Member reviews of Solent University (Southampton)

  • Charlotte Craven's avatar by Charlotte Craven on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    The university offers so many incredible courses and the course tutors are all really nice and helpful! The facilities available are amazing and I would definitely recommend the university to anyone whos thinking of going
    University:
    The university has lots of facilities available for students of all courses, there are also lots of societies abd events running at all times
    Course:
    The course leaders are all extremely helpful and kind, they make the time to see students who are struggling and give extra support when needed.
    Location:
    Both my university and accommodation are really close to the local town and amenities which makes life easier and requires less travel
    Accommodation:
    For the price the accomodation is really good, the only issue would be how thin the walls are or how often things tend to break
    Settling in:
    It took me a while to settle into my accommodation because i was too shy to meet the kitchen I was in but once I settled in I love it
  • georgiaculley's avatar by georgiaculley on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I have only experienced just over half a year so far and therefore cant give it 5/5 stars! But I would highly recommend here for the brilliant friends student life.
    University:
    Love the shops around here and nightlife is just the best especially on student nights in the city
    Course:
    The tutors here are amazing and have helped me settle in so much i am so thankful to be accepted here. Not only are the lecturers great but the labs are awesome too.
    Location:
    Southampton city isn't that far and great night life
    Accommodation:
    Clean and easy to walk to campus and prices are affordable comparedto my friend at other universities
    Settling in:
    Super friendly! within two/three weeks I had made good friends
  • keloy's avatar by keloy on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Because it's an amazing experience.
    University:
    Great
    Course:
    Because it's amazing!
    Location:
    It's okay but it could be better
    Accommodation:
    It's okay but it's not perfect.
    Settling in:
    Very fast
  • oana.dam's avatar by oana.dam on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overally, I am satisfied with the university, but I am aware there are universities that offer more services and opportunities.
    University:
    I haven't been implied in many societies or clubs. But anyway the ones I was participating were good. The student union is very organised and well lead. The library offers all the needed services.
    Course:
    Everything is very good (or quite) organised. Timetable is flexible. Teaching is delivered by professional people.
    Location:
    The university is near city center and offera easy access to everything.
    Accommodation:
    I didn't live in student halls.
    Settling in:
    It was wasy for me to "settle in" and I 've made friends very quickly.
  • Totis96's avatar by Totis96 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good facilities but they can me improved
    University:
    Very active
    Course:
    They can improve the teaching scheme
    Location:
    Very close to city centre and tha halls
    Accommodation:
    Too noisy
    Settling in:
    It wasn't difficult to settle in
  • beccabaybiiee's avatar by beccabaybiiee on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    I honestly would not go back to this university if I had another chance to.
    University:
    uni life isn't what I thought it would be
    Course:
    I thought that the course was okay, wasn't very exciting
    Location:
    great location
    Accommodation:
    the accommodation I stayed in was about 8 minutes away from the main campus building. and city centre. The accommodation itself was okay, nice sized single room, with en-suite bathroom. The only thing was it was infested with silverfish.
    Settling in:
    I honestly did not feel at home here
  • Helenrw's avatar by Helenrw on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic if you don't do very well in your a levels and still want to get a degree but not the best experience in terms of housing and as a city to live in.
    University:
    The nightlife was average, the library was also ok but very limited on computer space and areas to relax.
    Course:
    Because the topics covered I am very interested in. And the university delivers them well
    Location:
    I felt unsafe to walk at night and in the day I had to partake in group work usually on the hight street which wasn't enjoyable due to the type of people that live in the city
    Accommodation:
    My friends were in university halls which were horrible and old fashioned they looked like they hadn't been updated in years. I stayed in private halls which were ok
    Settling in:
    It took me slightly more time than others. I felt there wasn't a strong focus on settling in.
  • AdamWeeden's avatar by AdamWeeden on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I enjoy learning practical skills which will help me long term in the real world. Compared to traditional courses, I feel this prepares me better.
    University:
    As a city centre university, everything I need is within an easy 30 minute walk. I don't tend to make the most of the night-life, but there are a wide variety of venues available for most tastes.
    Course:
    I've really enjoyed the content of my course, and my tutors have been very helpful.
    Location:
    The university is very easily accessible from major transport hubs, including Trains, Busses, Ports and even an AIRPORT! It's pretty easy to get to by car, though there isn't any parking available for students at the University itself, however the University halls do have reasonably priced parking available.
    Accommodation:
    The halls are very well maintained, however, are a tad on the small side, but are very reasonably priced for city centre living.
    Settling in:
    The events run during the move in period helped me settle in quite well, and I enjoyed the mixture of flatmates I had.
  • Idiotic Tendency's avatar by Idiotic Tendency on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's going OK right now. I just need some time to settle in and maybe tame the other flatmates
    University:
    I can't comment on this as my uni technically isn't a 'campus uni'. The SU is fantastic, but I have yet to dip my toe into the realm of societies.
    Course:
    Good course resources, good tutors.
    Location:
    Its right in the heart of the city, just a walk across the park from the high street and shopping centre.
    Accommodation:
    Although my halls are the furthest from the uni. It's still within walking distance. The cost come in at
    Settling in:
    I don't get on with my flatmates at all. They are into terrible music as for some reason feel the need to be as loud as they possibly can. Screaming in the halls, sounding off rape alarms and playing music at a level of 107 dB. Some also bang on toilet doors if i'm doing my buisness, taking the piss for having a dump, even though there are 3 toilets in the joint. It safe to say i'll be looking for a new place to live for the January term.
  • N/a's avatar by N/a on 2nd September 2015
    Overall:
    Great university and course, friendly lecturers and good facilities.
    University:
    Great.
    Course:
    Great lecturers and good mix of practical units and theory.
    Location:
    Very central.
    Accommodation:
    Great.
    Settling in:
    I settled in well.
  • princessunicorn's avatar by princessunicorn on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent - 5 stars
    University:
    I've really enjoyed my first year here, there are lots of amazing societies and the campus is lovely
    Course:
    Really enjoying my course and it's well taught
    Location:
    It is right in the centre and there is lots to do in the surrounding area
    Accommodation:
    It was very good value and nicely decorated
    Settling in:
    I made lots of new friends quickly
  • Yes - DanielTopps's avatar by Yes - DanielTopps on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good, I would highly recommend choosing Solent if you are looking for a new, bright and diverse university with numerous industry links!
    University:
    Southampton has an exceptional nightlife, a huge shopping centre and fantastic transport links.
    Course:
    I think the quality and knowledge of my lecturers is excellent. They're all industry professionals and keep up to date with the latest developments.
    Location:
    The campus location is outstanding and the city is brilliant.
    Accommodation:
    I believe the location is fantastic however the buildings are ageing but this is being adressed with new facilities being built.
    Settling in:
    I joined a sports team and made loads of friends.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a very friendly university with gold teaching staff overall, the campus is easy to navigate and there are plenty of resources available.
    University:
    Lots of societies, there were lots of events for fresher's and are more events through the year (although i don't plan on going due to not liking clubs and I don't drink)
    Course:
    One teacher is new and hasn't quite found his footing yet so not 5*
    Location:
    Southampton can be nice in areas, but like some places there are a lot of weed smokers, and the smell makes me feel sick
    Accommodation:
    I live in private housing with my girlfriend, it is very affordable and we get our own kitchen since it's a studio flat
    Settling in:
    I made friends in the first week of classes and the work is explained properly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    85/100
    University:
    There are a lot of activities to participate in if you want to. As well as a lot of events going on in the evening at pubs and clubs.
    Course:
    It's a good course.
    Location:
    The city is very good and the campus is close to the town which is ideal. The uni is also not that far from the halls which is very good.
    Accommodation:
    The location is very good.
    Settling in:
    It's been a very easy uni to settle into.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is quiet okay.
    University:
    Rather not say.
    Course:
    They force us to work with the people we don't know which might not be reliable on group assesment.
    Location:
    It's at the city center.
    Accommodation:
    Everything is better then other except very little closet.
    Settling in:
    Supermarkets and IKEA are way too far and its get worse oncrwiny days.
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    There is a lot available. 7
    Course:
    I have only recently started the course so can't really say overall how much I like it, but from the first two weeks it has been really good.
    Location:
    It's a great location which is central to the town.
    Accommodation:
    It is good accommodation but there has been a few things wrong with my room and issues with the kitchen.
    Settling in:
    I have struggled to 'fit in' with my housemates and have found It pretty hard.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I'd rate the university very highly as the social and educational aspects are of a high standard and make life particularly easy
    University:
    I really like how big and social the university is. The city is brilliant and the course is perfect for me
    Course:
    This course suits me perfectly as it has a great balance of practical and theoretical work. Both of which are fully engaging and enjoyable. Also, my tutors are very interesting people that treat myself and others on the course as equals and with respect.
    Location:
    It's a perfect distance from the city and not too far from halls either. It's in a nice area of Southampton with nice surrounding areas (e.g parks)
    Accommodation:
    I feel homely in my room and am happy with my flatmates but it's certainly not perfect. Although it's 'cheap' compared to many others, it is still pricey and does keep my budget tight. Little things like the water and the temperature of the rooms are also irritating.
    Settling in:
    Socially, I've thrown myself in and made friends with as many people on my course, in my flat and generally from university as possible. The change from living at home to living in halls is very big and not many people can fully adapt immediately, nonetheless I've certainly not had an awful first few weeks.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It has been good so far, facilities are great, especially Test Park which is their pitch for some sports.
    University:
    N/A
    Course:
    Have been good so far, might be better in the coming weeks/months hence the 4 stars
    Location:
    It's near to the major supermarkets/shopping centres, about a 6 minutes walk away.
    Accommodation:
    Kitchen is good, room is nice, though it's a little noisy at times at night.
    Settling in:
    N/A
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's great and the courses it offers are sometimes perfect for people looking for something that isn't normally offered. The only problems I have are that the outside of a lot of buildings are quite dirty (the insides are awesome and modern) and that the general vibe from the people here isn't amazing but that is very dependent on who you're with where and at what time.
    University:
    Anything you need they have and more.
    Course:
    Not my first choice of university but exceeded my expectations.
    Location:
    Great city, lots to do, and easy to get around.
    Accommodation:
    Great location, affordability and atmosphere. However lacking in features and could do with an upgrade.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home on the first day.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Extremely good, I feel comfortable enrolling here in my second year as a transfer student.
    University:
    Near to shops, central library.
    Course:
    Because the course is well run and focuses largely on employability upon graduation.
    Location:
    Very central
    Accommodation:
    I live in private accommodation.
    Settling in:
    The course leader was informative and made me feel settled.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is only the beginning but I think I am going to have a nice time here.
    University:
    There are a numerous amounts happening during the day and at night.
    Course:
    The course structure is very good as are the quality of lectures and the feedback. The only downside is the mixed timetable but that gets sorted out after a while.
    Location:
    It very close to my accommodation.
    Accommodation:
    It is not what I expected, but the good part is that it is close to everything.
    Settling in:
    It still doesn't feel like home, it is very hard for me to adjust.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    its good so far but i would like to stay at home and commute or go to one closer to home
    University:
    its good but i miss home life
    Course:
    not liking lectures so far
    Location:
    next to a scary park and have heard rumours
    Accommodation:
    clean tidy well organised good maintenance
    Settling in:
    housemates wernt very welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good experience with teaching and the course, as well as the city, although some student residences have poor facilities.
    University:
    Poor student union.
    Course:
    Good, enthusiastic teaching and large variety of learning resources available to students.
    Location:
    Southampton is a nice city with lots to do and great night life, but the parks are dangerous at night.
    Accommodation:
    Good location, close to university but quite expensive for what you get and awful kitchens.
    Settling in:
    Didn't take me too long to settle in - people in accommodation were friendly and university student support was available.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its great! I feel like I fit in somewhere for once. Wouldn't change it for the world
    University:
    Campus life is great. Societies are amazing
    Course:
    Ita not the course I want to do. Its a gateway to what I want to do
    Location:
    Its in the city centre but too far away from the shopping centres
    Accommodation:
    Price of rent is about average
    Settling in:
    Its in my home city so I had an advantage. I also helped class mates find their way around
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    4
    University:
    Good services
    Course:
    Friendly, good teaching, sufficient resources
    Location:
    Right in the city, convenient & easy to travel to
    Accommodation:
    Did not stay in accommodation, but friend's place seemed nice
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in, lots of events & ice breakers to help feel at ease
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    I had a brilliant time at Solent and loved my course. I found it interesting and it has linked into my PGCE. The services provided by the uni, such as disability, we're so helpful and would always go the extra mile. Resources, such as computers, were also available readily.
    University:
    Support was clearly available when needed, with a dedicated student service.
    Course:
    The topics were interesting and showed a clear link to education topics. The rationale behind modules was demonstrated via continuation of the course. Help was always available if you needed it.
    Location:
    Right in the city centre, all uni locations easily accessible. Halls were near town however when with suitcase may need to take taxi or bus to the station.
    Accommodation:
    Rooms on the ground floor could be seen into, especially the kitchen. Rooms also had little light however there was lots of storage space and easy access to washing facilities.
    Settling in:
    Although the course went well there was for the quieter students to be lost.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Like what the city has to offer. Uni is not amazing, however.
    University:
    On campus shops and events are very lackluster
    Course:
    Content of course was rather reasonable, some lecturers were rather poor
    Location:
    No real comments to make.
    Accommodation:
    There are a range of prices, the one I stayed in was covered in full by student loan/ bursary. Location - 10 minutes from main shopping area and the uni campus. The room was good with the exception of the showers (every resident received replacement)
    Settling in:
    Not sure
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    5 Stars
    University:
    Being in the city everything is open late, everything is acessible. There are so many different choices of clubs for all tastes of music. It is such a exciting and lively city.
    Course:
    I absolutely love my course, my tutors are amazing and so are the technicians. The equipment we have to use is to the highest standard.
    Location:
    We are in the middle of the city everything we need is a five minute walk away!
    Accommodation:
    Halls of residence and great. Private housing is a bit poor and expensive.
    Settling in:
    Having students first made it very easy to talk to someone if I was feeling homesick. And our tutors are very helpful as well.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's a great university to go to for sporting purposes and it has high quality resources. The only flaws are the organisation and the separate locations of campuses
    University:
    It's good
    Course:
    There are some flaws in organisation but overall it is a great university
    Location:
    I love Southampton, it's a great city, and the campus is practically next to the Guildhall, high street, a lot of local clubs and local music venues
    Accommodation:
    Extremely close to the camps, quite standard quality but personally I found it more expensive than it needed to be
    Settling in:
    The students and staff are all very welcoming and generally rather easy to get along with
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It is excellent, I'm very happy I decided to study here
    University:
    I really like being at this uni, the campus is lovely and has great facilities
    Course:
    The timetable isn't laid out very well. However the lecturers are very helpful and classes are interesting.
    Location:
    It is right in the centre of the city
    Accommodation:
    Very good value and the rooms were nicely decorated
    Settling in:
    It was very easy to make friends and meet people
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I would say it had its up and debs but I came here for the course and feel in love with the city.
    University:
    The nightlife is good but for the day time when not at university not much to do
    Course:
    Its a new course and needs amendments
    Location:
    It's in the middle of town great location
    Accommodation:
    The university has good facilities but his expanding.
    Settling in:
    Because the university does not really get included in your personal life but does give you quite a few distractions
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Im having a great day
    University:
    Good shops nearby and lots of thongs to do and pleanty of places to go out
    Course:
    Just really enjoy the subject
    Location:
    Quiet yet a good amount of students
    Accommodation:
    I dont mind my accommidation
    Settling in:
    Everyone is friendly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Never had a dull moment.
    University:
    Southampton is a city that has a vibrant night life, it's freshers week is unbeatable!!
    Course:
    The course gives you plenty of time to study and have a social life.
    Location:
    Everything is local and within a walking distance.
    Accommodation:
    The rooms are a bit small
    Settling in:
    Everyone is friendly and make you feel at home.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The course is great, and I have learnt a lot from the course, there are just management issues.
    University:
    I wish there was more organisation and better communication to the students.
    Course:
    The content of the course is good, but the organisation is poor.
    Location:
    The location is brilliant, it's in the heart of Southampton.
    Accommodation:
    I wasn't in student accommodation but from what I saw they were good.
    Settling in:
    It took a while, as I was living at home and therefore had to make friends on the course rather than halls friends.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Really good. Great lecturers and facilities.
    University:
    It's very busy but overall it's all very good. There's a great community on campus.
    Course:
    It has everything I want and expected plus more.
    Location:
    Good location, very close to city centre for shopping and eating.
    Accommodation:
    It's decent and has everything you'd need and great staff but it was slightly expensive
    Settling in:
    It took me a while given my anxiety but I feel I settled in reasonably quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    Clubs easy access and cheap, library 24 hours access which was helpful during third year with dissertation
    Course:
    Teachers give you support and good opportunities to get involved woth during uni to help after graduation
    Location:
    20 mins walking distance from everything i needed in the city; town, home
    Accommodation:
    Was kept clean, security always on site, issues delt with correctly and quickly
    Settling in:
    Everyone was welcoming; students and teachers
  • by Anonymous on 20th August 2015
    Overall:
    Close to everything, no need to travel to and from campus all the time
    University:
    Location, 3 unis in the city so massive student culture
    Course:
    Great lecturers
    Location:
    I always wanted to go to a campus uni but solent wasn't one, this didn't make a deference to me and I liked that we were so close to the city and everything in it
    Accommodation:
    Good location, great atmosphere
    Settling in:
    So much to do

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE