Member reviews of Newman University, Birmingham

  • ?'s avatar by ? on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    3
    University:
    theres nothing to do here
    Course:
    boring unorganized lecturers aren't enthusiastic they just read off the slides they dont help you or guide you which i understand is expected in uni but a bit of help does not harm anyone
    Location:
    you're in the middle of nowhere the aren't any shops near by there's a chip shop though but it has a 1 star rating which explains why i wouldn't eat there (poor food quality and hygiene of the shop is disgusting) because of that you end up eating from uni and their food are priced ridiculously HIGH
    Accommodation:
    too small
    Settling in:
    its a small uni
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    If you're looking to go to a university that isn't crowded and isn't too big, and require ongoing support from tutors, THIS IS THE ONE FOR YOU!
    University:
    The library facilities are very good, as well as the student union and cafeteria.
    Course:
    All my tutors are very friendly and helpful. The number of resources in the library and provided by my tutors is excellent. My fellow students are very supportive and encouraging.
    Location:
    It's quite secluded, with plenty of greenery, a reservoir opposite the campus- very peaceful and relaxing environment.
    Accommodation:
    Prices are fairly cheap and quality is good.
    Settling in:
    I immediately felt a part of the university community- everyone was so friendly and welcoming!!
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    This university is rated for thier teaching was is brilliant if you want to become a teacher . They have also the highest graduate jobs
    University:
    Because everything is there the facilities are not far to use
    Course:
    Because it is s very good university where there is many support available I didn't like the structure of our first semester timetable
    Location:
    It's an very quite reserved area which is was an advantage
    Accommodation:
    Because it is a small university their housing are quite small
    Settling in:
    I think this part was the easier as it was a small university we automatically made new friends
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    H
    University:
    More support available as its a Small uni. Get to know more people.
    Course:
    Good teaching. Organised. Appointment can be made easily.
    Location:
    Nice area. Not too busy.
    Accommodation:
    i commute
    Settling in:
    Friendly environment
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It was a supportive, friendly environment and I felt comfortable there
    University:
    I didn't really use them much
    Course:
    A lot of support offered
    Location:
    I lived right next to it
    Accommodation:
    From what I could see they were spacious
    Settling in:
    Everyone was very friendly
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Love it, it's a great university you will make loads of friends everyone is friendly
    University:
    I think the university has so much to offer even though it is small and the student union is great the only thing that could improve is the societies and clubs
    Course:
    The university itself is very small compared to other universities which is why I was so attracted to it, the course is very good and the tutors are all a great help. I love this course and I love the uni
    Location:
    I love the location of the uni as its in Birmingham a great city to be in and it's got a brilliant view as it is right opposite a reservoir
    Accommodation:
    I don't actually live in the university accommodation but I have heard it is good, the location is actually in the uni so it sounds perfect
    Settling in:
    Because it is a small uni, you feel welcome very quickly as it feels like a family
  • by Anonymous on 12th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have quite nd experiences. So I believe it would be better to ask someone else
    University:
    The student union are very good at arranging things almost every evening to suit everyone. There is almost always something going on and one can always join.
    Course:
    Firstly one only saw the teach once a week, and if there were any questions one has to email and to get an answer takes ages. Secondly the teachers seemed to be unprofessional as the lectures almost always got away from the topic and the teaches told us about their time at university. (I'm not saying everyone does it, there are good teaches that provide feed back on time and answer all questions but out of 6 teachers during a year only 2 actually helped and stayed on topic)
    Location:
    The university is out in no where. There are nothing around. The closest shopstreet is 15 minute away by bus.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is fine, what I dislike are the rugs in the room, which gives a cozy environment for spiders and other nasty things to breed.
    Settling in:
    I don't think I'll ever feel at home at this university. I'm just happy that this is my last year and then I can get home.
  • by Anonymous on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    Great university. All members of staff are dedicated to your educational growth. Very friendly enviroment with good work ethic.
    University:
    Amble opportunity to join clubs and societies
    Course:
    Great timetable and interesting lectures. Alot on offer with reference to the modules. Very enthusiastic lecturers who were always willing and eager to help.
    Location:
    Resovoir outside the university which nakes for a great view if your stuck in the library. A couple of local shops but quite far from the high street
    Accommodation:
    I am not able to account for the accomodation however I have heard positive feedback.
    Settling in:
    every one is willing to help. A small university so it isnt hard to fit right in
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    I loved my time at Newman. Being a small n I felt like I really gutted in, all course tutors knew me and I felt like I could talk to them if I needed help.
    University:
    Great library, food and Starbucks. SU gradually got better during my time there.
    Course:
    A great course, fantastic tutors but organisation could be improved
    Location:
    Fine for committing, not in Birmingham City centre, but no much about for halls
    Accommodation:
    I didn't live in halls, but they looked like they could do with refurbishing.
    Settling in:
    Great team of 'Guardian Angels' to welcome you and all tutors friendly with an open door policy
  • by Anonymous on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    I enjoyed my time and experiences at Newman. One of the uni's strongest points is that it is a small uni which enables students to have a relationship with lecturers. Students are not only numbers on a list, but are on first name based terms with all of their lectures, providing support in every aspect of university work. However, the university lacks in student life, such as nightlife.
    University:
    The services such as the library and the sport/fitness are of good standard and feel safe. However, the student union lacks in reference to student life
    Course:
    Overall, most of these factors were of a quality standard. However, there were times that the lecturers, lectures/seminars and module content were unsatisfactory.
    Location:
    I chose this university because it was near, so the location was perfect. However, it is not close to the city centre, so it is difficult to get into Birmingham for shopping/food etc. in between lectures or after, and there is not much else around the university.
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    I have given this 5 stars due to the fact that it is a welcoming university. This is because the university is small meaning that you can quickly develop relationships with all fellow students and lecturers.
  • by Anonymous on 28th August 2015
    Overall:
    I liked the university, and the lecturers, and most of the modules. I would think carefully about what you want to gain during your uni years, and research whether your uni offers those things throughout the time you will be there.
    University:
    I lived to far away to partake in "student life", and most of my friends I made also lived away from uni, so they never went to any student events. The library was built during my first year and the new library was very good, and there was also a cafe, numerous vending machines, and a starbucks. There was also a chip shop, and other general shops within a ten minute walk from the uni.
    Course:
    I enjoyed most of my modules. I found most of the lecturers to be easy to talk to, and they responded to my emails in a timely fashion. If you needed help on an assignment, even during holiday time, some of the lecturers would respond.
    Location:
    It is located in my home town, however the buses to get to it were a bit of a joke. The bus I had to get to there from town only arrived every half hour (my first year), and then every 20 mins (by my last year).
    Accommodation:
    I did not stay in halls, however from what I heard/saw it was ok accommodation.
    Settling in:
    It took me a while to feel at home there, but that is most likely because I am a shy person in general.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I have really enjoyed my experience so far, there's so much to learn and my course is extremely interesting.
    University:
    The library at my university is very helpful, and I have yet to require a book that I haven't found in the library. There is a nice cafǸ there and a Starbucks. Unfortunately the societies are a little lacking, there aren't many of them and it's near impossible to find out how to join some of them as there isn't any information on the website or in the student union.
    Course:
    I enjoy this course a lot, but there have been a couple of modules that haven't been my cup of tea.
    Location:
    It's near Birmingham city so it's somewhat simple to get there, but it takes a 40 minute bus ride from the city centre to get there. It's a very quiet little town it's located in so it's not too loud and it isn't busy at all.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in student housing or uni accomodation so I can't say.
    Settling in:
    It's a very small university so it wasn't too hard to find my way around, and I feel very comfortable there.
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE