Member reviews of Staffordshire University

  • Fsandwellcollege's avatar by Fsandwellcollege on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    .
    University:
    Great, I'm loving everything here, from clubs and societies to the night life here is just amazing.
    Course:
    Lecturers are very supportive and do try to assist you as much as they can in order for you to achieve your best in the career. They are always available for any enquiries that you may have.
    Location:
    It's not too bad, it's a few minutes walk to the train station and about 10 to 15 minutes to the town centre so it is a good location.
    Accommodation:
    For the price that you're paying for a premium accommodation, this isn't worth the value of money they're asking for.
    Settling in:
    Adjusting to uni was great, it was a different transitions from high school and college and it is a new experience.
  • Blondiehughes's avatar by Blondiehughes on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    This university is fantastic! It has lots to off such as club nights in LRV and pubs such as Verve to have a drink with friends or if you fancie a coffee pop in to squeeze box, everyone here is super nice and friendly
    University:
    You can be your own person here and learn how be be independent with things like food shopping keeping things clean looking after yourself properly
    Course:
    My tutors are very friendly and helpful, I feel really relaxed being at this uni. The accommodation is very clean and tidy and I feel at home being here.
    Location:
    I feel like this university is out of the way and perfect to come too because it makes you feel relaxed
    Accommodation:
    It is really clean and tidy which helps me feel relaxed and at home
    Settling in:
    Everyone is very friendly and helpful
  • jess_the_hobbit's avatar by jess_the_hobbit on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I don't think I have found anything I don't like yet, I like the area, the people and the tutors.
    University:
    I love the fact that the library is open 24/7, this helps as I work in the afternoon after lectures so I can always go in, do research and get books I need. I also like the fact, that first years can have a free years gym membership on campus.
    Course:
    I have only been on the course a week and im enjoying the environment, my tutors, my class and it all makes me want to learn as much and do as well as I possibly can.
    Location:
    The area has it's own aesthetic, with where the uni is placed around the rivers and activity places. The buildings aren't too far away from each other along with student accommodation which makes it a nice area to walk around.
    Accommodation:
    I like the area of Stoke anyway as I am originally from Stafford. The prices of supplies food and drinks are good, I really enjoy the place and the company.
    Settling in:
    My tutors are really friendly along with my class, there is also lots of opportunities to make friends which definitely helps to get settled in.
  • KrystianYuJin's avatar by KrystianYuJin on 11th February 2018
    Overall:
    Just depends on the course you choose.
    University:
    Uni life is amazing just not so strong on the actual course.
    Course:
    I feel as if the course sometimes takes it too simple, although everyone is coming from different backgrounds it does seem fairly slow if you've already learnt the material prior to starting the course. However, the lecturers are extremely helpful and make sure that you do get the foundation knowledge needed for the next few years of study.
    Location:
    Right next to the train station (Stoke Campus) and makes it super easy to move around.
    Accommodation:
    Absolutely amazing no problems and everything which might have popped up, (broken heater) was fixed straight away.
    Settling in:
    Not many people on the course so its a bit more difficult but the student bars and places to eat are amazing.
  • Kris.Winpenny's avatar by Kris.Winpenny on 4th April 2016
    Overall:
    Its a good place to study ready for your future career. Take advantage of all the services on offer as they will really help you out. The staff are caring and will always try to give you the best possible experience.
    University:
    It was good - events are available, I tried things i never thought i would with hypnotists, club nights and more. The libraries 24/7 which is a massive help and the gyms got top of the range matrix equipment which is a dream to use at such a cheap price.
    Course:
    The course was good and set me up really well for my current role. Always take the time to listen to the lecturers even if they do suggest to start work again, learn everything now then when you are in work you won't make as many mistakes.
    Location:
    Its alright - next to the Stoke-on-Train station and near the M6 meant that I could travel around the rest of the UK with relative ease.
    Accommodation:
    It was alright - although I've seen now that they have TV's and the rooms are colourful which I would have liked. There's a team of older students to help you out while in accommodation - from telling other people to be quiet at night, to generally being there to talk to. - I would recommend bringing a dressing gown or some clothes easy to put on at night as there's normally a few fire alarms as people learn how to cook (especially while they are drunk)
    Settling in:
    I joined Ultimate Frisbee - they are a wonderful team and a sport that i had never heard of. But joining gave me a great group of friends almost immediately at the university.
  • Jodiethegeek's avatar by Jodiethegeek on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    This is a really good university with people who care about your grades. Accommodation is easy to find in all years and there is plenty to do.
    University:
    The students union constantly tries to put things on to keep students busy. There is a large amount of clubs and society's to keep everyone busy too. There are on campus club nights and stuff throughout the days. The gym is amazing especially as they've just done it up. The library is great with a new cafǸ which will come in Handy at exams!
    Course:
    The uni tries really hard to focus on giving us good feedback that we can work with to improve. Lectures and Seminars are good and we always get PowerPoint slides to work off.
    Location:
    Most shops are walking distance, Hanley is close for other shopping, public transport is frequent and cheap, taxis are inexpensive and easy to get and there is generally a fair amount of stuff to do.
    Accommodation:
    The area is generally cheap and very much a student area. House rent, shops and pubs are cheap. This is the same for on and off campus accommodation.
    Settling in:
    I'm very much a home person so it took me a while to get used to everything but everything was fine eventually.
  • Tom Uprising's avatar by Tom Uprising on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    After having to repeat the year by failing the first year by ONE mark. Some advice to new students joining university. Study at least a few hours each day - this will make the world of difference when deadline nears as you will not have any need to pull any all nighters, unlike your flatmates. Keep in contact with lectures - Don't be nervous about contacting your lecturers, they are there for a reason (and technically you pay them for help anyways) Manage your money - Never managed your money before? Well now its time to do so. You may be filled with joy after seeing that student loan go in, but that money will quickly go down. This is why its best to keep a budget and stick to it each week. There are many resources on the web to help you set one up, just do the research. Make sure you know what you want from your course - The best advice I can give any new student is to know what you want to study at university. I've known many students who have joined university and either quit or just gave up at the end of the year (some quit simply due to them being "Bored" of the course). Changing courses - If you start your course and feel like it isn't for you, then there are some alternatives. Most universities will allow you to change course (or if you have picked an optional module, you can change that too) if the course is still early in its duration.
    University:
    Not much happens at nights around Staffordshire university, except Friday's "Mukky Duck" night at the university, and even then the drinks are overpriced so less people tend to go to this, probably because there are cheaper places to drink in the town.
    Course:
    Good course but some being a sponsored university, Stafford university seem a bit bias against teaching other game engines other than Epic's Unreal Engine 4.
    Location:
    Stafford is a really nice town and one of the greatest places I've lived. Good town with decent nightlife.
    Accommodation:
    Decent and affordable housing.
    Settling in:
    Took awhile to settle in but I loved being more independant
  • Rundarhi's avatar by Rundarhi on 5th October 2015
    Overall:
    Staffordshire is a great uni
    University:
    Great uni life
    Course:
    I'm really enjoying the course
    Location:
    Location is great
    Accommodation:
    The location is perfect
    Settling in:
    It was really quick for me to feel at home
  • megbethanyread's avatar by megbethanyread on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Not too much to do. Campus is small and split between Stoke-on-Trent and Stafford.
    University:
    Not really too much to do.
    Course:
    Not enough focus on the games industry, and too much focus on media law.
    Location:
    Close to shops and city centre.
    Accommodation:
    Halls aren't great. Quite run-down. Like a prison.
    Settling in:
    Just doesn't feel homely.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    The town is really good and the uni put plenty on both night and day but they need to work on communication.
    University:
    Plenty to do both night and day.
    Course:
    Module content and the structure are good but the communication between staff and student is rubbish.
    Location:
    Everything you need is a ten minute bus ride away, travel is cheap and there's plenty to do but you get harassed by homeless people walking on the campus.
    Accommodation:
    Price range is great and student accommodation is liveable but you have to wait ages to get anything fixed.
    Settling in:
    Everybody is really friendly and you start to like being independent
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would definitely recommend going
    University:
    Good night life
    Course:
    Well structured and fu
    Location:
    Good night life
    Accommodation:
    N/A to me
    Settling in:
    I fit in straight away
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    the nightlife is amazing and extremely cheap, however its not as cheap as those in the North.
    Course:
    The course is exactly as described and is perfect for what I want to do.
    Location:
    the university is in the centre of stoke with many city surrounding it. it is close to all amenities.
    Accommodation:
    Accomodation is nice but a lot of faults have occurred. The accommodation type is the in the highest band but is not being refurbished until 2017 whilst lower priced accommodation is being renovated.
    Settling in:
    the website 'hello freshers' allowed me to find out who was in my flat and allowed us to communicate before leaving for university
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    5
    University:
    It's good
    Course:
    It's a good university
    Location:
    It's a nice area
    Accommodation:
    They seem good
    Settling in:
    It hasn't taken long to get used to
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    The lectures are thorough, the teachers and friendly and everyone in this university seems to want to get along.
    University:
    Student life is very suited to my personality. I like the independence of it all.
    Course:
    Because I love my timetable and the lessons
    Location:
    Less than an hour away from home, all campus is close together
    Accommodation:
    Basic, but good
    Settling in:
    Because I love my housemates and they've made it easier.
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Staffs uni is great, there is a good feel to it and people are always happy to help from moving in day to results day. There are lots of facilities for those that like to party and those that prefer a quite life. Staffs has things for everyone
    University:
    The campus facilities are good, there are lots of societies to join and opportunities to interact with all societies. The library is useful and staff helpful, also there is great computer facilities all across campus
    Course:
    The lecturers are amazing, enthusiastic and happy to help. The modules are varied and challenging
    Location:
    The uni is in a great location, the train station is two minutes away. And local shops aren't too far away
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was good, the most basic at the uni but had a bath, shower and good spacious rooms
    Settling in:
    I settled in really well, made friends on the course easily and still like to work with those people. Lecturers were supportive of all aspects of uni life
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    So far its been really interesting
    University:
    Nothing is well planned, the club on campus is rubbish
    Course:
    I haven't been at it long but so far its set out well and really interesting
    Location:
    Moments away from the town centre
    Accommodation:
    Cramped, cooker barely works, loud room mates, thin walls
    Settling in:
    Easy to settle
  • by Anonymous on 15th September 2015
    Overall:
    I have met the best of friends, the facilities are really good.
    University:
    Not many places to shop but will do, not many night clubs in stafford but student union is good
    Course:
    Course structure is ok, quality of teaching is good, placement organisation is not very good
    Location:
    Stafford is small, not the most student friendliest but still nice
    Accommodation:
    Halls aren't the best but is cheap compared to other cities
    Settling in:
    Stafford is a very homely place
  • by Anonymous on 15th September 2015
    Overall:
    Good university, its still improving but will be brilliant within the next couple of years
    University:
    If you bothered to go to things then its brilliant, but too many people just moaned and never went to events which never helps
    Course:
    The course was good with some brilliant lecturers and staff around the university to support and help you
    Location:
    Stafford was good, peaceful and open.
    Accommodation:
    The accommodation was good, affordable and clean. But look at it now its event better - but could probably do with soundproofing
    Settling in:
    Welcome week was brilliant, but joining a club really helped me out as I got to know a group really quickly.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Life changing and confidence building,
    University:
    As we are further away, it's harder and a lot more expensive to get to the student nights, but that's easily sorted.
    Course:
    Because you get all the best bits of drama school, without the steep price tag!
    Location:
    One of the downfalls is that it's not closer to London.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in halls and my room at home is really messy
    Settling in:
    Everyone's so friendly and welcoming! You feel like you've been friends with everyone forever!
  • by Anonymous on 1st September 2015
    Overall:
    3/5
    University:
    Not much activities in the campus to engage students
    Course:
    the lecturers are helpful
    Location:
    Easily accessible to the town center and other social amenities in the area
    Accommodation:
    Poor outlayer and space, and also too expensive
    Settling in:
    If you are from a big city like London, it will probably be hard to adapt to the environment
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    4
    University:
    Great
    Course:
    Not much teaching time
    Location:
    Already my current city
    Accommodation:
    Heard friends talking about how good it is
    Settling in:
    Felt like a comfortable and warming place
  • by Anonymous on 27th August 2015
    Overall:
    Good - areas of improvement needed
    University:
    Enough nightlife in the area if you want it
    Course:
    Some brilliant and fantastic lectures, others were alright
    Location:
    Staffordshire is a wonderful area
    Accommodation:
    Its good
    Settling in:
    It was easy with like minded individuals
  • by Anonymous on 26th August 2015
    Overall:
    Dreadful.
    University:
    No good shopping or events
    Course:
    Poor management, teaching and organisation with rude and immature staff.
    Location:
    So much crime in the area including the murder of a student.
    Accommodation:
    It was below standard.
    Settling in:
    I never settled in
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    I absolutely adore this uni. I made the decision to go to uni on a spur of the moment and honestly? My first year has gone by and it was the best year I have ever had. Don't get me wrong there is a lot of hard work but every single moment is worth it.
    University:
    Brilliant. There is something for everyone
    Course:
    Fantastic course I have no regrets, it is the people that make this uni!
    Location:
    Location isn't the best outside of the uni campus, and there isn't much of a town
    Accommodation:
    Affordable, everything is nearby and the atmosphere is incredible.
    Settling in:
    I was having a great time from day 1 and I cannot wait to go back
  • by Anonymous on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    its ok, just not amazing
    University:
    don't do much extra curricular stuff
    Course:
    its not perfect but its not bad
    Location:
    its a campus and I like that. what I don't like is them trying to force a city style on us :(
    Accommodation:
    again not perfect, but not bad
    Settling in:
    I don't like new places
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Best three years of my life
    University:
    Best three years of my life
    Course:
    Enjoyable course
    Location:
    Nice city but not as big as places such as manchester
    Accommodation:
    Really cheap and amazing experience
    Settling in:
    Was surrounded by amazing people so found it easy
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I had the best three years of my life. Writing this is making me well up. I graduated in July 2015 and I couldn't be more upset about it.
    University:
    Absolutely everything was perfect. The library was a little on the small side in terms of free desk space though. I didn't use the uni gym because I don't like seeing familiar faces when I exercise but it was cheap. Union was good and always there in the background trying to help us out.
    Course:
    Lecturers were still in the industry as editors etc. The group was small and opportunities were constantly given. The facilities were absolutely fantastic. NCTJ-accredited course. Practical and theoretical.
    Location:
    It was small for city and easy to navigate around but the nightlife was bad (except for the student bar), and the shops were terrible! I worked in two shops in the centre and I hated it!
    Accommodation:
    Very affordable and good location but they were very very basic and old.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home as soon as my parents left me. I got on with everyone I lived with.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars its nice, friendly and not too big so you have that connection and the ability to talk to your teachers!
    University:
    No response given
    Course:
    first year was pretty good but the quality of teaching wasn't the best!
    Location:
    out of the way next to the country side perfect position personally but loads hate it!
    Accommodation:
    Prison cell like! but it was literally next to the uni!
    Settling in:
    never really "felt at home" at home so it was pretty easy to settle in
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I didn't want to go to university to begin with but after looking into Staffordshire university and speaking to other students I thought it was the best place I could gob
    University:
    As I'm not on the main campus, I've not been able to join any societies, therefore this rating is neither good or bad.
    Course:
    Some parts of the modules seem a little confused and irrelevant.
    Location:
    There's lots of places I can go to get supplies, also a lot to do when IMm not studying.
    Accommodation:
    The rent is good as the student house is privately owned in a nice area
    Settling in:
    A lot of the people on my course already knew each other from previous college courses, and I felt like a bit of an outsider as there were clear friendship groups.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It was average
    University:
    I didn't do much in uni
    Course:
    Truth
    Location:
    Poor area
    Accommodation:
    Absolutely rubbish
    Settling in:
    It was difficult for me
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    3 stars. University itself is great, but the city is no to is despite its good location
    University:
    Stoke is in a good location, facilities are good, the students union is amazing
    Course:
    Communication is great and lectures are interesting
    Location:
    Very poor, violence, drugs among locals.
    Accommodation:
    Could do with some improvements
    Settling in:
    All my flat mates were friendly
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It was good to get my career started but I wouldn't recommend Staffordshire University
    University:
    University was ok
    Course:
    It was quite boring the lectures weren't made interesting
    Location:
    There were many crimes in the area
    Accommodation:
    Didnt stop in houses
    Settling in:
    Settled in quite well
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    It really is a student city
    University:
    Loads to do
    Course:
    Its what i dreamed of
    Location:
    Its just outisde the main city with a huge campus
    Accommodation:
    Its nice & cheap but a bit old
    Settling in:
    Because I already feel confident

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE