Member reviews of Northumbria University, Newcastle

  • Jthom12's avatar by Jthom12 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Northumbria is a great university with top class engineering facilities and staff. Societies provide a great opportunity to meet new friends with similar interests end enjoy yourself.
    University:
    While I don't go out every night or go to that many social events, the societies have given me more social interaction than I usually would have and been the first time I've meet a number of people with the same interests and hobbies as mine.
    Course:
    The facilities are really good and teaching staff very knowledgeable although sometimes they do go to quickly for some students. They are also very friendly and willing to help anyone who is struggling.
    Location:
    The location was the primary factor in choosing the university as it is a short bus journey from home and means I am very familiar with the area, although it would be better to be in accommodation as I have been late sometimes due to traffic in town.
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    I think I've settled in nicely although it was a bit of shaky start. Being someone who lives at home I tend not to go to many social events have managed to make new friends other ways.
  • microtrainee's avatar by microtrainee on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I think that the uni was perfect for what I needed as I wanted to stay close to home, but experience a new city.
    University:
    There have been updates to Ellison building and the library which have led to improvements, but it has meant that for the majority of many peoples time on the course, all they see when they go outside is essentially a building site.
    Course:
    There were some issues with timetabling that meant at points we weren’t finishing until half 8 to 9pm, although this was unavoidable and they did as much as they could to take our feedback and make changes from it.
    Location:
    Really close to city centre, close to all the accommodation. Free shuttle bus to the other campus (coach lane campus). Has everything you could want!
    Accommodation:
    I was able to get a job at the Accommodation I lived in which was great because they worked it in a way that people could just pick up shifts when they wanted. Issues were sorted out quickly and the staff who worked there were great with the students.
    Settling in:
    I would say that staying in accommodation definitely helps!
  • Matildajanew99's avatar by Matildajanew99 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Brilliant university.
    University:
    Student life in Newcastle is very exciting.
    Course:
    My timetable is pretty jam packed but I wouldn’t expect anything less for a course like Law. I think my interest in the subject helps me get a long with the modules and the professors are dedicated to providing a high standard of education.
    Location:
    Great nightlife, very diverse, a lot to do.
    Accommodation:
    I lived in private accommodation which I enjoyed a lot but missed home.
    Settling in:
    The city and people are very welcoming.
  • AsifK17's avatar by AsifK17 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Organisation before entering could be greatly improved as most information was from self research, but the general experience and accommodation has been great.
    University:
    Meeting new people, going out, exploring a new city, every aspect of this, from being on your own, to adapting to surroundings has been fun.
    Course:
    While I was not impressed by the lack of organisation in the lead up to attending the uni, having got here and started, I am satisfied.
    Location:
    Amenities are close by and fantastically varied. Only problem is how cold it is????
    Accommodation:
    Has every single appliance, the repairs and maintenance team are quick to act, and the security staff are friendly, easy to talk to and generally very good at dealing with queries.
    Settling in:
    I like to think I was very well prepared to live on my own, being very domesticated from a young age so actually managed to settle in very well.
  • 08mckimmd 's avatar by 08mckimmd on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I am extremely satisfied with my experience
    University:
    Clubs and societies could be improved
    Course:
    I am very pleased to have Wednesday off and Friday afternoon off
    Location:
    It is in a city centre
    Accommodation:
    I am extremely satisfied with the accommodation
    Settling in:
    I settled in within a few days
  • Abbi:D's avatar by Abbi:D on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, my university experience has been great. So far i have enjoyed the experience and can't wait to see what else University has to offer.
    University:
    Uni life is great, there's so much to do during the day and the evening. Student Union offers a variety of societies and activities to join. Also, the campus has a great library which is perfect for report writing etc. There is so much support for students with disabilities, mental health issues and just general concerns that may effect them within their studies everyone is given the support they need as quickly as possible.
    Course:
    The teaching quality and lectures are a very good quality- i enjoy my modules. However, i dislike the structure of the timetable, i don't like the time gaps between each lecture.
    Location:
    I love the city the university is in, there's always something to do. Also, the location of campus is perfect for me- it's close to city centre and my accommodation.
    Accommodation:
    The location and quality of the accommodation is great, 5 minutes away from the university and city centre however, it's quite expensive for each term payment. Overall the afforadiblity could be lower to accommodate students.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was really friendly and made the experience comfortable however, i feel as if things could be made more homely in a sense of the accommodation appearances-inside and outside.
  • Kovu's avatar by Kovu on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I really like the course, the University and the City. I am struggling to make friends but I'm sure that will happen in time.
    University:
    Has everything I need. Sports/Cafes etc.
    Course:
    It's not entirely what I expected but I still enjoy it
    Location:
    Newcastle has a great culture to it
    Accommodation:
    N/A but have heard good things from course mates.
    Settling in:
    Still adjusting
  • Sarah Emmerson's avatar by Sarah Emmerson on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's a great university where everyone cares about you. If you have a problem you can get help.
    University:
    The library is amazing. The union is great with lots of activities if that's what you want.
    Course:
    It's a great course, the staff are so enthusiastic.
    Location:
    So close to the centre of Newcastle and bus routes
    Accommodation:
    I don't live there but friends have said good things
    Settling in:
    It was strange at first but there was so much support.
  • Crazy Lady!!!'s avatar by Crazy Lady!!! on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far, so good. The programme is what I expected and is a lot of hard work - but it's more than worth it. The university campus is a bit old looking but it's fit for purpose and has everything I need.
    University:
    The SU attempts to make coach lane more vibrant by organising events and such like. There are some of good cafes and the library is adequate for my needs.
    Course:
    Overall, what I am taught at uni applies to my next placement and what I've learnt in theory can be built up in practice. There are some timetabling issues - for example attending university 2 days in a row for a 2 hour session each day. There is a lot of contact, as expected on a professional programme, but I do learn a lot at uni.
    Location:
    My programme is at Coach Lane, it's a long commute at rush hour. But it means all the professional courses are together and our facilities are separate. It can be a bit isolated.
    Accommodation:
    I live at home.
    Settling in:
    The other members of my group are amazing and we're like a family which made the transition much easier.
  • Aewiffen's avatar by Aewiffen on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is all perfect for me
    University:
    Loads of societies to join for every taste, the library is amazing and the shopping is phenomenal
    Course:
    The hours are reasonable, my timetable is perfect by having Wednesday's and Fridays off, the staff reply extremely fast to emails when I need help and its engaging
    Location:
    It's a 2 minute walk from the actual city centre while being campus based
    Accommodation:
    The quality of my accomdation is second to none this being one of the big factors for uni life, the location however is a 15 min walk from university it isn't in the city centre but there's a metro station a minute walk to hop on to outside the University im in the middle of a high street which isn't noisy with a cinema, bowling alley, TESCO and food shops below me on a lift which is why I picked this site I love it here
    Settling in:
    It took me roughy 4 days to actually settle in and feel comfortable as I didn't get on with my flatmates (no common interests and anti social) however I made friends with a group of people in abother flat in my accommodation and it's now perfect and I love it here
  • I have no idea 's avatar by I have no idea on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    The teachers ,staff are overall easy to talk too and friendly even the people are the student union.
    University:
    Well I keep myself to myself the libraries are very helpful in terms of the sport and fitness department I don't really know and I mostly do my shopping on-line
    Course:
    There are some sections I enjoy more than the other
    Location:
    I live 10 minutes away from city centre therefore I can just walk to get to town meaning money is been saved on public transport.
    Accommodation:
    I do not live nor in a accommodation nor a student housing but I do however live someone that's close to not only the university but also to the city centre and it's cheaper living in Newcastle than being a student in London for example.
    Settling in:
    I already live in Newcastle its just weird settling in class with all the other student more than anything
  • Mili95 's avatar by Mili95 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    The experience is absolutely fantastic. For anyone who feels like that's what they want to do is definitely a fantastic university to be in. Everyone are friendly and helpful. Shops and restaurant and other facilities are in a walking distance and accommodations are very modern and nice
    University:
    There is plenty happening for new but also for old students. There are plenty of societies that can interest anyone. Night life is very good and there is load of events where everyone can find something for themselves.
    Course:
    I like the content of the course and what options it gives me. Quality of teaching
    Location:
    It's only 5 minutes away from the town centre and only 2 minutes away from my accommodation. Everything is roughly in a walking distance and it's very flexible with the public transport.
    Accommodation:
    Rooms are very well organised an spacious. Bathroom is very modern and neat and the space it very well planned out. The is a magnetic board to write memos but also spacious desk to do work on and organise things.
    Settling in:
    It's very easy to be homesick when there are people around you who you don't know however o still enjoy it and with time it's easy to settle.
  • Black_Materia_'s avatar by Black_Materia_ on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate my overall university experience 9/10, it has helped me to increase my self confidence and grow as a person.
    University:
    The university offers a variety of clubs and activities to join, including a Mathematics society, as well as access to a 24/7 library. The student union provides a place to relax and socialise with friends.
    Course:
    Most of my tutors were really friendly and approachable, explaining any problems arisen lectures/seminars in a concise manner. My timetable in each year of university was constructed in a way to ensure I had enough time to complete assessments and revise for exams.
    Location:
    Located in the heart of Newcastle, Northumbria University is central to a range of shops, bars and restaurants and therefore facilitates in exploring the culture of the city.
    Accommodation:
    From the friends I knew who lived in university accommodation in first year then student housing in second and final year, they were really satisfied with the quality, affordability and the location from the university.
    Settling in:
    Since I commuted from home I can always remember before I began my university adventure, I was worried about blending in and not making friends. From the first day the university made me feel at home, with a wide range of events during welcome week such as participating in group quizzes made finding friends and settling in much easier.
  • RobbynForMed's avatar by RobbynForMed on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Northumbria is a relaxed place to study, it's not as intense as Newcastle and it's easy to make friends.
    University:
    Events in the city are good but student union activities are not that interesting.
    Course:
    Lectures are mediocre and facilities are not that modern.
    Location:
    Perfect city centre location and close to accommodation.
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable, modern and close to all amenities and university.
    Settling in:
    Still need to settle into my course and a work and social life balance.
  • 08mckimmd's avatar by 08mckimmd on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I am loving my experience.
    University:
    There is always plenty to do
    Course:
    It could be improved at times
    Location:
    It is in a city centre
    Accommodation:
    It is of the highest possible quality
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly and with no hassle
  • Sabrina_Bi's avatar by Sabrina_Bi on 22nd September 2015
    Overall:
    So far my experience has been good.
    University:
    All facilities provided are good.
    Course:
    I've only just started on this course however so far I like it.
    Location:
    The campus could be nearer to the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Could have been more affordable.
    Settling in:
    It was relatively straight forward.
  • pridmore95's avatar by pridmore95 on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is an excellent university, although coach lane campus is unfortunately not given as much attention as city campus as it isn't as modern and the facilities are not as good. However, student accommodation is good (although slightly expensive) and 'student life' is excellent.
    University:
    I am not one for a 'night out' but I love spending a day at the shops in Newcastle city centre and using the uni sport facilities
    Course:
    I thoroughly enjoy the course, but unfortunately there is such a high expectation and a higher workload than students on 'normal' courses
    Location:
    Central, just off the motorway and very close to Newcastle city centre, university city campus and local shops and gym facilities
    Accommodation:
    Location is brilliant, can be noisy (particularly during freshers) and the accommodation isn't always up to date, but the facilities are good and most have en-suite
    Settling in:
    Had spoken to my flatmate before moving in to my accommodation so it wasn't all new, and there aren't many people on my course so we all got to know each other very quickly. Freshers events such as the fair were helpful in finding facilities
  • Charlottelt's avatar by Charlottelt on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    No complaints. Excellent
    University:
    No complaints. Excellent
    Course:
    No complaints. Excellent
    Location:
    No complaints. Excellent
    Accommodation:
    No complaints. Excellent
    Settling in:
    No complaints. Excellent
  • Amaris-Willow's avatar by Amaris-Willow on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    2-3. Although the city is fantastic and I learned a lot through attending this university, it was too unorganised and at times unprofessional.
    University:
    The library was very well stocked although the filing system was often confusing. I didn't really hear much about clubs and societies.
    Course:
    There was very little structure; the way things were expected to be done changed from day to day from tutor to tutor; there was very little communication between staff and students. The equipment was also very difficult to book out (including computers and printers in mac lab) due to being shared by the entire arts/fashion/design department.
    Location:
    Newcastle is a fantastic city offering something for every type of person, and the university campus is in the middle of it all.
    Accommodation:
    Student housing often very expensive, noisy and had severe problems with mold.
    Settling in:
    Due to often confusing time tables it was difficult to settle when you never knew where you were supposed to be. This improved however after the first year.
  • CRK_CRK's avatar by CRK_CRK on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    It was fab! Even better than I thought it would be.
    University:
    Something for everyone.
    Course:
    Absolutely everything was accounted for and the support was second to none.
    Location:
    Central to Newcastle.
    Accommodation:
    It was friendly as an outsider.
    Settling in:
    The tutors were supportive.
  • Rasillon's avatar by Rasillon on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    11/10 would go, people can be cruel but thats life
    University:
    People usually suck but the city is ace
    Course:
    Decent structure, could be a little less hectic, mostly condensed to two days
    Location:
    Best night out
    Accommodation:
    Best parties around!
    Settling in:
    Helpful fresher guides that and I live nearby
  • Miller06's avatar by Miller06 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    A very good place to study. The whole "it's a poly I wouldn't dare" attitude doesn't really exist anymore and that's one of it's strengths, how far the institution has come and how much it is pushing to forge it's place as a great institution on the national and global field for education. I would seriously consider accepting an offer from the university. My advice would be visit it, have a good look around and ask as many questions as you can
    University:
    Marked down from 5 stars simply for the fact that I don't live in the city so haven't managed to fully immerse myself in the student life
    Course:
    It is an excellent course and the quality of teaching is second to none, however the admin is somewhat lacking. If you make a complaint be prepared for laborious depth of explanation and days maybe weeks worth of waiting to actually get anywhere
    Location:
    As I commute I have to walk from the train station to the university. It's about a 10/15 minute walk depending on your pace. Close enough to pop into the city centre during a free hour but far enough away to be peaceful and feel like it's not in the city
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in accommodation and this rating is based on the student accommodation I visited seeing friends etc at uni. It all seems very good quality and extremely comfortably placed close to the campuses people were studying at
    Settling in:
    Everyone was in the same boat, meeting strangers and starting out at uni, aside from the usual nervousness and awkward encounters meeting new people all of the staff are extremely approachable, friendly and more than happy to help
  • QuantumBiologist's avatar by QuantumBiologist on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    4
    University:
    Good shopping opportunities and fantastic library, however gym/sports related clubs ran by the university is just too expensive.
    Course:
    Good variation of teaching methods per module, friendly tutors and enthusiasm among the course
    Location:
    In town, close to shops/entertainment. Campus is a nice area and enclosed in certain areas.
    Accommodation:
    Spacious rooms, nicely decorated, meals are good.
    Settling in:
    Societies are helpful but still a bit shy.
  • AhmedNagah's avatar by AhmedNagah on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Awesome!
    University:
    Many events and societies
    Course:
    Its awesome
    Location:
    Close to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    The location is great because its very close to the campus. The affordability though is bad as its expensive
    Settling in:
    Diversity
  • scottrob32's avatar by scottrob32 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    The shopping, library and gym options are very good. Not as many societies as other universities in the city.
    Course:
    The lecturers can be poor at times, the timetable is good and so is the learning material
    Location:
    Perfect distance from uni housing and second year housing / city centre.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation I lived in first year cost more than my loan amount. I found it wasn't good value for money.
    Settling in:
    I lived with a past girlfriend and it was terrible, I didn't socialise well. I should have, once I did I was fine.
  • Lexa96's avatar by Lexa96 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Do it , it's amazing
    University:
    Everything is really new and good services available
    Course:
    Understand everything really well
    Location:
    Close to everything
    Accommodation:
    Expensive
    Settling in:
    Homesick
  • Can't remember. Possibly charlielaws's avatar by Can't remember. Possibly charlielaws on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Stressless and fun
    University:
    Its vibrant and fun
    Course:
    I really enjoy it but perfection is impossible
    Location:
    It's in the middle of town
    Accommodation:
    Too expensive
    Settling in:
    I have a tallest for making myself at home
  • tastethebacons's avatar by tastethebacons on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good do reccomend
    University:
    Is fun
    Course:
    Teaches me stuff
    Location:
    I live on campus
    Accommodation:
    Cheap, toaster is a bit dodgy
    Settling in:
    I made friends
  • N/a's avatar by N/a on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    I would strongly recommend going to Northumbria. It's a great mix of social and work with so much to do in the city centre and around the campus.
    University:
    Certain things could be improved: students union/certain modules on course however here are a lot more postivies: new gym/high quality lecture hall/city centre for night life and shopping
    Course:
    Overall content was good, however I feel certain moudles were not that beneficial and didn't seem relevant to the course
    Location:
    Campus was right in the city centre so perfect location.
    Accommodation:
    Great location and very well decorated. New accommodation was being built whilst I was in my final year, so this could improve this further
    Settling in:
    I think this could be very subjective as I felt settled in extremely quickly, but I feel this was due to the people I was living with and those on my course.
  • I have account however I dont know how to use it.'s avatar by I have account however I dont know how to use it. on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    5 so far
    University:
    I dont know I havent started yet
    Course:
    I have not as yet started my course however so far so good.
    Location:
    Easy to get to. I do not have to go through the traffic of Newcastle city centre as its straight off the A19
    Accommodation:
    I dont know I commute
    Settling in:
    I dont know I havent started
  • jez1097's avatar by jez1097 on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall experience is great. I'm hoping to get involved in more activities in 2nd year.
    University:
    Gray really. Always something you be be doing, joining clubs or sports teams. Huge sports central with everywhere facility imaginable. There's always a student related night out, themed, Halloween, Easter, and a lot of the time just random bar crawls set up.
    Course:
    Very organised but could schedule timetable better!
    Location:
    Campus is right next to the main city centre. Literally 2min walk. Shopping and nights out are all within walking distance of the uni and most halls. Rarely need to take public transport.
    Accommodation:
    Great facilities but where I stayed a little too over priced.
    Settling in:
    Newcastle is really sociable and friendly city. Plenty to see and do. I personally adjust to new environments easily anyway.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    They're all about student experince and making sure you're happy on your course, student accommodation etc. They don't prepare you for the work load and the fast pace likeliness the course has.
    University:
    There are a lot of facilities as we have access to all 3 campus'
    Course:
    It's what I want to do in the future but it's a huge work load
    Location:
    The bus journey drives you insane
    Accommodation:
    This course isn't at the main city campus so you have to get a bus (30-40 minutes) to the other campus and it's quite annoying
    Settling in:
    They're all about the student experience and making sure everything with you is going ok. There's a lot of support there too.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is very organised and welcoming, it has brilliant resources such as the library and computers. Also the nursing department is amazing with new clean rooms and good facilities such as SIM dummies. The staff are really friendly and very approachable.
    University:
    There are a lot of unions and societies that you can join from educational and medical to fun and social clubs. You can also make your own club if you feel the university could benefit from it.
    Course:
    Because it is very organised and all the staff are friendly and knowledgable and happy to help. Also the blackboard is very informative and tells you everything you need to know, the library is also extremely resourceful.
    Location:
    I am on the coach lane campus I think the city campus is an easier location and means you can visit book stores at ease. But the coach lane campus has an amazing library and it is always clean. The city of Newcastle is a fun and vibrant city full of friendly people so being not far from there is a massive plus
    Accommodation:
    There is a lot of student accommodation available and a variety of places to stay, it is clean and affordable with excellent facilities
    Settling in:
    I have felt very welcomed into the university and everyone at the freshers fair were friendly and had a positive attitude. I would say I settled in relatively quickly as the staff are always happy to help and encourage and motivate students from the get go
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    I love it.
    Course:
    It has good content
    Location:
    Close to centre.
    Accommodation:
    My first year accommodation was amazing, however second year is not so good.
    Settling in:
    Took me a couple of weeks.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Newcastle is a great city, the uni is really central and easy to get around. People are all really nice and friendly and happy to help you with anything.
    University:
    There's a lot going on but I think the gym membership is a bit expensive for students
    Course:
    I love the subject, there is one lecture I don't have as much interest for so it can't be 5 star
    Location:
    Newcastle is great as it's right in the centre
    Accommodation:
    There is a mini fridge for 4 people
    Settling in:
    Everything is easy to find an people are really helpful
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    A bigger range of societies at coach lane campus, more student events and a better student union area.
    University:
    Coach lane campus is different to city campus with regard to the student union, nightlife and shopping. However the facilities at coach lane are appropriate to nursing course and the library has pretty much every book you need
    Course:
    Overall satisfaction across all aspects
    Location:
    Easy to access however a little way out of the city
    Accommodation:
    Unsure, I don't live in halls.
    Settling in:
    Tutors are very welcoming and friendly, guidance group is small so easy to build friendships
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far finding it difficult to get into a routine but enjoy meeting new people.
    University:
    Sporting activities are vast and nightlife is great.
    Course:
    Induction period isn't very interesting.
    Location:
    Our campus is too far away from the city campus.
    Accommodation:
    It is cheaper for me to stay at home and pay board.
    Settling in:
    Timetables provided are very inconsistent.
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's awesome. Very friendly people, great staff excellent library and computer access. Not to forget a great location
    University:
    Everything you need or want is right at your feet
    Course:
    It is very interesting but first year was a bit boring
    Location:
    Perfect location - shopping, bars, clubs, museums, architecture and friendly people are all in anlbundance here
    Accommodation:
    I only give this because I am not in student housing I live in my own house
    Settling in:
    Made lots of friends and staff and other people here are very friendly
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    pretty good
    University:
    There is tons of things to do
    Course:
    I think it's one of the best courses in the country for product design.
    Location:
    Newcastle is a great city for students
    Accommodation:
    Quality and location good Should be more affordable
    Settling in:
    Pretty good in all fields
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I am really liking my course. All teachers are very professional and nice. The uni has an amazing library and it is opened 24/7 with access to computers and printers. Great gymnasium for sporty people and great societies to join to. NewCastle is said to be one of top five cities in uk for student life, specially for night clubbing too! Amazing parting places and bars to spend time with friends and meet new people.
    University:
    Library is 24/7 opened. The area where I live in is very safe and the uni is close to my accommodation. You have big supermarkets just by 15 minutes walk and the city center is close to the uni too. Anything you need is just close to you. Plus all bars and clubs are relatively close too.
    Course:
    Great variety of things to learn and all teachers are very prpffesional. All facilities are great too.
    Location:
    I'm 10 minutes away from main campus. And the city center is 15-20 minutes away. You have everything you need in this small city. Only thing u can complain about is the slightly high prices over some things like fruits and vegetables. But all other prices are extremely reasonable
    Accommodation:
    Although you have to buy your own plates, utensils, cups, etc. Rooms are amazing and so is the stuff. If anything is broken it is almost immediately fixed.
    Settling in:
    Anything you need, people here are super willing to help you.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant
    University:
    Enjoyable. And keen to get every one involved
    Course:
    Enjoying it so far. But more ahead
    Location:
    In the middle of the city, easy to get to/ get around. Whilst having the benefit of Newcastle be like 1 min away
    Accommodation:
    Nice and affordable. Better than most others in the area
    Settling in:
    Surprised how much the change did not affect me
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    So far I believe I have chosen the perfect university, the staff and people here are very friendly and approachable if you ever need help with anything. The campus is close to everything and to top it off the nightlife in Newcastle is amazing, you won't find a night out like it anywhere else.
    University:
    There's always something going on, you can even just go to the student union for cheap drinks on an evening. There are hundreds of societies to join catering for all kinds of interests.
    Course:
    My course is very interesting and my lecturers are very approachable if I need their help by responding to emails quickly and answering my questions with detail. Contact hours are little however this gives me time to further read in the library to enhance my notes further.
    Location:
    A 5 minute walk from my accommodation and also many of the accommodations are nearby. It is also a 2 minute walk into the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    A 5 minute walk from the uni. It is one of the more expensive accommodations however it is definitely worth it. Especially because I have a spacious room with an ensuite and double bed. As well as a spacious kitchen and seating area. I also get along really well with not only my flat mates but also those on my floor.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home right away. It was very easy to make friends and my room is very homely.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Pretty good
    University:
    havent tried the nightlife yet, daytime is good though
    Course:
    Good facilities, good teachers
    Location:
    next to the shopping centre
    Accommodation:
    good location, cheap!
    Settling in:
    fit right in
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Great facilities that helps you to learn. Downside, you have to be a local or willing to drink to be able to connect with people in the Uni
    University:
    All facilities are complete and top notch quality
    Course:
    It is all systematic, would've given 3 star because the course is still quite new at the time that i joined
    Location:
    Close to city. Close to bars.
    Accommodation:
    Naturally all the private accommodation around the uni would set a high price, but i'm willing to pay at it is close
    Settling in:
    Never really settled in. Locals are not really friendly
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    They care about a student experience and get to know you
    University:
    I'm enjoying it so far
    Course:
    Timetable changes every week. Plus side no exams but a lot of coursework
    Location:
    Campus isn't main campus. Busses are bad getting to coach lane
    Accommodation:
    From others I have been in they look good. Located close. Spacious. Comfortable
    Settling in:
    Because I am at home
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good city, fun nightlife, loads of things to do, very close to everything
    University:
    Llife is good
    Course:
    It is intresting
    Location:
    City is unreal, very close to city centre
    Accommodation:
    it's average
    Settling in:
    hasn't been long enough
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Quite good for location wise and facilities in school. Most of the staff or lecturers are helpful.
    University:
    24 hours library is definitely a plus point for this Uni. Other facilities are good also. It'll be good if the gym will be free or membership for it is cheaper.
    Course:
    Timetable and course structure can be improved. Tuesday's schedule is too packed as we have six hours class a day, from 9am to 3pm without any rest time.
    Location:
    Near to city area, comprising of shopping centre, restaurants, supermarket and so on.
    Accommodation:
    I'm staying in a dorm for 7 people, however, the cabinets in kitchen are not enough for 7 of us.
    Settling in:
    I settle in quite fast with other flatmates' help. University student union did not help much on it.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4*
    University:
    Societies and student union could be improved
    Course:
    It meets my expectations of the course
    Location:
    It's not very city central - coach lane campus
    Accommodation:
    It's affordable
    Settling in:
    There were lots of ice breakers
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far it is going great definitely 4/5 out of 5
    University:
    There are so many different societies and sports clubs there is literally something for everyone
    Course:
    Communication between the tutors and students is poor
    Location:
    Perfect it is so easy to travel from the accommodation to the uni and the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Very comfortable the managers are very helpful
    Settling in:
    I became very good friends with my flat mates straight away, and made great friends through society's After being here for three weeks I feel like I have been here forever
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing experience and I recommend everyone to give uni a try
    University:
    Everything is perfect!
    Course:
    I love the course
    Location:
    It is right in the centre of the city near everything I could possibly need
    Accommodation:
    Always had assistance when needed and friendly staff
    Settling in:
    I loved uni but was very different from home so took a while to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it highly, people and staff are friendly
    University:
    Quite expensive
    Course:
    Friendly atmosphere
    Location:
    Lots of local shops, restaurants and clubs
    Accommodation:
    Right next door but quite expensive
    Settling in:
    Flat mates can be unsociable
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    The majority of tutors are great and approachable and the content is suitable.
    University:
    On the coach lane campus you feel very detached from uni life.
    Course:
    The majority of the content is wonderful, but there are a few issues with getting email responses off certain tutors which can be annoying and irratating.
    Location:
    Good student city.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in halls so I don't know, but I've heard good things.
    Settling in:
    I'm from the area so it wasn't a huge adjustment needed.
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    The university experience is brilliant and I would recommend anyone applying here even if your not from the UK
    University:
    The atmosphere
    Course:
    The atmosphere, environment and excellent support from tutors and lecturers
    Location:
    The university is beautiful and amazing also surrounding a beautiful city
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is great
    Settling in:
    The support and advice on settling in has been perfect
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    1
    University:
    No information was given
    Course:
    Teachers are unhelpful
    Location:
    Not close to anything
    Accommodation:
    Distance
    Settling in:
    Not many social activities
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    How other courses and lecturers gave me the chance to learn about other subjects too. A great all round learning experience.
    University:
    Great.
    Course:
    Not perfect...teachers left and that was disrupting...
    Location:
    Great location... Easy walk to the centre and to surrounding areas. Truly miss Newcastle and considering coming back next year!
    Accommodation:
    Loved Quay point and the staff. Lovely people!!!!
    Settling in:
    Great friendly people and easy to settle in.
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    The greatest
    University:
    Wonderful
    Course:
    It's great
    Location:
    Wonderful
    Accommodation:
    Because it's great
    Settling in:
    Simply becUse it's great
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Lots to do in and out of uni
    Course:
    Exactly the type of area I want to go into
    Location:
    Everything is easy to reach
    Accommodation:
    Very close to uni at a good price.
    Settling in:
    Fairly quick to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    8/10 - Not ideal, but a great course and institution.
    University:
    Could have better services available - ie: the welfare team/Student's Union
    Course:
    Very helpful staff, excellent peers and top of the art facilities. Need I say more?
    Location:
    It's only 5 minutes from my accommodation by foot and it's securely within the city limits.
    Accommodation:
    Would be higher, but it's very expensive compared to the average letting agency.
    Settling in:
    Too many Freshers events, I'd prefer a way to get to know people rather than mindless celebration.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Above average
    University:
    Nightlife and student life is amazing.
    Course:
    Course is well organised
    Location:
    Its slightly out of town and has no direct buses to it.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is a fair distance from the uni
    Settling in:
    Settled in relatively quickly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I will rate it 7/10 because although I am not sure about other university, I think the marking system of assignments are a really let down with so many flows.
    University:
    The university offered a great service with great library and friendly environment.
    Course:
    I believe that the mixture between Law and Business was not as balanced as I expected but overall it was an interested Degree to study.
    Location:
    The law School was very easily to commute to.
    Accommodation:
    This based on the review from my friends, me myself leaved at home.
    Settling in:
    Very friendly and warm atmosphere.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate my university experience as 3 stars as I didn't really enjoy my three years. This was due to personal experiences. My course was different from other courses so other students didn't really understand my workload and working hours whilst on placement. This made it difficult.
    University:
    I didn't really take part too much in 'uni life'. I was not a part of any clubs or societies. However the library facilities were great at City campus. I was based on a separate campus to the main part of the university and the students union at this small campus were not good. However the main campus's union was great.
    Course:
    The new curriculum was running for the first time so the course lacked general organisation. Some lectures and seminars were repeated multiple times whilst others were out of order or just a waste of everyone's time. The placements were also badly organised as some criteria could not be achieved in certain areas.
    Location:
    The main campus was situated near to the city centre so was perfect for students. However my course was taught at a campus 6 miles from the main campus, which made it difficult. The accommodation I was given in my first year was at the main campus so I had to use the university bus service, which was infrequent and sometimes unreliable. However, I loved the city and the main campus was great.
    Accommodation:
    I applied for halls only one week before commencing university and the accommodation was perfect. The university offers a range if accommodation, most of which is new, en suite rooms. The halls I lived in were very well managed and security guards were always on hand.
    Settling in:
    I was made to feel welcome straight away. The only down side was that I was unable to attend the freshers fare as my university time table did not allow for this and was on a different campus so I could not attend during breaks. I feel attending this event would have been beneficial.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    10/10, definitely recommended!!
    University:
    The services available are second to none, I love the campus and all that is available. The library is incredible and the bar is also amazing!
    Course:
    I loved the course, I just found one section to be very testing and disliked this as I felt I was miss advised.
    Location:
    I love Newcastle town and the night life is incredible. I feel more at home now.
    Accommodation:
    As it was the first year of students in this accommodation, it was very patchy and had a lot of issues. It was quite expensive too for what we ended up having. For example, no power was quite frequent.
    Settling in:
    I found it difficult to fit in being the only girl on my course. And I missed my family from moving away.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good time, with a great course
    University:
    Well organised campus
    Course:
    Good content with interesting lecturers
    Location:
    Great city
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive
    Settling in:
    Helpful staff and good city
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    An amazing university that deserves a lot more respect than it is sometimes given!
    University:
    Gives me everything I need
    Course:
    Everything seems to work on the course, things flow in a very nice way!
    Location:
    Very central to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    From what I have seen from friends accommodation they are really nice quality
    Settling in:
    Made me feel very at home
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    4/5 I definitely enjoy it.
    University:
    I find sports and nightlife seem to be promoted above other groups so I would like to see more about alternative clubs and groups.
    Course:
    I enjoy my course a lot, but I would prefer to have more lectures and seminars. The course is still interesting though!
    Location:
    It's only a bus ride away for me so fairly easy to commute to. In the city centre so you don't have to go too far out of my way.
    Accommodation:
    I live at home so I don't know much about student accommodation
    Settling in:
    It does take a bit of time to get used to but you soon get into the swing of it. And you get to know people fairly quickly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni
    University:
    Amazing range of clubs to join
    Course:
    Good teachers and content
    Location:
    So close to town
    Accommodation:
    Good accommodation bit expensive
    Settling in:
    Struggled being so far away from Home but friendly city and uni
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The uni is very good, and location is great for shopping, nightlife and things to do.
    University:
    shopping is great! love the student union as is always cheap and has good events.
    Course:
    too much time reading off slides and lectures need to be more diverse but i enjoy the module content
    Location:
    City centre is great for shopping and nights out but campus is far from halls and city so have to get a bus everyday to uni.
    Accommodation:
    Very expensive room in halls and wasnt very clean
    Settling in:
    Met loads of new friends on the first day so felt comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I love uni it's the best choice I have made but I would reccomwnd leaving home
    University:
    Because I live at home it's hard to feel like your at university
    Course:
    Because I don't know where I can get after this course as it isn't majorly specific to a certain career.
    Location:
    We have two campus's and mine is further away from town so it is pretty isolated which makes it harder to get involved in the main university events
    Accommodation:
    All of them are different
    Settling in:
    Because I had to change courses so I had to settle in twice
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Nightlife and shopping is good
    Course:
    Course was not what I was expecting
    Location:
    Newcastle is an amazing city
    Accommodation:
    Awful flat mates and no lift when I was on top floor
    Settling in:
    Easy going so adapted easily
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    i dont know i havent done it yet, i didnt read the email. i just free
    University:
    its newcastle
    Course:
    im passionate about my course
    Location:
    i hope ill enjoy it
    Accommodation:
    in a room with only 2 people
    Settling in:
    im optimistic

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE