Member reviews of Sheffield Hallam University

  • S1elyak1's avatar by S1elyak1 on 10th July 2019
    Overall:
    3/5
    University:
    The university has many different societies and sports team (social and competitive). There are also events aimed at making friends from all over the world and lots of volunteering opportunities too. The library is 24/7 which is really helpful during exam season! The university is situated in the city centre where there are plenty of shops but it was only a 10 minute train ride away from Meadowhall! The SU doesn't really offer much in terms of club nights but it has different events like a quiz etc.
    Course:
    The lecturers are somewhat helpful. I was split over both of the campuses which could be a nightmare as it was a 45 minute walk between them and I sometimes only had an hour between lectures. The psychology department seemed really unorganised and often lecturers did not turn up without sending an email until an hour after they were supposed to be teaching. The modules were interesting but I wish been given more chances to choose optional modules instead of just the one module in third year. Overall, the course wasn't too bad and there are some good members of staff (Kathy was amazing).
    Location:
    The location of the university is very good as it's less than a 5 minute walk away from the city centre and the train station, however, I personally did not like Sheffield as a city.
    Accommodation:
    The location of my accommodation was great, it was a 5 minute walk from the city campus and was quite affordable. The staff who worked in the halls were very friendly and helpful.
    Settling in:
    I struggled settling into university and never really felt like Sheffield or the university were for me.
  • MellieMelody's avatar by MellieMelody on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I think Hallam can be a great university, especially if you choose to live in and want a good night life. The only real downside to it is the poor management of timetables, but that may be relevant to my course only.
    University:
    There are always many events being promoted within hallam which allows for a great uni life.
    Course:
    The course content itself can be very interesting and it is really enjoyable to learn about the different aspects present within nursing.
    Location:
    The university is divided into two campuses; collegiate and city. I think city campus is better by far as it’s easier to travel to and I believe more attention is focused here.
    Accommodation:
    The housing varies in quality - there is transport available from many university accodamtion to the different campuses. However, from my experience, university accommodation can be quite small and expensive compared to private accomadation.
    Settling in:
    There is a really warm welcome to Hallam. There are many events on, especially in Freshers week.
  • Joelleappiah18's avatar by Joelleappiah18 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I believe it will increase as I spend more time here but so far so good
    University:
    Haven’t got to experience much yet
    Course:
    Very welcoming and staff and student relationship is quality
    Location:
    Very close to my accommodation and accessible from different parts of the city
    Accommodation:
    Good maintenance
    Settling in:
    Everyone has been super friendly
  • chloefletch99's avatar by chloefletch99 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I am really enjoying my time
    University:
    Lots of help available 24/7 including the library
    Course:
    I enjoy going to both my seminars and lectures the majority of the time. All the staff are really friendly and helpful.
    Location:
    Easy to get to, lots of places to eat and drink around
    Accommodation:
    Not applicable to me
    Settling in:
    I quickly picked up how things worked but I’m still slightly struggling with writing assignments
  • Ellab0411's avatar by Ellab0411 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Can be hard getting used to “adulting” but the uni offers plenty of support if you need it.
    University:
    Good night out. Many societies. Many facilities for studying.
    Course:
    Very approachable tutors who know their stuff and are passionate about the content. Difficult timetable as is different each week and not in line with other courses so you end up on holiday when the others are still in uni and vice versa.
    Location:
    Bit of a walk from the centre but there is a shuttle bus every half hour.
    Accommodation:
    Good locations generally. Uni accommodation often gated or needs fobs to get in. Fairly good quality.
    Settling in:
    There were plenty of events and fairs to integrate students. The uni provided many opportunities to learn about uni know friends and to make new friends.
  • Platinum98's avatar by Platinum98 on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Really good facilities. Everything is modern.
    University:
    Hallam over uni of.
    Course:
    Brilliant for employability and education provided.
    Location:
    Better than uni of.
    Accommodation:
    Ranges from good to bad.
    Settling in:
    Friendly atmosphere. Generally nice student.
  • ElemenTzAB's avatar by ElemenTzAB on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Its not bad
    University:
    There are lots of activities for both night and day and the uni has facilities that suit all the needs of my course, such as textbooks and computer software.
    Course:
    All of the modules are interesting and fun to do, everyone gets involved but youre never presured to do it. There is a good mix between lectures and seminars. Some of the teachers just waffle on too much so most people lose concentration
    Location:
    Its near the accomodation and the center of town so its great.
    Accommodation:
    The accomodation is good, its spacious and close to both campuses. Its also close to shops and bars. The accomodation is cheap especially for what you get.
    Settling in:
    The buildings and rooms are all easy to find because of the room numbers and the city is easy to navigate.
  • Lizzieferris's avatar by Lizzieferris on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Best location, Sheffield is such a great city to be a student in.
    University:
    Loads going on as in city centre, not many events actually run by the uni though.
    Course:
    First year modules are a bit slow as recap a lot of A-level stuff but modules in second and third year are really good and you have lots of your own choice. Majority of lecturers are friendly, approachable and helpful.
    Location:
    Right in the city centre, close to everything!
    Accommodation:
    Accommodation options are good, price is ok. Second year housing is really good and much better prices than other uni's.
    Settling in:
    Settled in slowly as was homesick, made friends quickly but still felt weird but after a few weeks was calling Sheffield home. Second year is much easier to settle into, not homesick at all.
  • UnironicEdgeLord's avatar by UnironicEdgeLord on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Sixteen out of twenty.
    University:
    Fresher's flu :'(
    Course:
    All the staff seem to enjoy what they're doing and will answer most questions straight up. The whole environment is very comfortable. The tasks given are enjoyably challenging.
    Location:
    The university's situated right next to the train station, and bus terminal, so you've never got a valid reason for being late. There's also plenty of pubs.
    Accommodation:
    I pay sub £80 per week with all bills included, for a mahoosive room. Some people ain't quite as luck as me though.
    Settling in:
    It was a piece of cake getting in and sorted. I'm happier with my university, than I am my secondary, and sixthform by far for helping me. It feels that may be because of how much more everyone's getting paid.
  • SpireiteLauren's avatar by SpireiteLauren on 20th November 2018
    Overall:
    Fantastic! So friendly and a brilliant team of teaching staff
    University:
    Lots to do and get involved with
    Course:
    I really enjoy most of the modules and the lecturers are truly inspiring! There have been a few issues with timetables but nothing major!
    Location:
    Loads of local amenities!
    Accommodation:
    I live at home
    Settling in:
    I made lots of friends quite quickly and as I came from sixth form was used to education
  • ..somebody..'s avatar by ..somebody.. on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I'm having a great time and can't wait to spend the next 2 years here!!
    University:
    I love it!!!!
    Course:
    As the course consists of only coursework I feel the number of contact hours is appropriate as I always have enough time to do work and then work back into it. The tutors are really helpful and are always happy to have a one-to-one of you need it. An extra effort is also made in this year to make sure everyone is at the same level going into second year
    Location:
    It is really close to shops and there are so many cute cafes and things to do in the city centre which is a 5 minute walk from the main building
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation provides everything you could need to live out. However on the facebook page there do seem to be a few issues with windows etc. Also the internet isn't always very great. Where I live is just a short walk into uni which is great
    Settling in:
    I settled into uni really fast as I was ready for a fresh start and somewhere new
  • _theChief_'s avatar by _theChief_ on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    5*
    University:
    Sheffield Hallam's student union is awful, everything else is good.
    Course:
    Could be more organised, but otherwise the material is good and the lecturers make it engaging
    Location:
    Sheffield is by far the best city in the history of anything ever
    Accommodation:
    My landlords have been amazing
    Settling in:
    I'm finally free of the hellhole that is Leeds
  • james_w_walton's avatar by james_w_walton on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    I am loving my university life a great amount and finding everything great, as long as you go out and make friends then you settle in really quickly and have a great time.
    University:
    There is always lots to do, and the university provide great resources to aid our learning. However sometimes I do miss nice meals, which tend to be too expensive as a student.
    Course:
    I am finding the course very interesting at the moment and I get to live abroad for 18 months of my course.
    Location:
    Sheffield is a great city and the city campus couldn't be more central.
    Accommodation:
    It is very nice, clean and central but I have been to student accommodations in other universities which have been slightly bigger.
    Settling in:
    I settled in very quickly, as everything is central, similar to my normal city, and all of my flat mates are very nice so it has been easy to make friends.
  • Dont no's avatar by Dont no on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great experiance plenty of nightlife fun atmosphere, practical course helpful staff really friendly
    University:
    The facilities are very accomodating modern and simple to use
    Course:
    Fab lecturers very hands on course
    Location:
    Communing is so easy
    Accommodation:
    Clean tidy modern
    Settling in:
    Plenty of icebreakers and very friendly people
  • b0516726's avatar by b0516726 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Such a good university. Lots of opportunities, help and nice people. Would certainly recommend studying here.
    University:
    To what iv experienced so far has been good, but would like to know about different things that go on, other than clubbing etc (e.g any gigs )
    Course:
    As soon as I first visited Sheffield Hallam, I liked it straight away. Everyone is so welcoming and helpful. They've made it as smooth as possible for me to settle in. However I have rated them full stars because iv only been here for a few weeks, so there is still a lot to experience. But it is a great uni
    Location:
    It's in the heart of the city, so lots of things to do and places to see, however I still need to observe what's on where and where's best to go
    Accommodation:
    Its a nice accommodation that has a good security, however my flat was one of the few that wasn't refurbished yet we still have to pay the same amount as everyone else and there is no wifi, which can cause a few problems
    Settling in:
    I got along with people straight away, as soon as I arrived I was out and about meeting people. However I do miss what I had and the people at home and university is completely alien to me (academic wise) so it's taken a bit of getting used too
  • CraigWoodley's avatar by CraigWoodley on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Is it homely, helpful and the quality of the tutoring is the best.
    University:
    Everything is perfect.
    Course:
    You get the assistance you need to surpass your own expectations and result. The tutors actually really care.
    Location:
    Easy to get to and all in one place.
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    Instantly.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    For me it's pretty great, I don't think I'd find somewhere where I'd be happier so
    University:
    It's alright but it's not exactly put out there, plus the student union is pretty bad
    Course:
    Only one or two things I would change
    Location:
    Could be closer to my house
    Accommodation:
    It's not the best but for the price it's great
    Settling in:
    The people I met were lovely, including staff, and the city's a great place to be
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good university with lots of culture. People here are absolutely lovely and so glad I got a place here.
    University:
    Good amount of places to be on campus during the day and lots of work facilities. Just very noisy at night because of students. Shops very close
    Course:
    Fantastic staff, interesting modules
    Location:
    Heart of the city - opportunities for leisure activities and work-related activities everywhere and very close by
    Accommodation:
    Good sized rooms and plenty of space for things.
    Settling in:
    Settled in very quickly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    80% on its way to brilliance, top uni
    University:
    4/5
    Course:
    It's great
    Location:
    Perfect in sheffield city centre
    Accommodation:
    Also good
    Settling in:
    I feel at home now
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars
    University:
    Equal balance
    Course:
    It is boring
    Location:
    It is in the centre of the city centre
    Accommodation:
    It is really good
    Settling in:
    Took me a while
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE