Member reviews of Royal Holloway, University of London

  • jordanw900's avatar by jordanw900 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Decent SU, nice area, 45 minutes from London, lots of sport, decent SU, VKs are life
    University:
    Lots of activities
    Course:
    Interesting course with good resources however in some lectures, lecturers read from the slides and seemed that it was not worthwhile attending the lecture.
    Location:
    Not a clubbing Uni but shops are a 5-minute walk away and the student bar and the SU nights are good enough quality for a decent sesh.
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation is good. I stayed in Tuke and it had a large bed and en-suite with well equipped kitchen.
    Settling in:
    It depends on the flatmates/housemates you have. I made sure to experience what the university had to offer to settle in.
  • omigs's avatar by omigs on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Uni is really good - facilities, course, and student life.
    University:
    Good events and regular
    Course:
    Well structured interesting course
    Location:
    It is really great having London not too far away but it’s kind of nice being out of the hustle and bustle whilst studying.
    Accommodation:
    Everything is close Modern
    Settling in:
    I had been away from home before so it wasn’t too challenging for me. But the university was very welcoming.
  • Jaiteg Singh's avatar by Jaiteg Singh on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Overall apart from the timetable and location, my experience at the university has been good.
    University:
    Many facilities available on campus and a number of things to do both on and off campus.
    Course:
    The timetable isn't best suited for me. Most days are early starts with a lot of free periods in between lectures. For example, on Tuesdays there is a lecture at 9am, which is then followed by free periods until my second lecture at 2pm.
    Location:
    Not too far from London but still doesn't dispute the fact that it is in a small town area where there isn't much to do in terms of social life. Although, the campus and surrounding area is very beautiful.
    Accommodation:
    Although I'm not living in student accommodation, the quality of the accommodation does appear to be good from an external point of view.
    Settling in:
    There's plenty of help available to settle in to the university better, e.g. student services were very helpful to assist me in a few of the issues I was encountering. Although, there should be more opportunities to get to know other students better.
  • KatyKapsner's avatar by KatyKapsner on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    It has a slight party culture and I don’t like parting
    University:
    Everything you think you need and things you don’t need are here and ready for you
    Course:
    The group of students is small so you get to know everyone. They have top of the line equipment and you can tell that they care about their students and equipment.
    Location:
    It’s close enough to London that you can go to town but still far enough away to not be bombarded with traffic
    Accommodation:
    It’s affordable and in a great location.
    Settling in:
    They really do a good job making you feel welcome
  • bethgrace1999's avatar by bethgrace1999 on 1st November 2017
    Overall:
    If you're looking for a uni with a great campus community, highly ranked courses, close proximity to nightlife and good travel links - look no further than Royal Holloway. Not to mention the STUNNING campus (was rated most beautiful in the UK in TripAdvisor comp) and surrounding area. I am so glad I chose this uni!
    University:
    The services on campus are great. The new library is incredible (open 24/7) and is everything you could ever want in a library. Welfare and security on campus are great which is reassuring - I never feel unsafe on campus, or even in the surrounding area. Egham has everything you need in terms of essentials, for shopping Staines is the best (has Topshop, H&M, a Primark opening soon) which is only a 5 minute train. The student union put in so much effort to make uni life as best as it can be and their work really pays off.
    Course:
    I have only been here for just over a month but from the short time I have been here I can tell you that the atmosphere in this department is amazing. All lecturers are so approachable and supportive, which really makes you want to do well and succeed. Personal tutorial sessions are once a week in small groups, and are so helpful for clarifying difficult concepts from lectures. The facilities are great and lectures are relevant and engaging.
    Location:
    In terms of location, there is not much going on in the immediate surroundings of Royal Holloway. However, the on campus events are great and really make up for that. We are in close proximity to loads of places - specifically London (the train station is only a short walk and tickets are cheap). We are also close to Staines (5 min train) and Windsor which are really great for shopping and days out. We are really close to Virginia Water which is so beautiful.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation is amazing. The location on campus is great and I am just a short walk from everything I could ever need. The halls are sociable and I have made great friends here. The rooms are spacious and the kitchens are amazing quality - almost too nice to be uni halls! Although some halls here could be considered quite expensive, I cannot rate it highly enough, they are worth every penny :)
    Settling in:
    The freshers week events were great and I quickly felt at home in all aspects of uni life.
  • RandomStudent890's avatar by RandomStudent890 on 30th June 2017
    Overall:
    Great year hopefully more great years so far
    University:
    Many societies and social outings each week
    Course:
    Overall has been a great year
    Location:
    Located in the middle of nowhere, whereby only accessible via driving and the overground
    Accommodation:
    Not enough on campus accommodation
    Settling in:
    Very welcoming
  • Alexander Liptak's avatar by Alexander Liptak on 7th April 2017
    Overall:
    Overall I would definitely recommend this university. From a beautiful campus with lots of resources, to being easily accessible with a very friendly atmosphere, it is really all you would want in a university.
    University:
    Despite university days being very exhausting, I very much love this sort of life. My course does not allow too much spare time, so I have barely participated in any night life, but this does not bother me too much. There are lots of part-time jobs and opportunities available for anyone who wishes to get some experience. The libraries are open 24/7 which is great for late night coursework sessions. The gym and campus shop are a bit too overpriced but are very easily accessible and well equipped.
    Course:
    The professors are all very reputable people, but nonetheless are friendly and provide a good learning environment. The course has a lot of contact hours, which suits me well. The open-door policy across the department means that I can pop in to my professors office at any point to as a quick question and I don't have to schedule an appointment.
    Location:
    Most people disagree with me here, but I think the university is located perfectly. It is in a very quiet and peaceful area just outside London, but with very easy access to central London.
    Accommodation:
    The house prices are a bit too high and there isn't much accommodation available close to campus other than for First-years. Nonetheless I did not have any issues so far.
    Settling in:
    I think my university had a very friendly atmosphere. I was pretty scared at first but university life turned out to be pretty straightforward, within a few days I already felt like a uni student.
  • montinadiz1's avatar by montinadiz1 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great, I'm a quirky person and this uni has helped me feel confident in being myself
    University:
    It has all you need and its easily accessible
    Course:
    The teachers are brilliant and the work load is decent. I like learning about the subjects seperately atm but look forward to learning about the link between the two
    Location:
    Its rural but still super close to London
    Accommodation:
    Good quality but the heatings not great
    Settling in:
    The uni was welcome and my fellow students wonderful
  • Sean's avatar by Sean on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    University is great. It has, and will still, teach me life skills such as budgeting and independence. It's really worth it.
    University:
    There are many societies that students can join, the sporting facilities are great, plus the night life is decent. There is something happening almost every night or you could go into the towns near by.
    Course:
    I like the environment in my university. All my lecturers are really nice and helpful and the facilities are great.
    Location:
    It is the best of both worlds. Royal Holloway is a campus university with beautiful grounds and it is also 40 minutes to London by bus so it was a win win for me.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation is perfect. As this is a part of the University of London, the accommodation is reasonably priced and the quality of the rooms and cookin facilities are very good.
    Settling in:
    The people make you feel at home really quick and there are always people to talk to if you are feeling homesick.
  • SirMilkSheikh's avatar by SirMilkSheikh on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5/5
    University:
    Again it has everything I need.
    Course:
    I enjoy learning German and i have always loved reading and exploring different pieces of literature
    Location:
    The village is lovely but I like having a local butchers!
    Accommodation:
    It has everything I need - an en suite, a spacious room and a good kitchen
    Settling in:
    I felt a bit homesick at first
  • Adams95's avatar by Adams95 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I rate the uni very highly as the campus is not so large you get lost or feel swamped but is big enough to feel like its own community, the town has good amenities and the nightlife on campus is good, as well as being close(ish) to central london.
    University:
    Variety of services etc for during the day and good night vibe for if i want to go out
    Course:
    The course is good, lecturers could slow down a bit as its a pretty intense course!!
    Location:
    Town is good although 40mins on train to central London
    Accommodation:
    Quality and location are good, although it is quite expensive. Not to mention the fire alarms every 4 hours
    Settling in:
    Felt at home very quickly
  • Ayushi97's avatar by Ayushi97 on 6th October 2015
    Overall:
    In terms of studies, it's a really good university. The staff is very friendly. I'm not living in uni accomodation so I don't really have experience in that but if you're the kind of person who is going to be commuting, I wouldn't recommend it. A lot of party and just society events start after 7 and they are really fun. You don't have to party until 3 am but if you're there a college night bus runs for really cheap so safe and convinient.
    University:
    The libraries are really nice. They are both very different. One is very Victorian era style and the other one is like a hangout with a hangout. I really like the imagine cafe. They have these giant pillows where you can sleep and relax while drinking bubble tea. What more could you want? Sports offered are really nice. Recreational Tennis is offered for
    Course:
    It's the only university that specialises in Information security as a BSc degree. I chose to do the integrated masters.
    Location:
    It's a nice location. Quiet and not too busy unlike main London. It would have been nice to have a Tesco or Sainsburys nearby though.
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation itself is very nice but accomodation's very expensive for students who receive low maintenance loan. They should take that into account when setting the price for accommodation.
    Settling in:
    The timetable takes a while to get used to especially since it's much different from Sixth Form. You get used to it after a couple of weeks.
  • Alexander Liptak's avatar by Alexander Liptak on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Definitely a great university, would recommend it
    University:
    Very happy with the university overall, very good library resources, lots of places to socialise
    Course:
    Perfect course for me, teaching is excellent, it's something I'm interested and it's not as hard as I feared.
    Location:
    Location is great, commute is a bit too long though
    Accommodation:
    N/A - I commute
    Settling in:
    Friendly university, easy to settle in, staff and senior students very supportive
  • tamaramensah96's avatar by tamaramensah96 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars
    University:
    I don't know
    Course:
    I don't know
    Location:
    I don't know
    Accommodation:
    I don't know
    Settling in:
    I don't know
  • IanTan96's avatar by IanTan96 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's good. People here are friendly and it's peaceful.
    University:
    Freedom
    Course:
    It is decent.
    Location:
    It's near London but not enough public transport apart from trains.
    Accommodation:
    I got a wonderful room
    Settling in:
    Friendly flatmates
  • Meadowlarkmolly 's avatar by Meadowlarkmolly on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    INCREDIBLE
    University:
    Good location and fun things to do
    Course:
    Wonderful
    Location:
    Close to London
    Accommodation:
    Has a few issues, but overall good
    Settling in:
    Small and felt like home
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great. It might be a bit more rural than london but the societies, facilities and the people you meet here make up for all that loss
    University:
    Facilities are great and cater to student needs. Not to mention that the university is absolutely beautiful though a flaw I would point out is that there is no on-campus swimming pool. I feel like for a university this big - netball, football, tennis courts and an indoor gym, how could you miss out a swimming pool!
    Course:
    The timetable is a bit harsh cus 9am lectures are never pleasant but the workshops and lectures are very fun and insightful. Seminars help clear up misunderstandings of the lecture as well as branching out to a wider discussion.
    Location:
    It's not too far from london and the town is a 20 minute walk though it gets very tiring sometimes when buying groceries since the bus comes every half hour or if you don't have a car - having to trek up the hill is tiring.
    Accommodation:
    My accommodation - Butler hall is very convenient to a lot of the places on campus like cafeterias, cafes, shops, laundry, lecture halls and even the on-site club. In addition to this, it's a new hall of residence so the quality is really good.
    Settling in:
    I might have been lucky but my flatmates are great people even if we are a bit of a mix. They made me feel at home within the first day I arrived and events that the university held help connect everyone together as well e.g. international students - so we know that there are people who understand us being alone in the UK as well, where home isn't in reach like home students.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5 stars amazing
    University:
    I love uni
    Course:
    I've enjoyed it a lot
    Location:
    Egham is really small and there is not even a McDonald's in here
    Accommodation:
    Flat mates steal my food
    Settling in:
    Everyone is so friendly
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    very good!
    University:
    easy to get involved in things
    Course:
    lecturers are good
    Location:
    perfect, on the rural urban fringe
    Accommodation:
    not hot water, food isnt great
    Settling in:
    its an emotional expirence
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, great experience great social life and enjoying being responsible for everything I do.
    University:
    Enjoying the freedom
    Course:
    Everything has meet my expextations
    Location:
    Near London but still rural and quiet
    Accommodation:
    My year in halls was the last before it was completely refurbished. So a bit tatty
    Settling in:
    Enjoyed the freedom but a little home sick at first
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE