Member reviews of Royal Holloway, University of London

  • jordanw900's avatar by jordanw900 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Decent SU, nice area, 45 minutes from London, lots of sport, decent SU, VKs are life
    University:
    Lots of activities
    Course:
    Interesting course with good resources however in some lectures, lecturers read from the slides and seemed that it was not worthwhile attending the lecture.
    Location:
    Not a clubbing Uni but shops are a 5-minute walk away and the student bar and the SU nights are good enough quality for a decent sesh.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is good. I stayed in Tuke and it had a large bed and en-suite with well equipped kitchen.
    Settling in:
    It depends on the flatmates/housemates you have. I made sure to experience what the university had to offer to settle in.
  • omigs's avatar by omigs on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Uni is really good - facilities, course, and student life.
    University:
    Good events and regular
    Course:
    Well structured interesting course
    Location:
    It is really great having London not too far away but it’s kind of nice being out of the hustle and bustle whilst studying.
    Accommodation:
    Everything is close Modern
    Settling in:
    I had been away from home before so it wasn’t too challenging for me. But the university was very welcoming.
  • Jaiteg Singh's avatar by Jaiteg Singh on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall apart from the timetable and location, my experience at the university has been good.
    University:
    Many facilities available on campus and a number of things to do both on and off campus.
    Course:
    The timetable isn't best suited for me. Most days are early starts with a lot of free periods in between lectures. For example, on Tuesdays there is a lecture at 9am, which is then followed by free periods until my second lecture at 2pm.
    Location:
    Not too far from London but still doesn't dispute the fact that it is in a small town area where there isn't much to do in terms of social life. Although, the campus and surrounding area is very beautiful.
    Accommodation:
    Although I'm not living in student accommodation, the quality of the accommodation does appear to be good from an external point of view.
    Settling in:
    There's plenty of help available to settle in to the university better, e.g. student services were very helpful to assist me in a few of the issues I was encountering. Although, there should be more opportunities to get to know other students better.
  • KatyKapsner's avatar by KatyKapsner on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It has a slight party culture and I don’t like parting
    University:
    Everything you think you need and things you don’t need are here and ready for you
    Course:
    The group of students is small so you get to know everyone. They have top of the line equipment and you can tell that they care about their students and equipment.
    Location:
    It’s close enough to London that you can go to town but still far enough away to not be bombarded with traffic
    Accommodation:
    It’s affordable and in a great location.
    Settling in:
    They really do a good job making you feel welcome
  • bethgrace1999's avatar by bethgrace1999 on 1st November 2017
    Overall:
    If you're looking for a uni with a great campus community, highly ranked courses, close proximity to nightlife and good travel links - look no further than Royal Holloway. Not to mention the STUNNING campus (was rated most beautiful in the UK in TripAdvisor comp) and surrounding area. I am so glad I chose this uni!
    University:
    The services on campus are great. The new library is incredible (open 24/7) and is everything you could ever want in a library. Welfare and security on campus are great which is reassuring - I never feel unsafe on campus, or even in the surrounding area. Egham has everything you need in terms of essentials, for shopping Staines is the best (has Topshop, H&M, a Primark opening soon) which is only a 5 minute train. The student union put in so much effort to make uni life as best as it can be and their work really pays off.
    Course:
    I have only been here for just over a month but from the short time I have been here I can tell you that the atmosphere in this department is amazing. All lecturers are so approachable and supportive, which really makes you want to do well and succeed. Personal tutorial sessions are once a week in small groups, and are so helpful for clarifying difficult concepts from lectures. The facilities are great and lectures are relevant and engaging.
    Location:
    In terms of location, there is not much going on in the immediate surroundings of Royal Holloway. However, the on campus events are great and really make up for that. We are in close proximity to loads of places - specifically London (the train station is only a short walk and tickets are cheap). We are also close to Staines (5 min train) and Windsor which are really great for shopping and days out. We are really close to Virginia Water which is so beautiful.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation is amazing. The location on campus is great and I am just a short walk from everything I could ever need. The halls are sociable and I have made great friends here. The rooms are spacious and the kitchens are amazing quality - almost too nice to be uni halls! Although some halls here could be considered quite expensive, I cannot rate it highly enough, they are worth every penny :)
    Settling in:
    The freshers week events were great and I quickly felt at home in all aspects of uni life.
  • RandomStudent890's avatar by RandomStudent890 on 30th June 2017
    Overall:
    Great year hopefully more great years so far
    University:
    Many societies and social outings each week
    Course:
    Overall has been a great year
    Location:
    Located in the middle of nowhere, whereby only accessible via driving and the overground
    Accommodation:
    Not enough on campus accommodation
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming
  • Alexander Liptak's avatar by Alexander Liptak on 7th April 2017
    Overall:
    Overall I would definitely recommend this university. From a beautiful campus with lots of resources, to being easily accessible with a very friendly atmosphere, it is really all you would want in a university.
    University:
    Despite university days being very exhausting, I very much love this sort of life. My course does not allow too much spare time, so I have barely participated in any night life, but this does not bother me too much. There are lots of part-time jobs and opportunities available for anyone who wishes to get some experience. The libraries are open 24/7 which is great for late night coursework sessions. The gym and campus shop are a bit too overpriced but are very easily accessible and well equipped.
    Course:
    The professors are all very reputable people, but nonetheless are friendly and provide a good learning environment. The course has a lot of contact hours, which suits me well. The open-door policy across the department means that I can pop in to my professors office at any point to as a quick question and I don't have to schedule an appointment.
    Location:
    Most people disagree with me here, but I think the university is located perfectly. It is in a very quiet and peaceful area just outside London, but with very easy access to central London.
    Accommodation:
    The house prices are a bit too high and there isn't much accommodation available close to campus other than for First-years. Nonetheless I did not have any issues so far.
    Settling in:
    I think my university had a very friendly atmosphere. I was pretty scared at first but university life turned out to be pretty straightforward, within a few days I already felt like a uni student.
  • montinadiz1's avatar by montinadiz1 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great, I'm a quirky person and this uni has helped me feel confident in being myself
    University:
    It has all you need and its easily accessible
    Course:
    The teachers are brilliant and the work load is decent. I like learning about the subjects seperately atm but look forward to learning about the link between the two
    Location:
    Its rural but still super close to London
    Accommodation:
    Good quality but the heatings not great
    Settling in:
    The uni was welcome and my fellow students wonderful
  • Sean's avatar by Sean on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    University is great. It has, and will still, teach me life skills such as budgeting and independence. It's really worth it.
    University:
    There are many societies that students can join, the sporting facilities are great, plus the night life is decent. There is something happening almost every night or you could go into the towns near by.
    Course:
    I like the environment in my university. All my lecturers are really nice and helpful and the facilities are great.
    Location:
    It is the best of both worlds. Royal Holloway is a campus university with beautiful grounds and it is also 40 minutes to London by bus so it was a win win for me.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation is perfect. As this is a part of the University of London, the accommodation is reasonably priced and the quality of the rooms and cookin facilities are very good.
    Settling in:
    The people make you feel at home really quick and there are always people to talk to if you are feeling homesick.
  • SirMilkSheikh's avatar by SirMilkSheikh on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Again it has everything I need.
    Course:
    I enjoy learning German and i have always loved reading and exploring different pieces of literature
    Location:
    The village is lovely but I like having a local butchers!
    Accommodation:
    It has everything I need - an en suite, a spacious room and a good kitchen
    Settling in:
    I felt a bit homesick at first
  • Adams95's avatar by Adams95 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I rate the uni very highly as the campus is not so large you get lost or feel swamped but is big enough to feel like its own community, the town has good amenities and the nightlife on campus is good, as well as being close(ish) to central london.
    University:
    Variety of services etc for during the day and good night vibe for if i want to go out
    Course:
    The course is good, lecturers could slow down a bit as its a pretty intense course!!
    Location:
    Town is good although 40mins on train to central London
    Accommodation:
    Quality and location are good, although it is quite expensive. Not to mention the fire alarms every 4 hours
    Settling in:
    Felt at home very quickly
  • Ayushi97's avatar by Ayushi97 on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    In terms of studies, it's a really good university. The staff is very friendly. I'm not living in uni accomodation so I don't really have experience in that but if you're the kind of person who is going to be commuting, I wouldn't recommend it. A lot of party and just society events start after 7 and they are really fun. You don't have to party until 3 am but if you're there a college night bus runs for really cheap so safe and convinient.
    University:
    The libraries are really nice. They are both very different. One is very Victorian era style and the other one is like a hangout with a hangout. I really like the imagine cafe. They have these giant pillows where you can sleep and relax while drinking bubble tea. What more could you want? Sports offered are really nice. Recreational Tennis is offered for
    Course:
    It's the only university that specialises in Information security as a BSc degree. I chose to do the integrated masters.
    Location:
    It's a nice location. Quiet and not too busy unlike main London. It would have been nice to have a Tesco or Sainsburys nearby though.
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation itself is very nice but accomodation's very expensive for students who receive low maintenance loan. They should take that into account when setting the price for accommodation.
    Settling in:
    The timetable takes a while to get used to especially since it's much different from Sixth Form. You get used to it after a couple of weeks.
  • Alexander Liptak's avatar by Alexander Liptak on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Definitely a great university, would recommend it
    University:
    Very happy with the university overall, very good library resources, lots of places to socialise
    Course:
    Perfect course for me, teaching is excellent, it's something I'm interested and it's not as hard as I feared.
    Location:
    Location is great, commute is a bit too long though
    Accommodation:
    N/A - I commute
    Settling in:
    Friendly university, easy to settle in, staff and senior students very supportive
  • Joshh_C's avatar by Joshh_C on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent accommodation, great psychological research and facilities, good teaching spaces, lecturers are nice and approachable, campus is beautiful and range of architecture makes the landscape interesting.
    University:
    Good on campus health centre; good libraries and reading rooms; close to town and short train ride to nearby towns and cities; on campus sports centre, tennis & hockey courts and gym; good range of societies and places to socialise on campus. Accommodation also very sociable area as well as being high quality.
    Course:
    Lecturers are approachable which makes it easier to ask for help, interesting module content, small groups in seminars and lab groups, good timetable
    Location:
    Acres of parkland, great architecture in area, close to London and small towns. Campus is enclosed and safe, also easily accessible
    Accommodation:
    Large and well decorated accommodation in modern and green area, very good value for money and great facilities
    Settling in:
    Very quickly becomes normal and the people make it very easy to settle in, facilities are close by and makes everything more convenient - you get to know the area very well
  • yasminaz's avatar by yasminaz on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    I love it
    University:
    Love the freedom
    Course:
    Finding it hard to get to grips with
    Location:
    Beautiful
    Accommodation:
    Amazing accomodation
    Settling in:
    Settled in well however i am still trying to organise my time to complete work on time
  • EllieRose10's avatar by EllieRose10 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It has been amazing so far, Im so glad I'm at RHUL. Everyone is friendly, and very relaxed.
    University:
    Great societies, but perhaps doesn't cover a wide range of tastes.
    Course:
    Amazing lecturers and course content - but there is more history than politics!
    Location:
    Stunning campus, just a tad quiet away from the main uni.
    Accommodation:
    London waiting on your loan without the huge London prices - accommodation came in at
    Settling in:
    Made close friends on the first day
  • Alexander Liptak's avatar by Alexander Liptak on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    I would say go for it! This university is epic, you'll love it
    University:
    It's great (minus the slight stress).
    Course:
    I love the course, it's interesting and fun, and not even as hard as I feared
    Location:
    The city and the campus are amazing, although it is a bit far from good connections and there is only a very irregular bus service from near the uni
    Accommodation:
    I did not apply for accommodation at this university
    Settling in:
    The uni is very friendly, but I think it will take a bit longer to settle in fully
  • hadi96's avatar by hadi96 on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Great university and staff! You fall in love with this at first sight and the Hogwarts feel is a bonus!
    University:
    good facilities in the library but lacks certain elements of daytime activities
    Course:
    Great staff and quality of teaching
    Location:
    great location and scenery
    Accommodation:
    good accommodation in the uni
    Settling in:
    much assistance provided in settling in such as peer guides
  • lolacola96's avatar by lolacola96 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic!
    University:
    Missing home is never easy but the uni is so welcoming its really not an issues with good food and company on lovely grounds
    Course:
    Timetable ade simple if you work hard its totally effective.
    Location:
    Calm quite village like area very relaxing and beautiful. Good for peacful study as well as a great night out
    Accommodation:
    Living in founders in first year was delightful!
    Settling in:
    It was comfy and easy to make friends but you had to be social meet folks!
  • calandria's avatar by calandria on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fab
    University:
    Small town so no place to go out and not many shops/restaurants
    Course:
    Great teachers, good content
    Location:
    close to london and trains but still quite rural
    Accommodation:
    Big bed, lots of storage, ensuite
    Settling in:
    Friendly flat-mates
  • purplejinx 's avatar by purplejinx on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I really do like this university. It is very international and you meet all sorts of people. Whenever I had a problem, there was always a student or a member of staff available to help me solve it as soon as possible.
    University:
    Weekends on campus are rather quiet and there are not many social events going on during the week. However, you can keep busy by joining societies and sports and also doing some individual study in libraries or your room.
    Course:
    The lectures are easy to understand, information regarding preparing for the next lecture is provided and there are various lectures to help improve academic skills.
    Location:
    Everything that you need is available on campus, however for self-catered, trips to supermarkets are essential. With the nearest Tesco being a 20 minute walk away, it makes it a bit difficult to make huge shops.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is accessible, comfortable and quite spacious. However, when arriving, some rooms and kitchens were not clean, therefore my flatmates and I had to do so ourselves.
    Settling in:
    I don't live that far away from home. There were plenty of social activities during welcome week to keep me busy and not thinking about my family and friends I left back home.
  • Isobel2526's avatar by Isobel2526 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Lovely people, great course, friendly uni.
    University:
    Stuff to do but not a crazy party uni.
    Course:
    The contents and staff all seem really good. They also have good resources online.
    Location:
    Safe countryside.
    Accommodation:
    It all very central on campus, not 5 stars as there is one halls that is a bus trip away.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was really friendly and there were plenty of people to help although there wasn't as much stuff for commuting students.
  • andy96's avatar by andy96 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really good! You meet a bunch of people. Everyone is open to conversation because we're all in the same boat. Members of staff are all glad to help.
    University:
    Many services! Lots of activities/events
    Course:
    It's gr8
    Location:
    Close to London, but in a small area
    Accommodation:
    some things are broken/not good enough. Came to a dirty kitchen.
    Settling in:
    There are so many hectic things going on. But overall, good
  • Edm_94's avatar by Edm_94 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Nice environment
    University:
    Bad night life
    Course:
    Not very exciting
    Location:
    Too far from London
    Accommodation:
    Good facilities
    Settling in:
    Friendly atmosphere
  • TheGlenthorneStudent's avatar by TheGlenthorneStudent on 17th September 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic - absolutely love it.
    University:
    Lots of social activities though it would be nice to see more taking place during the early evening as opposed to late evening.
    Course:
    I love the module content and the university has fantastic extra-curricular and academic services.
    Location:
    The campus is calm and peaceful and not in the city, which is exactly what I was looking for.
    Accommodation:
    I don't stay in accommodation but upon looking at it I found it comfortable and the rooms are big.
    Settling in:
    Royal Holloway has held several events before the main Freshers' Week.
  • Molleey1234's avatar by Molleey1234 on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant so far would definitely recommend
    University:
    Lots of activities and societies
    Course:
    Overall good but maths was a struggle without a level (which wasn't required)
    Location:
    Town is not great but close to staines and london
    Accommodation:
    Not bad but outdated and mixing postgraduates with undergrads didn't really work
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming
  • GabsyWabsyWoo's avatar by GabsyWabsyWoo on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    For the independent and strong willed and minded
    University:
    Library too small (new one is in development) support for students in hardship is good. Lots of drug culture.
    Course:
    I didn't receive feedback that I wanted. Could be because I didn't involve myself with my lecturers and tutors
    Location:
    All that's required is close by, not enough non-drinking entertainment
    Accommodation:
    Abundant, fair for post-grads and disabled students but was expensive
    Settling in:
    I settled in quickly but incorrectly i.e. did drugs
  • escarr15's avatar by escarr15 on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    I have really enjoyed it so far.
    University:
    There are lots of societies and sports clubs to get involved with and library facilities are very good, although they get quite full. There are a wide range of welfare services and faith support, both inside and outside university. There is not much nightlife but that makes it a bit safer and also you tend to know a lot of people who are out which is nice, plus there are more chilled things to do like going to the pub rather than clubbing all the time.
    Course:
    Good tutors and lecturing staff, wide range of modules and mixture of assessment, not solely exam. Not many contact hours which gives me flexibility to do other things.
    Location:
    It is a beautiful area and the campus has almost everything we need. The hill is a slight downside because going to Tesco is a bit of a mission and there aren't many other shops so for clothes, other supermarkets or restaurants we have to go to Staines.
    Accommodation:
    The university accommodation and student housing is of a very high quality and close in proximity to the university, especially compared to other institutions. However it is a very expensive area and the maximum student loan before the means tested portion is not enough to cover rent and food.
    Settling in:
    I was surprised by how soon I fitted in. I got on well with my flatmates and felt supported in starting my course, plus I got involved with extra-curricular activities that kept my interests going and allowed me to meet new people.
  • Melanroh's avatar by Melanroh on 31st August 2015
    Overall:
    It`s a beautiful university with outstandingly good lecturers.It`s very international and diverse. Just 30 minutes from London and yet just next to it there are huge, stunning parks. Be careful with the accommodations and do bear in mind it is rather expensive.
    University:
    All the societies and the sports clubs are too expensive. However, I`m very satisfied with the Student Union and the library.
    Course:
    I absolutely love what I`m studying. The course is great, and the lecturers are always there if you need help.
    Location:
    Near London, yet quiet and beautiful!
    Accommodation:
    I didn`t have hot water and radiator between November and February. It was awful.
    Settling in:
    I needed some time adjusting.
  • bravewoodmouse's avatar by bravewoodmouse on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    The course was great, I would hugely recommend it. The facilities are brilliant, with great performance space and a proper Noh theatre, incredibly rare in this country! Theatre Studies is a great course if you are interested in the study of all theatre (this is not an acting course) and had a good balance of academic and practical work. As someone who was quite shy at 18, I found it difficult to get fully immersed in the social side, especially as it becomes a lot quieter at the weekends. If you're looking for a lot of excitement then you might be better in a uni based in a city, but if you're interested in making a good set of friends and getting involved with the societies it would suit you well.
    University:
    Daytime on the campus is bustling with markets and cafes. There's a good food market in the union, and a nice book market too. At night there a few nice pubs, but being a campus university the nightlife is quite limited; there weren't that many options to go out beyond the pub and the student union nights were either RNB or cheesy pop, not much variation. I have to say I didn't get involved with the sports teams but they have a very social rugby team and there are lots of fitness classes you can do. There are loads of societies to get involved in; I took part in some kind of opera.
    Course:
    The quality of teaching was high; the lecturers were approachable and built good relationships with all the students. More seminars than lectures created an environment where discussion and the sharing of thoughts was valued more than just listening. The module choices for Theatre Studies are really varied and the diverse skills and experiences of the tutors means that you can study some really unusual subjects. Some highlights for me were physical theatre, set design, scriptwriting, Theatre of the Absurd and shadow puppetry; a great mix! The contact hours were pretty standard which suited me as my motivation can often wane, so the hours were regular enough to keep me active, but with plenty of time for independent study too. The library there is very good for theatre research. I didn't give it 5 starts because as a fresher I felt a little lost on the expectations of me; initially feedback for my essays would say things were incorrect, but there wasn't always feedback on what they were looking for. The transition from A level to uni is huge in so many ways and it felt that the academic change wasn't fully supported.
    Location:
    The nearest town (Egham) doesn't have a lot, and getting to London is a bit of a trek. The surrounding countryside is nice with Virginia Water nearby, so if you like walking it's nice. Windsor and Staines are close for shopping or the cinema.
    Accommodation:
    This may be an unfair rating now, as in my first year I stayed in a concrete block that has now been demolished. They have now built some new housing on campus that looks much nicer! The main Founders building is beautiful and very social if you're lucky enough to get a place there (I wasn't). Off campus it's easy to get accommodation in nearby Englefield Green but it isn't that cheap, bear in mind this is in the commuter belt, and there's not a lot going on if you're looking for excitement, just a village with a few pubs and shops.
    Settling in:
    In Fresher's week there are loads of activities and introductions which I found useful to meet a few people so I settled in quite quickly. I did find that a lot of people went home at the weekends leaving the campus quiet. As I didn't live near home this wasn't an option, so it did sometimes feel a bit lonely.
  • Reedus's avatar by Reedus on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Really good for students who want to both work hard and have a good time.
    University:
    Everything you need.
    Course:
    Very good teaching and excellent variety.
    Location:
    Very nice area and only 48mins away from central London.
    Accommodation:
    It could have been more modern but it was great ti make friends.
    Settling in:
    very easy to mix with different groups of friends,
  • Cristimay's avatar by Cristimay on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate royal holloway 10/10. I have loved every minute and although people complain about he lack of nightlife Egham has to offer, some of my best nights were staying in the flat and having a party! There is enoug to do on campus so that you always have something to do which is great considering the free time you are given
    University:
    There is so many societies to choose from and also many clubs or sports teams you can try out. I bought a gym membership and also joined 2 societies. The library is amazing and is sectioned into quiet and loud zones to cater for everyone. The campus shop is also great and stocks so much!
    Course:
    The lectures are all really interesting and engaging and every lecturer/tutor is so helpful and makes sure you are not struggling. There is enough contact hours in the week to ensure you understand the work being given yet also a lot of free time to be able to study in your own time. Seminars are the only parts I found less interesting due to not always being given by lecturers, therefore they could seem quite dull in comparison.
    Location:
    Egham is a lovely town and is right next to some great parks such as Virginia waters and Richmond park. However it does lack in nighife a bit and caters more so for pub goers.
    Accommodation:
    I loved my accomadation. I had an ensuite and double bed and although I was right next to the kitchen I wasn't being woken up by noise (unless it was excessive!). Staff were always available if something did break and ensured it was fixed ASAP.
    Settling in:
    It took me about 2 weeks to settle into uni, there was plenty of 'mandatory' meetings at the start e.g everyone in a certain accomadation, meaning you were likely to get involved.
  • tamaramensah96's avatar by tamaramensah96 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    I don't know
    Course:
    I don't know
    Location:
    I don't know
    Accommodation:
    I don't know
    Settling in:
    I don't know
  • IanTan96's avatar by IanTan96 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's good. People here are friendly and it's peaceful.
    University:
    Freedom
    Course:
    It is decent.
    Location:
    It's near London but not enough public transport apart from trains.
    Accommodation:
    I got a wonderful room
    Settling in:
    Friendly flatmates
  • Meadowlarkmolly 's avatar by Meadowlarkmolly on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    INCREDIBLE
    University:
    Good location and fun things to do
    Course:
    Wonderful
    Location:
    Close to London
    Accommodation:
    Has a few issues, but overall good
    Settling in:
    Small and felt like home
  • Crambo's avatar by Crambo on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5 . The right balance of social and work with plenty of good facilities and considerations for students really lending to the student life.
    University:
    Can be quiet sometimes, but mostly fun and engaging with plenty going on academically and otherwise
    Course:
    It's hard, but can be enjoyable. Some professors are engage-able and exciting other aren't and some are even hard to understand.
    Location:
    Not far from the town center, just a short walk with plenty of travel connections and lots of pubs. On campus bars and shops help aswell.
    Accommodation:
    Clean, friendly and plenty of space for not the most expensive price. But thing were broken on arrival.
    Settling in:
    Very quickly. Everyone social and helpful with plenty of events to help you settle in.
  • Berkmann18's avatar by Berkmann18 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Free, complete and satisfactory.
    University:
    Awesome
    Course:
    Because lecturers are passionned.
    Location:
    Too fare away from cities
    Accommodation:
    Because It is really good.
    Settling in:
    Easy and conformtably
  • Marinepruvot's avatar by Marinepruvot on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Royal Holloway really is an amazing university, great professors, great students, amazing nightlife!
    University:
    Amazing.
    Course:
    The time table is pretty well organised, the course structure seems to be great and the professors are really here for you if needed
    Location:
    Not too close to London, not too far from it. It's also very near the airport.
    Accommodation:
    A lot better than I expected it to be
    Settling in:
    It is hard when your family lives more than 9,000km away from you
  • yueki's avatar by yueki on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Overall, my uni life and experience have been awesome! I am enjoying every bit of it; meeting new people from various different backgrounds, exploring the new campus, and learning various new things about the topics that interest me.
    University:
    The uni life so far has been great, I have joined few clubs and societies and the services here are pretty good. Only thing that I would like to change is the prices, a lot of things are too expensive for students.
    Course:
    The course and modules are amazing. I also like the quality of teaching and lectures at my university as the lecturers are friendly and helpful. However I don't like the timetable of my course; the course is too spread out and I have 1 lecture at 9am and the next at 5pm which makes it difficult for me as i don't live on the main campus and have to travel by bus.
    Location:
    Some people don't like the quite surroundings that this university has to offer, however I love it! It suits me perfectly; the area is safe, has nice environment and there are still quite a few things you can do around here if you want to go party or hang out with friends.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is good in terms of comfort but the price for what we get is definitely too high! There are many issues that haven't should have been fixed before people started moving in but they haven't, and the issues are still there even 2 weeks after people moved in.
    Settling in:
    This university has a really nice feel to it, everyone is kind and friendly and you make friends really fast. I felt very welcome on my first day here so I settled in quite soon.
  • Crambo's avatar by Crambo on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    One of the best out there - course can be hard, but would be like this everywhere
    University:
    Great balance between work, night life (low works for me) and loads of fun societies
    Course:
    Nice medium department with small tutorial groups, great use of online resources and fair teaching
    Location:
    Works for me, not a massive night life, close shops and a nice community
    Accommodation:
    Great accommodation, fair value, things fixed quickly, appropriate and well placed
    Settling in:
    Easy to make friends in accommodation, great events, good info and loads of societies out there
  • Tangerine16's avatar by Tangerine16 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good experience on a great campus, lots of people to meet from all over the world
    University:
    Lots of clubs and societies, two good libraries, lots of places to eat
    Course:
    Not many options compared to other similar courses
    Location:
    Close to shops but is a quiet location
    Accommodation:
    Can't bring a car though there is parking around, kitchen storage space can be a little small
    Settling in:
    Lots of freshers activities made me meet new people
  • rayleigh201's avatar by rayleigh201 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Interesting and fun. Easy to settle in and enjoy campus
    University:
    Good facilities available Beautiful campus Interesting lectures
    Course:
    Fun, interesting
    Location:
    Less pollution Good shops and supermarkets nearby
    Accommodation:
    Large campus
    Settling in:
    Live at home, so easy to settle into uni
  • kio7's avatar by kio7 on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Royal Holloway has changed my life in ways that i can't even begin to explain. I would go as far as to say i was miserable before i came here, and i've never enjoyed studying and student life as much as i do right now
    University:
    The SU is what you make it, and my friends have made it the best. The sports clubs also make student life amazing
    Course:
    The lecturers are in my opinion unmatched, the quality of research and support i have received i don't think anywhere else would have offered.
    Location:
    Surrey is a beautiful place, although campus is slightly dead on weekends i don't mind, i love country life
    Accommodation:
    Founders has been the best experience of my life, i'm still grieving.
    Settling in:
    I turned down Durham university to come to Royal Holloway and it was because i felt like Royal Holloway would be better for my personality, and i absolutely made the correct decision.
  • -'s avatar by - on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Very warm family atmosphere.
    University:
    As mentioned above. Barely any shops or nighttime activities to do. We would have to go to different towns.
    Course:
    Professors really help with understand the core principles and topics. We have tutor system whom we can liaise with for anything related to university or outside university. The course curriculum is outlined in a structured way to make students really understand and grasp difficult topics.
    Location:
    Location isn't optimum as it's very expensive to live and for students there isn't much happening around that area that is relatively cheap.
    Accommodation:
    Very hard to find a decent house in this area that is close to the shops, university and accessible for a good social life.
    Settling in:
    Everyone is amazing at making freshers feel welcome !
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great. It might be a bit more rural than london but the societies, facilities and the people you meet here make up for all that loss
    University:
    Facilities are great and cater to student needs. Not to mention that the university is absolutely beautiful though a flaw I would point out is that there is no on-campus swimming pool. I feel like for a university this big - netball, football, tennis courts and an indoor gym, how could you miss out a swimming pool!
    Course:
    The timetable is a bit harsh cus 9am lectures are never pleasant but the workshops and lectures are very fun and insightful. Seminars help clear up misunderstandings of the lecture as well as branching out to a wider discussion.
    Location:
    It's not too far from london and the town is a 20 minute walk though it gets very tiring sometimes when buying groceries since the bus comes every half hour or if you don't have a car - having to trek up the hill is tiring.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation - Butler hall is very convenient to a lot of the places on campus like cafeterias, cafes, shops, laundry, lecture halls and even the on-site club. In addition to this, it's a new hall of residence so the quality is really good.
    Settling in:
    I might have been lucky but my flatmates are great people even if we are a bit of a mix. They made me feel at home within the first day I arrived and events that the university held help connect everyone together as well e.g. international students - so we know that there are people who understand us being alone in the UK as well, where home isn't in reach like home students.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars amazing
    University:
    I love uni
    Course:
    I've enjoyed it a lot
    Location:
    Egham is really small and there is not even a McDonald's in here
    Accommodation:
    Flat mates steal my food
    Settling in:
    Everyone is so friendly
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    very good!
    University:
    easy to get involved in things
    Course:
    lecturers are good
    Location:
    perfect, on the rural urban fringe
    Accommodation:
    not hot water, food isnt great
    Settling in:
    its an emotional expirence
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, great experience great social life and enjoying being responsible for everything I do.
    University:
    Enjoying the freedom
    Course:
    Everything has meet my expextations
    Location:
    Near London but still rural and quiet
    Accommodation:
    My year in halls was the last before it was completely refurbished. So a bit tatty
    Settling in:
    Enjoyed the freedom but a little home sick at first
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    No much at weekends to do and clubs are not too good
    Course:
    Excellent teaching and facilities
    Location:
    Nice town but not much there
    Accommodation:
    Clean, big rooms
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so friendly and helpful
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Royal holloway is 10/10
    University:
    It's good so far but still early days
    Course:
    The lecturers are passionate and engaging
    Location:
    You get the best of both worlds near to london and the rural vibe
    Accommodation:
    I literally love Founder's accommodation
    Settling in:
    Found it really easy and comfortable
  • by Anonymous on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far really good!!
    University:
    The SU is very good, but there's no nearby nightlife or shopping centre
    Course:
    It's a good mix of seminars and independent study
    Location:
    It's in a quiet area which is good and bad
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation has an ensuite and self catered which was my first choice
    Settling in:
    I have really nice flat mates which made it a lot easier
  • by Anonymous on 3rd October 2015
    Overall:
    My overall experience so far has been great. I am so pleased I chose Royal Holloway as my first choice university and I would recommend it to a friend
    University:
    The events I have attended so far have been fun but I didn't feel there were enough evening events to attend considering it was Freshers Week. The services are brilliant, although feel bombarded by information the first few days it's great to know the university offers so much support to students
    Course:
    The lectures seem friendly and try to make the information as understandable and enjoyable to learn about. The modules are varied and interesting
    Location:
    It's a lovely area which feels like a safe environment. The campus is a short walk from town and train station. It has decent transport links,
    Accommodation:
    The quality is very good. My room is surprisingly bigger than expected Although I am happy to have an en suite it is rather on the small side compared to other students bathrooms I have seen. The location is close to campus and ease access. Student accommodation is expensive but mine was a decent price for the quality
    Settling in:
    Having only been there 2 weeks it is hard to say I have settled in. However, students are very friendly and staff are helpful to help you find your way. It feels less like a holiday and more like home everyday
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    I've only attended RHUL for one week, but overall it's been a good experience so far
    University:
    The services offered are really good
    Course:
    I expected a much more in-depth analysis during lecture
    Location:
    I would have preferred to be in central London
    Accommodation:
    I'm generally satisfied with accommodations
    Settling in:
    Homesickness is really an issue for me
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    So assured of my choice and couldn't imagine going anywhere else
    University:
    Enjoyed the campus lifestyle and day to day life of attending the uni
    Course:
    Great course content and delivery but through out my time my interests have broadened beyond its parameters.
    Location:
    Ideally suited for what I needed but understandably more remote than many would like
    Accommodation:
    Great accommodation when on campus with little to complain about.
    Settling in:
    Didnt take long at all but was an adjustment
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Its been pleasant
    University:
    SU shop is pretty pricey. The libraries offer a good variety of books however there is minimal studying space. There is about 40 societites, so not a whole lot.
    Course:
    Seminars are really helpful but lectures can often be irrelevant to the course
    Location:
    Nice town with a lot of countryside. However, the town centre provides minimal shopping experience and the nightlife is poor.
    Accommodation:
    Wide variety of housing to choose from. I.e. old, modern, catered, self-catered etc.
    Settling in:
    There;s a real community feel at the University so it is very easy to feel at home there
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    meh. Avoid sciences here; music, media arts and business are good.
    University:
    was ok, never used much.
    Course:
    There are no teachers, only researchers handed a second job of lecturing. Intelligence does not correspond to ability to communicate knowledge.
    Location:
    Comfortable, relaxing and few distractions
    Accommodation:
    Was good.
    Settling in:
    This has nothing to do with the university and all to do with me.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    The lecturers are easy to approach with questions, and support is readily available for those who need it.
    University:
    There are regular events at the SU and clubs on campus.
    Course:
    The course is structures well, and requires one to learn independently, which is necessary for future life.
    Location:
    The campus is in a very quiet area, except for the flight path of Heathrow. Also, there are very few things to do in the surrounding area, requiring travel into London.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation is roomy and within easy reach of the main parts of the campus. However, due to the university's proximity to London, some of the accommodation is not affordable.
    Settling in:
    I very quickly learnt my way around campus, and felt comfortable in my room.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Even though it has a great course and pretty campus I would prefer a more night life uni.
    University:
    No night life really
    Course:
    It had wide range of depth
    Location:
    Beautiful campus
    Accommodation:
    Typical student room
    Settling in:
    Homesick for first week
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    REGRETING MY CHOICE
    University:
    LONELY IN HOSPITILBLE PLACE DAYS OF NOTHING TO DO
    Course:
    ITS EARLY DAYS
    Location:
    CLOSE TO LONDON
    Accommodation:
    ITS NOISY AND COMMON ROOM HAS BEEN TRASHED
    Settling in:
    VERY LONELY PLACE IF YOU NOT A PI"" HEAD
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Really great.
    University:
    Library is amazing! Sports are too expensive. SU is great.
    Course:
    They were very good at all listed however don't give enough specific information on the way lectures ect work with each other and what is relevant to exams/coursework.
    Location:
    Quite quiet and green but not enough large shops/chain stores. Lacks student essentials: Aldi/Lidl/Poundland!
    Accommodation:
    It's really safe and kept looking new and clean.
    Settling in:
    Mostly because the uni don't have a complaint system, they encourage you to confront flatmates so leads to a lot of tension and uncomfortable feelings.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it as good, it is very nice and everyone is very friendly.
    University:
    There are not many shopping centres down here, and the clubs are not as live as what it would be in Central London, however the library facilities and student union is good.
    Course:
    The support is really great and allows you to feel at ease and comfortable.
    Location:
    It is a very nice and peaceful area, with lovely places to visit and go to.
    Accommodation:
    I have not actually experienced it because I am renting my own flat
    Settling in:
    Because I think I still need time to settle in, as there are a lot of people here, so everyones needs need to be met, not just one persons so it is difficult in that sense.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Lovely but look at course properly. Not much student life in Egham but there is on campus.
    University:
    No clubs in Egham.
    Course:
    I don't overly enjoy it. Not enough choice for Spanish Modules. All literature based mainly. Department hadn't been helpful.
    Location:
    Egham isn't a cheap or affordable uni town.
    Accommodation:
    Lived in founders , such a lovely building.
    Settling in:
    My own issues, I don't take to change well.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Manay international students
    University:
    Havent join any societies yet
    Course:
    Great environment
    Location:
    Near london
    Accommodation:
    Town is small
    Settling in:
    Friendly memebers
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    My experience so far has been really good, I am settling in well and I feel that the next 3 years will be very enjoyable.
    University:
    Sports facilities are excellent, and there are plenty of clubs to get involved with. The student union is alright, although some events are quite expensive.
    Course:
    There is a good mixture of practical and theory, and the contact hours are manageable - the only problem is that we are required to equally balance both sides of the course at the same time, with deadlines at similar times.
    Location:
    It's in a good location, close to London and local train stations.
    Accommodation:
    Good quality, good value of money.
    Settling in:
    My flat mates are all really friendly and there are plenty of sports and societies to get involved in.
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's been the best two years so far, I don't want to leave!
    University:
    Can't think of anything wrong with it. Services have improved in the two years i've been here.
    Course:
    I love the course and content, however the teaching quality is a bit hit-and-miss. Some lecturers are amazing, and others not so much.
    Location:
    Close to London which is good, and also Windsor and Thorpe Park, but Egham itself is quiet and there is not a lot to do there except food shops and cafes.
    Accommodation:
    My halls of residence (Founders) was amazing. Finding accommodation in the local area was trouble free and the house we found was/is great.
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming students, staff and just general feel.
  • by Anonymous on 18th September 2015
    Overall:
    Never come here
    University:
    Poor Lifestyle
    Course:
    Hate it
    Location:
    Poor place
    Accommodation:
    Expensive
    Settling in:
    Don't feel at home at all... I find everyone on my course are rude and racist.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    zzzeep
    University:
    Cba answering
    Course:
    bcos G
    Location:
    The town is a bit dull but the countryside is lovely
    Accommodation:
    Better than the others I checked out
    Settling in:
    Awkward
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is great.
    University:
    I like that's it's a quiet campus. It means that there are less distractions. Which is something I need/ed.
    Course:
    I like the course
    Location:
    It takes 40 minutes to get into London. It would be better if there was a faster train
    Accommodation:
    My student halls were amazing
    Settling in:
    It was very easy to settle in. Everyone is very friendly
  • by Anonymous on 5th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would say it's been good
    University:
    Good libraries, many sports clubs and societies
    Course:
    I wasn't always able to take the courses I wanted
    Location:
    It's a campus uni and quite small which I like. It's near a small town which is a bit of walk to get to.
    Accommodation:
    There are a range of different accomodations to chose from
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly but I still missed home
  • by Anonymous on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    I love my university! Despite some issues with accommodation and not the most engaging first year on my course - although second year is a lot more demanding - the campus itself is perhaps one of the most beautiful in the world. I've enjoyed first year and I cannot to start second year in September.
    University:
    The nightlife on campus is very limited. The student union only opens 2 nights a week but doesn't provide much variety music wise. However, events especially ACS nights a very popular and the most enjoyable although every SU night regardless if there is an event or not charges
    Course:
    Not challenging enough for first year and some teaching inconsistencies.
    Location:
    The university is quite far from Egham town centre and the nearest shops are at least 20 min walk away. The campus shop is overpriced and doesn't provide variety in foods, stationaries etc. However, the campus is situated in a peaceful part of surrey with a beautiful forrest surrounding it.
    Accommodation:
    There was no hot water or heating for a month in our halls and the ceiling leaked whenever there was heavy rain. It was a 20 min walk from campus through muddy terrain. The hall was catered but the food in the canteen was terrible and the somewhat edible alternative from the bar was overpriced! The accommodation itself was the cheapest at Royal Holloway.
    Settling in:
    The university and our hall made a good effort to arrange socials and other events for people to settle in. I settled in very quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    it was fantastic and i loved my first year
    University:
    library is almost always open (24/5). student union has great nights out every wednesday and friday.
    Course:
    quite a full timetable compared to most other courses but lectures and other contact hours are very useful for gaining feedback on current work.
    Location:
    It is close enough to London to get the train and it is located right next to the town Egham which has essential shops like Tesco.
    Accommodation:
    as it is near london the prices aren't too great but halls were comfortable and well looked after (I was in Wedderburn)
    Settling in:
    everyone was helpful and willing to point you in the right direction if you were lost
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    I LOVE holloway and will be very sad to leave next year. 11/10.
    University:
    The more you put in, the more you get out. Joining a few socs and making the effort to do things makes a real difference. Everywhere on campus is within a 10 minute walking distance and private housing is at most a 15 min walk.
    Course:
    I love the subject and the tutors are generally very helpful and give feedback throughout the year.
    Location:
    If the campus could be moved nearer a city it would get a 5*. Sadly, we do live in the Egham bubble however the pub crawls and Windsor make up for it.
    Accommodation:
    Halls are all top notch, living in Founders is a highlight of my time at uni so far; its such a social environment and the corridor parties are epic! However private housing is expensive, and some estate agents are dodgy.
    Settling in:
    RHUL always had a homely atmosphere since I first visited and made a real effort on freshers week to make all the freshers feel comfortable.
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great overall, you just have to stay motivated and really organised as the lecturers can be very strict.
    University:
    Many clubs and activities available.
    Course:
    Teaching for second year really lacked quality and application. When doing a degree which belongs to two different departments there is a lack of communication between the two which makes deadlines really difficult to tackle.
    Location:
    Stunning scenary and architecture.
    Accommodation:
    The housing outside the campus is great, the town is absolutely beautiful.
    Settling in:
    Not great if you're commuting.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    If you'd like something pretty with good accommodation and facilities then this is the place for you. The staff here are very responsive to emails and welcome you to speak to them about what you're interested in. It's good to share!
    University:
    Things on campus were unnecessarily expensive, but everything you needed was there to be enjoyed.
    Course:
    In my 3rd year they increased contact hours from 2 hours to 3 hours for a half unit, and this was very much appreciated. My tutors kept things interesting and were always around if you needed help.
    Location:
    Near to London without all the city air and concrete. The campus is so beautiful.
    Accommodation:
    I honestly found it expensive however living in Reid was so much fun, the catered food was great (50% discount for catered halls) and housekeeping fixed things very quickly.
    Settling in:
    It's just a nice place to be, but then I adapt well to change...
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    If you're seeking bright lights and an atmosphere akin to American Pie, then Royal Holloway is most likely not for you - BUT, if you want an interesting and beautiful place to master your craft and be surrounded by intriguing passionate people, then I'd recommend coming here. It has a special feel, one I didn't feel at any of the other universities I visited. PLUS, you're close to London so you can experience culture very easily.
    University:
    Our campus has enough to keep me satisfied. It has pleasant coffee shops with great reading and relaxing environments, and there is always something going on to cure any boredom you may have. Additionally, there is a great library which can pass away hours. It helps that I'm very easily pleased and like a quaint kind of living haha.
    Course:
    The entire course has been up and above my expectations. For the most part, all the lectures and seminars have been intriguing and well presented, with one or two exceptions. However, the exceptions seem to be whenever there was trainee lecturers working. The rest of my tutors are incredibly interesting and also very encouraging. It's nice to truly feel like the person you're learning from really cares about the subject they are teaching, which is definitely the case here.
    Location:
    Again, I am one of few who would give royal holloway this rating, as many complain about the location and the lack of things to do in the area. I, however, love the location. It is quiet, and surrounded by very beautiful places to walk. On top of that, it is only a 40 minute train journey from London, so you're connected to that world, without needing to live within the mayhem of it all on a daily basis.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation was very very expensive for what you get. The majority of people (except those for whom money is no object) seem to complain about this. However, the rooms and halls themselves were of a good standard, although the kitchens were a little dingy. Location was perfect.
    Settling in:
    I'm probably one of few to feel right at home from the moment I moved into my halls. Personally, I've never been happier, and that started the moment I got to university. I have moved from a very long way away, yet ive never felt more at home.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    A satisfactory university. Academically very valuable but in most over areas lacks dramatically.
    University:
    Student union is run as a dictatorship that does not reflect students views even when majority of students petition against decisions. Uni night life is summed up as a 'school disco' that is over priced and absolutely awful.
    Course:
    Overall it is run well but there are some aspects that have proved not as sufficient such as marking of assignments, attendance of seminar leaders and general organisational duties.
    Location:
    Very secluded. No local decent clubs and a very small town centre which is over populated with middle aged focuses shops.
    Accommodation:
    Excellent hall accommodation (wedderburn). Only one incident where hot water was unavailable for a day.
    Settling in:
    This does not reflect the unis efforts however. I personally have no problems with settling in.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I absolutely love Royal Holloway and I don't know anyone who isn't happy studying here 10/10
    University:
    Excellent events at the SU at night and plenty of places to study and socialise in the day
    Course:
    Everything suits me perfectly and all the staff are helpful and friendly
    Location:
    Close enough to London but fairly countryside ish and a very nice area
    Accommodation:
    Its not perfect, some accommodation could do with some TLC.
    Settling in:
    I felt very welcome but missed home to start off with
  • by Anonymous on 22nd August 2015
    Overall:
    It is a 5! The experience teaches you a lot. It's interesting and completely different from what it is like at home, which makes you more self-dependant.
    University:
    The all services offered on campus are amazing.
    Course:
    There is always space for improvement.
    Location:
    The location is perfect- near London, but still with a quiet environment for studying.
    Accommodation:
    It can be a little bit pricey for some of the students there.
    Settling in:
    The university offers everything you need to feel home.
  • by Anonymous on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    Beautiful campus, with a family feel. So its easy to make friends and not get too lost. Quiet town with not much to do which is good for studying but shirt trip to London if you do want to go out. Alot of London students who go home at weekends. So its quiet at the weekends. But you make your own fun with the people you're with. Excellent lecturers. Very proud to have studied here.
    University:
    Made life - long friends, enjoyed my course. We were treated like adults from day one. And I was recently asked to go back as alumni to speak to today's students which was scary,but so proud and exciting that they keep a track of us
    Course:
    Excellent lecturers who were all practising. Directors, BBC cameramen, documentary makers, screen writers. They were working while teaching us,so it wasn't just text books
    Location:
    Beautiful campus. Stunning. But Egham is a small town with very little going on. But less distractions when studying I suppose
    Accommodation:
    We had very old Athlone, Cameron and Williamson. Knocked down the year I graduated.but character building accommodation we never expected hotels. The halls now at RHUL have double beds and wifi. Whole new world!
    Settling in:
    They put people together in halls who were at similar places in life. All the girls in my block had had a year out. So we bonded easily. Very friendly campus uni so you can't get lost in the crowd

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE