Member reviews of Solent University

  • Charlotte Craven's avatar by Charlotte Craven on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    The university offers so many incredible courses and the course tutors are all really nice and helpful! The facilities available are amazing and I would definitely recommend the university to anyone whos thinking of going
    University:
    The university has lots of facilities available for students of all courses, there are also lots of societies abd events running at all times
    Course:
    The course leaders are all extremely helpful and kind, they make the time to see students who are struggling and give extra support when needed.
    Location:
    Both my university and accommodation are really close to the local town and amenities which makes life easier and requires less travel
    Accommodation:
    For the price the accomodation is really good, the only issue would be how thin the walls are or how often things tend to break
    Settling in:
    It took me a while to settle into my accommodation because i was too shy to meet the kitchen I was in but once I settled in I love it
  • georgiaculley's avatar by georgiaculley on 27th February 2017
    Overall:
    I have only experienced just over half a year so far and therefore cant give it 5/5 stars! But I would highly recommend here for the brilliant friends student life.
    University:
    Love the shops around here and nightlife is just the best especially on student nights in the city
    Course:
    The tutors here are amazing and have helped me settle in so much i am so thankful to be accepted here. Not only are the lecturers great but the labs are awesome too.
    Location:
    Southampton city isn't that far and great night life
    Accommodation:
    Clean and easy to walk to campus and prices are affordable comparedto my friend at other universities
    Settling in:
    Super friendly! within two/three weeks I had made good friends
  • keloy's avatar by keloy on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Because it's an amazing experience.
    University:
    Great
    Course:
    Because it's amazing!
    Location:
    It's okay but it could be better
    Accommodation:
    It's okay but it's not perfect.
    Settling in:
    Very fast
  • oana.dam's avatar by oana.dam on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Overally, I am satisfied with the university, but I am aware there are universities that offer more services and opportunities.
    University:
    I haven't been implied in many societies or clubs. But anyway the ones I was participating were good. The student union is very organised and well lead. The library offers all the needed services.
    Course:
    Everything is very good (or quite) organised. Timetable is flexible. Teaching is delivered by professional people.
    Location:
    The university is near city center and offera easy access to everything.
    Accommodation:
    I didn't live in student halls.
    Settling in:
    It was wasy for me to "settle in" and I 've made friends very quickly.
  • Totis96's avatar by Totis96 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good facilities but they can me improved
    University:
    Very active
    Course:
    They can improve the teaching scheme
    Location:
    Very close to city centre and tha halls
    Accommodation:
    Too noisy
    Settling in:
    It wasn't difficult to settle in
  • beccabaybiiee's avatar by beccabaybiiee on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    I honestly would not go back to this university if I had another chance to.
    University:
    uni life isn't what I thought it would be
    Course:
    I thought that the course was okay, wasn't very exciting
    Location:
    great location
    Accommodation:
    the accommodation I stayed in was about 8 minutes away from the main campus building. and city centre. The accommodation itself was okay, nice sized single room, with en-suite bathroom. The only thing was it was infested with silverfish.
    Settling in:
    I honestly did not feel at home here
  • Idiotic Tendency's avatar by Idiotic Tendency on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's going OK right now. I just need some time to settle in and maybe tame the other flatmates
    University:
    I can't comment on this as my uni technically isn't a 'campus uni'. The SU is fantastic, but I have yet to dip my toe into the realm of societies.
    Course:
    Good course resources, good tutors.
    Location:
    Its right in the heart of the city, just a walk across the park from the high street and shopping centre.
    Accommodation:
    Although my halls are the furthest from the uni. It's still within walking distance. The cost come in at
    Settling in:
    I don't get on with my flatmates at all. They are into terrible music as for some reason feel the need to be as loud as they possibly can. Screaming in the halls, sounding off rape alarms and playing music at a level of 107 dB. Some also bang on toilet doors if i'm doing my buisness, taking the piss for having a dump, even though there are 3 toilets in the joint. It safe to say i'll be looking for a new place to live for the January term.
  • by Anonymous on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is a very friendly university with gold teaching staff overall, the campus is easy to navigate and there are plenty of resources available.
    University:
    Lots of societies, there were lots of events for fresher's and are more events through the year (although i don't plan on going due to not liking clubs and I don't drink)
    Course:
    One teacher is new and hasn't quite found his footing yet so not 5*
    Location:
    Southampton can be nice in areas, but like some places there are a lot of weed smokers, and the smell makes me feel sick
    Accommodation:
    I live in private housing with my girlfriend, it is very affordable and we get our own kitchen since it's a studio flat
    Settling in:
    I made friends in the first week of classes and the work is explained properly
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    85/100
    University:
    There are a lot of activities to participate in if you want to. As well as a lot of events going on in the evening at pubs and clubs.
    Course:
    It's a good course.
    Location:
    The city is very good and the campus is close to the town which is ideal. The uni is also not that far from the halls which is very good.
    Accommodation:
    The location is very good.
    Settling in:
    It's been a very easy uni to settle into.
  • by Anonymous on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    It is quiet okay.
    University:
    Rather not say.
    Course:
    They force us to work with the people we don't know which might not be reliable on group assesment.
    Location:
    It's at the city center.
    Accommodation:
    Everything is better then other except very little closet.
    Settling in:
    Supermarkets and IKEA are way too far and its get worse oncrwiny days.
  • by Anonymous on 2nd October 2015
    Overall:
    Very good
    University:
    There is a lot available. 7
    Course:
    I have only recently started the course so can't really say overall how much I like it, but from the first two weeks it has been really good.
    Location:
    It's a great location which is central to the town.
    Accommodation:
    It is good accommodation but there has been a few things wrong with my room and issues with the kitchen.
    Settling in:
    I have struggled to 'fit in' with my housemates and have found It pretty hard.
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I'd rate the university very highly as the social and educational aspects are of a high standard and make life particularly easy
    University:
    I really like how big and social the university is. The city is brilliant and the course is perfect for me
    Course:
    This course suits me perfectly as it has a great balance of practical and theoretical work. Both of which are fully engaging and enjoyable. Also, my tutors are very interesting people that treat myself and others on the course as equals and with respect.
    Location:
    It's a perfect distance from the city and not too far from halls either. It's in a nice area of Southampton with nice surrounding areas (e.g parks)
    Accommodation:
    I feel homely in my room and am happy with my flatmates but it's certainly not perfect. Although it's 'cheap' compared to many others, it is still pricey and does keep my budget tight. Little things like the water and the temperature of the rooms are also irritating.
    Settling in:
    Socially, I've thrown myself in and made friends with as many people on my course, in my flat and generally from university as possible. The change from living at home to living in halls is very big and not many people can fully adapt immediately, nonetheless I've certainly not had an awful first few weeks.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It has been good so far, facilities are great, especially Test Park which is their pitch for some sports.
    University:
    N/A
    Course:
    Have been good so far, might be better in the coming weeks/months hence the 4 stars
    Location:
    It's near to the major supermarkets/shopping centres, about a 6 minutes walk away.
    Accommodation:
    Kitchen is good, room is nice, though it's a little noisy at times at night.
    Settling in:
    N/A
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It's great and the courses it offers are sometimes perfect for people looking for something that isn't normally offered. The only problems I have are that the outside of a lot of buildings are quite dirty (the insides are awesome and modern) and that the general vibe from the people here isn't amazing but that is very dependent on who you're with where and at what time.
    University:
    Anything you need they have and more.
    Course:
    Not my first choice of university but exceeded my expectations.
    Location:
    Great city, lots to do, and easy to get around.
    Accommodation:
    Great location, affordability and atmosphere. However lacking in features and could do with an upgrade.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home on the first day.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Extremely good, I feel comfortable enrolling here in my second year as a transfer student.
    University:
    Near to shops, central library.
    Course:
    Because the course is well run and focuses largely on employability upon graduation.
    Location:
    Very central
    Accommodation:
    I live in private accommodation.
    Settling in:
    The course leader was informative and made me feel settled.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is only the beginning but I think I am going to have a nice time here.
    University:
    There are a numerous amounts happening during the day and at night.
    Course:
    The course structure is very good as are the quality of lectures and the feedback. The only downside is the mixed timetable but that gets sorted out after a while.
    Location:
    It very close to my accommodation.
    Accommodation:
    It is not what I expected, but the good part is that it is close to everything.
    Settling in:
    It still doesn't feel like home, it is very hard for me to adjust.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    its good so far but i would like to stay at home and commute or go to one closer to home
    University:
    its good but i miss home life
    Course:
    not liking lectures so far
    Location:
    next to a scary park and have heard rumours
    Accommodation:
    clean tidy well organised good maintenance
    Settling in:
    housemates wernt very welcoming
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good experience with teaching and the course, as well as the city, although some student residences have poor facilities.
    University:
    Poor student union.
    Course:
    Good, enthusiastic teaching and large variety of learning resources available to students.
    Location:
    Southampton is a nice city with lots to do and great night life, but the parks are dangerous at night.
    Accommodation:
    Good location, close to university but quite expensive for what you get and awful kitchens.
    Settling in:
    Didn't take me too long to settle in - people in accommodation were friendly and university student support was available.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Its great! I feel like I fit in somewhere for once. Wouldn't change it for the world
    University:
    Campus life is great. Societies are amazing
    Course:
    Ita not the course I want to do. Its a gateway to what I want to do
    Location:
    Its in the city centre but too far away from the shopping centres
    Accommodation:
    Price of rent is about average
    Settling in:
    Its in my home city so I had an advantage. I also helped class mates find their way around
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    4
    University:
    Good services
    Course:
    Friendly, good teaching, sufficient resources
    Location:
    Right in the city, convenient & easy to travel to
    Accommodation:
    Did not stay in accommodation, but friend's place seemed nice
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle in, lots of events & ice breakers to help feel at ease
View more results

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE