social groups and was 5 mins away from lectures
    Settling in:
    Initially it was difficult however they hold many events that make you feel at home, such as nights out at the union and rag raids
  • JVSAIL's avatar by JVSAIL on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Can do everything I want to do
    Course:
    Timetabling issues prevents the 5 stars
    Location:
    Can't fault it
    Accommodation:
    Can't fault it
    Settling in:
    Had to wait 9 days for AU/Societies sign ups. Not being a drinkers made it hard for the first days
  • timtti's avatar by timtti on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    All I can say is if you want to have a great uni life and also want to have a good time on your course, then Loughborough definitely has those things sorted.
    University:
    The student union in Loughborough is amazing. Its really big, and i holds many events throughout the year. Loughborough has loads of sporting opportunities, even if you just want to play casually.
    Course:
    The Tutors/Lecturers are very approachable and the course modules are interesting. The timetable gives you time to go over the things that you have learnt in your course and to do other things in your own time.
    Location:
    Loughborough has a load of clubs and bars, the supermarket is maximum 15 minutes walk away and the campus is a good size as well.
    Accommodation:
    The room size is larger than I expected. The location of the halls are very close to all of the lecture halls. And these are the cheapest accommodation halls in loughbourgh.
    Settling in:
    I settled in really quickly. All my flat mates are really nice, the night life is great. And the fresher helpers are really helpful.
  • andy.andy's avatar by andy.andy on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    A fantastic uni with great courses.
    University:
    Fantastic Union.
    Course:
    Very good lectures just some go too fast.
    Location:
    Good location and buses.
    Accommodation:
    Wifi is terrible.
    Settling in:
    Can't reliably contact home as the wifi is poor.
  • secret liam's avatar by secret liam on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I think it is a good university giving students a good experience. The students' union facilities are excellent especially the Student Voice department.
    University:
    I am not a huge fan of uni life but it is alright.
    Course:
    The department provides a good service.
    Location:
    The area is excellent and the town is amazing.
    Accommodation:
    The location is good because it is near my lectures. The quality is acceptable and it is quite affordable.
    Settling in:
    It took me a while in first year but I am more confident now.
  • isatukamara's avatar by isatukamara on 24th September 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience has been very goo thus far
    University:
    Good uni life
    Course:
    The course is interesting but challenging
    Location:
    It's in the East Midlands close to many cities
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is quite close to a lot of facilities making it easier to attend lectures and important events
    Settling in:
    Didn't take long to fit in at all
  • samcheema's avatar by samcheema on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience has been excellent despite initially being very nervous about meeting new people etc as well as living away from home. The uni offers really good support services as well as the accommodation service which will help with properties both on and off campus.
    University:
    Really good and big Union. Everything you need is on campus and Loughborough has a pretty good nightlife if you're up for it. Sports facilities are excellent. Wide variety of clubs and sports clubs and sports teams are the best in the UK as we continue to dominate BUCS.
    Course:
    I find the course modules interesting and engaging for the most part and they are suitable to the field I want to end up in.
    Location:
    Campus is good and the town has everything you need but is a bit small. On the plus side both Nottingham and Leicester are very short train or bus rides away. 9 mins to Leicester.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is great and well priced but loses a star because catered food was not for me. It is however very convenient for those with long contact hours such as engineering students.
    Settling in:
    Settled in great with a good mixed bunch of people who I am now moving into a house with.
  • EpsilonSigma's avatar by EpsilonSigma on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent.
    University:
    Library: Amazing. Shopping: Multiple shops, one within 5 minutes of my accommodation for smaller shopping trips. Union: Happy member of LSUCS
    Course:
    The majority of the content is interesting and relevant, and the teaching quality is, for the most part, excellent.
    Location:
    Campus university within walking distance of the town, and with more than adequate transport links to pretty much anywhere by train.
    Accommodation:
    Quality: Excellent Location: Centre of campus, 20 minutes from everywhere, so amazing Affordability: Expensive, but I chose the most expensive accommodation available.
    Settling in:
    It took a while to get used to living with new people, especially since in the first year they clearly did not share my interests...at all. Academically it wasn't difficult - I'm on a relatively small course so it was easy enough to know everyone within the first week.
  • zingrock 's avatar by zingrock on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Outstanding
    University:
    Couldn't have had a better year
    Course:
    I like the course and think it's good, just not entirely sure it's for me
    Location:
    The town is rubbish but country side is good and it's in the middle of the country
    Accommodation:
    Perfect location, really nice feel
    Settling in:
    I'm an independent person
  • tiniethemba's avatar by tiniethemba on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    9/10 loving it in general + new exciting things are being built to make it even better
    University:
    Best uni life that exists I reckon
    Course:
    Always wanted to do this course, taught well, challenging labs/practicals. Lots of choice.
    Location:
    Town is fairly boring
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is pretty good, except WiFi in halls is terrible
    Settling in:
    Settled in quickly, however I already had quite a few friends in higher years
  • shadoweye14's avatar by shadoweye14 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic. Welcoming. Its like another family. And no I am not exaggerating.
    University:
    Again. Refer to which awards 2015 xD
    Course:
    Because even though the University endorses self learning sometimes for new students that can be a daunting task and lead them to understand nothing. Its okay for someone passionate enough not to leave everything to the last moment but a little extra help would be nice.
    Location:
    Its not exactly a london uni. But apart from that we have everything one would look for.
    Accommodation:
    Simple the best university. We won the Which awards for the best university this year didnt we? xD
    Settling in:
    Loughborough Lads are very easy and fun to get along with. 10/10 would go there again. Got me some of the best friends for life at this university. More like brothers. So I'd say i got 'settled in' pretty quick xD
  • Smariah's avatar by Smariah on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's not one of the most highly ranked but trust me it's a great institution! I think it is seriously underrated
    University:
    It has a very intimate atmosphere. It's easy to get help if you need any. The staff members are awesome especially the support they offer from the day you arrive
    Course:
    It really prepares you for what working as an engineer is like in the real world. It's based on both on theory and largely on hands on skill.
    Location:
    Can't really complain since everything was new to me.
    Accommodation:
    I wanted a studio apartment and I got one. It also provides accommodation for the rest of the course hence no hustle finding accomodation outside.
    Settling in:
    I made good friends although I missed Freshers week. Atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming
  • Authentic's avatar by Authentic on 19th August 2015
    Overall:
    As an engineering student, I've had my fair share of work over my 3 years at Loughborough so far yet have managed to be sociable, make loads of friends and take on some new sports and societies i'd never tried before. Everyone is welcoming at Loughborough and theres nowhere i'd rather have gone now that i've had a chance to visit old friends at other universities.
    University:
    Students union and sports facilities at Loughborough are unbeaten - went to nights out at the students union twice a week for the whole of first year and was never bored. There are different themed nights and socials with different societies. Sports is a big part of Loughborough and while there are elite teams, you can take part at any level you like.
    Course:
    The course is integrated with industry with multiple sponsoring companies. This makes it far easier to get industrial placements (required to do both a 10 week and 26 week placement in 1st and 3rd year respectively). The course itself covers a very wide range of subjects including programming, electronics and industry allocated project work (real-world issues).
    Location:
    No response given
    Accommodation:
    Loughborough halls accommodation is excellent and high quality with a community feel between residents. You can stay in halls your entire stay at Loughborough as 2nd years and above can re-apply. All halls are on campus and close to lecture halls and facilities such as the students union and sports facilities.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly in my hall and easy to talk to. My flat consisted of 5 people with a couple of finalists who weren't interested in taking part in fresher activities so I ventured out and made friends in other flats.
  • ArtStudent0411's avatar by ArtStudent0411 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    All good except lack of shops on campus or near by - expensive
    Course:
    Becuase I like the teaching, course structure and lectures but have found some modules very boring and the timetable is very full on
    Location:
    Loughborough isn't that great and its a 25 minute walk from campus
    Accommodation:
    Accomodation is clean rooms are large and not too many students to a bathoom
    Settling in:
    It was very easy to get to know people, staff are lovely
  • Felicity slocombe's avatar by Felicity slocombe on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Feels so safe and community spirited
    University:
    Great student union
    Course:
    Extremely friendly and approachable staff teaching interesting and engaging subject areas!
    Location:
    Good transport links, small but friendly
    Accommodation:
    Pretty good but no kitchen table/ communal area to sit with flat mates
    Settling in:
    Couple of weeks to feel settled in :)
  • R's avatar by R on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    Excellent library facilities, very good shops on campus, excellent sports facilities, welfare division and student union
    Course:
    Very good timetable, course structure, module content, quality of teaching and quality of lectures so far
    Location:
    Just on the edge of town and not too far from a major motorway so easily accesible
    Accommodation:
    Good quality, excellent location and decent affordability
    Settling in:
    Felt at home pretty much instantly
  • cubareiss's avatar by cubareiss on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    high
    University:
    great campus life and library
    Course:
    enjoyable, incredibly enthusiastic staff
    Location:
    far away from nearest city, remote.
    Accommodation:
    I have never stayed in Uni provided accommodation so cannot comment
    Settling in:
    smooth aided transition
  • -'s avatar by - on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing, Loughborough is very easy to settle in to
    University:
    Student union is always bustling and it's very big, something always going on
    Course:
    Because the lecturers are very motivating and interesting and the course is very absorbing
    Location:
    Quiet city but lovely campus, the campus feels like a small village itself which is nice
    Accommodation:
    Clean, spacious, on campus and affordable
    Settling in:
    Great atmosphere
  • chrisratty's avatar by chrisratty on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect. You will love it here.
    University:
    It has the best sporting facilities, it is really friendly and there is always loads going on.
    Course:
    It is perfect. Lots of labs experience, support when needed and brilliant lectures.
    Location:
    It is on the side of a town, which has all you need, but you can easily get into the local citys if you want to.
    Accommodation:
    I am in the middle of campus and my room is cheap, but perfect for me.
    Settling in:
    I had the best Freshers experience ever, with everyone being super friendly and helpful at the beginning.
  • idk's avatar by idk on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    ok
    University:
    ok
    Course:
    ok
    Location:
    ok
    Accommodation:
    ok
    Settling in:
    ok
  • ..'s avatar by .. on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Wouldn't change where I went
    University:
    good balance of studying and social time. Lots of sporting facilities.
    Course:
    Really good course, great uni and people
    Location:
    Not far from 2 cities
    Accommodation:
    Cheap location and newly built buildings
    Settling in:
    Halls helped get to know people quickly - lots of sports clubs also helped
  • I dont have student room otherwise I would :(   But they can E-mail me if they like :) 's avatar by I dont have student room otherwise I would :( But they can E-mail me if they like :) on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    JUST SUPER
    University:
    FAB
    Course:
    It is great - only compliant is 9ams!
    Location:
    FAB
    Accommodation:
    Harry French is the best hall ever - great environment and fantastic people for an affordable price - Student Crowd also named it 1st for uni accommodation - says it all really!
    Settling in:
    ^see above
  • n/a's avatar by n/a on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5. LOUGHBOROUGH IS THE BEST!!!
    University:
    The reason i love loughborough so much is because of the campus aptnosphere! The campus is always buzzing with people even in the holidays! Theres so many clubs and societies for students to join and the union is definitely the best one I've been to in the UK.
    Course:
    The lecturers are great (bar a few); they are always engaging and happy to help with any questions. The facilities are great, labs and study facilities.
    Location:
    In the middle of the countryside with plenty of green space but within a 10 minute train ride of Leicester and Nottingham which are great for shopping and nights out!
    Accommodation:
    I stayed in Falkner Eggington my first year which i believe is the cheapest student accommodation in the UK. In my opinion its lovely! We had a massive kitchen for 7 of us and lived in what can best be described as terraced housing so my friends were never far away.
    Settling in:
    I settled in to uni very quickly as i joined plenty of societies and met friends really quickly. My major piece of advice to freshers would be to immerse yourself very quickly and join as many clubs and societies as possible!
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far Loughborough university has been a great experience
    University:
    The services offered are of good quality, the students union is very good.
    Course:
    The tutors are good at being clear and helpful towards the coarse.
    Location:
    Loughborough is very student based and big enough to make it an interesting place to live.
    Accommodation:
    The quality off the accommodation is much better than expected.
    Settling in:
    The university is very welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Loughborough has it all, great facilities, fantastic accomdation and a buzzing social life
    University:
    SU is incredible, loads to do and a great exec team. All other facilities are top class
    Course:
    Very confident and experienced lecturers plus lots of support
    Location:
    Close to many major cities and the town is very nice
    Accommodation:
    Bedrooms great, catered food also very good
    Settling in:
    Difficult to find the right friends straight away but eventually you do
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Because conditions are really poor. proofs don't really help
    University:
    Because conditions are really poor. proofs don't really help
    Course:
    Because conditions are really poor. proofs don't really help
    Location:
    Because conditions are really poor. proofs don't really help
    Accommodation:
    Because conditions are really poor. proofs don't really help
    Settling in:
    Because conditions are really poor. proofs don't really help
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Good
    Course:
    It is very good
    Location:
    Good
    Accommodation:
    It is good
    Settling in:
    It is good
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    For me, I think this university is one of the best. I received offers from other universities which were higher ranked in my field of study (including Durham and Cambridge) but chose to attend Loughborough after my terrific experiences at open days and I thankfully wasn't disappointed. They are extremely welcoming, the lecturers are engaging and happy to help, the course structure is logical and the student activities are numerous and varied.
    University:
    There are numerous activities available on campus including a variety of sports due to Loughborough's impressive sporting history. The majority of the campus is taken up by sports facilities but there are also various shops on campus which sell everything one could need as well as a high quality library complete with PC support. The student's union is extremely active in organising events and socials both during the daytime and in the evening, including many sober events.
    Course:
    The timetable is very full in terms of contact hours but this is variable on a weekly basis and so some weeks I can have very few lectures but be focused on my own projects. There's a variety of learning formats including lectures, tutorials, practical sessions, individual projects and extended group projects which keep the course interesting and the course content itself is engaging and relevant.
    Location:
    The campus runs alongside the town meaning that it is only a short walk into the centre of town (about 30 mins). Loughborough town itself is not particularly affluent but there are plenty of shops for purchasing the necessities as well as some clothing stores and the like. There are also regular buses from the university to local cities such as Nottingham and Leicester which are good for days out.
    Accommodation:
    My room is fairly affordable and comes complete with its own en suite and 4ft bed and I share a kitchen with 7 other people. The rooms are cleaned on a regular basis and when I have encountered an issue such as something in my room breaking, it has been resolved quickly. The student village is fairly central on the campus meaning that I never have to walk too far to any of my lectures but it can be up to a 20 minute walk.
    Settling in:
    Fresher's week was extremely busy which meant that I didn't really have time to think about what I was leaving behind. Some second-year students moved in at the same time as freshers to assist in the organisation of the activities but they were also helpful to have around if I had any questions about the uni or uni life. I don't drink so I was apprehensive about fresher's week and thought I may feel excluded but there were plenty of alternative sober activities and team building days for my hall during the day.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Deserves it
    University:
    Deserves it
    Course:
    Deserves it
    Location:
    Deserves it
    Accommodation:
    Deserves it
    Settling in:
    Deserves it
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great atmosphere on campus. Everyone is so friendly, older students included and also very helpful. So far lecturers have been really good-none have been dull
    University:
    Loved freshers, union is amazing, and there are shops on site
    Course:
    Only just started but it's been good so far
    Location:
    Love how everything is on one campus
    Accommodation:
    I have been given temporary accommodation at the moment as I came as an insurance student so it's not one of my preferred choices of accommodation
    Settling in:
    Everyone was very helpful and friendly so I felt right at home
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    So far it's been great. Everyone is friendly and happy to help with anything you need!
    University:
    There's lots to do here, I don't feel like I've stopped!
    Course:
    The lectures are all helpful and are all approachable if we need help. I'm enjoying the content of the course too
    Location:
    There's not much in the area but there's enough. Town is a bit far away to walk back with all my shopping
    Accommodation:
    It's very good value for money and I like the halls community
    Settling in:
    At first I felt a bit uneasy but I've been here a week now and I feel quite settled.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Love it
    University:
    Lots of opportunities, good facilities, amazing sports facilities
    Course:
    So interesting and relevant
    Location:
    Quiet city, easy to commute
    Accommodation:
    Very good, but quite noisy
    Settling in:
    Everyone very friendly, lots of freshers events
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good university for most subjects
    University:
    Has most things at a good level
    Course:
    Timetable isn't structured greatly
    Location:
    Campus is far
    Accommodation:
    Far from uni, affordable and alright quality
    Settling in:
    Good flatmates
  • by Anonymous on 15th September 2015
    Overall:
    GO to loughborough, get a great education and have the time of your life doing it! Nowhere comes close!
    University:
    The odd snake bite
    Course:
    Loughborough is the place to be for academics and Jagers!
    Location:
    Guess what more Jagers!
    Accommodation:
    Jagers!
    Settling in:
    Jagers!
  • by Anonymous on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a good university with lots of facilities and things to do.
    University:
    It offers a lot of services.
    Course:
    It's not entirely what I expected.
    Location:
    It's awkward to get the train here from where I live. There's not a great deal in the town, but accomadation is therefore quite cheap.
    Accommodation:
    Good location (Harry French Halls) accomadation was good value also.
    Settling in:
    It's weird initially but you quickly adapt.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    As stated throughout. fantastic student experience.
    University:
    Great experience, good nights out, really good student led SU team and really good fun with netballl and sports in general.
    Course:
    really interesting, good lecturers and varying styes of lecturing, learning and assessments.
    Location:
    everything you need in town, however not the same as living in a big city.
    Accommodation:
    great halls of residence, quite expensive but great environment and good facilities. 2nd and 3rd year accommodation was good, great price and really food location.
    Settling in:
    really welcoming environment and great froip of friends.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent however some courses are really tough
    University:
    Excellent Uni life!
    Course:
    Because I enjoy the student life even though the course is very tough
    Location:
    It is a campus based University therefore everything is quite close together.
    Accommodation:
    It is hard to find a house near the campus
    Settling in:
    I settled in quite quickly
  • by Anonymous on 9th September 2015
    Overall:
    Miles from anywhere, don't go if 'keen' on sport. Only go if elite.
    University:
    Very good if an elite athlete. Otherwise, bang average.
    Course:
    Nothing special
    Location:
    Middle of no where!
    Accommodation:
    Very good if you like partying.
    Settling in:
    Not the partying sort
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Really life changing, wouldn't change it for the world
    University:
    Absolutely love it mate
    Course:
    It gives me something very different from the A Level experience, very interesting. The only thing is that lecturers kind of leave you to it.
    Location:
    Crappy town but you honestly grow to love it.
    Accommodation:
    Very good for price but there is no such thing as a quiet time in halls on campus.
    Settling in:
    Didn't like my flatmates, but I know most people enjoyed their experience.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    It is brilliant
    University:
    Brilliant experience
    Course:
    Excellent balance and choice
    Location:
    Campus not split up
    Accommodation:
    It was very good
    Settling in:
    It was supportive
  • by Anonymous on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    not bad
    Course:
    its good
    Location:
    good
    Accommodation:
    good
    Settling in:
    good
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect
    University:
    Lots to do
    Course:
    Nothing wrong
    Location:
    Quiet town
    Accommodation:
    Fairly expensive
    Settling in:
    Straight away
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    10/10, there is nowhere better.
    University:
    Loughborough have the best student union in the country. The Exec team are so passionate about what they do, and it shows. Every taste is catered for, so you don't have to be a party animal to have fun. Everyone who works for Loughborough really want you to have the best time possible, so you get a lot of additional support for everything from working part-time to working out contracts for houses from second year. Shopping on campus is great, your student card even doubles as a payment system for snacks and more using Cash+. Overall, Loughborough is awesome and there truly is something for everyone.
    Course:
    The support received throughout the application process and into the year was phenomenal. The fact that they are constantly adapting the course, especially to be more practical is great, whilst also making sure we have the theory to back it up.
    Location:
    The campus is big, but it's so green and homely. You can walk into town easily, nothing is too far. Plus, if you want to go from one end of campus to the other, there's a free bus if your legs are tired!
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation at Loughborough is second to none. There is a hall for everyone, though each have their own little family so wherever you end up, it's going to be fantastic. Everything is within walking distance and you get a lot for your money.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is so lovely and supportive of one another. You're all in the same boat really, being away from home, so you make friends really quickly, especially within your flat/hall. The societies are great too, and there's something for everyone to get involved in. And while it's a sporty uni, there is absolutely no pressure to play anything, although you probably will as it's so fun and just helps build a group of friends you can really rely on.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It was an amazing experience. Great sense of community. Definitely go!
    University:
    Great variety of societies, great facilities, campus always buzzing day and night. Brilliant SU and great execs, especially the Welfare and Diversity committee.
    Course:
    Good amount of contact time with tutors which allowed time for rehearsals and other studying. Could have done with a little more support in third year but overall the tutors were great.
    Location:
    Loughborough is more or less centred around the university and is very much student dominated. Town life wasn't great, lack of shops and superstores, but it had everything you needed. Nearby cities such as Leicester and Nottingham came in useful for days out/shopping etc.
    Accommodation:
    Lots of student accommodation at affordable prices. My halls in first year were very cheap though, 8 people with one shower!
    Settling in:
    Settled quite quickly, but had a few bumps due to personal reasons
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great
    University:
    It's fun
    Course:
    Good teaching
    Location:
    It's close to other unis, clubs and cities
    Accommodation:
    Very close to services
    Settling in:
    I miss my parents
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, I would rate it a 4. At times in the beginning before moving in, you feel like more could be done as although I had a medical condition so needed extra assistance, not everyone does and people have said that you have that 'what's next' feeling. But having said that, the university have a really positive overwhelming feeling, there's so much going on and once it finishes, you can't wait for it to start back again. For anyone looking to go Loughborough, you're in for a exciting, nervous (but fun) ride!
    University:
    Overall, the university is really good. In terms of what's offered and what's around.
    Course:
    From the beginning the university was so helpful in making me make my decision and very sympathetic towards my medical condition and accomdating it. It's hard to put into words what I think about the university because, in the most simplest format.. It's amazing.
    Location:
    The location and campus are perfect, they go hand in hand with each other. There's a perfect blend of quiet and social.
    Accommodation:
    My accomdation is nowhere near cheap and affordable, although very nice and in a nice location.. It's just not cheap.
    Settling in:
    The moving in process was the hardest, I didn't feel at home for a very long time.. It took me roughly 3 months before I started to feel comfortable within the grounds. However, I don't think you really ever truly feel comfortable as its so different to what you're use to.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE