Member reviews of Ulster University

  • Hockeylad44's avatar by Hockeylad44 on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    I don't think I could honestly improve the uni apart from the coffee shop to do a little more food but apart from that its fine.
    University:
    I don't really use any because I don't live on campus but from what I have seen the facilities look great.
    Course:
    All the modules are important for what you will have to do for placement in 3rd year. 1st year is more about tourism while year 2 is more about management.
    Location:
    Too far from the capital city of Belfast but has a decent rail network beside the university and take around 70 mins to drive from Belfast to Coleraine
    Accommodation:
    I didn't stay on campus but I looked around my friends accommodation. The room was kinda small but for £109 a week you got heating, electric and wifi. The room was a ensuite room, the bed was quite small though.
    Settling in:
    I settled in really well, I got into a group chat with my class before I started so I got to know a lot of people before I started. I just posted on the Campus freshers page asking who was doing my course.
  • New(World)Order's avatar by New(World)Order on 24th January 2019
    Overall:
    Because I love Ulster University
    University:
    Because I love uni life
    Course:
    Because I love psychology
    Location:
    Because I love student towns
    Accommodation:
    Because I love psychology
    Settling in:
    Because I love university
  • Emerson1997's avatar by Emerson1997 on 8th October 2015
    Overall:
    The university is good, knowledgable and will aid you in what you want to do, some downsides but I still believe this deserves a 10/10.
    University:
    I am enjoying it so far, but I think improvements could be made.
    Course:
    Long waiting times between lectures, some of the lecturers look down upon you - even though you are now an adult and should be treated as one, as an equal, they do not see you this way.
    Location:
    The campus itself is nice but the place it is in doesnt have much to do, I've been trying to find a bar in it and still no luck. It is clean and the scenery is good and there is a small beach which is a positive.
    Accommodation:
    Although I do not live in this accommodation I have stayed in them as part of a residential with my secondary school, the accommodation is OK, but taking into consideration the cost of it, it is far too much for a basic room and we are students who live on practically pennies. As well there isn't much places to go considering there isn't even a student bar in the students union.
    Settling in:
    I am still attempting to settle in, there is not much chance of actually meeting with your fellow students, I believe this could be approached more differently for the more shy students.
  • Edelp70's avatar by Edelp70 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    I would recommend coming here for a university experience, the campus gives it a big rural vibe but is so close to towns/cities where you can go shopping/going out.
    University:
    Good clubs and plenty of opportunities to make new friends, the library is easy to use and everything is easy to adjust to.
    Course:
    Everyone is friendly, the quality of teaching is great. The staff of the uni are so helpful and everyone gives each other respect
    Location:
    Its a beautiful location
    Accommodation:
    I live a few miles away, which is handy, I have good condition housing with a fair price only downside is that I have to travel to get to uni and I do not have a car.
    Settling in:
    I have immediately felt at home here with no difficulties
  • Chloem86's avatar by Chloem86 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great fun and the location is perfect
    University:
    Great clubs and great deals on taxis and buses
    Course:
    The lecturers are great and the faculty staff are brilliant
    Location:
    Near the farms and the town and a beach
    Accommodation:
    Internet is a bit slow as are the repairs if needed
    Settling in:
    Some people are a bit rude but overall it's ok
  • AndrewMC1994's avatar by AndrewMC1994 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4.5 Stars, It's a great university and it provides everything I need, getting to the university can be troublesome sometimes but there is usually no issue.
    University:
    There is a large library on campus with the latest computers and books, it is located in Belfast so there are plenty of shops.
    Course:
    I love my course, learning graphic design is extremely enjoyable, I love going to it everyday.
    Location:
    It can be extremely busy at times and very crowded but overall it's is a good location with good people.
    Accommodation:
    It can be difficult because of traffic to get to the university sometimes but overall I found it better than what I had expected.
    Settling in:
    Settled in very quickly, made a new group of friends on the first day.
  • trekkin's avatar by trekkin on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    If you are looking for a fun and friendly university with low tuition fees, you should consider Ulster Uni.
    University:
    Wide variety of activities on offer.
    Course:
    The timetabling of subjects can be strange sometimes.
    Location:
    Close to the seaside towns where a lot of students live.
    Accommodation:
    They are clean and functional.
    Settling in:
    The University has a very friendly atmosphere.
  • shannonbrophy1's avatar by shannonbrophy1 on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Anyone thinking of going to university I would highly recommend doing it and coming to University of Ulster Magee.
    University:
    Night time events in the students union are amazing.
    Course:
    The lecturers are excellent and extremely helpful with any issues you have regarding your course. They take time to explain the work to you and don't move on until you fully understand it.
    Location:
    Extremely beautiful and friendly city and very student friendly.
    Accommodation:
    Extremely clean and modern taste. The bedroom is extremely cosy and has been supplied with a desk so that you can do your work.
    Settling in:
    I found my way around the campus easily and everyone from both staff to students made me feel so welcome and made both Magee and Derry itself feel like home..it's my home from home and I have fell in love with this city
  • Jessie7003's avatar by Jessie7003 on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    It is an all round great university, only really let down by the location. However due to being in a quiet place the campus is massive and its very exciting to go to. I enjoy my course and would recommend it to anyone who enjoyed sociology at school.
    University:
    Uni life is great. The students union is lovely to go and sit in with friends and eat some food between classes. The library is big and always has seats and lots of books to help you during your studies. There are quite a few clubs and societies which you can engage with as well.
    Course:
    It's a really interesting course with lots of exciting things to learn about.
    Location:
    The campus I am at is Jordanstown which is quite quiet and away from most things which is why I chose to commute in instead. However I live in Belfast (the city nearby) where there is lots to do.
    Accommodation:
    Rooms are cheaper than any other I had looked at. They are clean, comfortable and spacious.
    Settling in:
    I felt at home straight away. I probably settled in very quickly due to knowing 5 people in my class outside of university but I also made quite a few new friends.
  • Sponge95's avatar by Sponge95 on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    8/10 she's good but has her flaws
    University:
    good
    Course:
    Overall a pretty good experience however I found that for one of the modules we could have learnt the material in a better way.
    Location:
    Coleraine is a nice place but there's not a lot happening there. Students at Coleraine typically travel to Portrush for nights out.
    Accommodation:
    it is what it is
    Settling in:
    things went well
  • B00648747's avatar by B00648747 on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Great! Easy to settle in, loads of support
    University:
    X
    Course:
    Small personal feel university, great lecturers
    Location:
    Lots going on, nice place to live, good opportunities
    Accommodation:
    I live in private rental so dont know what student accomodation is like
    Settling in:
    Found it easy, relaxed environment, friendly
  • N/A's avatar by N/A on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    4/5
    University:
    All services on campus were good, e.g. library was open 24/7.
    Course:
    The course was really interesting with many guest lecturers who were at the top of their field. Lecturers responded to emails quickly and happy to help with any queries. It had just the right amount of contact teaching hours and meetings were available if they were needed. Lecturers were really informative and didn't just read from a powerpoint.
    Location:
    The location it quite quiet.
    Accommodation:
    Quality was good, affordability was ok, although a bit expensive. Location was on the university campus so only a couple of minutes walk to the university.
    Settling in:
    Everyone was friendly
  • Abeattie93's avatar by Abeattie93 on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    Good but Jordanstown campus outdated.
    University:
    Average acilities, lacks proper students union, it seems to get worse every year.
    Course:
    Not great choice of modules
    Location:
    Easy to get to via motorways.
    Accommodation:
    Haven't been in the housing so don't know.
    Settling in:
    Made friends quickly.
  • Spydoor's avatar by Spydoor on 4th October 2015
    Overall:
    It's great!
    University:
    Lots of services and clubs to join
    Course:
    I've searched everywhere for a course that provides modern and up to date lessons on digital design, using apps like Photoshop.. This was the only one I found and they're excellent at it.
    Location:
    It's a 20 minute walk from the train station. Lots of places to eat and relax nearby.
    Accommodation:
    Because I don't use accomodation.
    Settling in:
    Good introduction. They took it slow.
  • Niamhdebras's avatar by Niamhdebras on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    I would rate it 5 stars because i have thoroughly enjoyed it so far and i love going to every lecture
    University:
    I have made great friends through housing and societies.
    Course:
    I love the history side of the course but dont enjoy the international development
    Location:
    There isn't a lot of things to do as its out in the country.
    Accommodation:
    It gave us the basics of what we needed but was expensive for what if was.
    Settling in:
    It took me a little while to settle in
  • Cara0donnell 's avatar by Cara0donnell on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Excellent
    University:
    The library is very useful and opens extra hours around exam time. The student union has a lot of clubs you can join and the people are friendly.
    Course:
    It has given me a broad knowledge to be able to take up a job confidently in an area that interests me l.
    Location:
    It is in the city centre and easy to access.
    Accommodation:
    Some of the halls are in a bad condition.
    Settling in:
    I made friends very quickly.
  • LaurenK91's avatar by LaurenK91 on 14th September 2015
    Overall:
    Brilliant quality of teaching particularly in the business department. Lecturers make sure you understand the work and you get to put the theory to practice, unlike my undergraduate course at another Belfast university
    University:
    N/A
    Course:
    Great material and get to put what you learn to practice, not just theory. Lecturers couldn't be more helpful
    Location:
    Difficult to get to but worth the commute for the quality of teaching
    Accommodation:
    N/A
    Settling in:
    N/A
  • electrichead481's avatar by electrichead481 on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    5 star. Top academia, good accommodation outside uni, good location.
    University:
    Library an IT suite open 24 hrs, shopping on campus is basic, student services are decent. Union is good and improving, fitness gym is below average.
    Course:
    I cannot think of any faults
    Location:
    10 minutes from the coast. 10 minutes from shopping.
    Accommodation:
    Good variation in accommodation, too expensive for bog-standard accommodation. Fantastic, cheap, top quality housing outside university has good access to public transport.
    Settling in:
    Illness.
  • N/a's avatar by N/a on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    5stars.
    University:
    Made great friends, library 24hrs, gym all within walking distance. Three main bar/clubs all very student friendly.
    Course:
    Really interesting, well taught and I enjoy the practical aspect!
    Location:
    It's nice but it's not a city so is far out and not many places to socialise without travel. But overall that's what I prefer.
    Accommodation:
    Ensuite room in halls, and for second year the student housing is great value for money compared to rest of UK
    Settling in:
    Plenty of advice and activities to get everyone together.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    Fantastic!! Students and staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful, really helped me settle in. Hands down you'll love your time spent at University of Ulster.
    University:
    So many handy services on campus, from a hairdressers to coffee shops and even a spar. A variety of computer rooms that can be easily accessed at any time by students. Student union ensures all voices are heard with a number of class reps and serveral meetings etc held over the year.
    Course:
    Course well run with staff always available for help.
    Location:
    Coleraine university is so handy to get to either by train or by car. Fair enough the shopping isn't great in the town but it's so close that any essentials can be quickly purchased.
    Accommodation:
    Comfortable.
    Settling in:
    Attending UU felt like another home. Staff and students are always pleasant.
  • by Anonymous on 7th October 2015
    Overall:
    So far really really good absolutely love it!
    University:
    Loads of sports shops on site brill Union etc
    Course:
    I have always wanted to be a physio and I love the teaching and learning style of the university of Ulster course. The lecturers are there for you at every corner but you are treated with the respect of an adult not a child like when In school. You become very independent and with the nature of our course the who year group becomes very close. Also three days a week I'm in hands on practical which breaks up the lectures and makes it more interesting!
    Location:
    If you live in Belfast you have to get a bus out
    Accommodation:
    They are well equipped and close to the uni however don't have wifi you have to get your own
    Settling in:
    The university is very friendly you seen everyone due to its lay out which I really like as a lot of unis segregate faculties completely where as there is a communal walk way and union for everyone. Students union is very hands on and even the societies too
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    I really love it at the end of the day and wouldn't have wanted to go anywhere else
    University:
    The uni is great and has lots of facilities and events
    Course:
    It's a brilliant course, very interesting content and great lecturers.
    Location:
    The jordanstown campus is quite a bit out of Belfast city which can be good as it's quiet but also bad because it's quiet
    Accommodation:
    The location is great and the halls are of a great standard but are quite expensive
    Settling in:
    I found it difficult to make friends
  • by Anonymous on 1st October 2015
    Overall:
    Good
    University:
    Nightlife good
    Course:
    It's just ok
    Location:
    It's pretty decent
    Accommodation:
    Very deer
    Settling in:
    Liked it early on
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    4 stars It is a good university with a good atmosphere and plenty of places to create and enjoy your student life
    University:
    Because it has treated me well thus far
    Course:
    Because the class is a small group which allows for more interactive learning
    Location:
    Because it's a decent area to live in
    Accommodation:
    Because our cooker is broken
    Settling in:
    Because I have settled in well, especially with the people I live with
  • by Anonymous on 30th September 2015
    Overall:
    Amazing
    University:
    SU is great and the people love a night out.
    Course:
    Great course
    Location:
    Right in the city centre.
    Accommodation:
    MY friends love it
    Settling in:
    Friendly people, staff and lecturers.
  • by Anonymous on 13th September 2015
    Overall:
    Not good.
    University:
    Services are fine but no entertainment, no clubs beside political and course based ones. All the 'fun' clubs promised with uni were not present.
    Course:
    Unorganized and unhelpful when students need assistance.
    Location:
    Far out.
    Accommodation:
    Halls were far away from any socialization with very little to do.
    Settling in:
    Halls was isolating, lectures were unhelpful.
  • by Anonymous on 3rd September 2015
    Overall:
    It's a family way from family it helps you grow and become independent and you also meet many new people.
    University:
    Students union was helpful.
    Course:
    The lectures took time to explain thing.
    Location:
    You had the best of both worlds as it wasn't far from home and everything was in close proximity.
    Accommodation:
    They were helpful and you met loads of new people
    Settling in:
    I settled in pretty quickly as the accommodation have different events on to get you to interact with others
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's great. I personally never had trouble with anybody nor nobidy had trouble with me.
    University:
    There's plenty of places to go in the 'calm' type.
    Course:
    I do enjoy the course and the content but had some problems with the staff that did not really taught the content but just read what the powerpoints included. I'm not too good with maths so that's where the issue comes from. Apart from some of the modules just being more of a lecture structure than practical and I did feel that I'm paying for nothing.
    Location:
    It's slightly too far away from the city. 15min walk at least but that may be good/bad thing for you.
    Accommodation:
    Duncreggan Student Village En Suite Standard room - Rooms are quite small. Desk and bed take most of the floor. Nice bathroom. Plenty of shelf space.
    Settling in:
    Everybody is different so don't be using this as reference.
  • by Anonymous on 30th August 2015
    Overall:
    Great experience. Students are very sport and love to attend social events.
    University:
    Plenty going on in the city.
    Course:
    Great lecturers who are young and enthusiastic. Timetable very good and modules are informative.
    Location:
    Close to bus station, train station, accomodation and many restaurants.
    Accommodation:
    I don't live in them but my friends do.
    Settling in:
    Lecturers and studies advisers helped when needed.
  • by Anonymous on 25th August 2015
    Overall:
    The uni is fantastic. Staff are great at what they do and are super friendly. The magee campus is close to town and is a 5 minute walk to uni
    University:
    The uni facilities are great bit the students union needs to be improved
    Course:
    Some Lecturers arent very good at explaining things
    Location:
    I dont like the city my campus is in but where my campus is located is close to the town and the bus station.
    Accommodation:
    Ulster university accommodation is clean, close to uni, the rooms are a nice size and there is a shop on campus but the rooms are expensive
    Settling in:
    Everyone was so nice, there were icebreakers to get to know other people
  • no's avatar by no on 24th August 2015
    Overall:
    It's alright, not amazing. if you make some friends it would probably be better, if you don't know anyone there when you're starting you're pretty screwed cause everyone already seemed to have friendship groups and weren't up for meeting new people but that's probably different for the other years and courses etc. The way i'm looking at it is that it's a good course and I enjoy the degree i'm doing but the social aspect of it is dire.
    University:
    The course is good and the library facilities are great. There's no clubs and societies or student union in the belfast campus which is a big problem cause if you don't gel with the people in your course there is no other way to make friends which is very isolating.
    Course:
    Tutors are nice and approachable, the given contact hours are small but the tutors are around if you look and will usually be happy enough to talk to you or organize a time when they're free and they always reply to emails efficiently. The lectures are usually interesting with a lot of information about history of art etc and weekly artist talks from internationally successful artists give a good insight to the career of an artist. The workload is what you make it depending on what kind of grade you want to finish with, it is a very independant degree and people can easily get 'lost' if they do not manage their time and what they want to achieve in each module. Overall I am happy with this choice of university work wise.
    Location:
    Right in the city centre, easy to get to, shops, parking, food etc
    Accommodation:
    No student housing available in Belfast campus, have to privately rent.
    Settling in:
    Still don't exactly feel 'at home' in the university and i'm going in to my second year. Although the tutors are nice, the students are all very cliquey, a problem with most of Belfasts younger generation I guess, but it does make you feel isolated.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    I highly recommend to go to this uni. People say uni life in belfast is better. However, all my friends who live in belfast and go to queens all love coleraine uni and Portstewart
    University:
    Let down is that it does not have the same buzz as belfast etc
    Course:
    I love this course, suits me to the ground
    Location:
    Sometimes its awkward and out of the way
    Accommodation:
    Holiday homes during summer, student let reat of the year. Houses are outstanding
    Settling in:
    Portstewart/coleraine feels like one giant campus. Lovely place, lovely people.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    It's a good uni with a lot of course options. I would recommend it
    University:
    Decent Student union with shops and amenities
    Course:
    Good range of modules
    Location:
    Mage campus is quite far from main city of Belfast
    Accommodation:
    Some rooms are quite small. Also the parking is expensive
    Settling in:
    The university focused mainly around drinking during introductions which didn't suit a lot of people
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Not half bad
    University:
    Good stuff
    Course:
    It's great
    Location:
    Nice plzce
    Accommodation:
    It's grand
    Settling in:
    Grand it is
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Very good!
    University:
    Student Union could be improved, but there were lots of other activities and events
    Course:
    Interesting, well laid out, good content
    Location:
    A good location in Belfast, lots of nearby places and transport llinks
    Accommodation:
    Our campus didnt have halls, stayed in private housing
    Settling in:
    Friendly atmosphere, lots of activities to be involved in
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    Ulster university has 4 campus's and depending on which course you choose you need to research your campus and surrounding city or town. Magee campus is set in a beautiful historical city bursting with life and easy to adapt to for any uni student finding themselves away from home for the first time.
    University:
    Ulster university Magee campus has everything one needs to get by daily life apart from a nurse or health facilities on campus. These were closed recently due to funding cuts, there is a medical centre 5 minutes from uni which takes all students. The gym is small but affordable and has everything you need to keep fit, classes and sports groups use here , the fitness hall or the multitude of playing pitches to have their weekly sessions. The library is very large and modern and stocks all needed books up to date and relevant to all courses.
    Course:
    Every aspect of our department at university has been designed to suit the student life and way of learning. We have no classes on Fridays and rarely timetabled for Monday mornings great for an extra few zzzz's. We are provided with up to date student feedback for all relevant modules and offered a chance to change the way modules are taught each year.
    Location:
    Situated just outside the city centre but never too far to walk to all amenities the university has the perfect location. The city is full of interesting buildings and alive with history, museums and craft corners throughout. There is something for everyone.
    Accommodation:
    I couldn't afford university accomadation as I was not entitled to a student loan. I secured a place in a house just across from campus, it was much cheaper and cleaner however we didn't have the same chance at meeting people in first year.
    Settling in:
    All staff, 'buddies' and university guides and volunteers made the first few weeks very easy. Maps were colour coded and very accurate to the buildings on the ground.
  • by Anonymous on 23rd August 2015
    Overall:
    The university was okay most lecturers were hard to talk to and not very open to questions some were lovely though.
    University:
    I didn't live there so wasn't out much. The student union was okay not much happening and nothing about freshers advertised. The library was good not a lot of materials for nursing
    Course:
    The course is good and the time table for first semester but semester 2 was bad for people travelling. Some lectures were good but some were hard to listen to as the lecturers were boring and not interacting with the class.
    Location:
    It's very accessible by public transport but trains are only every 2 hours
    Accommodation:
    I did not stay is university owned accommodation
    Settling in:
    The classes were very large (250 people in my class)
  • by Anonymous on 21st August 2015
    Overall:
    So far it has been great and I would completely recommend it to anyone considering UUC
    University:
    there is always something to do in and out of uni including societies and also clubs t night time
    Course:
    Everything so far has been awesome, only downfall I have is one module in first year where the lecturer wasn't great but it just meant I had to work harder to get a good grade.
    Location:
    I like that the campus is all in the one area and not spread out over the place but there isn't much around it!
    Accommodation:
    The halls I stayed in were the cheapest option (but were also the biggest) and I loved it, absolutely no faults that I can think of.
    Settling in:
    I was doing a similar course to all my flatmate so we were in the same lectures so it really helped.

The Student Room, Get Revising and Marked by Teachers are trading names of The Student Room Group Ltd.

Register Number: 04666380 (England and Wales), VAT No. 806 8067 22 Registered Office: International House, Queens Road, Brighton, BN1 3XE