Member reviews of Queen Mary University of London

  • Sarah1778's avatar by Sarah1778 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Queen Mary overall is a really good university, good teaching staff at Charterhouse Square, good facilities, good social life. Areas of improvement would be more study space at CHSQ, and more focus on dyslexia/disability service.
    University:
    Uni life at Queen Mary is so good, societies actually keep in touch and there are regular meetings and socials catering for different groups e.g. drinking vs non-drinkers, both daytime and evening events etc.
    Course:
    All the lectures are crammed into two 9am-6pm days, this really affects focusing especially when you have three hours lectures. Lectures are generally informative, teaching staff are good and helpful. All lectures are audio+video recorded.
    Location:
    Charterhouse Square, Central London, zone 1. It's such a nice pretty location, hidden away from noisy traffic. Would say food is expensive, and not many places to sit and study. Very small library is 10 mins walk away in nearby hospital.
    Accommodation:
    Dawson Hall is on campus, seems nice
    Settling in:
    The long 9am-6pm days and very heavy work schedule are just so hard to manage, particularly because I work part-time. It's really hard to stay awake during three hour lectures. Assignments are given out from the first week.
  • BT_98's avatar by BT_98 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Russel group, in London
    University:
    Uni life is better than home life in my opinion. I love having the freedom to do whatever I want.
    Course:
    Timetable is similar weekly which I like, however we don't have many contact hours(maybe 15 a week including labs). The lecturers are nice and approachable however most have thick accents so can be hard to understand at times.
    Location:
    In london which is great, mile end isn't the best but it's up and coming. Close to mile end tube station which is on multiple lines and has lots of bus lines through it also.
    Accommodation:
    Best value student accommodation I've seen in London. However I did get lucky with my room as I could see canary wharf from my kitchen and central london from my bedroom window. The walls were thick so couldn't hear my neighbours which was a bonus.
    Settling in:
    I went to the same uni as a couple friends which helped but it was super quickly as everyone was really friendly and I adapted to the situation quite quickly.
  • 10grayc's avatar by 10grayc on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    A great uni in a great location. Would definitely recommend to all looking for a campus uni in London
    University:
    The clubs nearby and on campus are great and the sports clubs are good and affordable. The library always has space to study in and the staff are great help.
    Course:
    My tutors are easily accessible and keep me updated via email. The timetable is very busy but manageable. The new modules introduced during my first year i felt were unnecessary but were still enjoyable.
    Location:
    Very close to central London and very good transport links
    Accommodation:
    My student loan covered my housing but i had to keep up my part time job in order to buy food and live a life. It was on campus so I couldn't have asked for a better location.
    Settling in:
    The teachers started slow in order for everyone to get to grips with the new timetable. The housing staff were also very accommodating
  • Harvey96's avatar by Harvey96 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Brilliant university. Would thoroughly recommend it as it's very close to central London so there is always something going on but also there's plenty going on in Mile End anyway.
    University:
    Many restaurants on campus for eating during the day or night. The student union bar is cheap and has a great atmosphere and plays music. The library is open 24 hours a day now to allow students to go in whenever they want/need.
    Course:
    The foundation year is a very good start to build upon in future years and the feedback provided for tasks that are set is quick and very helpful.
    Location:
    Only a few tube stops from Central London which is full of activity. Even in East London there's always something going on, you'll never struggle to find something to do.
    Accommodation:
    University accommodation is comfortable and affordable. The most expensive building, France House, has great views and plenty of space.
    Settling in:
    Settled in very quickly. Once the semester starts and you have a routine it's very easy to feel settled in. The first couple of weeks can be quite slow academically although societies make up for this.
  • emicha's avatar by emicha on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I'm falling in love with it, it wasn't my first choice but the people I've met and the flatmates I have, along with the societies I've joined have made any reservations I had disappear.
    University:
    There are so many societies to join and facilities on Campus. The buildings are traditional but brought up to date where they need to be inside, Gyms across all campus' and an awesome BLSA SU.
    Course:
    This is a really interesting course, and the lecturers are all doctors that have come out of the field to research in certain areas of Global Health.
    Location:
    Who doesn't love London?!
    Accommodation:
    Dawson is awesome, central and up to date housing. It is further out than Floyer, but I prefer the rooms and location.
    Settling in:
    There were so many people to help bring your stuff to your room, and so friendly and reassuring.
  • MissTeetee's avatar by MissTeetee on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    its a great uni
    University:
    its lit
    Course:
    its brilliant I love it
    Location:
    its amazing
    Accommodation:
    its brilliant
    Settling in:
    love it
  • cheeji's avatar by cheeji on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    The student support staff at the School of Mathematical Sciences are super helpful and supportive and just super informative.
    University:
    Library is resourceful however during exam season it can be stressful to find study space if I’m honest. There are plenty of shops and food places nearby. Plenty of clubs and societies (around 100 I believe). QM is also very involved in their sports.
    Course:
    The student support staff at the School of Mathematical Sciences are super helpful and supportive and just super informative.
    Location:
    Convenient for me to travel to and also to travel from to go to Central London or go to Westfield for some shopping. However surrounding the campus there is quite a few homeless people and it’s just such a contrast to the campus.
    Accommodation:
    I commute so I have no comment.
    Settling in:
    People and staff have all been friendly. Easy to locate buildings and rooms too.
  • Salimshady007's avatar by Salimshady007 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    If your looking for a good course and do a lot of sports to compete in then it would be a good idea to join this university
    University:
    Could join more sports club
    Course:
    Timetable- Needs to be more compact Module content- good Quality of teaching/Feedback and quality of lectures/seminars- Could be improved
    Location:
    Very close to a lot of shops and leisure areas
    Accommodation:
    I haven't explored this area yet
    Settling in:
    Could have joined a society at the beginning of my first year.
  • xayeshamalik99x's avatar by xayeshamalik99x on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    best uni in london
    University:
    bc its sick
    Course:
    v interesting course
    Location:
    its London but not busy busy
    Accommodation:
    The water gives you bacterial infections lol
    Settling in:
    freshers was super fun
  • ahmed.i.s.23's avatar by ahmed.i.s.23 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Poor interaction
    University:
    Not that active
    Course:
    Very poor interaction between departments and students Poor guidance No field trip at all in mechanical engineering course
    Location:
    Easily commute
    Accommodation:
    Not applicable to me
    Settling in:
    Very poor information on how to start
  • saliha981's avatar by saliha981 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I enjoy university life and have met lots of wonderful people. The course is also wonderful with a range of opportunities.
    University:
    Very enjoyable just make an effort.
    Course:
    I enjoy this course due to the high range of modules and different subjects available to study. I like the seminar tutors and lecturers however, sometimes the PHD students who teach can be a little arrogant and expect you to know things you do not.
    Location:
    Could be better. Not central so a few shops around but you can get a bus easily to Canary Wharf and Stratford.
    Accommodation:
    I don’t live in student accommodation.
    Settling in:
    Good amount of events during welcome week to get you acquainted with the subjects and other people taking your subject.
  • Simbafierce1865's avatar by Simbafierce1865 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The university is simply excellent
    University:
    Good atmosphere
    Course:
    The module content is clearly laid out and my teachers as well as other staff are friendly and approachable.
    Location:
    Good location
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is more than sufficient for me.
    Settling in:
    I settled into the university well.
  • GradeJockey's avatar by GradeJockey on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Thus far, it has been a great experience full of amazing and interesting people, and engaging lectures.
    University:
    The Uni has great locations, such as the Student Villiage Shop, and Drapers Bar, presenting a microcosm of everyday life within the Uni. However, the library appears to be a little on the small side is a tad confusing to navigate.
    Course:
    I am still in the early days of the course, but thus far everything seems excellent. The material is interesting, and lecturers are charismatic and engaging.
    Location:
    Queen Mary is an ideal location to study English and Film, due to its location within London, the hub of so much of the adcadmeic and practical work going on in those fields.
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation is spacious, and storage space is well organised, and while he price is a tad expensive, it’s a reasonable price for the city.
    Settling in:
    I’ve settled in rather well. It took a couple days to find friends, but have found my footing, and think I’ve already made some lasting bonds.
  • AlishaMcSporran's avatar by AlishaMcSporran on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    I think I made the right decision attending Queen Mary, not only does it offer a stellar, world class education (part of Russel Group) but it offers many great opportunities to study abroad, get work placements and use the facilities.
    University:
    Queen Mary is not necessarily the embodiment of university life in so far as that the campus is not always busy with students, however when people are around it has a lovely feel to it
    Course:
    I found the course content fascinating and first year provides you with a brilliant foundation to build upon.
    Location:
    I love living in London, and love the slight distance between Queen Mary and the City. Mile End became very homely and felt much safer than people made out.
    Accommodation:
    I did not get student housing by Queen Mary. I got my place through clearing, but they only kept 100 rooms for students who got in this way and I did not get any of these despite applying quickly.
    Settling in:
    I settled in perfectly. The course eases you in for the first two or three weeks, giving you good time to develop some friendships.
  • Clubba's avatar by Clubba on 25th July 2017
    Overall:
    Love everything about uni (Barts and The London). Very tight and family like atmosphere
    University:
    Our canpus is very tight knit and has a very family like feel
    Course:
    Lots of quality contact hours
    Location:
    London is amazing
    Accommodation:
    Decent accomodation for a relatively decent price
    Settling in:
    A variety of people about to make almost everyone feel at home
  • AlexN's avatar by AlexN on 28th February 2017
    Overall:
    See other responses above.
    University:
    See other responses above.
    Course:
    Engaging lecturers who really want the best for you. They support you on a one-to-one level if you come and see them during office hours. But don't be fooled, they won't spoon feed you throughout your degree, they really want you to become independent thinkers and not rely on their "authority" as lecturers/professors. The course is accredited by the IOP (institute of physics) meaning you're being exposed to top quality teaching (by leading experts in their field) that will leave you in good standing amongst other physics institutions throughout europe and the world. All in all this is a good place to consider if you want to take up a physics degree.
    Location:
    It's not as attractive as some of the most beautiful universities out there, but that shouldn't be a major factor in deciding on a place to study. It's what's inside that counts, not outside.
    Accommodation:
    I commute from home so couldn't give a fair opinion. However most of my mates who live on campus and on student accommodation are quite happy from the sounds of it. I've see a fair few and they seems pretty standard. Of course the best course of action is to come and see for yourself through accommodation viewings.
    Settling in:
    The people here are really friendly, especially in the physics department. I remember in my first year, the senior students would casually come and say hi and start a pleasant conversation with you. They would give you pointers about modules and share "secret" locations where you can find spare computers during peak times (when it almost seems difficult to find a free computer). The people I now call friends were all on the same boat as me. We were all nervous and unaware of what our journey into university life would be like, but we all made it through. We now share life long experiences that will never be forgotten. Thinking about it right now, I will surely miss my time at Queen Mary University. Settling in should be fairly straightforward as there is always someone there that you will just connect with. Just be confident that it will happen and it will.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    satisfactory
    University:
    Decent services
    Course:
    The timetable isn't structured the best way
    Location:
    Close to station and in London
    Accommodation:
    Very close by
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Queen Mary is a great university, with a good balance between studies and life. The community there is very friendly too and international students especially should settle in quite quickly.
    University:
    There is a wide variety of clubs and societies we can join, and the gym is well-furnished and equipped. The medical library is also well stocked and it's quite easy to find the textbooks we need there.
    Course:
    Lectures so far have been insightful, and I quite enjoy the small group setting of PBL sessions. The content so far has also been quite manageable and the pace of study is reasonable.
    Location:
    I like the fact that it is in London, close enough to all the entertainment and culture, but far enough not to have all those temptations on your doorstep. The only gripe is that the East End is a bit more dodgy than say, the west end, so it may not feel as pleasant walking around the area.
    Accommodation:
    For central London,
    Settling in:
    Naturally as an international student, homesickness was an issue, but everyone was really friendly from the start and I felt right at home within a short span of time
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great university that has a lot on offer in a great location
    University:
    Campus has a range on offer and lots of societies to choose from to join however lots of events are alcohol centred and it would be nicer if there was more on offer for non-drinkers
    Course:
    It has a good range of content and the subjects are taught in an interesting manner
    Location:
    In a very diverse location and not too far from the centre of London. London itself is a great city with lots to do to keep myself occupied
    Accommodation:
    Good location; close to campus and not a long journey to the city centre. Affordable for London but very basic with some maintenance issues
    Settling in:
    It's taking me a long while to settle in and learn how to be away from home and my family
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Its an all rounded uni with marvellous acedmeic staff
    University:
    Best night life in the country, its london
    Course:
    Its ideal to any student who wants to get their moneys worth from their degrees
    Location:
    Nice and quiet on campus
    Accommodation:
    Bedrooms are well equipped and sized in a very nice area of London
    Settling in:
    Everyones friendly and the campus is easy to learn your way around
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE