Member reviews of Queen's University Belfast

  • integral21's avatar by integral21 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Good Uni with lots of opportunities and good teaching. You need to invest yourself in it to get the most out of it as with anywhere but there's lots to get involved with.
    University:
    Student union is getting knocked down and rebuilt but the temporary location is still close and comfy enough despite the slight lack of space.
    Course:
    .
    Location:
    Right beside a large area of student housing and under a half hour walk from city centre. Great location as it is close to anything you could need.
    Accommodation:
    I commute so I don't know why I'm given this question. There is a lot of student housing around. From the friends houses I've been in they are quite small if you go to an independent rental property nearby.
    Settling in:
    Starting off in university was a big change but with peer mentor lunches being organised once a week so you get to know people in the course and a module that splits you into small groups too, it's easy to settle in.
  • Adamtt's avatar by Adamtt on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    An excellent university that gives students many opportunities, highly detailed lectures with guidance and many facilities.
    University:
    Excellent, Queens students union makes the upmost effort to get students involved in events and societies. As well as this the library McClay is also exceptional. There is also a gym which is available for all students.
    Course:
    So far I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Queens. I have quite a good timetable throughout the week and I love my course. The lecturers are highly helpful and responsive when you need help or feedback and are all highly approachable.
    Location:
    Perfect for me I just need to get one bus and a very short walk and I’m there.
    Accommodation:
    The university is clearly making an attempt to accommodate its students with top quality accommodation. It had even refurbished a large building right in the city centre for students with many facilities on top of their other buildings.
    Settling in:
    Queens made it very easy to settle in and very comfortable. The guidance was very good.
  • student2134's avatar by student2134 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Overall a good balance between academics and student life.
    University:
    The gym could be better , but the libraries are a pretty good size, but I've heard can become over crowded over exam terms, though ive yet to experience this personally.
    Course:
    .
    Location:
    About twenty minutes from the city centre, ten minutes from the main bar/club area. Also about twenty minutes from all the main university accommodation. - by foot
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation im staying in is university owned, brand new this year and central to Belfast city centre, about a twenty minute walk from the university.
    Settling in:
    There has been lots of opportunities to meet new people through clubs societies and tutorials.
  • chemwhizzkid's avatar by chemwhizzkid on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    My experience at university has been great so far. I have never felt nervous coming into lectures and feel very comfortable and settled in.
    University:
    There are many sports clubs and societies to join with the university and there is a very broad and accomodating nightlife for everyone.
    Course:
    The university is highly organised and responds quickly to any queries. All my lecturers so far have been very informative, kind and helpful.
    Location:
    The university is situated perfectly as you are close to many amenities and are never short of having something to do.
    Accommodation:
    I live in a residential area with my friends. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to the university. The house itself is nice and clean. As the rent is split between 5 of us, it is very affordable.
    Settling in:
    I have found myself very comfortable and calm coming to the university.
  • otjowolabi's avatar by otjowolabi on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Really really good, so far
    University:
    Because it's a city university the options especially for restaurants abd places to eat are incredible everything you need is within walking distance, but. Your course probably dictates your 9 to 5 movements.
    Course:
    Medicine at Queen's is amazing with great facilities, and knowledgeable lecturers and tutors.
    Location:
    A little far from my family home, but Belfast is very vibrant and lively city and queens makes up a great part of that.
    Accommodation:
    It's pretty good, most first years are in Elms Village which really is like a village with a great community with great facilities for all your living needs without the hassle of worrying utilities
    Settling in:
    Settling in was pretty easy especially due to elms cause any friends you make most likely live there, so you can meet up any time.
  • Heather73's avatar by Heather73 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I wouldn't change anything about my experience. It has been and still is the best experience of my life, providing me with many different opportunities and teaching me a lot of new academic but also life skills.
    University:
    No complaints really just that the sports facilities are located a little far from the university for some who live on the other side of the uni.
    Course:
    As for the Timetable, course structure and quality of lectures/ tutorials I have nothing to complain about. However, some may have difficulty with some of the modules on offer each year.
    Location:
    Its not too close to the city centre for there to be constant noise and distractions but it is close enough. It is about a 20 min walk or if you want there are regular buses that go straight into the centre all day.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of the accommodation is good. The rooms do get better the more they cost which is reasonable. The whole "village" is located at 20 min walk away from most of the university buildings which was doable. However the cost for the year is a lot.
    Settling in:
    No problems with settling in myself. It felt like home straight away! Regardless of presumptions people may have about the Northern Irish in regards to the British, the people are very welcoming and glad to have you there!
  • jhill649's avatar by jhill649 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I would recommend Queen's to anyone. The city is great, clubs and societies are loads of fun and there is a generally great vibe about the place.
    University:
    The library facilities are great with multiple to choose from, they can get particularly busy at exam time and a bit cramped but for the majority of the time thats not a problem.
    Course:
    I think Queen's has struck a really good balance for medicine using traditional methods yet with a lot of tutorials and contact time with patients.
    Location:
    The main campus is not far from town at all and is central to all the main accommodation sites and still close to bars and clubs. Belfast is a great student city, I would recommend it to anyone.
    Accommodation:
    In Belfast rent is very cheap and houses I think are of pretty decent quality overall, but obviously depends where you go and what you want to pay!
    Settling in:
    It took me a while to get settled in but I think that was just due to a changing situation from school to University.
  • Bekah2705's avatar by Bekah2705 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I love the uni and the course that i am doing.
    University:
    All services are amazing.
    Course:
    Course content is great and all the lecturers are very helpful and approachable.
    Location:
    Close to everything that you could need or want.
    Accommodation:
    The location and affordability are both super.
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly.
  • illmatics's avatar by illmatics on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The location of QUB makes it ideal for students looking to move to a vibrant city with a packed night-life.
    University:
    The library is amazing as a study space and has a very nice cafe attached right beside it which means you are always only 30 seconds away from a caffeine top up if you're losing concentration on your studies!
    Course:
    So far I have found all of my lecturers engaging and, for the most part, good at explaining things.
    Location:
    The location of QUB is perfect; it's about a 15 minute walk into the city centre and literally a 1 minute walk from tonnes of great food outlets around the Botanic, Stranmillis and Lisburn road area.
    Accommodation:
    N/A - living at home
    Settling in:
    .
  • EmmaAuditore's avatar by EmmaAuditore on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    The university is great. The teachers, students, extra curriculum and city is amazing and I am so happy to be at Queens University!
    University:
    The facilities at the University are great. The library has such a wide selection of book and language courses that are extremely cheap. The night life is amazing with plenty of bars and clubs in the area.
    Course:
    The timetable is well planned with no split lectures. I'm happy with the contract hours and there is a lot of support available through teachers and postgraduate students. The teaching is clear and the course is laid out well.
    Location:
    The university is just out of town but easy to get to from accommodation.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is so affordable and you get so much for your money. The new accommodation is top of the range and in the middle of the city center so everything is so close.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is so friendly and there is so much support to help you settle in.
  • annabee2407's avatar by annabee2407 on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    It's been really good so far
    University:
    It's great
    Course:
    My uni course is fun and I'm enjoying it
    Location:
    I like how close it is to everything in the city
    Accommodation:
    I travel to uni so I don't know but from what I've heard they are good
    Settling in:
    Felt I have settled in well
  • JodsC's avatar by JodsC on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So much fun
    University:
    Not enough activities that don't involve drinking. Drinking isn't my thing
    Course:
    I come home every day feeling so happy!
    Location:
    It's good but could be slightly bigger
    Accommodation:
    Friends have told me it's good but noisy.
    Settling in:
    I feel so comfortable already after 2 weeks
  • Annemary's avatar by Annemary on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    There are very good facilities
    Course:
    Very helpful and easy to speak to if you have problems.
    Location:
    It's out of the city which is good but also very close to the city
    Accommodation:
    Good however at least a 10minute walk in the mornings
    Settling in:
    Felt at home right away
  • fadedmemories95's avatar by fadedmemories95 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I had a good time
    University:
    Overall the services is good
    Course:
    Because it deserves it
    Location:
    Its quite near to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    Nice place
    Settling in:
    It takes time
  • chricky's avatar by chricky on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    9/10 almost all you could ask for. Russell group uni, committed teachers, friendly cheap city. Near obsession on alcohol isn't really my cup of tea though
    University:
    Near perfect, slightly more tolerance of religion would be nice.
    Course:
    So far the course has far surpassed my expectations
    Location:
    Perfect student city
    Accommodation:
    It is superb
    Settling in:
    The settling in process was intense but exciting
  • little_tim's avatar by little_tim on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 5/5. Facilities are great, location is great, prices are great, and the people of all backgrounds and diversities make the environment great.
    University:
    Among other things outside the university, the uni facilities themselves are very accommodation with a student union with everything you could want in it from a gig hall to a Starbucks, and also a desperate centre that houses a very prestigious, yet affordable, gym.
    Course:
    The timetable is full on for this course however it is very well structured and gives you a lot of time (in the first year anyway) to complete your work and copy up lectures. As well as giving you free time outside of class to do and enjoy your other activities.
    Location:
    There is so much to do just around the university itself but it is also only a close walk to the city centre and right beside the train station to bring you to where you desire.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is very affordable, however very nice to live in for such a low rate. You couldn't ask for better accommodation at such a price. There is also various locations and types of accommodation to look at.
    Settling in:
    I'm still finding my bearings, I just started so I think it will take a couple more weeks. The people are very nice though.
  • A1996Pillay's avatar by A1996Pillay on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    University is amazing but it does have a lot of international student in my class 95% of student are Northern Irish and rest are international students. In that sense the university is not much diverse in a way.
    University:
    The library (McClay Library) is fantastic it has abundance of books and resources such as computers and printers and it makes it easier for student to borrow books electronically. Sports and fitness offers many class and clubs for students to join from rock climbing to swimming to gym. Student union are alright I don't see a lot of them helping out students or informing them about clubs or societies.
    Course:
    So far I have been enjoying my course although there are some modules I don't like. Overall I like the course, the lecturers are helpful and kind. We also have a lot of resources to help us as well.
    Location:
    The university is beautiful and it is quiet at most times except during breaks there will be events and people giving out cards promoting shows. The people are nice and polite to each other. The area is very clean and respected the university is next to a beautiful park. It is also a 5 to 10 minute walk to the university from accommodation. The campus is quiet large so it very easy to get lost so map of the campus will be useful. There many restaurants nearby which gives offers for students. Although it is quite far from the city centre it is around a 20 minute walk from the university.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation (elms village) is nice although I do come across lots of maintenance issue with lights and hot water. The accommodation also has staff to ensure the residents are happy they regularly check and are friendly. There is also a building called treehouse which provides everything from washing machines, printers, T.Vs and a shop where students and hang out.
    Settling in:
    The people at my university and at my accommodation welcomed me and showed me around and were very helpful and kind. It just took me a few days to settle in and know the place and how to get around to my lectures and other shops.
  • jess204's avatar by jess204 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    I feel like "uni life" is very much overhyped
    Course:
    Some of the modules feel a bit irrelevant
    Location:
    All of the buildings are relatively close together and it is in a good location within the city
    Accommodation:
    Very basic and very over priced
    Settling in:
    I feel like I've settled in well
  • Languagestudent2's avatar by Languagestudent2 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    I had an amazing time on this course, and my periods abroad through this course we're amazing.
    Course:
    I meet the best people through this course, and the lecturers were amazing.
    Location:
    I'm from Belfast so it was close to home, and city centre.
    Accommodation:
    There are so many different options for student housing and accomadation around the campus.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so nice
  • tejbolt96's avatar by tejbolt96 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would give it a 9/10
    University:
    Everything is truly brilliant.
    Course:
    I'v just begun the course, but I know I will grow to love it.
    Location:
    Belfast is generally a beautiful city on its own, and the campus location is good too.
    Accommodation:
    Elms Village is excellent.
    Settling in:
    I am very adaptabe to any situation.
  • sarahmb123's avatar by sarahmb123 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    10 out of 10
    University:
    There is always something happening or somewhere to go and do something on campus Events are constantly organised for the evenings as well
    Course:
    The staff and fellow students are amazing
    Location:
    So close to the center of town and anything you could need
    Accommodation:
    The location is very handy and the rooms are of a good standard
    Settling in:
    It was daunting but the staff are quick to offer help and advice
  • Jburnside615's avatar by Jburnside615 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far I love it. People are friendly, the atmosphere is very good in that everyone is there to learn as well as have fun and lecturers/staff respect you as a person rather than viewing you like a child.
    University:
    Everything has its own building, staff and we are all well informed of all the options available too us.
    Course:
    The lecturers are interesting and good teachers, the course content is great but I dont like that mathematical modules are enforced in first year (I must use discrete mathematics in a compulsory module).
    Location:
    It is in the centre of everything. It has clubs, pubs as well as museums and culture. You can do pretty much anything in the university area.
    Accommodation:
    The selection process was awful, stressful and very very disorganised. The accommodation of Elms village is nice, but too expensive for what yiu are getting and a good 20-25 minute walk away. Thankfully im not in it, but others have complained about how noisy it is.
    Settling in:
    Induction was very good at making us comfortable, we were well looked after and communication about everything going on was very good.
  • MattyB1's avatar by MattyB1 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good experience at a respected, warm uni, in a pretty nice city.
    University:
    The SU, services and societies are great, although nightlife/city life could be better.
    Course:
    Tutors are encouraging and knowledgeable, course is broadly structured and fulfilling.
    Location:
    The city/area is largely pretty, friendly and welcoming, however I have seen many nicer/more impressive cities.
    Accommodation:
    Catering and accommodation is great. Lovely campus and area.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly and never felt unwelcome or dejected.
  • megs:)'s avatar by megs:) on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    good
    University:
    good but as I live at home I feel slightly excluded
    Course:
    timetable could be better but course content is good
    Location:
    close to city centre but still a brave distance to walk
    Accommodation:
    very small rooms, but good location. extortionate prices
    Settling in:
    I live at home but I feel welcome to every lecture
  • acrawford957's avatar by acrawford957 on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    Perhaps more activities throughout the day when free. But very good range at night
    Course:
    Perfect balance between lectures, practical's etc. Very good balance of uni hours and social time within course
    Location:
    Belfast is a fantastic emerging city. With a lot of good opportunity for employment or entertainment.
    Accommodation:
    Very good provision. Really is like a community
    Settling in:
    Not too long. Since I wasn't that far from home
  • RTJP 's avatar by RTJP on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's not necessarily a bad university but I wouldn't recommend to anyone from outside of Northern Ireland. It's a very hard place to settle and feel at home. A student from outside Northern Ireland is likely to feel lonely
    University:
    It's almost impossible to fit into social circles as they're mostly groups of NI students who have been friends since high school or before
    Course:
    Some modules are content heavy and timetabling isn't always logical or practical
    Location:
    Belfast isn't a nice city and not a good place for students from outside Northern Ireland, they're not made to feel welcome
    Accommodation:
    Very poor accommodation available although price is low in comparison to other UK cities
    Settling in:
    After 3 years I still don't feel at home, the people are very unfriendly
  • Snax17's avatar by Snax17 on 8th September 2015
    Overall:
    The medicine course at QUB is really great. The course is structured really well so that the Anatomy, Physiology, Pathology, Pharmacology lectures all cover the different aspects of, say, the cardiovascular system or respiratory system at the same time. Then in your clinical skills practicals and clinical attachments (which are once a week starting 2nd semester of 1st year) you actually get to see the signs, symptoms and treatments of the diseases you've been studying in lectures that week! I think it's a great way of reinforcing your learning and gives the opportunity to develop clinical skills and attitudes early on. Another great thing about QUB Medicine is that in anatomy practical the students actually get to carry out cadaver dissection. I found this to be really interested but, again, it reinforced my learning as I could actually see and touch the structures and organs I was learning about.
    University:
    Most of my days were spent in lectures which were within easy walking distance which was good. In the evenings there is always something happening like a pub quiz, themed nights, drinks promos, which was good. There is the main McClay library right in the centre of the campus which has a huge of books and a fair amount of desks for studying. For medicine and other related courses there is another smaller library in the MBC (the main lecture building for medical and other related courses) which has better selection of medical textbooks. I think engineering and some other courses have their own dedicated librarys too. The university gym is a short walk away from the main campus. I didn't have to use welfare provision but I know it was available if sought after. The SU club did lots of themed nights which were good but I wouldn't go there normally. There is a separate bar, the Speakeasy, which I went to a lot with friends. The music is a lot quieter than other bars and pubs which made chatting a lot easier on the vocal chords! There are loads of pool tables in the Speakeasy and the whole place has a really chilled out atmosphere which is good. There are loads of really varied clubs and societies which get shown off during freshers weeks over two days.
    Course:
    All of the tutors are knowledgeable in their area and are always available to answer questions by email. We do have a heavy timetable of around 23hrs per week of lectures, tutorials and attachments, but this is to be expected as there is so much stuff we need to learn before qualifying. Unlike other courses, whose timetables are updated weekly and are prone to having lectures cancelled or additional lectures added, the medicine timetable is published at the start of each semester and stays mostly the same week to week which is good because it gives consistency. There are 2 or 3 group projects each semester which can be good if you have a good group where everyone pulls their weight. It is frustrating not having as much free time as my friends and not being able to go out as much because of the heavy workload but because it is so interesting and enjoyable it makes up for it!
    Location:
    For me Belfast is just over and hour away by car which is handy. There are also two airports in the city and an OK bus service. All of the 'student stuff' is all located in one part of the city of nearly everything (shops, lecture buildings, library, clubs, pubs, cinema, restaurants, banks, gym, etc.) is within easy walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    I was in Elms Village (Ash Avenue). There are 11 people on each floor which is good because you can get a good mix of people (which I did) although the kitchen can get very crowded at dinner when everyone needs the microwave. I felt very safe there because all the doors were locked and a keycard was needed to get in to your specific building, floor, and room. There were also security who stood at the entrance to Elms Village at night and others who patrolled the Elms streets. The number for security was on the keycards which you could phone if you needed to. It was also clean, once a week cleaners came in and cleaned the kitchen-common room area and corridors. It's important than non-Northern Ireland students know that almost all Northern Ireland students go home at the weekend so it gets very quite and can be lonely.
    Settling in:
    Freshers week was a really good way of meeting the people on course and on your floor because everyone just went out together. This meant it wasn't as awkward meeting people at classes because you already met them. For our course anyway, the lectures just started straight away and there was no gradual ease in. This was good in a way because after a few weeks you knew pretty much what your workload was and could plan around that.
  • NekoJyo's avatar by NekoJyo on 4th September 2015
    Overall:
    I love Queens
    University:
    There is so much to see
    Course:
    There's a reason it's fifth in it's subject in the UK
    Location:
    I wanted to be close to home but I'm not Belfasts biggest fan
    Accommodation:
    It's expensive but it's in a good location.
    Settling in:
    My friends helped me a lot
  • Becca17bird's avatar by Becca17bird on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    My university experience was great
    University:
    Queens provides nearly everything that I needed in a close proximity
    Course:
    The module choices that I made, made the course enjoyable
    Location:
    It is close to the city centre. And the university quarter is packed with everything a student may need
    Accommodation:
    Elms village was great, met a lot of friends there, rented accommodation in Belfast is very poor, houses are over priced for the quality, landlords do not fix problems and then do not return deposits at the end of the lease
    Settling in:
    Introduction week and freshers helped me mingle and make friends. The course itself was laid back during the first few weeks
  • Panda66's avatar by Panda66 on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's a great university.
    University:
    The weekends are dead because most people go back home. The bright side is we can get on with our work.
    Course:
    The course is well structured and we receive plenty of early clinical contact and have access to excellent practical resources like cadavers.
    Location:
    The city has everything we need at a walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    Belfast is very cheap for living expenses. The uni accommodation is a bit far but is excellent quality. Houses can be found very near uni campus and for a very low price.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is friendly
  • d's avatar by d on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    looks cool building
    University:
    just
    Course:
    PHD students teaching and marking, inconsistency of marking
    Location:
    right in the middle of it
    Accommodation:
    Pretty good
    Settling in:
    ok
  • Cdoyle's avatar by Cdoyle on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Middle ground
    University:
    Library had quiet areas and group areas which suited me as my college library before was all noisy
    Course:
    I only enjoyed parts of the course. Seminars didn't suit me as I preferred to study independently.
    Location:
    Its cheap to live in compared to others. It appeared second in some rating list but can't remember what
    Accommodation:
    Not applicable
    Settling in:
    I never felt settled in
  • BenH147's avatar by BenH147 on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, a brilliant experience. I've loved gaining so much independence and really growing up as well as finding out who I really am.
    University:
    Everything about the uni life in Belfast is just so great!
    Course:
    Because I really love mu course overall! Yes there are negatives but the positives outweigh them by a huge margin!
    Location:
    I love Belfast and the uni is very close to several great areas including the city centre!
    Accommodation:
    Because it is affordable and great fun! But loses a star for shocking internet.
    Settling in:
    It only took me about a month to settle in!
  • Can't remember 's avatar by Can't remember on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great uni to go to, will get a good solid degree from it and good facilities. Also great social life around the compass
    University:
    Great facilities and student union and plenty to do
    Course:
    I think it's a great course
    Location:
    Close to everything you need but can get quite busy driving to and from
    Accommodation:
    Nice accommodation but room for improvement
    Settling in:
    Settled in quite well but there's still no place like home
  • Caseywebb 's avatar by Caseywebb on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very enjoyable
    University:
    Good activities
    Course:
    Overall good, one lecturer just reads from the sheet
    Location:
    Close to bus train and shops
    Accommodation:
    Clean
    Settling in:
    Everyone very helpful and approachable
  • johnstonnadine's avatar by johnstonnadine on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far it has been excellent
    University:
    Great library plenty of clubs and societies and helpful student officers
    Course:
    Great interesting well run course
    Location:
    Easy to get to in a good area
    Accommodation:
    N/a as I do not live near the university
    Settling in:
    I am a mature student so it has been an adjustment but the university is making it easier
  • emz540's avatar by emz540 on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    My whole experience so far has been great. Everyone is nice and approachable and the other students want to learn too which is good - there's no messers in the class! The location is great there's always somewhere to go during our one hour breaks etc.
    University:
    Loads of stuff to do. If I lived in Belfast I would probably do more of these however.
    Course:
    Everything has been thought out well with regards to our timetable. There are no large breaks in between classes or anything.
    Location:
    It's right in the centre of Belfast. It's within walking distance of the train station so is very handy for me.
    Accommodation:
    I live at home but from what I've heard they're really good.
    Settling in:
    It took no time at all for me to settle in and meet new people. E try one is very friendly and the lecturers are very helpful too.
  • Gemmamcnamee (I think)'s avatar by Gemmamcnamee (I think) on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Always something happening
    Course:
    The timetable isn't so great unfortunately
    Location:
    Easy to get t
    Accommodation:
    Good price but not so good condition
    Settling in:
    Had friends from home
  • xmed's avatar by xmed on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Absolutely love every second of it and wouldn't change it for the world.
    University:
    Great fitness facilities and library. Walkable distance to shopping centre and fantastic student union.
    Course:
    Queen's is amazing! The staff are very friendly and helpful. The environment is great and everyone is just so nice!
    Location:
    Love the city and the overall feeling of the campus.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was good value for money, clean, quite, safe and lots of space for socializing with people.
    Settling in:
    I met lots of new people and it felt like home very quickly.
  • TSR??'s avatar by TSR?? on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    8.5/10
    University:
    It's good
    Course:
    I like it
    Location:
    City centre
    Accommodation:
    Good accommodation
    Settling in:
    Good flat mates
  • annie.thoms's avatar by annie.thoms on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Quite good!
    University:
    Much better than A levels. And much more freedom and time to make friends and discover yourself as a person.
    Course:
    I've always wanted to do psychology. And this course offers me everything I could ever want.
    Location:
    It's relatively close to the city centre, a short walk. And easily commutable.
    Accommodation:
    I do not live in the university housing.
    Settling in:
    The freshers week definitely helped and there were a lot of activities organised by the student union. It's amazing.
  • Deanie_h's avatar by Deanie_h on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I've really enjoyed my uni life. I love my course and have settled in well. Uni itself is close to a lot of areas, they offer cheap gym membership deals and 24hr use during exam time of a brilliant library. I'm really happy with my choice and would recommend QUB highly to anyone !
    University:
    The campus life is great. I work in the students union shop, which is handy itself and offers great deals. The SU as a whole offers many other perks such as 2 coffee shops, a book shop and beauticians. There is also a bar and many social events. I have joined many societies and it has allowed me to further enhance interests I had previously.
    Course:
    Most of the course is great and I found I enjoyed it. While most of the tutors are high quality i found at times some of the lectures to be tiresome and the some of the rotors have difficulty getting a discussion raised.
    Location:
    It's close to city centre and a lot of social areas. It's also easy to commute areas out of walking distance through bus.
    Accommodation:
    As far as cleanliness etc, there was no problems. However the guest policy was awkward as well as the curfew and distance from uni.
    Settling in:
    Although at the start I was slightly apprehensive, I feel I've settle well into uni life. I've made good friends and passed my first year with high standards which I hope to continue
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    Easy to get to, very close to the coty centre
    University:
    Many bars and clubs nearby
    Course:
    Perfect university
    Location:
    Can go home over weekend
    Accommodation:
    Elms village could have been better
    Settling in:
    Made friends very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    It's difficult because I didn't get into halls so have to commute from home
    Course:
    I am enjoying the course and finding the staff all really good but finding it a big adjustment
    Location:
    It's near town, near the accommodation and has plenty of good train and bus links
    Accommodation:
    queens don't have enough space in halls so people who live less than 25ish miles away don't get accommodation so have to organise a privately rented house or commute from home which is really disappointing because you miss out on the experience of living in halls.
    Settling in:
    Not sure if I've completely settled in yet
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Alright but not the ultimate party uni
    University:
    Not enough library space around exams and everyone goes home at weekends so no facilities are really open then
    Course:
    You learn a lot of all round knowledge with the modules so it is good. Would be better if there were some options for modules and you got more contact time for the money you are paying
    Location:
    Ok location
    Accommodation:
    Decent and warm, would be better if you could put the heating on whenever but it was only on at certain times
    Settling in:
    The city is ok, but the culture is very different from back home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    very good
    University:
    good
    Course:
    good content well taught
    Location:
    good
    Accommodation:
    accesible and inexpensive
    Settling in:
    easily settled
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    The courses are excellent with very good lecturers who are interesting and therefore make classes enjoyable and far from boring. There are lots of shops and great student discount is offered. The nightlife is also pretty good if you are into that sort of thing. The university has excellent facilities and state of the art equipment. Highly recommend.
    University:
    For someone not massively into drinking and clubbing, the evening social events are not for me. The library facilities are excellent and the student union arranges multiple activities such as pub crawls, pub quizzes etc. there is a wide range of clubs and societies from origami to martial arts and skydiving to suit a range of characters. Many societies seem aimed at volunteering and helping people which I think is a great team to be part of.
    Course:
    Some of the topics in the modules seems a bit irrelevant to my course but overall I enjoy the structure of the course and am happy with the amount of contact time and practicals.
    Location:
    My modules are taught across 3 different buildings on the campus which are a lengthy walk and timetabling means we often have lectures straight after each other in different buildings.
    Accommodation:
    I wasn't able to get into university halls as I live too close. So I am in a flat with people I don't know and they are slightly antisocial which I feel is unfair as I am a first year attempting to make new friends and they are all either second or third years who have already made new friends so aren't making an effort.
    Settling in:
    I like the course and I like living in this city however my living arrangements reduces the enjoyment as I am sometimes lonely.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is having a diverse of students. The atmosphere here is suitable for international student to continue their further study.
    University:
    The facilities in the campus were great.
    Course:
    The quality of lecturers are good and they convey the messages in a clear and understandable way.
    Location:
    The atmosphere of the campus is peaceful and not as busy as London.
    Accommodation:
    The cost of the accommodation is lower comparing to others university. Plus the space given is satisfying and comfortable. The room is also not far away from my school.
    Settling in:
    The people here are nice and they lend me a hand when I am feeling helpless.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has areas it can improve in. But it a great place to be.
    University:
    Good union with clubs and societies, and it's easy to start a club or society if the one you want isn't here. Campus is nice and all in one place. If you're willing to make the most of each opportunity then it's a great place to be - more opportunities because NI and Belfast particularly are trying to grow
    Course:
    There are areas of improvement - there could be more contact hours for the amount students pay, feedback could be quicker, one or two of the lecturers could give better feedback and lectures but overall the course is really good and the PISP school are really keen to do well.
    Location:
    For GB students there is a separation from home that you're made more aware of because of the need of a flight or ferry back and the NI students going home every chance they get. However the uni sits really well a 20 minute walk from the town centre and a 10 minute drive from the airport, though it doesn't feel in the airports shadow! It's a great city for somewhere different, and the underlying politics and history are only really able to be understood through living here - so it is unique! And easy to get a job!
    Accommodation:
    It's the cheapest in the UK, and good quality is available if you want to pay a little more as well as the choice of diet cheap and not as nice!
    Settling in:
    There are loads of other GB students and the PISP school works hard to help us feel welcome. Lots of NI students do go home every weekend, so it's a strange environment at weekends that's inescapable, but easy to also make the most of if you want to!
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Full marks, really have settled in well and everyone is so helpful. Feel very welcome and that I have been here longer than 2 weeks!
    University:
    Wide range of clubs and societies, library facilities are excellent.
    Course:
    Really enjoyed the course so far.
    Location:
    Everything is very close together, well within walking distance. Also close to city centre to walk in but far enough out so that traffic is less busy.
    Accommodation:
    Reasonable rent and excellent facilities
    Settling in:
    Settled in in about a week
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far I would rate it 10/10! However, because I've only started this isn't an accurate rating. However, I don't doubt this rating will stay.
    University:
    Freshers week was amazing and I love living in the city with the nightlife, always having something to do.
    Course:
    I don't really know a lot about the course yet as I've only started.
    Location:
    I love living in the city as opposed to living in the country where I was brought up. It's a change, for the better.
    Accommodation:
    I live in the top floor apartment of a flat. I love it.
    Settling in:
    So many things organised to meet new people.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good if you like to party
    University:
    Good choice of clubs and societies
    Course:
    It is abit difficult to have a social life outside of class hours due to workload
    Location:
    Quite near the city
    Accommodation:
    The house is cheap but condition could be better
    Settling in:
    I have great friends that helped me feel better
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Be independent and outgoing
    University:
    Good atmosphere and plenty of clubs and entertainment
    Course:
    Good lecturer and detailed notes provided
    Location:
    Very close to house
    Accommodation:
    Spacious for 4. Only negatives are shower and boiler heating.
    Settling in:
    Enjoying my time
  • by Anonymous on 12th September 2015
    Overall:
    Go here if you get the chance
    University:
    Good all round facilities provided.
    Course:
    Generally a good course with helpful lecturers and a well balanced timetable
    Location:
    Fantastic city
    Accommodation:
    For me it was affordable in private accommodation but was aware from friends that university accommodation was rather expensive.
    Settling in:
    Being 20 miles down the road from home and coming home most weekends
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Perfect for me. I researched many universities before choosing Queen's as my first choice and I have never regretted it.
    University:
    Excellent
    Course:
    Perfect
    Location:
    Close to home/work and easily accesible
    Accommodation:
    Cheap and good quality
    Settling in:
    Felt at home after first day of freshers week
  • by Anonymous on 26th August 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Great gym, library, shops, eating places, student's union
    Course:
    I can't fault it
    Location:
    It's right in the heart of the city
    Accommodation:
    There are not enough rooms for all students who apply
    Settling in:
    I am very comfortable on campus
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    10/10 perfect!
    University:
    You feel like an adult and you can experience so much more to life
    Course:
    great lectures and a variety of activities eg working in the lab as well and the uni atmosphere is perfect with plenty of extracurricular activities
    Location:
    It's on the outskirt of the city centre with plenty of transport services to easily reach the campuses and loads of great shops nearby
    Accommodation:
    Very good housing beside the uni campuses and in the city centre
    Settling in:
    Quickly settled in with lots of support from the university and my new friends
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    10/10!
    University:
    early mornings
    Course:
    Quality uni, great people!
    Location:
    Near good night life
    Accommodation:
    didnt go through uni accommodation
    Settling in:
    miss my culchie land!
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Very difficult. I've been koncked back a lot. But now I've been accepted into this uni I feel great.
    University:
    There's lots to choose from and you can get lots of discounts.
    Course:
    As I'm not 100% sure yet what I think of the course.
    Location:
    It's great I can get there by one easy train journey
    Accommodation:
    It's not the greatest from what I've seen. But I commute.
    Settling in:
    I don't know.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Good, real culture shock. Required a lot of work and a lot of effort to maintain new friends and new workload.
    University:
    Good SU facilities but needs further investment from University.
    Course:
    Not as advertised, too great of an emphasis on the IT aspect.
    Location:
    Very central and close to town. Good transport links to rest of Belfast.
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    My school did a fair job of mixing us together and includes a lot of group work. Could introduce more social aspect to help settle in and make friends.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It is a great university with a reputable quality of teaching.
    University:
    There are plenty of opportunities for students to develop a non academic life outside of classes which is promoted by the student union.
    Course:
    I like the content of my course and the variation of modules offered to me.
    Location:
    It is situated very close to the city centre and stands alone in a nice area of Belfast with plenty of nice restaurants and cafes nearby.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation provided all I needed to live by but could have been upgraded to be more visually appealing.
    Settling in:
    I was ready to start university after a year out of school and quickly made friends at my accommodation and settled well into my classes which didn't take long to challenge my preexisting knowledge.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    9 out of 10
    University:
    It was enjoyable
    Course:
    I feel I am getting a first rate education and a fantastic student experience at this university. My lecturers are very helpful and I have learned a lot this past year
    Location:
    It is quite far from my home, I can't easily visit home during the week
    Accommodation:
    The student accommodation feel very safe and have been very comfortable this year. It is just far enough away from the uni to give me some exercise
    Settling in:
    I settled in surprising fast, I don't really like change and am quite shy but I really took to uni
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Brillaint
    University:
    Briliant
    Course:
    Very good course - good teachers
    Location:
    Smack bang in city
    Accommodation:
    Very clean and well organised
    Settling in:
    Many events set up to integrate
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Queens is a wonderful university for all students, it's really welcoming and gives you an opportunity to experience new things with a huge group of likeminded people
    University:
    The library is a great place to study over exams and has a huge selection of books, the gym is really well equipped and the students union is a great social hub.
    Course:
    The course is really diverse and the staff are incredibly enthusiastic
    Location:
    Belfast is an amazing city for students- it's really cheap, easily accessible, and the people are so friendly.
    Accommodation:
    The quality of the accommodation is great and it's so cheap compared to other places
    Settling in:
    I had a few personal problems at the start of the year but I quickly built a friend network and my course got me through by keeping me interested and happy at university
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I'm so glad I ended up at queens, it's a lovely place to be, everyone is very friendly and the accents are gorgeous!
    University:
    Go to limelight it's the best!
    Course:
    It's a great variety, combining anthropology with spanish has taught me key skills and made me a more organised person in general. Tutors are all very useful and ready to help with anything, low contact hours per week which leaves lots of time for individual learning in the great library at queens!
    Location:
    It's close to the city centre, and the actual university has botanic right next to it which is great for food and coffees. Elms village is further away but I think it's good for first year.
    Accommodation:
    Elms village is great - only downside is most of the Northern Irish go home every weekend but the rest have become my closest friends
    Settling in:
    I really clicked with the people I met. Belfast is a relatively manageable city and I became familiar with it very quickly!
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I love it. It is easy to get around, good people and good course. Definitely would recommend.
    University:
    Good, lively and independent
    Course:
    The timetable is easily manageable and the workload sufficient
    Location:
    City is friendly and the campus is well situated
    Accommodation:
    Good bathroom and bed, but mediocre kitchen
    Settling in:
    Settled within three weeks
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    Easy to make friends, everyone's friendly, tutors can be a bit boring but get the job done
    University:
    Student Union is great although overpriced food, library is always having work done on it through which is quite distracting
    Course:
    Intense but rewarding, not a lot of contact hours but that's okay because it leaves you lots of time for independent research
    Location:
    Belfast is fun if you know where to go, it's in a safe area, not too long to walk to the city centre
    Accommodation:
    I haven't stayed in student accommodation this year but apparently it's good, tight security so students feel safe but can be inconvenient if you're having friends over
    Settling in:
    I knew lots of people going, close to home, it wasn't a big change in routine

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE